Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Littlesea Holiday Park (haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Weymouth > Littlesea Holiday Park (haven Holidays) Reviews

Littlesea Holiday Park (haven Holidays)
Lynch Lane
Weymouth
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT4 9DT
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 20th March To 2nd November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 86 Reviews
                8/10 from 86 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  86 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amandawilliams 8 reviews from this member

Just returned from two weeks at Littlesea. Got to say the wardens, Jan and Ken were fantastic, but very over worked. The toilet and showers were always clean and tidy, which is new build

The only down side to the site to the pitches, is the drainage and no paths to the pitches. The ground had been churned up by cars gaining access to their pitch and inconsiderate drivers, driving straight across pitches and using cars to go to toilet blocks. If the same about of money was plowed into touring as in statics then the sites would all be perfect. So come on Haven pull your finger out. Would like to go again, if drainage and pitches were sorted out.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: G3rmo 18 reviews from this member

Knowing we wanted to visit Weymouth, we visited the Haven website the night before and booked 5 nights for £54.00, including electric hook-up and funwork passes. A pitch with a sea view would have been over £150.00 more! We have stayed on Haven sites earlier this year so knew what to expect regarding facilities.

Yes, the camping pitches are at the top of a hill and it was windy but Haven can't be held responsible for the unusual weather we are having. The pitches were a decent size and some were not in use as they are undertaking a re-turfing project. We did not experience any problems with rocks below ground and we did not ruin our tent pegs.

All the staff on site were so helpful. Ken and Jan are responsible for the camping area and couldn't do enough to help make our stay a good one. They were constantly cleaning the large shower blocks which were spotless at all times. The showers cubicles are spacious and there are plenty of toilets, plus a baby changing unit. There is a family bathroom which you can use for a £10 refundable desposit but we didn't find it necessary. All the security staff, especially Rob and Barry, were welcoming and went out of their way to help.

Anyone who has young children should visit Haven sites if only for the entertainment. The 'funstars' really make the evening fun for the kids and in turn, we spent a fortune on 'Rory' memorabilia.

Weymouth itself is a beautifull place with something for everyone. We spent 3 days on the fantastic, child friendly beach when it seemed the rest of the country was having torrential rain. The harbour area is busy and interesting. We also visited Lyme Regis and Poole. We bought an interesting leaflet for 30p to follow the cockle trail in Poole which explains the history of the port.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jammybird 3 reviews from this member

This haven site is one of the best sites we have ever visited. The newly improved toilet block had underfloor heating, free hairdryers, plenty of showers and a family bathroom only accessed by those who need that facility. There was a free ironing room all you needed to provide was the iron. The facilities were clean and remained clean all week we were there. The pool was good, although the changing/shower facilities were a little too exposed for my liking. The campsite is situated next to a nature reserve which provided a beautiful backdrop. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. I felt secure enough to let my children have an almost free reign to entertain themselves, park and sports facilities were secure and excellent. Access to the nature reserve and "fleet lagoon" a natural sea inlet were easy but not unsafe. The entertainment programme and kids club were comprehensive, but we were too busy enjoying the lovely scenery too use them!
Pitches were level and evenly spaced out and the upkeep of the areas was fantastic- no litter etc around.
In conclusion I cannot recommend this site more highly, I would go there again in an instant.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debhu1 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from our third weekend at Littlesea this year. Previous trips have resulted in sunburn both times (April and May) but this weekend we had a typhoon!

We love this site. It is an absolute gem. The pitches are level. The new toilet/shower block is now open and it's lovely. The facilities here are excellent. The hard working Jan and Ken bend over backwards to help people and maintain very high standards of cleanliness.

The site itself is set at the edge of a nature reserve and if you like walking, you can walk along the cliff paths in either direction. There is a bus service that comes right onto the site to take you into Weymouth, which is a lovely seaside/harbour town.

We recommended this site to a friend from work. She stayed in a static at Whit with her family and they all said they would go back there.

Our kids (aged 14 and 12) like playing pool in the strikes bar and the bar staff supply them with pints of iced water free of charge, so we get a few hours to chill out outside the tent, without being pestered for money!

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kingcokecampers 1 review from this member

This was my first camping experience as an adult, and with son in tow would prove intersting. We decided to go to Littlesea as I went there as a child, but then we stayed in a static. So we had a small 4 berth tent, and we camped out on the top field over looking the bay. Getting the tent down was hard work as the weather was terrible. Eventually we did it, but the pitch was a wind tunnel, 1 or 2 of the tents there only just survived, 1 of our ropes came away. The shower block was being developed while we were there, so we had to make do with porta cabins, although cleaned in the morning were muddy again very quickly due to the weather. Booked late deal £7.50 for 2 nights real bargain price. Facilities were good, my son loved the swimming pool, and the soft play area. Food was ok but as a veggi my choice was limited. Go to strikes for breakfast, very good value for money and at 9.30 am the have the characters go in for a meet and great. Evening entertainment is what you expect very good for the kids, son was called up to play along in one of the games and was presented with a pin badge, and yes they are everywhere.
Needless to say the site itself was good, but the camping area and facilities were bad. Its not well designed for campers. If we go back it will be in a tourer.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Holmestimj 7 reviews from this member

Check in was a little disorganised but not too bad. We were shown to a pitch which seemed OK it was flat but quite bare. The are a lot of underlying stones / rocks on this site so take some spare pegs, I bent 22 pegs but had spares. The family in the tent next door were not so lucky he bent over half his pegs and had to go and by some from the local market.
It seems that this camping field has fallen foul of the Haven group ethos and the site is crammed full with tents on small pitches, the site was very very cramped and there was no space between tents at all.
The shower blocks were adequate but nothing special, the water was hot but the cubicles are small. There is only one family room which is a good size, but there are no controls over it and it was always occupied by single teenage girls getting ready for the evening, ITS A FAMILY ROOM!
 
Overall our holiday was OK but despite coming to this site before my family agreed this was our worst visit here. The entertainment has not changed and there is always a high pressure sell on raffle tickets and cheap tat in the shops, AND THOSE BLOODY PIN BADGES AAARRRGGGHHH.
 
We would not camp at this site again, which is a shame but Haven group need to take a look at themselves.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Avril Oliver 1 review from this member

During the 1980's, and up to 1999, I spent many very happy holidays here with, and without my grandchildren, and usually with my elderly and disabled mum, returning at every opportunity, as we all had a really great time.
This year I was looking forward to staying at Littlesea again, and took a very disabled friend who really couldn't manage to use the normal showers and toilets.
In the past, people who qualified to use the room for disabled, hired a key, but not anymore.
During the second week of our stay the park got really busy, and being able to access the disabled room became very difficult, as it was usually engaged by able bodied persons of all ages.
On complaining to the warden, we were told that people preferred to use it, as it had a power shower!
So, it begs the question, are disabled people really catered for here anymore?
If you need facilities for disabled, be warned.

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Loopylou007 15 reviews from this member

We enjoyed Littlesea very much, especially my 7 and 2 year old. They loved the daytime activities, and the indoor and outdoor pool.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. They had a bouncy castle and trampolines for an extra charge, but I did notice some people let their kids use it but didn't pay which I found rather annoying when I had paid.

We had a great pitch for our caravan with the view of the bay and we were far enough away from the entertainment so we didn't get loads of noise. Only downside were the showers at the swimming pool were really cold!

Reviewer: Rix1965 2 reviews from this member

September 2005
Stayed here for 3 nights , Friday to Monday, got a great price of £17.20 for all 3 nights for a basic pitch.and now I know why.

On arrival we were directed to the main bar where we were told we would have to wait half an hour to check in to be open. This was despite the booking confirmation saying we could check in any time after 12 noon.

We were then told that we could not camp in the normal 'tent' area as that field was close off. Therefore we had to camp on the top field which is virtually all electrical hook ups for caravans, the result was some very uneven ground and high winds. After attempting for sometime to peg the tent down into rock ! we turned around to see the inner snowballing across the field to the sea. So I returned to 'customer services' and asked to pitch in the field that was closed off. They finally agreed but only after explaining that the real reason the field was closed was cos they had to put a lot of poison down for the rats! (On closer inspection it may have something to do with the massive dung heap that is in the next door field).

Was extremly dissapointed with the site, loads of rubbish, very bored staff (end of season syndrome?) The pool was 'nice' but the smell of chlorine stronger than you would normally expect. Breakfast was good value, but other than that I would class it all as expensive.

Spoke to a lot of other people, all of whom were dissapointed. Turns out Haven is now owned by Bourne Leisure who also own Butlins. One woman had had to hire a static for the final week of her holiday cos the campsite was so bad.

Will definitely not be returning here.

Reviewer: Mickfaver 2 reviews from this member

August 2005
If Dante ever needed inspiration for another 'circle' in his Inferno work this place would surely be it.

I can't think of anything whatsoever to say about this place that is positive.

We arrived on Tuesday and, whilst checking in, was subjected to a 'guest' complaining that her children were being shot at with an airgun on the tenting field !

No specific pitch was allocated. We drove onto the field to be confronted with what looked like a refugee site. Absolute chaos.

We finally found a place to pitch where we got through scores of tent pegs and wasted two and a half hours trying to hammer pegs through the myriad of rocks and boulders just beneath the surface.

Finally pitched, we awoke on Wednesday morning to gales and rain the like of which you shouldn't see in August. Nevertheless, they can't be blamed for the weather.

They can be blamed for allocating a field of sandy soil on top of rocks for a tent field. Inevitably, the tent pegs came away in the sandy sludge, the tent collapsed and we, along with many many others, mad a hasty retreat.

As I say, you can't blame Haven for the weather. My point is that, had we been at either of the 2 previous sites we had stayed at on our holiday, we wouldn't have had a problem. The site IS NOT SUITABLE FOR TENTING.

Spurred on by Havens pledge to try to 'exceed' customer service expectation, I informed them of my concerns.

It is now September 21st and I finally received a letter and offer of repeat visit (yeah, right!). Also a refund of site fee's. The letter, however, appeared to have been for the lady at reception who had been shot at !

I contacted Haven and they admitted that they had sent me somebody elses letter (and, of course, somebody elses cheque and credit note). All of these were addressed / made out to me and sent to me at my home address ! They now say they need another week to look at my original letter !

Please stay somewhere else, for your own sake. You have been warned !

Previous     86 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Where is the nearest shop to Littlesea Holiday Park (haven Holidays)?   There is a shop on site    View all facilities

Is Littlesea Holiday Park (haven Holidays) dog friendly?   YES    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Weymouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3387 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020