Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodland View Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

Woodland View Touring Park
Horebeech Lane
Horam
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN21 0HR
Tel: 01435 813597
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Theoldone 2 reviews from this member

Did the job for what we needed, but wasn’t a pleasant experience.
Negatives first -Very tightly packed, we were put just 15 feet from next van (in mitigation, it had been wet and the bottom was still not used, so maybe compressed in to avoid letting people down ??).
Toilets OK but no loo roll holder, but shower very feeble and hard to set a temp (and only one each M and F, for 20+ vans camping). Washing up sinks, always cold water.
Electricity cards, fair enough, pay as you use cards, but credit does go down exceptionally quickly for the KwH used.
Not very friendly unless you are one of the regular storage/weekender clique. Extra £8 to stay till 6pm, even though site half empty by then. Prices not all as the web site, and get quite aggressive if you point this out, albeit accept to pay (late stay £8, not £7, and visitors seem to depend how they feel at the time, and chargeable even if only half hour pop-in(talking to van next door).
Although initial fee seems reasonable, by the time electric, awning, late stay added on it starts mounting up.

Positives – ideal location for touring the area. Site kept clean. Secure. Quiet, even with tight packing.
Dog was free. Porch awning cheaper than web price list. Same std site fee at Bank hols.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PamnJim 6 reviews from this member

A lovely site and run by the very friendly and obliging Smith family. It gently slopes but Mr Smith is always at hand to lend a block if needed. Facilities excellent. Does get fairly busy at weekends but it is August. A lot of repeat week-enders who leave their 'van on site. True, the Cuckoo Trail is just across the road, excellent for cycling or walking. A few village shops but Heathfield 2mls. Away with all manner of shops/supermarkets. If you are into motorbikes, can recommend the Messon Bikers Cafe on a Sunday, their cruise destination. Harleys, Hondas the lot, plus food is excellent. Just 5-10 minute walk to top of road turn right and cross the road. Again bus stops at top of road, an hour to Eastbourne. Please add up all the charges before you go as can come as a little surprise if unaware.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ruthykins 2 reviews from this member

Found this gem of a site a few years ago and have been back 3 times. The site is basic, with showers, laundry facilities, washing up area and a place for chemical toilet emptying. There is electric hook up for those who need it too.

This site is a must visit for those who wish to get away from it all and have a quiet break. The owners will help with anything if they can too.

Just cannot fault the place at all!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vampgirl 8 reviews from this member

Stayed here at short notice for our first trip in our new motorhome. Site was busy so we were parked on a sloping section of hardstanding, but site owner was happy to help us try to level the MH (very useful seeing as it was our first time).

Facilities can best be described as basic, but they were clean. EHU was on a card meter which seemed to go down pretty quickly and you could only buy a new one when the reception was open (which was a bit awkward). Also 20p for a shower.

Easy access to the Cuckoo Trail for walking/cycling.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dinglefoot 4 reviews from this member

This is a little independent family run campsite I viewed their website and it didn't look up to much the photos really don't show the site to its true image. We were surprised it is very tidy indeed much better than the web photos.

Cost is £15 PN you pay for EHU by purchasing card @ £1 a t from the office. Our 3 night stay cost us £6 in electric however we stayed in late April and it was chilly. In summer months with just lighting and fridge you probably could get away with £1 a day that's with electric water heater on constantly bringing hot water to temp.

We stayed here for its location as the site is just 100 yards from the cookoo trail ideal for walking and cycling.

The owners are very helpful and friendly and are always pottering around site if you need them.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Christina-o 5 reviews from this member

I stayed here with my family over the May bank holiday 2015 with 2 tents and ehu. The tent pitches were massive, and backed onto the woodland, which was a great little fenced off area where my dog could have a run around. The site is also really close to the Cuckoo Trail, which is great for dogs, walkers and cyclists. The owners were very friendly and always around when you needed them.

The price of this site is very reasonable, especially over the bank holiday. However one thing that annoyed me was the fact that they wouldn't give a straight answer on the phone about how much the total cost of the stay would be, only the nightly rate, then when I arrived they started adding extras on for things like electric. This is fine as the price all in was still very good, however it was annoying not to know in advance, especially as they're cash only.

In all this was a lovely little site, which was very clean and well kept.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RosemaryPickerill 1 review from this member

We have been visiting the site, every other weekend since March 2014 and have our caravan stored there as well. The site is adjacent to the Cuckoo Trail and is brilliant for walks and gentle bike riding and makes a short-cut into Horam village. Electricity is paid for by usage, which is much more economical than having to pay a fixed amount. Toilet blocks are simple but kept very clean and the washing up facilities are more than adequate. There is a pub/restaurant The May Garland, that is walking distance and has a brilliant menu and a little further afield is the Runt in Tun pub which is reasonably priced and does amazing steaks!

Jean and Sam and their daughter Jean, are always very helpful and keep the site very clean and tidy. They patrol the site during the day and of an evening. It is without doubt one of the safest and quietest sites we have even been to and will be back again next year. Well done to you all - Brilliant ! - Rosemary Pickerill

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jacqntony 1 review from this member

Just got home from a 5 day trip. Lovely campsite, basic facilities but adequate. Owners do their very best to make you feel welcome. Have to say we have been before and always had a relaxing tranquil stay however was disappointed at the noise of some other campers (apparently regulars) on the site, we found some (not all) campers visit this once peaceful site to drink alcohol and make a lot of noise. We had some campers chasing their dog around outside of our tent late at night drinking and laughing until after 10 which is fine if you're outside a pub but if you like to go for adults only sites for the peace and quiet this one used to offer then I would definitely look elsewhere shame really.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ellie1964 4 reviews from this member

This was our 3rd stay at this site. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Facilities are quite basic but more than adequate and clean. The site is great value for money and we couldn't disagree more with the people complaining about the charge for electric, we have just stayed for 5 nights and used just over £4, this works out much cheaper than the usual £2 per night charged by a lot of campsites. I would rather pay less per night and pay for the electric I use and pay 20p for a shower.

The village of Horam is a short walk, great fish and chip shop, pub (although we haven't tried it yet so can't comment but looks nice). Eastbourne is around a 20 min drive away as is Beechy Head. Great site to relax and get away from it all. Will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John and Judi 1 review from this member

My husband and I have spent about 4 weeks this summer at Woodland View, and we cannot fault it, The owners and their daughter are so friendly and helpful. We are storing our Caravan at Woodland View also my parents are to. We find it so relaxing and peaceful being an adult only site. While looking at some of the reviews we where shocked to see a bad one, as they said that they had spent £7 in 3 nights on electric. We have spent 4 weeks here and have averaged between 80p to £1 a day that's with using everything so I don't know what they would have used to have cost them £7 in 3 nights.

This is a hard working family who have put a lot of work into this site in the short time that they have been there.

We would recommend this site to anyone who would like peace and quite and a relaxing break, we are looking forward to going back next year.

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2735 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!