Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Eastern Slade Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Swansea > Eastern Slade Farm Reviews

Eastern Slade Farm
Oxwich
Swansea
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
SA3 1NA
Tel: 01792 391374
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 motorhomes 20 tents
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 69 Reviews
                9/10 from 69 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pigwig 5 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a fantastic weekend at Eastern slade, before you read on, this site is for real camping ie. back to basics; not home from from home luxury

The field is at the end of a very narrow country lane leading through idyllic Welsh country side and woodland and has a view to die for.

The land is slightly sloping so can be a problem for some but is nothing out of the ordinary, and finding yourself at the wrong end of the tent at 4 in the morning is always good for a laugh! (it's why we go isn't it?)

Us being walkers we found the surrounding country side is what can only described as amazing and the various and easy to follow footpaths wondrous.

The nearest beach is sandy bay and is a pleasant adventure down the lanes and through some fields and an adventurous scramble down and over the rocks (we took a four year old so it's not that bad!) and once there the rock pools kept us amazed and entertained for hours it would be easier to list the things we didn't find to list those we did, the kids loved every minute of it.

The nearby (half hours stroll) Oxwich beach is great once you get passed the car park area, at both ends of the beach are beautiful woodlands with clearly marked footpaths (being spring these were full of wild garlic) and behind the beach is the incredible Oxwich salt marsh and sand dunes. The woodlands, beach, saltmarsh and dunes all form part of the Oxwich protected wildlife reserve, and being in an area of outstanding natural beauty you really can't go wrong.

Back on site as stated before the facilities are basic; one stand pipe and two chemical portaloos, however unlike festivals and building sites where these loos are usually found these ones were clean and smelt of chemicals rather than the usual unpleasantness usually associated with them! It should also be noted that there are no showers on site; unless washing under the stand pipe counts!

Kate who runs the site is extremely friendly and is full of helpful information and advice and to top it all off she takes the kids to help with the milking of the cows in the afternoon or early morning if they're up early enough!

With absolutely no doubt we will be returning to this site as the children loved it, we loved it and everyone else on the site loved it and that in a nut shell is the biggest complement we can give it.

I just hope and prey it doesn't get too busy and sells it's soul like some others we know!

Happy camping! 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Kate beynon 01 2 reviews from this member

 Site Owner Comments

Another year over - it started really well with our own folk festival in the form of Hoppys 40th birthday which was so well organised and wonderful to accommodate. Lovely music, wonderful food and charming people attending. The weather on the other hand for the rest of the season was not so kind - only the brave, the hardened or the optimists came camping in some of Gowers worst weather on records. The boys and myself managed two weeks under canvas, however we did have an en-suite house to run to! Frequently

For those that have been before and didn't show up this year we did miss you and look forward to seeing you soon, for those that haven't been before and cancelled we hope to see you next year. The field is still very muddy and there are deep tyre marks where my young tractor driver pulled so many cars out, we are hoping that it will dry out and recover in time for next year.

Ellie and Belle have finally given up looking for children to play with up the field and have resumed work, Tas (Belles pup) isn't too well at the moment but we hope that she will get better ready for next seasons ball playing in the field.

Once again thank you for all the positive comments posted and we all look forward to seeing old friends and meeting new friends next season.

Happy, healthy 2008 and see you in 2009

Kate, Keith, Tom, Jack & Harry 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happycamper77 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic! This campsite is what its all about. VERY clean portaloos excellent views and a feeling of proper camping! we could only stay a night -8 for 2 man tent - owners so helpful collecting rubbish and towing us out when the rain hit hard! great walks all around oxwich castle is a joy with a lovely woman working there who is very helpful and knowledgeable. The oxwich bay hotel was busy - as per I think! We found some of the staff quite curt and rude so didn't eat there and had a barbie back at camp which was much better! would stay here again but for longer next time. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsheathershaw 10 reviews from this member

 We must have been mad to set off camping as the forecast was dreadful but we did and Kate had kindly roped off the flattest part of the site as I have a very bad hip!The site is just a field with clean chemical toilets but is has a wonderful view and a helpful friendly owner. I could do the walk to the beach just and even went surfing. Kates children are great and also very helpful. A basic site, great location and excellent price for August. Thanks and we will be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrsD95 1 review from this member

 This was our first camping trip as a family with 3 young children. The site was lovely. Beautiful sea views and fantastic beaches. Can't fault the site -basic but clean, quiet and Kate was welcoming and extremely helpful. The dogs Belle and Ellie were a great hit with the children! The 10 min walk down to Slade Bay was no problem - but be warned there is a bit of a scramble to get down to the beach. We will definitely be visiting again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Patriciaparker 1 review from this member

 The best campsite you will visit. It is so quiet and peaceful and by 10.00 each night it was absolutely silent. The view is amazing.The owner Kate couldn't be more helpful and friendly she is a real star. She let my little boy feed the calves help with the milking and ride on the quad he spent most of the holiday playing with her 2 twins who are lovely.
We found the best beach was Oxwich bay as port eynon was stony and very crowded and the sandy bay near the campsite was beautiful and quiet but hard to get down to. All in all a very enjoyable visit we will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pigpie 1 review from this member

 What a find! great, easy going, friendly campsite in an area normally full of super-sized, commercial holiday-hell contenders. Great atmosphere from the other campers (there were about 6 other tents and a few camper vans on our weekend), which suggests that this might be the best little secret campsite there is on the Gower. It -is- simple, just a couple of portaloos and a stand pump, but that just adds to the charm and makes for a peaceful site - no cafe's, shower block trapes and night time 'entertainment' to keep everyone up. We had a lovely visit, and Kate the owner is a real star - so friendly and helpful. We've immediately booked for June and will certainly be back. Highly approved! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrMacca 1 review from this member

 A Lovely little site in the middle of no where. Owned by a Friendly lady called Kate, This is Camping without frills and expense. The Beach is interesting but access is tricky due to costal erosion of the path and is further away than the picture suggests. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 3boys+whippet 3 reviews from this member

 Great simple site and just 10 per night for our family of 5. Kate, the owner, made time to chat to everyone, so very easy to find out anything you wanted about the locality. The beach is straight out of Enid Blyton's 'Famous Five', rock pools, lovely sand, rocks to hide behind, gentle surf, campfires AND almost had the place to ourselves for days on end! Access down to the beach requires a bit of a scramble, I wouldn't have fancied doing it with a pushchair.

Lots of children were enjoying helping with the milking but mine were too lazy to get up early and help out!

Nice coast path walk to Oxwich and the family friendly Oxwich Bay Hotel. My boys also enjoyed a session at the nearby archery centre

Other campers were friendly and often had well behaved dogs, which joined in with Kate's dogs, fielding in the kids' communal cricket games. Very useful when the ball raced off down hill!

Only drawbacks - pretty steep site, hubby took quite a while to get the caravan flat, but no jeering or conspicuous watching from the other residents! Also, loos over the bank hol week-end were pretty yucky when overdue for emptying, we were able to resort to the caravan loo but others did not have that option.

In summary, great site, v. Friendly owner, fab beach, beautiful coastline and countryside. We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Kate beynon 01 2 reviews from this member

 Site Owner Comments

Once again the season is now over, even though the weather hasn't been particularly good, we have had a "cracking crop of campers" this year. I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who camped at Eastern Slade and entertained myself and the boys. We have had plenty of friendly nights with a glass of wine around the camp fire socialising. Tom, Jack and Harry and Keith and myself have made some wondeful new friends who I hope we will see again soon. Keith has had new trainees in the milking parlour and yes some campers did make the morning milkings this year!

Again thank you to those who took time to write reviews of my site it is reassuring to know that so many want to return.

Belle and Ellie have been missing all the attention and have now returned to working with the cows instead of playing in the field, Sox is also missing all the carrots and apples and we all look forward to seeing you all in season 2008.

Looking forward to 2008 camping season. 


Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Eastern Slade Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Eastern Slade Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Eastern Slade Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swansea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


443 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement