Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Willow Garth Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Willow Garth Caravan Site
Barugh Lane
Great Barugh
Pickering
Malton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO17 6XD
Tel: 01653 668630
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30 Touring/tents & 25 Seasonal
Open: 1st March To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jamessam 1 review from this member

Excellent campsite. Travelling in a group of 10 including children we stayed here for 1 night and there's everything you need, Clair was lovely from start to finish. The site is very clean including the toilets and showers. There's a lovely play area for the kids to run around and a grassed area were they could play infront of our caravan and tents. We hired a fire pit which made the evening perfect. All the pitches have plenty of room and great for what we needed. They have lots of things you can buy which is great if you forget anything. We will definitely be returning to this perfect well kept site 10/10

Thank you for making us feel welcome.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulr5604 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for the first time on the last bank holiday which was scorching. We were staying with friends who were in a tent and the owners put us on a pitch which was next to a tent pitch so we were able to socialise easily. The site was great. We used the old shower block and it was always clean. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

The only down side to the trip was I discovered that my caravan has damp. So will be buying a newer one.

Overall we really liked the site and will definitely be back again.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aceselect 8 reviews from this member

Great little site, stayed with friends there over the bank holiday. Clean, modern facilities on the new area of the site. Owners very friendly and welcoming. A great base to use to visit Scarborough, Whitby etc. Will use again next time we are up that way.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chezza44 1 review from this member

Lovely flat, quiet campsite.

We had a pitch near the new facilities and they were kept very clean.

I would definitely recommend.

We visited North Yorkshire Moors railway which took us up to Whitby for a lovely day. Pickering and Helmsley are nearby and worth a visit. We did Riveraulx Terrace and this overlook the Abbey.

This site is central to visiting most places in the North Yorkshire Moors.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clarksonrj 1 review from this member

Lovely, small friendly site with excellent modern facilities.

New shower and toilet block were in excellent condition and kept clean throughout the day.

Generous pitches ll within easy reach of facilities.

Easy access to many attractions- York, Pickering, Malton, the coast.

Will definitely be returning!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Krazekt 5 reviews from this member

We have just got back yesterday. I have to say it was a fabulous site. We were the 1st people to stay on the new site. The owners were very welcoming and friendly. The site was clean and tidy. The pitches where spacious. The new toilet/shower block was clean. The showers were excellent. 20p for 3 mins. I could have spent a fortune on those showers. There was heating in there which was nice in the night when you needed the loo. They have a number plate recognition barrier. There is a small shop that sells the basics bread, milk, egg etc. I am already looking at dates to go back.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wirescrossed 1 review from this member

We have had a seasonal pitch on Willow Garth since March 2015 and cannot speak too highly of this very peaceful site. Mid week is quiet then comes to life (very gently!) at the weekend. The owners keep the site in excellent order, grass cut regularly, shower and toilet facilities are spotless and the welcome is friendly whether you are staying a couple of nights or full season. The grass area for visiting caravans and tents is level and has water, electricity and toilet block nearby. The area is open and light with a backdrop of trees giving shelter. Pickering, Malton and Kirbymoorside are all just a short drive away and provide all the shops and tourist attractions you could wish for as do the coastal resorts of Whitby, Scarborough and Filey for a beach day. Excellent pub food at reasonable price only a mile away towards Kirkbymoorside. The only downside as far as we are concerned is that no bus service passes the site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Albundiz 3 reviews from this member

Just come back from a weeks stay at this site, where we found the owners very nice & helpful, we had an electric pitch and was given plenty of room. It was very quiet in the evenings, the little office sold eggs, milk, & newspapers if you ordered them there was a lot of information leaflets to tell what was on in the area. We had two children in our party & there was nothing for them to do, except play on one tree swing. They got a little board in the evenings ! There was a couple of pubs near by but we never ate in them. It's an ideal base for flamingo land, & really not to far from Scarborough, Whitby. The showers are at a charge 20p for 3 mins or a 1 for 15 mins they was nice & hot & very clean. We will definitely be going back to this site,

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smirinoff2 1 review from this member

Ignore the downside reviews. This site is bang on. Great locations in the country but near the coast and towns. Loads to do close by but then back to the site to sit round your log burner and watch the stars. We loved it that much we decided to stay. Great for seasonal pitches and Claire and David the owners are ace.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Espressoman 2 reviews from this member

We found this to be a pleasant enough site situated in a nice part of Yorkshire with lots to do locally. The owners were friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Our tent pitch was flat and in a quiet spot and there is plenty of space. We found the signs and instructions amusing at first but whereas some sites manage to convey the site rules sensitively, at Willow Garth we found them to be over the top. There's a sign on every surface telling you how to behave and what not to do. After a while it does distract from the holiday feeling.

We were also surprised to see how much the showers (and just about everything else costs). For 1 night we paid 26 for a family of 3 and then had to pay for the showers on top of that. 20p gets you a 3 minute shower and you find yourself rushing. The shower I used had frosted glass but no curtain on the window, which faces onto one of the camping fields, and I can imagine at night lacks any privacy, again funny at first but annoying when you realise you're paying to provide 'entertainment' for the other campers. It felt like there was too much emphasis on extra costs and this is evidenced by the row of meters in the shower room.

A shame really as the location and friendly welcome were over shadowed by the smaller details. We're used to 'friendly' reminders on camp sites but by the end of our stay we felt like we were escaping rather than leaving, afraid that we'd damaged the grass, used too much water or left a light on. May suit others but not us.

Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3414 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019