Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Lythe > The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site Reviews

The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site
High Street
Lythe
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO21 3RT
Tel: 07496 987688  or  01947 893295
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches:
Open: 10/02/2021 to 10/01/2022
           10/02/2022 to 10/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 119 Reviews
                9/10 from 119 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Towsure50 1 review from this member

 Excellent quiet campsite - only campsite close to Whitby that caters for families with more than one dog (well done to the lovely owners). Close to Sandsend Beach and lots of lovely surrounding walks. Facilities of high standard would definitely go there again.

Spacious pitches and clean and tidy - small friendly site. Caters for all.

Site close enough to drive easily into Whitby - can walk to Sandsend with the dogs but for very young children would need to take care. Plenty of parking there though, some of it free. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PnKT 4 reviews from this member

 We've just returned come home from a two night stay at Lythe and we shall certainly be returning. We found it to be a lovely site. It's really pretty with a lovely glimpse of the sea(the photos don't do it justice at all). There is a lots of shelter from the elements with large hedges and trees and it is way back from the main road which makes it feel very secluded. The toilet block was clean but did run out of hot water later in the morning on our first day. The showers were spacious, with a chair to put your clothes on to keep them from the flood on the floor, but it really could do with some duck boards so that you don't have to stand in everyone's soapy water. I spoke to the manager about the drainage in the showers and she assured me they were fixing it today - I have no reason to doubt them as the camp site was so well looked after otherwise. It's less than 5 mins from Sandsend by car (too steep to walk up Lythe bank with a 5yr old!). Great little site. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Kerrching 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a long weekend in one of the camping pods. This is a superb little site that we will definitely be returning to. The pod was amply sized for 2 adults and our teenage daughter but would be very cosy for a larger family. The pods have heating, lighting and power sockets and include a pub-style table and bench outside. Despite the site being very busy, there were no queues for the (immaculate) showers & toilets. Showers are free and there seemed to be an endless supply of hot water. There is also a pot washing room. The hosts were on-site and very friendly. The Stiddy pub provides lovely home-cooked food and you are assured of a warm welcome from the owner. The site and pub are both dog- friendly; dogs have to be tethered on site and it was nice to see that this was adhered to. Our dog made full use of the adjacent field which ensured he had a good run off the lead in an enclosed, gated field.

Cannot fault this lovely site. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Erosstone 1 review from this member

 A fantastic base for exploring the north Yorkshire moors and Whitby.

Staff were very helpful and accommodating for our needs. We gave plenty of notice that we would arrive at 2300 on Friday night and they were totally fine with it, they pitched us in a nice quiet area so as not to disturb other site users.

This is a relatively new site and so facilities were very modern, new, plenty full and clean. Prices were extremely reasonable.

We will definitely be staying again when back in the area.

Only reason for 7/10 for child friendliness was because there didn't seem to be much for kids to do on site unless parents provided some ball, toys etc to play with.

Would like to thank the owners for a lovely stay. Nick and Nat 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Begbie 2 reviews from this member

 Did we really go to the same site all the reviews compliment?

We will not be going back for the following reasons. Mens toilet block dirty every day, stalls without loo roll and human waste smeared all over the seat and walls by some Imbecile on the day we left. I'm told the sanitary bins were overflowing in the ladies and at peak times resembled a steam room as no extractors or ventilation. Again a lack of loo roll. The site was very busy all week and the tents / caravans / campers are put too close together. There was also an issue with a large caravan group who had come with the intention of partying until the early hours. The warden was off site and the owner (very polite and courteous chap) had to be contacted to speak with the anti-social group. Suffice to say the site does not have a clear or enforced late night noise policy. It would benefit from a kids playground although there is one behind the village hall. The pub, which is a 5 minute walk away does good food and is owned by the same chap. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deeandjase 1 review from this member

 Really nice site. We went as a family with 2 yr old and a dog for two nights.

The site is signposted from the road, just between the Stiddy pub and the fire station.

The site was very clean, tidy and well kept. Plenty of space for everyone, even though the weather was superb that weekend. There is a field on site for exercising dogs, as well as another field a few yards away for public use. There is also a children's playground that is free to use behind the village hall.

The new shower/toilet/washing up block is spotless and has everything you need, including a hairdryer for the ladies!

The owners are based on site and were always smiling and friendly. The service when we booked was superb and the confirmation email was clear and sent quickly.

The pricing structure is very clear, although we paid 25 for a family tent (3 man) and the pitches next to us with 6/8 man tents paid the same. No difference in price from 2 man to family. I am NOT complaining however.

I would definitely recommend this site and plan to go back again this year. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MkieChef 2 reviews from this member

 I booked this site at the last minute for an 'impulse' trip. The team were very welcoming both online and in person despite my only contacting them late at night the night before visiting. The site was immaculately clean and tidy, with spacious pitches, recently built/refurbished facilities and odour-free bins. My son and I had a really relaxing, peaceful night's stay, with no trouble from noisy youngsters and no noise from the pub despite being only a few yards away. A great site, and a good price too. My only gripe would be that the refuse collection area got a bit overwhelmed. No flies or bad smells, just more bags than the facilities could really cope with, but given the bin area location, the campers weren't really inconvenienced. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sutcliffe 2 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit here and standards are happily the same. A lot busier this time but showed how good this site is. The facilities were kept clean, warm and coped wonderfully with the almost full site.

Noise didn't seem to travel across the site even though it's in a reasonably small contained area.

The Stiddy - Warm friendly atmosphere, food still excellent. I have 3 young children - clean plates all round.

We have already booked our return visit. Can't wait. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: S4r4h-B 1 review from this member

 This is the second time myself and my family have been to this site. Both times we stayed in one of their 4 pods. The pod on both occasions was very clean. This time we had a picnic bench at the front of out pod which was very helpful.

The toilet block was very clean on both of our visits, the first time we stayed here, it wasn't long after it opened, this time, a year later and its still just as clean and pleasant as it was before.

There is a couple on site who keep everything in order, very friendly and approachable.

There isn't a shop on site but its down a very short path and over the road. I've been to on-site shops that are further away! There is also a lovely play park less than 5 minutes walk away.

The Stiddy pub is very welcoming and serves a lovely pint of Copper Dragon along with tasty meals.

If I HAD to find a negative, it would have to be the rubbish facilities, rubbish over flowing in the bin area waiting to be collected and no recycling.

However I will be booking to go again as it really is such a fab site! :) 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hud1 11 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Lythe Campsite had a fantastic time, the welcome we received on arrival was spot on. The Campsite itself was immaculate, the shower/toilet were amongst the best we have visited. The Stiddy pub on the outskirts does excellent home cooked food at reasonable prices, the service in the pub matches the standards of the Campsite (owned by the same guy), well behaved children are welcome in the pub. There is a children's play area in the village (about 5 mins walk from Campsite. Used Smilers Taxis to get us into Whitby (very reliable) as this was equal to the bus fare as there was 7 of us. We will definitely be returning. 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lythe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3389 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement