Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Eastern Slade Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Swansea > Eastern Slade Farm Reviews

Eastern Slade Farm
Oxwich
Gower
Swansea
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
SA3 1NA
Tel: 01792 391374
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 motorhomes 20 tents access difficult for tourers
Open: 365 Days

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 69 Reviews
                9/10 from 69 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karenm 1 review from this member

 Lovely views, extremely friendly host, easy access to the coastal path.

Field is on an incline and dependant on where you are you may need blocks for your van.

Lovely area and we will return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ggreensladeg 1 review from this member

 Kate the owner so nice and helpful

Such a nice place to have a walk around the coast

Beautiful views

The site such a laid back relaxing and the views are beautiful 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bede 7 reviews from this member

 It is a sloping field which, this year, has an hosepipe as its only facility. (Camping loos can be emptied in the farmyard. )

Slade Beach continues to be splendidly empty and beautiful and about 10 minutes walk away. You need to 'abseil' down the path but we've managed it in the past with a three month old in a sling, as well as buckets and spades and picnics, etc.

There is now a chippy at the bottom of the hill in Oxwich which is open, in August at least, on a Sunday evening.

The views are utterly idyllic and we had been looking forward to getting back to basics. We had naively imagined this would be the approach of everyone there. Whilst it was the approach of the majority, the generator that ran from 7 am - 11 pm whether or not the owners were in, accompanied by the extremely loud car radio, and singing along to it till 11 o'clock proved that this wasn't the universal approach.

Access is very tight. Pass the campsite and turn round in the farmyard if you're towing/bigger than normal (although the ice cream van which visited each day managed it easily). We got rather stuck and were very grateful indeed for the help from Kate, the very warm owner, and some of the other campers. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alan32 1 review from this member

 Used site as stop over as we walk the Welsh coast,

Lovely site the view and beach at the end of the lane amazing.

Kate the owner was lovely. Would go for longer next time. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Lucyshades 3 reviews from this member

 Very warm welcome from owner to what is a very basic site. Just porta loos and one water tap on the field but motor homes can use the farm for chemical waste and a longer fresh water hose. I did not use the porta loos but they were inspected daily. No recycling bins but all bags are collected daily if left by unit.

With all that it is reflected in the price and good value.

Sloping pitches all over field but the views are beautiful and easy access to the Gower coast footpath.

Happy to recommend this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Californiagirl 5 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site open to non caravan members as well. Sloping pitch but views to die for. Fantastic.

Portaloo toilets which were perfectly adequate. Water tap but owner will let you fill up your van at her farm which is a couple of yards away. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Buddfamily 2 reviews from this member

 My Husband, my son and myself had a lovely four day stay here, there was only two other family's so lovely if you enjoy the peace and quiet. The views were amazing and fab to wake up to.

Its a very quiet site which suited us and also very basic with just one Portaloo and one cold water tap (watch the nettles around it!)The local Bay wasn't too far away, could be difficult and rocky in places but lovely once your down there with endless rock pools for the kids to explore.

Oxwich Bay was a short car drive away and Port Eynon was about 10-12 mins by car, both are great days out for the family. The local shop is in Oxwich and the cashpoint is in the neighbouring Village of Knelston and they are both pretty well stocked up on everyday essentials.

The only bad point is that the field is more on an incline that anticipated and it did make sleeping a bit awkward. Would I stay here again?. Yes, most definitely! 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 007hel 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in April/May for the May Day Bank Holiday.

On arrival Kate came and introduced herself and showed us where to pitch on a very basic quiet field, which is just how we like it and what camping is all about :)

The field is sloping in all directions, which makes for great views of the coast, but made sleeping a little uncomfortable.

At the bottom of the field are portaloos and there are a couple of fire extinguishers at the bottom and top of the field, which unfortunately have been used and so are not usable if there were a fire emergency.

We walked via the coastal path to the private beach which was a little tricky in parts but all good fun and the kids enjoyed the walk.

If you like old fashioned basic camping then this site is great. Nice, quiet & scenic. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chris4 18 reviews from this member

 As is made clear in the details, this is a very small and very basic campsite with limited level areas.

It is very close to the coast path and beach but these are not accessible directly from the site. Good views out to sea and a very quiet spot.

Toilets consist of portaloos at the bottom of the field. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aurelie 1 review from this member

 We chose the campsite by chance, and what luck it was! We arrived quite late at night, and pitched up the tents before night fell, having warned the owners we would arrive quite late. The view from the campsite is amazing, but it's beauty was revealed to us the next morning with the sun shinning and reflecting onto the sea below from us.

The campsite slopes a bit, which means a great view of the Bristol Channel, but also means that we kept sliding down in our bed. To be fair, that would be the only downfall that we found with the campsite, and that wasn't much of an issue.

Kate, the owner as has been said, does at least one daily round to pick up rubbish and clean portaloos, and has been very friendly, inviting the kids to come and see the cows being milked and the calves fed, which was a great experience for them. Even though the Gower Peninsula is of outstanding beauty, we found ourselves quite happy to stay in the campsite not doing much.

The facilities are basic (potaloos and a tap) but that didn't stop us from staying 11 nights on site. The portaloos were clean but did get a bit smelly at times, probably due to the heat. Kate was however on call whenever something needed to be sorted. All in all, 5* rating is the least we could give it.

The other campers were really nice too, and our kids made friends in no time. This is a fairly small and intimate campsite, but gave a sense of camaraderie which I've not experienced in many campsites before.

The 'private' beach is outstanding, with lovely sand and great rockpools where we found an array of creatures, such as shrimps, crabs, starfish and young fish, etc, . The kids loved it! The sea was quite cold but again it's to be expected around the UK, and the water could be a bit rough at times, but made for great boogie boarding, so didn't bother us.

The track down to the beach is a bit rough too, and you can't really take a buggy down to the beach because of the rock climbing but was well worth the effort, I think we went down there 4 or 5 times over our stay, to give you an idea of how good it was there.

All in all, I'd highly recommend this campsite, as long as you don't expect material luxuries and can appreciate natural beauty you should enjoy this campsite as much as we did.

Thanks Kate, Keith and the boys for a great holiday!

Jake, Aurelie, Sid and Josie 


Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Eastern Slade Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Eastern Slade Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Eastern Slade Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swansea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3159 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window