Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Tyddyn Llwyn Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Tyddyn Llwyn Caravan Park And Campsite Reviews

Tyddyn Llwyn Caravan Park And Campsite
Morfa Bychan Road
Porthmadog
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL49 9UR
Tel: 01766 512205
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 153
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 105 Reviews
                8/10 from 105 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  105 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marietheresa 3 reviews from this member

Stayed on this site August 2011 & 2012 well maintained, clean with lovely new toilet block, could however do with a refurbishment in the other older toilet block, disagree with having to pay 50p to use the showers, especially as they are timed, expensive if you have a few kids.

Pub on site selling food, although did not eat there, was not always busy.

Good location for the many beaches & the attractions that the area has to offer.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deano1161 3 reviews from this member

A really nice, clean site with friendly staff and excellent facilities. I was a bit miffed about the 50p shower charge but I suppose these modern facilities need to pay there way.

Location wise you cant ask for better, Porthmadog is a nice town with plenty of gift shops and stores to browse with a tesco for your shopping needs (turn right out the campsite gate for a spar and chippy with hassle free parking 5 mins away). In north Wales you are only ever 20-30mins away from something new. You have to spare 2 hours to go up the big hill that shadows the site, the view is amazing.

The kids playground was excellent and kept them out of mischief for hours. The bar has a friendly atmosphere with free games for the kids in the family room. The food menu however is overpriced and restricted. Reception staff couldn't have been more helpful with suggestions for days out.

My only gripe with this campsite was after 11pm it was like a library, silence is the order of the day! I fully understand that it is a family site and with two kids myself, appreciate the values they promote but it ruins the atmosphere when security are watching your every move and silencing any party spirit.

I would recommend this site to anyone but because of the over-bearing demand for silence I can only give them 7/10 overall

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jabart 3 reviews from this member

Pleasant staff. Site very hilly, poor dog walk, no dog poo bins.

First site we have been to where you paid to use the showers and the hairdryer, could do with a spruce up.

Please be aware, yes you can walk to Porthmadog but it is quite a steep climb on the way back.

Didn't use the bar as dogs weren't allowed in and it was too wet to sit outside.

We did take the dogs on the railway which was great.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kimc66 6 reviews from this member

This was quite a large site and a bit noisy for us being 2 adults who had no children with us. I believe a few people did get told off by the warden late at night for being loud which is good thing as it shows they are keeping an eye on everyone.

Did not use the facilities so cant comment. The clubhouse was a bonus to keep the children entertained

It was great to get to the town centre, about a 20 minute walk, but a bit hilly for those who have difficulty walking.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Aggies 4 reviews from this member

Very pleasant site. We booked a fully-serviced, hard-standing pitch, which provided plenty of room for our caravan, porch awning and car. The hard-standing was a God-send when the torrential rain came - awning floor stayed nice and dry.

Site conveniently located, with Porthmadog within easy walking distance.

Our nearest toilet and shower block seemed relatively new and modern. Our only (minor) complaint is having to pay 50p for a shower, especially when there aren't any privacy cubicles for people to get washed. As there was only 3 showers in our ladies' block, this meant that I had to queue for a shower most days (although my husband and son didn't experience the same problem with the mens' showers).

Would recommend that the site improves its waste disposal facilities - there's only one skip at the entrance to the site, and more should be done to encourage recycling (think I'm right in saying there was only a bottle bank).

All in all we very much enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mattfen 17 reviews from this member

Stayed for 1 night whilst cycling Lon Las and it's a mixed review.

On the plus side the showers were excellent, the toilet block is clean and modern. There is an on site bar.

On the down side the camping area is on a slope and I felt that the site was not that bothered about having tents. I was the only tent on site and still couldn't find a flat spot to pitch - I ended up going back to ask to pitch on one of the serviced (EHU) tent spaces which are flat. Even though I was the only tent and was staying for one night I was made to feel like I was asking for the crown jewels.

The bar is pricey and didn't serve food, the showers are pricey.

I came away thinking that this was a Caravan park not a place for those under canvas.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Wiltshire Wanderer 3 reviews from this member

When we were visiting, the site was very quiet with not many visitors, probably because it was beginning of October and the weather wasn't very good.

The toilets were clean and warm. The site looked well kept and the pitches were hardstanding with grass area. You pitched on the hardstanding and it was quite difficult to get the tent pegs of our awning into the flint, the grass was to separate each of the pitches.

Not far from Porthmadog and despite the hills we walked to the town on the two days we were there, it took about 15-20 minutes normal pace.

Pretty view from site too and there was a playground for children, shop which was well stocked too.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Parsons 1 review from this member

Just returned from a weeks stay having originally booked for 4 nights. The site is in a beatiful location and is clean and well kept. The new shower block is lovely, clean and warm with one larger shower cubicle which makes showering your children much easier. The play area is great and the games room is handy. We didn't feel the need to use the resturant or family room so can't comment on those. The site has a lovely family friendly atmosphere and there are kids on bikes and scooters everywhere which was great for our two.

We had a non electric pitch which, although on a slight slope, had a stunning view of Moel y Gest (the mountain behind the site). The pitches with electric hook up were very cramped in a long line with nowhere for your car apart from in front of your tent so we are glad we opted for non electric.

The village of Borth y Gest is beautiful and its well worth making the effort to climb Moel y Gest. We made it up and down on our last morning in two hours with two children aged 3 and 6. Child free it takes about an hour and is well worth it for the fantastic panoramic views.

We will return.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bry Williams 2 reviews from this member

WE stayed 5 nights and had no cause for complaint.

The site is set in beautiful surroundings and has all the amenities you would expect from a modern camp site, bar, shop. The shower blocks were very good with plenty of hot water for 50p, ( I got bored waiting to see how long they would last and got out before they were finished well showered).

They owners are pleasant and helpful and the restaurant serves filling, hearty food at a reasonable price, better than some pubs in Portmadoc.

Parts of the site are a bit sloping but nothing major, good drainage when rainy.

There is a kids play area and nice mountain walk nearby. Black rock sands is a mile or so away - you can drive on the massive beach, good for kids, (ther is a small charge weekends).

Portmadoc about 1/2 mile the other way. Has a Tesco, Lidl, Aldi, Takeaways, pubs, cafes, Harbour.

All in all a nice site well placed for seeing Snowdonia.

Been twice now, would stay again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Hevden356 3 reviews from this member

Just got back from a 3 night stay.

The welcome was friendly at reception. We were putting up our awning for the first time and one of the staff stopped to help and bent one of the parts for us to help it fit better! -very helpful and friendly. The site was busy but had a lovely family atmosphere.

We stayed on pitch B4 with electric hookup and our own water tap and drain. The toilet/shower blocks were immaculate and warm. Showers are 50p but not time or water limited so you can take your time in the shower.

The hotel staff were friendly and it was a home from home with comfortable sofas.

The only criticism is the meal we had at the hotel, we had pork and apple sausages and mash which was the saltiest thing I have ever tasted and £9!

I can recommend a takeaway curry from 'passage to India' just down the hill from the campsite.

Would recommend and would stay here again!

Previous     105 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Porthmadog      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotlandís newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3113 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019