Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Lythe > The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site Reviews

The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site
High Street
Lythe
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO21 3RT
Tel: 07496 987688  or  01947 893295
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches:
Open: 10/02/2021 to 10/01/2022
           10/02/2022 to 10/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 121 Reviews
                9/10 from 121 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tighmar 3 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to the site and unfortunately quite disappointing.

We were the only tent on the site (remainder were caravans) but it was extremely difficult to find a pitch that was free from mud/soft grass able to take a car. Many of the tent pitches are also on a slope and quite exposed. Caravan pitches have a hardstanding suitable for a car but the tent pitches do not. OK in dry weather but not so when wet as on this occasion.

The toilet block was clean and warm as was the wash-up room with adequate hot water. There was a security camera in the wash-up room, the first time I have seen the need for this on a camp site.

The owners, who live in a caravan on the site were possibly not the friendliest of people in our experience. My wife was rather abruptly told off by the lady owner first of all for staying beyond 11am on the day of departure for which we apologised. Ten minutes later and whilst still packing away the tent, the husband came across who also reminded us that we should have left by 11am. The manner of this double ticking off seemed a little over the top, especially as we were the only tent on the site and it unlikely many others would be arriving at the end of a wet weekend in April.

Entrance to site is also extremely potholed (filled with lying water on this occasion) with much debris strewn on one side of the track, not the nicest of entrances to a camp site. At the time of our visit, there was a large artic lorry parked up in the back field that appeared to have been there for a long time that seemed be used for storage, again a bit of an eyesore if the adjacent pitches were the only ones available.

The area is extremely nice and site is close proximity to Whitby (3 miles) but based on our experience (two nights), we would probably look for a alternative site next time. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buckton 2 reviews from this member

 My wife and I have stayed here several times and although we are only 30 minutes away up the coast this site is nice and small and the staff dead friendly. The site is just off the coast road towards Whitby and about a 10 minute drive, there is also a Local Pub on the Main Road and David the landlord owns the site, were the food is excellent and home cooked and always fresh. The site also has fantastic sea views and is only a 20 minute drive to Goathland, and Grossmont were Heart Beat was filmed and you can also ride on an old steam train.

Whitby and the North Yorkshire Moors has so much to offer and there is so much to do, I know I live on the doorstep but believe you me the fish and chips in Whitby are unbeatable. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buckton 2 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for the first time with the wife and our dog and we were both well impressed nice small site so not over run and the staff were very friendly, the shower block and toilets were immaculate with instant hot water and even background music. David the owner also owns the Local pub the Stiddy with his wife which serves Excellent food. We will both definitely be back again for many times to come, as it is also handy for Whitby and Goathland were for those that do not know is were Hartbeat was filmed. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peter+Lorna 3 reviews from this member

 First class.

Showers and toilets are so clean.

The Stiddy pub is at the end of a lane well worth a night in for a drink and entertainment.

We had a thunder storm the day we arrived but the ground is so well drained, cost £14 for the 2 of us for one night.

Will be going back in a few weeks. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Picklednut 1 review from this member

 We had our very first camping experience at Lythe Caravan & Camping Park stopping 12-13th Sept. We arrived late due to traffic and missed the turning into the campsite (its behind The Stiddy pub) so had a little trouble finding the entrance to the campsite. The owner, David, who also runs The Stiddy pub was very helpful with directions and accommodating when we had to arrive at 7:30pm at night due to the traffic.

We arrived on the Friday night and shown to our electric hook-up pitch (number 24). This area of the campsite was slightly tucked away from the main part of the campsite shaded between two rows of trees and was on the main thoroughfare to The Stiddy pub (we did hear a few people returning from the pub late on the Sat night so avoid this area if you don't want people walking past your tent). As it was just the two of us it was nice to have a quieter area of the campsite (in fact on the Friday evening there was only us and a motorhome at the far end of the strip). I would however suggest you ask for a pitch in the main area if you wanted to be near the washing facilities and other campers / caravans if you wanted to mingle more with the other campers.

The second night however we returned from a trip to Whitby to find our area of the campsite to be full with several other tents and motorhomes on our of the campsite. We unfortunately had two sets of really loud young couples pitched up next to us which did impinge on our relaxation on the second evening. There are no wardens who patrol the campsite after 8pm so there is no 'quiet time' to adhere to.

The showers and toilets are impeccably clean and warm though with separate showering facilities with roughly 4 showers and 5 toilets per side. There is also a utilities room with washing up facilities, washer, dryer and freezer for ice-packs.

Location-wise it is great with a bus stop to Whitby right outside the campsite with the bus (4/X4) running every 30 mins into Sandsend and Whitby. We had a nice walk into the Sandsend bay and then took a bus into Whitby.

On-site, approximately 50 metres from the campsite is The Stiddy pub which is quite small inside but does sell good food grub (up until 8pm) and a nice pint!

We would definitely come back to the Lythe Caravan & Camping Park as its a great little campsite, in a nice location with a pub within walking distance and a short bus ride to Whitby. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stewart00 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from our second stay at Lythe - I left one of the first reviews on the site 3 years ago! Is still an excellent site, the facilities are still well maintained and clean with the on-site warden keeping a close eye on them, and there is a washing machine and dryer in the pot-wash now. We were pitched on the lane that runs down towards the pub, and the tall hedges and trees meant that it was very sheltered, although we had a couple of very windy nights it didn't affect the tent at all. The food in the Stiddy pub is still excellent but the main selling point for the site is the location at the top of Lythe bank, close to Whitby and Sandsend beach. Looking forward to returning again - but not leaving it 3 years this time! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lozzabob 1 review from this member

 This was a great campsite, we've been here twice now because we liked it so much the first time! The facilities were good, toilets and showers clean, they have a hair dryer as well. The washing up area is great because you don't have to be outside. The local area is beautiful. We went on a few walks, went down to Sandsend which was a very good beach. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Doney 1 review from this member

 Found this site by accident when looking for a tent vacancy in Whitby. Originally booked for 1 night only, but the weather was good and the lovely staff allowed a further 2 nights. Toilets, showers and washing up facilities were kept very clean and tidy. An excellent site I would recommend it to anyone. Thank you and well done! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevril1 15 reviews from this member

 Brilliant campsite. This was our first stay there and we were certainly not disappointed. Toilets and Showers excellent in a very modern building. Warden very very helpful and friendly as indeed was the Owner. Extremely easy to get into Whitby. There is a small shop in the village for essentials together with Post Office. The Stiddy Pub is right outside the campsite. The only downside regards the pub is that it only does meals on Friday and Saturday evenings and Sunday lunchtime. Well maintained campsite. Could do with a bit more attention to getting rid of the weeds and the road into and off the campsite is a bit rough. All in all this is a brilliant campsite and we had a wonderful holiday. We would thoroughly recommend this place. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ScoobySnaps 12 reviews from this member

 Nice small site - Selected it because of the 9/10 reviews, sea views and proximity to the pub and was available at 1 days notice of booking. Although we may return, do not think its 9/10.

Nice but small site, polite welcome with information about allocated pitch number, community shop opening hours and pub meal times.

The medium size tent pitch we were allocated was in the middle of the field close to the toilet block. Didnt realise until it was too late after setting up that we were opposite a family staying in a Pod with 6 noisy children playing football. May have asked to switch pitch to a smaller one at the back closer to the distant sea views.

Toilet block OK - Could have been cleaner but not the worst weve seen. Lack of loo rolls.

The pub wasn't open Saturday afternoon which was a surprise - opened at 6pm. So instead we drove down to Sandsend and had a paddle with the dog and had icecream. Lovely beach, super clean!

The local shop has a selection of most items you could need including cakes and local wine.

Overall good site, slightly bumpy pitch but good grass. Site could be maintained a little better, but probably will return. 


Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lythe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3080 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window