Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tyddyn Llwyn Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Tyddyn Llwyn Caravan Park And Campsite Reviews

Tyddyn Llwyn Caravan Park And Campsite
Morfa Bychan Road
Porthmadog
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL49 9UR
Tel: 01766 512205
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 153
Open: 01/08/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 112 Reviews
                8/10 from 112 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Midge18 1 review from this member

 21st September 2020 (low season) £23 fully serviced pitch number C5 (all day sun) including dog - (Hardstanding, Water, Electric and Waist drain) -

Very nice clean and tidy Caravan Site - Well maintained - Good sized hardstanding plots with large grassed areas between plots -

Staff very friendly and welcoming - Welcome pack with info and site map -

Need to have your own facilities due to toilet/shower facilities being closed for Covid - Elson point and rubbish bin in operation all with hand sanitisers and I think the Laundrette was also open - Mini shop on site -

Smokehouse Bar & Restaurant on site but only for takeaways and only open now from Fri-Sun (we missed out on that) -

Great place to stay if you are wanting to walk up Moel y Gest with the footpath directly off the site -

Peaceful night - Will definitely be returning :) 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scyoun 1 review from this member

 Had a great stay, staff where fantastic and very friendly,

Very close to town and a beautiful setting,

Would use again if we were in the area, (we could not comment on the restaurant as due to covid it was closed. ) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Janjak 1 review from this member

 We were very impressed with every aspect of the site.

Staff/ location/ scenery/ cleanliness/ overall maintenance/ ambience/ pitches/ etc.

Can’t fault it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Davieq 3 reviews from this member

 The caravan site was very quiet and kept very clean. The site is only a short walk from Porthmadog about fifteen minutes. The staff were very helpful when asked about the area.

I cannot comment on the shower and toilet facilities as they were closed due to covid 19.

The only downside I can point out is there were no recycling facilities for paper, plastic bottles and tins !8 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sizz 1 review from this member

 Great peaceful site within walking distance of Porthmadog, a short drive to the beach, close to Porthmadog Golf Club.

The site has hardstanding pitches for most or all touring caravans, some pitches are extra larger if you want more space.

Toilet facilities are very good, clean. Showers take 50p to use but last long enough for a good long shower if required. The site has a rule that all rubbish is to be placed by the entrance to the park to save on nasty smells/wasps etc being near to caravans, we found this very good as took our rubbish daily on our way out.

Pub/restaurant on site which is open to non residents, we found it not busy which we liked. Small shop on site for groceries /camping equipment etc.

Overall very good value, unable to visit this year due to covid but hopefully be booking again for 2021. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jim yarwood 9 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in beautiful setting and a good base to explore this part of N Wales. Level pitches on terraces - all immaculately maintained. 15 mins walk to seaside village of Borth-y-gest and the coastal footpath. 20 mins walk into Porthmadog.

We visited during Covid so on-site facilities block & bar/restaurant were closed (hence 8/10 marking). Staff were helpful & friendly and we had no concerns as to the Covid safety measures implemented on site.

Covid unfortunately also meant that some of the local amenities/ attractions were closed or open only intermittently. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carol Jean 35 reviews from this member

 Pleasant site, nice showerblock but bit naughty charging 50p a time. I saw a review on here that said you could share a shower as you got plenty of time but as Ladies and Gents were separate it didn't seem appropriate to enter the Gents block with my partner.

The price per night of £33 was pretty steep as well.

We do like walking but for anyone not able to walk too far it was a 15 minute walk from our caravan (took 5 minutes to walk to the entrance) out of the site up and over the brow of the hill and then down the other side of the hill to the bottom where Passage to India is (where we had a nice curry).

Its then another 10 minutes along the High Street to the railway and the harbour and that's as far as you need to go. Reception told me the bus times but it was a "rural " bus service which wasn't much use to us and it finished around 6pm or something.

One night we ate at the tapas restaurant on the high street which was quite nice. I was a bit disappointed in Porthmadog in that the harbour was quite pleasant but there were no cafes or pubs overlooking it. On an evening we like to sit and have a drink outside somewhere where there is a nice view or beer garden but we couldn't find any such place.

One pub Australia had a dismal smoking area at the back and then we went to the Red Lion which had what they called a biggish "beer garden" but it was surrounded by weeds. I just felt that it wasn't geared up for visitors. I saw a sign near the harbour that said "I" for information but was then told at the Harbourmasters office was closed down but they hadn't removed the "I" sign.

We went on the Ffestioniogg railway which was £26 each. Yes it was very nice but actually we had already seen the lovely scenery on the way to Porthmadog so not too sure if I would recommend it. But I would definitely recommend visiting Portmeirion.

That was very easy to cycle to as it was only 3. 5 miles and only a slight hill to contend with. If you do cycle it then as you approach the railway from the high street just cross to the other side of the road and there is a pedestrian/cyclepath which runs parallel to the road bridge.

You then have the water on your left hand side( don't go wrong like we did ). Portmeirion is one of those places you have to visit once in your life. It was £10. 50 each (think that was Seniors) to enter the village.

We also had a walk to Borth Gest, that didn't take long but its a very small place with not much there. We also drove to Criccieth. I had been told that was really nice but there wasn't much there. One bar/restaurant near the beach called Dylans was very busy. We had a drink outside. Inside the seating looked a bit café like and uncomfortable. I don't think it was a cheap place either. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Geordie man 1 review from this member

 We chose this site as it was within walking distance of Porthmadog. We arrived on a Monday afternoon and booked in. We received a warm welcome from the lady in Reception and were told our allocated pitch.

The site was quite busy, but we were lucky to have an empty space next to us at the end of the row. The pitches are all level and a good size. Each has its own water, electric and grey waste drain

The facilities, showers, toilets, dish wash area and elsan point, are all very good and clean. We had absolutely no complaints. There is a bar and restaurant on site, which is nice to have.

We only visited for a takeaway and a cider, the staff were friendly and helpful. We may have used this more if we had been staying longer. The walk into town takes about 20mins, downhill going in, so a bit of a climb coming back out.

There are a good range of shops and eateries, a nice park and harbour area. We took a ride on the Welsh Highland Railway which goes from the harbour side.

A scenic journey and a good day out. We also visited Portmeirion, just 10 minutes from the site by car or motorhome. To sum up, this is a very good and well managed site in a lovely area of Wales.

We will definitely stay there again when we are back North Wales 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bananarama 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site to be near to Porthmadog. Easy walk into town, bit of a climb back to the site! Buses available to end of campsite lane if required.

Good facilities in town, Ffestiniog Railway a highlight. Walk from campsite down footpath to Borth-y-gest is lovely, fabulous café in the bay too. Friendly welcome at the campsite when we arrived. Not much of a view from our pitch, felt a bit crammed in to be honest (not helped by our neighbours insisting on parking their motorhome the wrong way round and using our pitch to go in and out of their van!).

Facilities always spotlessly clean and warm, although we felt 50p for a shower and 20p for the hairdryer was a bit much, especially after paying quite a bit for an expensive campsite. Could really impact on the holiday budget of a larger family. Also extra for WIFI. Overall a well kept campsite, great location, not so keen on paying for extras. 


Date of Visit: May 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Poppit1953 1 review from this member

 I loved all of it. It’s a shame that tents are not allowed anymore. This was my favourite campsite in the uk.

I wish they would have a place With hook up for just tents.

If ever you allow tents again be sure to let me know ☹️ 
via mobile


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tyddyn Llwyn Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tyddyn Llwyn Caravan Park And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Tyddyn Llwyn Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Porthmadog      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2095 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement