Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Newnes Touring Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Ellesmere > Newnes Touring Caravan Park Reviews

Newnes Touring Caravan Park
Two Old Newnes Farm Cottages
Ellesmere
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY12 9HH
Tel: 01691 624464
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 57 Reviews
                9/10 from 57 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 51 to 59                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cindy007 14 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this first class site. The Facilities are wonderful ( even though there are only two toilets and showers )

As this is an adults only site it means that everyone respects the facilities and cleans up after they have used them. Robin was very friendly and helpful.

Ellesemere itself is very close and you can walk it, there is a tesco close by. The walk along the canal is a must.

We will be returning to this site, very soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julesb62 1 review from this member

 Stayed here over the Wedding Bank Holiday weekend x 3 nights with electric hook up.

1st - The area is a beautiful part of the English countryside. The meres are lovely places to visit. The town centre is quite a walk from the site and there are no shops, pub, take aways between the town & site.

2nd - The Site, is really geared up more for caravanning than campers, this was our first time camping we were at the edge of the 2nd field on a slope and open to all the elements. On a positive note the view was stunning but in gale force winds which we had over the weekend it was not ideal.

At the time of our stay there were around 20 pitches being used. There is a single log cabin with 2 rooms. Each room has a toilet, shower and sink. There are no other facilities so if someone is having a shower you have to wait to use the toilet. On a positive note they are warm and clean. Also some lighting between the 2nd field and the showers/toilets would be a great improvement. Lastly there are no washing up facilities.

It is a shame as the owner was very nice and friendly it's just the facilities that let the site down and maybe he could think a little more when siting campers. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alibescat 30 reviews from this member

 Site well sign posted, steep short hill to the site.

Toilets / showers all done its a log cabin which is very well kitted out with a small waiting area that has leaflets and two units each with toilet sink and shower. Very modern and clean but was a wait on this very busy weekend.

We were on the second field which has great views and I didn't notice any traffic noise but we were on the overflow so didn't have our own tap which many other pitches did have.

2 Chaps were very helpful and spent over 30 mins assisting us with levelling and hooking up - I'm guessing one was Robin the owner and I think the other was the warden.

You can go over the field and slight right cross over cut through the field to the canal which is a better walk to Ellesmere, we didn't care much for Ellesmere but did enjoy a meal at the Red Lion on the way to the mere.

You cant walk right round the Mere which disappointed us. Visited Wem and Market Drayton which we thought were not great and almost derilict but liked Oswestry if you want shopping.

Recommend the caravan site due to being adults only but we were not over keen on the surrounding area, but very reasonable fees at 14 per night wouldn't hesitate to go again for Bank holiday Fri - Mon 41 you cant argue with that.

All in all a good site for adults with dogs that want to just chill. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thorpers4 6 reviews from this member

 We spent 2 nights here as we were attending a nearby dog show, the entrance is well signed and on arrival we found the pitches level and well maintained,
Robin was very welcoming and extremely helpful Ellesmere is a short walk away with the new superstore easy to find. If you listen carefully you can hear some traffic noise, but it in no way spoils the tranquil setting.
When the new facilities are built this will be a very very nice site, we will be back again next year for sure. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kennyboy2831 31 reviews from this member

 Great views adult only 16 amp hookup water next to pitch flat grassy pitches which we found good and firm and really nice owners in Robin and Jane. Robin has plans to extend the number of caravans to about another 10 in the next field and to build a toilet/shower block. You can walk into Ellesmere and nearby are Oswestry and Wrexham. There is a Tesco supermarket opening in August in Ellesmere. There are plenty of mere's and great walking in the area. The only downside for us was the road noise from the A495 although not too intrusive at night was a bit of a pain if you wanted a day on site or sit in the early evening having a quiet drink. The field also seems to be used for training young horse riders which quite surprised us. Still overall a thoroughly enjoyable time spent at the Newnes 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona25 4 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our stay at this site. It is very well kept and ideally located for walkers and folks with dogs. The toilet block hadn't been built but I am sure having met the owner it will be first class when it is.

The views are really good. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ken+sue66 3 reviews from this member

 Small, tranquil adults only site on the edge of Ellesmere. The site has 10 pitches at present, on well drained, mown grass. All 10 pitches have electric & water. Toilet & shower facilities planned in the near future which will make it an even more perfect site for a peaceful break - current prices reflect limited facilities.
Wonderful views across to the Welsh borders with beautiful sunsets, apparently, but it was a bit too cloudy while we were there to appreciate these. Access to the Shropshire Union canal nearby which takes you into Ellesmere,a small town with basic shopping facilities and a number of pubs (avoiding the main road). Robin, the owner, very pleasant and helpful. We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Polly1950 11 reviews from this member

 Robin is working towards a perfect tranquil site. Easy walk along the roadside or a canal side walk to Ellsmere.

Robin is so helpful and obliging. His site is perfect for peace and quite.

His elsan and bin area are an area to die for, he has landscaped this little area.

When he manages to get his toilet and shower area built I can see we will have difficulties getting on this site. 


Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bertndoris 14 reviews from this member

 This is a recently opened site and at this time suitable for self sufficient units only, due to no toilet/shower block being available as yet (planned for later in the year?).

There are however, chemical toilet disposal points, grey water disposal, and of course fully serviced pitches with both water, and elec hook up etc.)

Having said that, it is in one of the most beautiful parts of Shropshire, set within a lovely and peaceful hamlet, easily accessible off the A495, and is possibly a rare flat site nestled in the Shropshire hills, with indeed lovely views. All Pitches are grass, but even visiting in February, due to the elevation of the site, the ground is well drained, dry, and certainly firm enough for our large motorhome.

We walked the 15 minutes into Ellesmere town itself, a very quaint old market town, and from there picked up a lovely walk along the canal, bearing left, up round a wooded circular walk that then dropped us down to Ellesmere mere itself.

Overall, beautiful quiet location, excellent flat and serviced pitches, and bring your walking feet to get the best of this area. Well worth a weekend stay. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 59     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Newnes Touring Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Newnes Touring Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Newnes Touring Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ellesmere      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4476 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement