Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Eastern Slade Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Swansea > Eastern Slade Farm Reviews

Eastern Slade Farm
Oxwich
Swansea
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
SA3 1NA
Tel: 01792 391374
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 motorhomes 20 tents
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 69 Reviews
                9/10 from 69 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Abbsy 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, fantastic owners, fantastic holiday.

The site is small and friendly, with a spectacular view over the Bristol channel to North Devon.

Kate and family couldn't have done more to ensure peoples holidays were relaxed and hassle free.

The loos were always clean and well stocked with loo roll.

The surrounding area is beautiful, with lot's of sandy bays and interesting walks.

We really can't wait to go again next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Selseng 1 review from this member

 Great spot - view of headland and sea from tent porch, 5 mins to lovely beach - and excellent - if basic - value for money.
 
Veggies can try the sausage, mash and gravy at Oxwich Hotel - also value at £20 for three (with 2 side dishes!)
 
Portaloos do smell ! And the slope needs a bit of adjusting too, but for 3 nights in good weather we had a great time ! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paulbambi 37 reviews from this member

 Brilliant! We did not want to come home, and nearly did`nt as our van would not start, but Kate provided us with free recovery, and jump started our van (shame).  Lovely quiet site with clean basic facilities and fantastic views.  The field is slightly sloping which we were concerned about at first, but not a problem if you have levelling equipment, and there are tractors if you get stuck, which we did`nt as the field is well drained. Chemical disposal point at the farm with hosepipe.  The TV reception is superb. Bus stop 5 minute walk away with and offering a  Gower Explorer rover ticket. Oxwich is about a moderate 15 minute walk with a basic shop that provides most things.  The beach is a short walk down the coastal path past the farm and is well worth the walk back up the hill, we were the only people on there, good rock pools and waves and great sandcastle potential. Fantastic quiet site with relaxed attitude and lovely owners, could not ask for more. See you soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Soph123 8 reviews from this member

 Just brilliant if your looking for peace, beautiful  scenery  , early nights and the best dog friendly site this is for you.
Kate and family made our stay stress free and always found time to talk about places to visit and life on the Gower
Slade bay  is sandy and safe but  very difficult to access for  anyone with a disability . 
Oxwich bay is just under a mile from the site by road , and if your feeling energetic you can take the coastal path back , the views are stunning and excellent for bird watching look out for the stonechats and Kestrel's as you walk.
Could go on for hours singing the praises of this lovely site, will be back many times thanks again  to Kate and family. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Harriejc 1 review from this member

 My family and I, (2 adults and 2 kids aged 6 & 9) spent just the two nights here and would have liked to have spent longer.
 
We would highly recommend the place for those who like their camping to be 'no frills'. As mentioned before there is a single tap in the field for washing and drinking water and three portaloos, which were reasonably clean and well stocked with loo roll and air-freshener.
 
Kate was an absolute joy, a very friendly and helpful person who took a personal interest in our holiday. She let our youngest have a ride on her quad bike with her and her kids whilst she collected the rubbish in the morning, and even lent us some tent pegs as we had forgotten ours as it was the first trip of the season - rookie mistake!
 
The site is basically a small field overlooking the sea, fantastic views across to Port Eynon and with a very lovely beach about a 10 min walk away.  The walk down to the coast path is fine but getting on to the beach from the coast path with very small children - say under 3 years - would be tricky as the path is quite steep. You definitely would not get a pushchair down there.
 
The camping field is small and slightly sloped and could be a problem with access or more importantly getting out if it was wet. We enjoyed glorious sunshine though and had no problem.
 
As the site is so small it has an instant community feel which was helped by the possibility of campfires using a special drum. This was a real plus point for us as our kids were desperate to toast marshmallows whilst sitting round a campfire.
 
I would recommend walking down to the local beach to pick up some driftwood and remember to pack a few firelighters when you go to make the most of this rare feature.
 
All in all a fantastic back to basics site with a fantastic hostess - we'll be back again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JohnCooper 1 review from this member

 A single night was spent here on a trip which was just a night away.

The pre-arrival communication was helpful and friendly, ensuring confidence in the place when we arrived. The field, whilst basic, has a running tap and port-a-loos so served our needs fine. We were lucky in being the only ones there so had the field to ourselves, I can imagine if more than around 8 tents were there it could feel crowded.

That said, the selling point (apart from dirt cheap price) is the outstanding view from the field. There was something very special about falling asleep with the sound of the sea clear and loud, but not intruding.

Things outside campsite owners control, such as local bus routes, mean you need patience in travelling there under own steam. But it is perfectly possible and (even on the long bus journey) the views are worth the slow meandering route.

Definitely one to consider if simple camping and wonderful views are your idea of fun . 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redfibee 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here with our 2 very young children. It was a lovely campsite. Nice and quiet, and they allow fires in a grate that is permanently located at the field after some kind campers made it for them and left it there. Toilet facilities are portaloos, but are kept reasonably well. Washing facilities are basic - a hosepipe in the corner of the field.

Kate and her children are great, very sociable and helpful. My children loved going to help milk the cows each evening.

Only downside is a slight slope in the field, which is most noticeable at 4am after the children have woken you and you're trying to get back to sleep. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sianheard 1 review from this member

 This has to be the best campsite in the area if you want to experience peace, stunning surroundings, and the feeling that you are somewhere way back in your childhood memories of the countryside.

The views are outstanding and Kate is the most welcoming host you can hope for.

Not for ravers, but you can always go down to Slade beach for the best barbecue location (take a torch and good footwear).

Gower fits all: surfing in Llangennith, riding at Parc Le Breos, fishing, boat rides ( Try " Gower explorer") sailing, water sports (lots of places to hire, but nearest is based in nearby Oxwich Bay), fishing, kayaking: the list is endless. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Kate Beynon 2 reviews from this member

 The season is now over and my field is once again a field.  I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who came to stay at Eastern Slade, whether it was for one night or longer.  This year has been really busy for us but everyone has made my job of looking after the site a real joy to do.  I would like to thank everyone who has taken time out to make a review of the site, it has helped me sell camping at Eastern Slade a lot easier.  For all those youngsters who have helped us milk, the girls really enjoyed seeing new faces in the milking parlour, (one day we will have someone to help with the morning milking) Sox my horse, Kizzy and Ellie the dogs have really enjoyed all the attention too.  
 
Slade bay is quiet now and bracing itself for the winter storms, which I will enjoy watching as the waves pound the cliffs, hopefully we won't lose too much of our field this winter and we will keep the sand for next summer. 
 
I wish everyone a good rest of 2006 and hopefully I will see some familiar faces for the 2007 camping season. 
 
Best wishes Kate, Keith, Tom, Jack & Harry 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KEE13 1 review from this member

 Our family of four have just returned from this fantastic site. Very basic, but the sea views are amazing. Kate is very accommodating and helpful, and the family made us feel so welcome. The beach is stunning, and the kids loved the whole experience of back to basics! We will be back there soon! 


Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Eastern Slade Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Eastern Slade Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Eastern Slade Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swansea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2096 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement