Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Lythe > The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site Reviews

The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site
High Street
Lythe
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO21 3RT
Tel: 07496 987688  or  01947 893295
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches:
Open: 10/02/2021 to 10/01/2022
           10/02/2022 to 10/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 121 Reviews
                9/10 from 121 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TheRealRonaldo 3 reviews from this member

 What a cracking little site this is, a pleasure to visit, deffo going back. Was on hardstanding overlooking sea, facilities were good ie. Hot showers with heated toilet block, water taps, elsan point all very convenient.

Bus stop outside site to anywhere along the coast you like, was £3 to Whitby single or £5 return then there's The Stiddy pub 100mtrs or so, a proper local pub if ever there was one, very friendly with really nice regulars. Was looked after by the site team very well and look forward to a revisit. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 9tiger9 15 reviews from this member

 (Nottschip, site owner will understand this ) Access, don't try coming up through whitby to sandsend to lythe with a caravan, motorhome ok as its on par with Sutton bank, you have been warned !, might be ok coming down the hill though as its on a bus route. Come into Lythe from the A171 Whitby to Guisbrough road it's so easy. What a cracking little site ! Owners nice and very helpful.

Facilities well tended as we're the plots. To the reviewer that commented about the holey track from the road these have been filled ! The hardstandings (5) have views across to the Abbey. We were also allowed to put the van either way on the pitch which was nice.

Some of the newer pitches up the track to the Stiddy pub were 16 amp on the main part of the site they seemed to be 10 amp so take a low wattage kettle n toaster or use your gas! Bus service straight outside site to the beach at Sandsend and Whitby. Will I return. Certainly will ! 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Marjay 7 reviews from this member

 We have stayed on this site several times and have always enjoyed our stay. The wardens are friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. The site is situated close to a regular bus service. The showers and toilets are always spotless and have underfloor heating and background music to make a visit pleasant and private.

We have no negative comments to make and this is one of our favourite sites and would recommend it to anyone. Looking forward to our next visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: JohnFromCornwall 2 reviews from this member

 This site could be so much more! Its in a great location, a few minutes from Whitby.

Access, long track full of pot holes, could be sorted with a few chippings.

Lack of water points, none down the bottom (pitch 9) where we were.

Pitches very close together, it was quite when we arrived on Thursday, but come Friday/Saturday it became busy, people were even being pitched between pitches!

It became better on Sunday afternoon/Monday morning.

The site became less packed, not quashed in.

Rest of the week was OK, but to our horror when we returned from a day out on Thursday, a family was pitched on pitch 10, next to ours. Its a long narrow pitch. These campers had put a caravan and awning up, it was under two feet from our folding camper. As I drove down the hill, their dog (one of four) was peeing on our awning!

I complained to the site manager, she went down and told them they must keep their dogs under control, but never moved them! They remained two feet from us, could hear every word.

Site was only half full, could have pitched them anywhere, but two feet from us!

Packed up and left early the next morning (06:00) never got any sleep because of next doors noise and snoring.

We were going to stay on until the following Monday.

Like I said, could have been a cracking site, but will not be going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campgib68 1 review from this member

 Excellent stay at Lythe Campsite. We camped and our friends had the Shepherds Hut. Excellent facilities and very clean and friendly.

Make sure you visit the Stiddy Pub for food and drink!

The bus outside the site is an excellent way to travel into Whitby along the coastal road at excellent value.

Try out the new Magpie street food stall, still excellent fish and chips at good value.

David, the owner was brilliant and will be back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samyorkshire 2 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site a few times and its always been fine until this bank holiday we stayed with a group and it was as if they had tried to ram as many people into the smallest spaces possible it surely must have been a fire hazard with some tents ontop of each other and a caravan that came late was just a few feet away from a pod the toilets are very clean and showers hot but there are no baby or we didn't see any disabled facilities.

The village is handy for trips to staiths sandsend and whitby all lovely places to visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jacksquirrel 1 review from this member

 We have stayed on this site a few times now and we are never disappointed. The wardens are always friendly and helpful without being intrusive. It is a small site tucked away but that is exactly what we look for in a site so we are very happy with it.

The toilets/shower block are always clean and I like the fact that the radio is on in there. The showers run at exactly the right temperature and do not turn off every couple of seconds. The block itself is always nice and warm even on cold days.

The owner of the site is also very friendly and approachable. He also runs the pub near the site which serves excellent value for money food. We have eaten both evening meals and Sunday lunch here and both were lovely and we have never had to wait too long for our food.

There is a shop in the village which is run by the local community and is stocked well. It also has a post office.

Overall, we find Lythe a very friendly place and will be returning here for many more visits. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cb1994 1 review from this member

 Stayed here as I live close and used it as home base for a few days as could not get time of work. Dined at pub(stiddy) and it was lovely landlord was genuinely nice and wardens seemed nice as there was no need for any queries as everything was good with my stay. The walks around the site was perfect for my dog and locals were lovely. Overall really good value for money with showers that last longer than the average campsite and a really friendly atmosphere, able to keep yourself to yourself. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mw212 1 review from this member

 A fab little site. A gem.

Arthur and Christine do a fab job. Toilets are kept prestine, despite the Yorkshire weather.

There are 4 Pods and a Shepherds Hut, about 20 caravan positions and 10 tents. All appear to have electric hook up.

Food in The Stiddy is second to none. Local shop sells everything yo need and there is a bus service to Whitby every 30 mins from the gate. Will be back 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pisceandancer 3 reviews from this member

 If you don't miss the poor signage and find the site there is a fairly long track full of large pot holes to navigate which even at the stated 5mph was in danger of causing damage to our car or caravan. When we arrived we had to find the cleaner to discover where we were pitched. No welcome here, with nothing on the notice board except an ad for the local cafe. Nowhere to park while we sought her out and we did not see anyone in our 4 day stay other than the cleaner who was struggling to deal with the mud everywhere. The drainage is poor and the balding grass with a bit of gravel thrown on are what qualify as hard standing. Only one working shower in the gents and 2 in the ladies which were either red hot or freezing cold and were the annoying sort that have a button that needs pressing as they cut off after a few seconds. The electric did not cut out but there was no individual water taps and no wifi. Tv reception really poor not worth bothering with. Yes the views are good with pheasants roaming around the van but we also saw a less appealing sight. A rat.

For the price the facilities are very basic and we will definitely not be returning. 


Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lythe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2766 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window