Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Tyddyn Llwyn Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Tyddyn Llwyn Caravan Park And Campsite Reviews

Tyddyn Llwyn Caravan Park And Campsite
Morfa Bychan Road
Porthmadog
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL49 9UR
Tel: 01766 512205
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 153
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 105 Reviews
                8/10 from 105 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  105 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carol Jean 29 reviews from this member

Pleasant site, nice showerblock but bit naughty charging 50p a time. I saw a review on here that said you could share a shower as you got plenty of time but as Ladies and Gents were separate it didn't seem appropriate to enter the Gents block with my partner.

The price per night of £33 was pretty steep as well.

We do like walking but for anyone not able to walk too far it was a 15 minute walk from our caravan (took 5 minutes to walk to the entrance) out of the site up and over the brow of the hill and then down the other side of the hill to the bottom where Passage to India is (where we had a nice curry).

Its then another 10 minutes along the High Street to the railway and the harbour and that's as far as you need to go. Reception told me the bus times but it was a "rural " bus service which wasn't much use to us and it finished around 6pm or something.

One night we ate at the tapas restaurant on the high street which was quite nice. I was a bit disappointed in Porthmadog in that the harbour was quite pleasant but there were no cafes or pubs overlooking it. On an evening we like to sit and have a drink outside somewhere where there is a nice view or beer garden but we couldn't find any such place.

One pub Australia had a dismal smoking area at the back and then we went to the Red Lion which had what they called a biggish "beer garden" but it was surrounded by weeds. I just felt that it wasn't geared up for visitors. I saw a sign near the harbour that said "I" for information but was then told at the Harbourmasters office was closed down but they hadn't removed the "I" sign.

We went on the Ffestioniogg railway which was £26 each. Yes it was very nice but actually we had already seen the lovely scenery on the way to Porthmadog so not too sure if I would recommend it. But I would definitely recommend visiting Portmeirion.

That was very easy to cycle to as it was only 3. 5 miles and only a slight hill to contend with. If you do cycle it then as you approach the railway from the high street just cross to the other side of the road and there is a pedestrian/cyclepath which runs parallel to the road bridge.

You then have the water on your left hand side( don't go wrong like we did ). Portmeirion is one of those places you have to visit once in your life. It was £10. 50 each (think that was Seniors) to enter the village.

We also had a walk to Borth Gest, that didn't take long but its a very small place with not much there. We also drove to Criccieth. I had been told that was really nice but there wasn't much there. One bar/restaurant near the beach called Dylans was very busy. We had a drink outside. Inside the seating looked a bit café like and uncomfortable. I don't think it was a cheap place either.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Geordie man 1 review from this member

We chose this site as it was within walking distance of Porthmadog. We arrived on a Monday afternoon and booked in. We received a warm welcome from the lady in Reception and were told our allocated pitch.

The site was quite busy, but we were lucky to have an empty space next to us at the end of the row. The pitches are all level and a good size. Each has its own water, electric and grey waste drain

The facilities, showers, toilets, dish wash area and elsan point, are all very good and clean. We had absolutely no complaints. There is a bar and restaurant on site, which is nice to have.

We only visited for a takeaway and a cider, the staff were friendly and helpful. We may have used this more if we had been staying longer. The walk into town takes about 20mins, downhill going in, so a bit of a climb coming back out.

There are a good range of shops and eateries, a nice park and harbour area. We took a ride on the Welsh Highland Railway which goes from the harbour side.

A scenic journey and a good day out. We also visited Portmeirion, just 10 minutes from the site by car or motorhome. To sum up, this is a very good and well managed site in a lovely area of Wales.

We will definitely stay there again when we are back North Wales

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bananarama 9 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site to be near to Porthmadog. Easy walk into town, bit of a climb back to the site! Buses available to end of campsite lane if required.

Good facilities in town, Ffestiniog Railway a highlight. Walk from campsite down footpath to Borth-y-gest is lovely, fabulous café in the bay too. Friendly welcome at the campsite when we arrived. Not much of a view from our pitch, felt a bit crammed in to be honest (not helped by our neighbours insisting on parking their motorhome the wrong way round and using our pitch to go in and out of their van!).

Facilities always spotlessly clean and warm, although we felt 50p for a shower and 20p for the hairdryer was a bit much, especially after paying quite a bit for an expensive campsite. Could really impact on the holiday budget of a larger family. Also extra for WIFI. Overall a well kept campsite, great location, not so keen on paying for extras.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janet1 11 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet hilly site, well laid out with pitches on flat areas. Toilets and showers spotless.

There is a small shop at Reception selling basics and a Smokehouse/bar on site with patio where you could take your dog but, unfortunately, it did not open until 5pm each evening.

We were coming home each day around 4pm and it would have been nice to have a drink on the patio, if it had been open.

The walk into town was up a very steep hill so beware if you are not too good on your pins.

There is an hourly bus service to town from bottom of the drive.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Catrinit 2 reviews from this member

We stayed over easter weekend in our caravan and had a wonderful time. Lovely clean and tidy site with in a great location for Black Rock Sands. Lovely and clean large toilet & shower facilities.

We had a fully serviced pitch with water and grey waste points and electricity. Plenty to do locally and very conveniently sited on the main road between Porthmandog and Morfa Bychan.

The kids loved the climbing frame in the park and we also went for a paddle in the little stream on site. Menu in the club house also looked good, but as we had great weather we didn't eat there, we had bbqs instead.

We are returning this weekend with friends. Cant wait.

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 130 reviews from this member

Site is located 1 mile from Porthmadog towards Black Rock Sands and lies with hollow of Mel-y-Gest mountain.

Site mainly statics and seasonal with fully serviced hardstanding pitches for motorhomes and caravans, tents un-serviced grass pitches/field. TV reception okay, no phone service and WiFi £ 1. 00/day. Clean toilet block/laundry, showers 50p. Site has pub that specialises in slow smoked meat dishes.

¾ Mile walk from site take you to Borth-y-Gest bay with its two bistro restaurant/cafes serving breakfast, lunch and evening meals. Coastal walk takes you to Black Rock Sands.

3 ½ Miles (easy cycling) takes you to the magnificent Portmeirion village – a must visit if you are in the area. Ffestiniog steam railway runs from Porthmadog, which has Tesco, Lidl and Aldi supermarkets.

Overall nice quite site with lots to do and see in the immediate area, only downside is the lack of bins. The site only has one waste skip for refuse which is located at the site entrance and quite a hike from the touring pitches.

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Twixthecat 41 reviews from this member

Not great for tents!

All tent pitches are really very sloping on a hill(all hardstanding very flat). Rolled out of bed several times a night!

Only one water tap for all camping (although every hard standing has one), not even a tap on outside of main wash block!

Cars come racing round the corner speeding along the road that all campers have to cross to get to main wash block (most caravans on same side of road as wash block).

Other campers in a big group of about 4 or 5 families very noisy, shouting to each other close to our tent, not supervising very young children running about in groups constantly running across the road, shouting and screaming as they cycle around the site and playing in stream.

Lovely clean wash block and it was quiet from about 10. 30pm, but other campers inconsiderate and tent campers are 3rd class to caravans and campervans. The area is lovely, but there are lots of campsites in the area. I'll choose a different site next time. This is not somewhere I'd come camping again.
via mobile

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Julesmorris 6 reviews from this member

We spent two nights here, chosen because Porthmadoc was 10 minutes walk away. We had a flat hardstanding with all services (only used the electricity).

The on-site shop looked well stocked; we didn't manage to use the bar. Facilities were good with hot water in sinks and washrooms, but 50p (hygiene tax) if you want a hot shower (why did water from meter 3 come out of gents shower 1?).

The tent camping area appeared to slope quite steeply.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Paddy61 4 reviews from this member

Enjoyed our 3 night stay here this week beautiful sunny weather. The site is very nice. It's overlooked by Moel y gest which I believe you can walk/climb, a bit beyond us though!

We had a fully serviced hard standing (slate of course!) pitch. Nice and peaceful. Main toilet block looks quite new. Toilets and shower very clean. Reception has a nice shop, the lady in attendance was very helpful & friendly.

We walked to the nearby small coved beaches which are beautiful. Next day walk into Porthmadog takes 20 mins & onto the legendary train ride to Blaenau Ffestiniog. Day three walk down to the stunning Black Rock Sands beach which is about 8 miles there and back.

There's an on site Smokehouse restaurant that we didn't use so I can't comment.

To conclude would give it 10 if there were more than one bin. Minor quibble! Well done folks.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eriba 9 reviews from this member

The site is a 30 min into Porthmadog town which is really nice, plenty places to eat and drink.

Steam train line and train station. At £35. 50 per it was expensive, had to pay for the showers, which where not very clean at all and not a lot hot water.

The only bin was outside the site - 1/2 mile walk with your rubbish. Got up each morning to someone dog leaving nice mess for us to clean up ! Don’t think we will be returning!.

Previous     105 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Porthmadog      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3623 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019