Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Tyddyn Llwyn Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Tyddyn Llwyn Caravan Park And Campsite Reviews

Tyddyn Llwyn Caravan Park And Campsite
Morfa Bychan Road
Porthmadog
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL49 9UR
Tel: 01766 512205
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 153
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 105 Reviews
                8/10 from 105 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  105 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nordy600 6 reviews from this member

Seriously overpriced!

This site is big and caters more for caravans than tents. Virtually no level pitches unless you choose a serviced one and the nearest thing to level we did find killed off most of my pegs with the rocks.

The hotel/bar was more like a 1970s working mens club and the nearest toilet block was woefully inadequate for for the number of people at that end of the site, particularly with one of the showers being out of order for the full week.

The staff were all helpful and friendly but at five star prices I could afford to be as well.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jwblackpool 8 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 7 nights through till the Tues after the bank hol and all in all its a good site. Weather not too good and grass land sodden but you can't blame them for that. Had a fully serviced pitch which was loose slate chippings so it was ok for pitching in the wet weather.
There is a hotel with a bar on the site and that was great. Had a couple of good nights in there over the weekend. Toilets could be better and for all of our 7 night stay one shower was 'temporarily out of order'. Yes would stay again and if you visit you must go to Borth Y Gest beach which is beautiful.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: John Duffield 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from 4 nights on this site, not a bad place to stay, very quiet during the week but can get a bit noisy at weekends with children running around as there is not much for them to do but run riot. There is a small play area & a games room which requires supervision as well as in the family room of the bar area, which is closed on a Thursday.

Tent pitches C1-C9 have electric hook-up & own water supply these are nice & level otherwise you take pot luck as to were you pitch your tent as there are approx 3 areas you can choose from two of which are on slopes with very little level ground. There are three toilet blocks on site only two were operational so for some of us there was a lengthy walk to use the amenities once reached they were clean & tidy and the showers which were hot & cost 50p.

Roads within the campsite are extremely hilly so not recommended if you have trouble walking this also includes the road down to Porthmadog which is about 20 minutes away, 5 by car. This is where you will find Tesco, Aldi & Lidl as well as several local shops.

Turn left out of the campsite & approx 2 minutes away is a lovely village called Borth Y Gest with lovely views out to PortMeirion and coastal walks round to a small secluded beach and beyond. Turn right and this will take you to Black Rock Sands 5 minutes by car (too far to walk) £3 at weekends to take you car onto the beach doesn't appear to be a charge during the week.

If you have a caravan/campervan the pitches are hardstanding or grass again with facilities.

We enjoyed our short stay here and would definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Twixthecat 41 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a lovely 4 night camping trip at this site.

The site is largely made up of hard standing full service pitches, a fair number of caravans that appeared to be there for the whole season, mobile homes (appeared to be privately owned), a few levelled camping pitches with hookup, then a few different sloped fields for tents. We were told to pick our own spot and found a lovely flat area sheltered by trees. It's good you can pitch anywhere as it is generally very sloped and it was a challenge to find a flat spot the size of our tent!

The facilities on site included:

- a well stocked shop with toys, sweets, basic provisions and camping supplies, ice block freezing for 25p, tourist information leaflets and folders of useful information put together by the campsite. Very friendly and helpful staff. We paid an extra £3 for late checkout (to be able to stay till 5pm rather than noon)- definitely worth to get an extra afternoon on site!

- a games room (which appeared to have a pool table and arcade games but we didn't actually go in it)

- a reasonably priced bar including family room

- a childrens play area

- Two open toilet blocks (plus an older tattier looking portacabin which was closed)

- plenty of water taps dotted arund the site

The toilet blocks were very clean and well cared for. The block we used had 2 dishwashing sinks undercover outside, then in the ladies were 4 toilets, 3 sinks, 3 showers, a baby changing table and hairdryer (20p). The showers are 50p, hot and last a good while. However, it is just a shower cubical - there is no where to put your clothes apart from the 1 peg on the back of the door which gets splashed as there is no partion or curtain, bench etc, so be sure to bring a bag for your stuff - I tried all three and according my other half they're just the same for men and women. Also the showers are still push button despite paying 50p. You can't adjust the temperature and having to keep pushing the button is a bit annoying, I think.

The site is ideally located for access to Porthmadog- about 15 minute walk from the site. We were staying here for a wedding on the Ffestiniog Railway and easily and safely walked there and then back afterwards. I would highly recommend the Spooners pub on the railway platform, serving great local real ales. Black Rock Sands beach is a short drive away and as you can drive onto the beach, ideal for a sunny day.

Directly behind the site is Moel-y-gest hill which overlooks the area. Although steep and rocky in places it's a relatively quick walk with amazing views of Criccieth Castle, Black Rock beach, Porthmadog, over the Cob and estury and in the distance Harlech castle and even Snowdon. Just be warned that the paths are through bracken so if it's been wet you will get soaked and will need shoes with good grip!

A fanastic site well looked after and obviously the owners have attention to detail - highly recommended. From previous experience I would say it's worth being just this little further from the sea in order to get the high standard of faciliites and in my opinion more considerate guests than the beach side sites.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: C. McCarthy 2 reviews from this member

I have just returned from this site after a 5 day stay. What a lovely site. 3 toilet / shower / dishwash blocks and all are immaculate. Cost was £7.00 pp/pn. There is a club house which has a super family room with pool table and an assortment of board games behind the bar for all to use. Also has a big screen t.V. And sky sports. There is also a seperate room for adults only. The bar managers Mervin and Pauline are perfect hosts and do there utmost to give any info required.

Is a short drive to Porthmadog and Black rock sands. You can walk it in about 30 mins which is fine going, but a very steep uphill climb coming back.

They dont allow big groups or gangs on site as this is very much a family campsite, all parents are very responsible with there children and even though there is a small games room next door to the club, you never see any children hanging around or making noise.

Children are only allowed in the club when accompanied by an adult. There is an on site shop selling bread, eggs, milk etc and gas is available here too.

I will be returning to this site time and time again. You should visit it at least once, then draw your own conclusions.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Andrewr9945 3 reviews from this member

Have been going to this site for about 4 years with my family, this year was a real mud bath, not the sites fault as the weather was very wet, our pitch which was prebooked was the muddiest on the site as it was at the bottom of the hill. Complained about this when arrived was told site was full and could not move, though did see empty pitches throughout our stay, showers and toilets very clean but 50p for a shower when you have a family of five is a bit steep, great locatation and fair play when we got home owner of the site rung me up apologised for the muddy pitch and offered us two free nights so will go back as we love the location.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jdav29 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weeks holiday at what once was our favourite site. We have spent many happy stays there over the last few years but alas things have taken a turn for the worst. Gone is the children's play area (there is talk of a replacement but no signs as yet)replaced by new hard standing pitches. The ageing toilet block at the heart of the site was to be replaced over the winter break but alas again no investment. It is worth noting however that there are 2 other blocks on site which are kept to a high standard by the on site wardens.

The site was excusably looking worse for wear given the wet summer we have experienced.  However many of the roads especially on the touring field are devoid of top stone covering which unfortunately resulted in plums of white dust following every car that passed which, at meal times, was a real pain.  It got so bad at times that all windows on both cars and vans had to be kept firmly shut to prevent a layer of fine white dust settling on all exposed surfaces.
 
I have tried to keep this review balanced and so it is again worth noting that the friendliness of the staff in both the camp shop and the site wardens continues to be first class.  The issue I feel is that the focus has been placed firmly on squeezing more into the same area without ensuring the infrastructure to cope with such expansion is in place first.
 
On the entrance to the site is a sign that says "Family friendly site" and yet there is no area for the kids to play ball games nor are they allowed to play next to their pitches.  Instead their only respite is an extremely small games room.
 
Most people I spoke to had the exact same overall view and again most said they would not becoming back in the near future unless the site changes for the better.  This is I'm afraid my view also.  This picturesque site has unfortunately been spoilt by lack of investment in the areas that count to the visitor.  It fair to say that some levelling work was completed last winter and additional hook ups have been installed but this again is focused on squeezing more out of less.
 
In summary, what once was a beautiful site in a lovely location has succumbed to commercial pressures and lost sight of the values that made this a great site in the past. 

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wkddon 1 review from this member

First time to this camp . Very friendly staff in shop and hotel .Nice comfy sofa in the lounge .I nearly fell asleep in there . Under refurb at moment so no restaurant .
Good that you can pick your own pitch to camp although they are mainly all on a slope , so kept sliding down the airbed .
Not good in the rain , very hard to get car up the hills in the mud .
Showers and toilets clean . Plug points didnt work  . No bins on site  . Have to take rubbish to skip at entrance but this does stop rabbits and squirrels rooting for food .
Other than that a lovely camp site within walking distance to porthmadog .Nice drive to  Portmerion and Snowdon Railway  two definate great attractions close by .

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rosemaryp 15 reviews from this member

A great family site.  Small play area for children to meet, but the stream running through site seemed like  a muddier but more appealing prospect to most of the children on site (including mine). 
 
Toilets and showers were fine, clean and all in working order, pub on site offered good sized family friendly room and extras such as bingo, quiz, etc.
 
My only comment would be on the price, for my small 2 man tent with only myself and 5 year old, I was paying the same as someone with a much larger 4 man tent.  Also with the very wet conditions , it did get very muddy and slippery on some of the sloping pitches, some people were finding it difficult to get cars up to some of the steeper slopes.
 
All round a well-run and clean, tidy site.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sparky62 2 reviews from this member

My first proper camping experience. My daughter and I arrived on the Wednesday and stayed til Saturday. Weather was good and the staff even better. We were told what area we could camp in and not which pitch which meant we could choose our pitch. The shop was adequate but the pub on site was closed for food due to refurbishment.
The shower blocks (2) were clean - 50p for a shower.
We had a great time and would recommend the site.
Watch out for speed cameras on the way from Porthmadog to the campsite! The sneaky beggars got me on the way to the site on the day we arrived. £60 fine and attendance on a Speed Awareness Course. Be warned!

Previous     105 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Porthmadog      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2840 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019