Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Lythe > The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site Reviews

The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site
High Street
Lythe
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO21 3RT
Tel: 07496 987688  or  01947 893295
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches:
Open: 10/02/2021 to 10/01/2022
           10/02/2022 to 10/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 119 Reviews
                9/10 from 119 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mr+Mrs H 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed here Friday to Sunday. It's a lovely, small site in a pleasant area.

The toilets and showers were clean and warm and there were no issues with the EHU power supply. There is a freezer for ice packs in the washing up / laundry room.

The owner and on-site wardens were very helpful.

The local shop is great for essentials and we had a lovely meal at the pub. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Taylorn54 2 reviews from this member

 Clean site lovely views bit windy as high on hill overlooking the sea, 300yards from main road so no road noise, Warden helpful and friendly. Toilet block warm clean & tidy, Pub is a couple of hundred yards from the site so no late night noise and it is warm & welcoming. Pub food is reasonable with warm desserts. 


Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Megellie 1 review from this member

 A real find this site, situated close enough to walk to and from Sandsend although the walk back up the bank of about 3/4 of a mile certainly blew some cobwebs out. The Stiddy situated at the front of the site is a great comfy little traditional pub which serves great food and a good pint. We found all the staff on site most friendly and very welcoming. We will definitely be visiting again 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ron22 20 reviews from this member

 This was a repeat visit as we were here on two occasions last year. On this occasion we had three nights as the sole occupants of the site. This a great small site the caters for tents, caravans and motorhomes. There are a number of pods also. It is a very relaxed site with excellent toilets / showers. Some of the H. S. Pitches have sea views and over to Whitby. The wardens who live on a van on site are very friendly and helpful. The owner who is equally as friendly and accommodating lives and owns The Stiddy Public House at the front of the site. The pub which is extremely friendly does very good food at reasonable prices and serves real ale. Both the site and pub are dog friendly, there is a half hour bus service from the site entrance into Whitby and Middlesbrough (and then beyond in both directions). There are an increasing number of dog friendly establishments in Whitby, Becketts in Skinner Street was particularly so and served superb and slightly different delights. Walking from the site is excellent with a choice of coastal and countryside walking. Our next visit is not far off.

TV reception was poor or in our case non existent. Free WIFI is available in the pub but this is to be extended to the site within weeks but not sure if this will also be free. 


Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Graeme_Cooke 9 reviews from this member

 We visited Lythe Caravan and Camping site for one night. We had something on in Whitby and wanted somewhere close by with hard standing and that was open in November.

On arrival we were met by the site warden who was very friendly and helpful. He let us choose our pitch and gave us an overview of the site.

As I said we had one of the 5 hard standing pitches on the site. The first thing I would say is that the pitch would be best suited to a motorhome as the pitch was too small for a unit, awning and car. Fortunately we didn't use our awning.

The site was very quiet when we were there but I can imagine it being very busy in summer and on goth weekends. Looking at the layout I can see why others had said it gets crowded. Space is somewhat limited. The toilet and shower block was small but clean. It consisted of three showers, three loos and urinals in the gents. My better half said there were more in the ladies. The shower block was warm and the water was hot. There was even music being played.

The location was great being only 3. 5 miles out of Whitby. We took the car rather than walking but on a nice day I'd imagine it would be a loverly walk to Sandsend. The road out of Whitby would be interesting with a caravan. I'd suggest you check on Google street view before going that way.

The pub next door to the site, The Stiddy, has excellent home cooked food. Dave the landlord also owns the site and is very welcoming. Certainly worth a visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poppy71 3 reviews from this member

 The approach to Lythe campsite from Whitby is a winding hill which is 1:4, I imagine it being a challenge with a caravan in tow.

If you are game for a steep climb, you will be rewarded with stunning views from Sandsend to Whitby. Sandsend was a discovery. Beautiful stretches of beach, within walking distance of Whitby.

The reception is a caravan which is manned by very friendly and helpful staff.

A small site with views across fields to the sea. The toilets and shower block were spotless and lovely and warm. The only down side that I found was the cost of the drier in the laundry was dear at 3 per cycle.

The local pub, The Stiddy, was very welcoming to both children and dogs, and a real haven on a chilly evening. We enjoyed the quiz night on the Sunday, especially when we won.

The pitches can seem a little tight, but large tents are welcomed.

There isn't a play area in the site but a kiddies playground is just around the corner, opposite the local shop, which serves delicious home cooked food and has a tea room.

Wood pigeons are sooo annoying first thing in the morning, although a keen animal lover I could make an exception and kill the little darlings. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Allfamfun4 10 reviews from this member

 Great site, just returned from a 7 night stay and we have no complaints. Good sized pitch, great shower/toilet block, excellent location.

Location perfect for walking down into Sandsend and on to Whitby, we did this several times with our 2 boys and 2 dogs and it took around an hour and a half, we caught the bus back twice which we found reasonably priced and on time.

Site wardens couldn't have been more helpful both on arrival and throughout our stay - even sorting a gas bottle problem we had without any charge.

We will definitely be using this site again.

Also thanks to David for squeezing our friends and their tent in for 2 nights at short notice - much appreciated.

Quick point to note if you're looking for late afternoon/ evening sun ask for a pitch close to the top of the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Kaz6311 1 review from this member

 Just returned from this little site, wardens were lovely and kept the shower block immaculate. Site was busy but I guess it is peak holiday season and the weather was spectacular. Showers were a bit tepid if you left it till later in the morning, wasn't too bothered by that because the weather was so hot. We were on pitch 11 with our large trailer tent and it took up the whole length of the pitch. Next to us was one of the pods, which seemed to have new people every second day and which was at an angle which couldn't fail to have an impact on our pitch with parked cars etc. Probably the smallest pitch we have ever encountered. Again, I know it was August but it all felt too crammed together, just not enough space between units, we had no option to sit out next to the tent which is a first for us.

The village store in Lythe was well stocked and Sandsend is delightful, you can walk to the village but be aware there is quite a hill on the way back so it wouldn't be great for people with mobility problems. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Petipois 1 review from this member

 Booked for 2 nights in a camping pod, and enjoyed our stay so much decided to stay for a further 2 nights! Pod offered heating, lighting and power sockets and impeccably clean, as were the showers and toilet block.

Wardens on the campsite were very helpful with advice on suitable local attractions where both ourselves and our dog could visit.

Then when we returned to the campsite after touring around the areas of either Whitby or Scarborough of a day, we found it great that of an evening we could relax in the warm atmosphere of the dog friendly pub the 'Stiddy', as the owner, locals and guests we met in there were all so welcoming and friendly.

Truly satisfied customers, definitely looking forward to returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: West coutnry 1 review from this member

 We spent 5 nights here, after being badly let down at another site deposit being taken but not our booking. We arrived here and were really pleased with the site and the helpfulness of the wardens and the owner. Although smallish, it is laid out very well, with large pitches and electric hook-up if needed for tents. The toilet/shower/laundry/washing-up block, is fairly new, with underfloor heating in the shower/toilet block - very useful if the weather is 'cool' as it was for 2 days of our stay. Hairdryer in the block and everything very clean and tidy. Note that when it is very windy, as it was for 2 nights, some of the tent pitches can feel a bit exposed, but really, if you camp sometimes the weather can be inclement!The pub serves food on a couple of nights a week, we heard the food was fine and the village shop has just re-opened as a community shop and is pretty well stocked. Lovely walks into Whitby, and the delightful Sandsend nearby and the North York Moors just a short car trip away. Thoroughly recommend this site. 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Stiddy And Lythe Caravan And Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lythe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3457 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement