Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Ocknell & Longbeech Camping In The Forest Sites

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Fritham > Ocknell & Longbeech Camping In The Forest Sites Reviews

Ocknell & Longbeech Camping In The Forest Sites
New Forest
Fritham
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO43 7HH
Tel: 024 7642 3008  or  02380 812740
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: Ocknell (280) Longbeech (200)
Open: 01/04/2021 To 30/09/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 56 Reviews
                8/10 from 56 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 01/04/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 01/04/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bushcraftbarry 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a few days after the May Bank Holiday was over. It's a great site in the heart of the New Forest with walks right from the site and towns not too far away by car.

We were able to find a secluded spot as the weekend rush was over but I can quite see that it would be a fair bit cosier at the height of the season. The deer and horses roam freely around the area and seem to be quite intrigued by new visitors but didn't cause any issues at all.

The staff are all very friendly and the sign in process was seamless on arrival. I'd have no hesitations visiting other sites operated by them. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kateandjames 52 reviews from this member

 I stayed here on a sunny day in April. Heaven! there were only 6 other units on site, so it was like I was alone camping in the woods.

My only complaint is the 'getting onto the site' procedure. You have to check in at Oknell campsite just down the road - no problem. But I was given a code to open the gate. Though it wasn't a code to open the gate! it was a code to a key safe, that holds a key to a padlock that is the quite fiddly to access. Once the gate is open, I drove through and then had to get out the van and reverse that procedure, ie; close the gate, lock the gate, and return the key to the safe. Not simple if you are on your own.

Having said that I did enjoy the peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Labradorlass 11 reviews from this member

 Just spent a few days here with two Labradogs, what a great site. The staff were super and made me feel most welcome, which is important to me as a lone female camper. I met and had many interesting conversations with a broad selection of fellow campers too. The site is open, airy and not at all boxed in, no formal pitches but plenty of organised space. No showers but all other facilities were spotless and clean. Everything was managed so well, even the rubbish etc. As a former horse rider I know the forest well and so cannot really comment on the more obvious attractions that others would like. But for walkers etc this would be a perfect base for an easy relaxing explore. Keep to the paths in the Forest if not familiar with bogs etc and it's fine. Don't be tempted to follow animal tracks. But a great relaxed site certainly. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kiki2000 2 reviews from this member

 Came here for a spur of the moment break. Expecting it to be really busy for the school holidays, but was pleasantly surprised how quiet it was. Had a very cheerful greeting from the wardens. Invited to choose our own pitch. We chose to go to the section where we had to have our own chemical toilet. Having said that the campsite toilets were very clean when we used them, and the hot water for washing up was very hot. We spent a relaxing few days, enjoying watching the ponies, deer and cattle just roaming around. Can't wait to come back again 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Waldie 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights and know the New Forest pretty extensively having lived in the area for a number of years previously, however, we had never visited Ocknell before and never used hard-standing either so we thought we would try it.

Not sure about the hardstanding although what you really do is park on the hard-standing and then have the grass as your 'area' to play/eat/keep the dog etc. We did end up with bits in the camper as a result of this but that's our problem.

It is lovely to see deer wandering past your door and you can walk for miles which is lovely. Not everyone obeyed the dogs on leads rules but we did just to be safe as I know that some wardens are quite keen or rules!

The toilets are basic but well maintained, no showers and no electric which again is fine. We were lucky in that the site was pretty empty so could pick literally anywhere and after a night of torrential rain there were even less people.

We had relatives pop in to say hi and they were charged 5 which they were happy to pay but it is something to be aware of and they were asked 'You definitely wont stay will you?'

My four year old piled up some sticks so his toys could keep warm when he was playing outside which did not go down too well, wardens were not too amused, but I appreciate the rule of no open fires.

Overall the site is basic but it is what we wanted, there is some road noise but it is not too bad and can be soothing. Access to the main road is quick so you can be on your way after staying.

Overall a good experience but be aware of what is there, if you like luxury at the site look elsewhere. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Had a two night stay at Ocknell over a weekend. The site is spacious and barring some rules on type of units, you can choose where to pitch up. There are some areas reserved for tents and others for units which have chemical toilets, the latter seem to be the better areas on the site.

The grass is kept short by the ponies and the old airfield concrete makes it an easy site to keep your feet dry in the morning from the dew on the way to the toilet block. This is basic and dated and kept fairly clean.

Given its location there is great walking directly from the site and few pubs in a range of 2-4 miles away. There is some background traffic hum from the dual carriageway, but this fades in to the background and the bird song, soon disguises it.

The issue I had with the site was the warden. My friend arrived first in his converted VW T5 with a pop-top roof, to be greeted by the site manager; the question was asked whether the van had the required ventilation and the manager took a look inside the van to check it was converted. This was fair enough as it was a 'health and safety' check. When I arrived in my VW T5 (professionally converted), I was greeted by a Warden that seemed to be lacking any modicum of people skills. Again, I was asked if there was ventilation, I explained there was and the gas safety box etc, but he went on to tell me I wouldn't get in to any of the Camping in the Forest sites, but he'd 'allow' me in tonight. A bit of conversation ensued with him questioning the conversion on the van and whether it had been done 'properly'. I fully appreciate the site might get people trying to turn up sleeping in the back of vans, but mine is a fully converted van that has also had the V5 changed, so the way the questioning / interrogation went was ridiculous. So if you're in a T4/T5, you might want to bring your V5 certificate with you as they can't argue with that!

All in all, it was a nice site that just got off to a bad start. I would return, but would hope not to meet this particular warden again! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Inneseaton 7 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site and what an amazing location! We loved every minute of our stay - in fact we stayed a day longer just so we could spend another evening watching all the wildlife!

Ok so the facilities are basic - toilets and washing up points only - but come prepared and that is no problem. We had a utility tent and shower setup which worked just fine and there is no extra charge for the utility tent. They do offer battery charging at the reception desk if you need it.

Customer service is great here - and the site is immaculate! You get a sense that the owners really care about the forest and hence you are not allowed to do as you wish, there are some strict guidelines.

Definitely bring rock pegs to this site - we didn't and consequently spent most of the afternoon trying to peg the tents out! We know for next time!

All in all a great base for seeing the New Forest - we were here to visit the boat show in Southampton but are already planning to return next year with friends and just spend time away from the city!

We look forward to coming back when you open! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ninja 47 5 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed our family stay at Ocknell, we visited at a fairly quite time of year and had a large field to ourselves. Camping like it should be!

Wardens were friendly and helpful. Rules are designed to improve the camping experience and are mainly common sense, nothing intrusive.

Facilities are basic with no showers and quite old. They were clean.

The Forest is lovely hereabouts with nice views and abundant wildlife.

Beware the ponies are able to raid tents for food, we came home a day early due to the ponies making a 6ft by 3ft hole in our tent to get at food. Don't leave it in your tent! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Trident22 7 reviews from this member

 We have used this site happily for years but were very disappointed this year at the huge hike in prices and the restrictions on where to camp.

We are quite happy to accept the wash block but feel the price is now extortionate for what you get.

For another 1.50/night each in Dorset we got lovely showers etc. Etc.

I think Forest Holidays is making a big mistake.

This is a lovely area of the New Forest with many good pubs around - particularly the Royal Oak at Fritham which only does food at lunch time but is definitely worth a visit.

Also recommended for value is the pub at Nomansland.

Good cycling and walking in the area and not as commercialised as the area south of the forest. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsstanley 4 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fantastic site. We went there last minute and we picked well. Although very busy plenty of staff on. Good clean toilets and showers and a large shop. Lots of horses roaming about which was lovely. It's very picturesque and full of history, we enjoyed reading about the history and had a walk around to see what it was all about. It was so nice to go somewhere with history. You could imagine from the layout how it was all those years ago. Just fantastic 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ocknell & Longbeech Camping In The Forest Sites child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ocknell & Longbeech Camping In The Forest Sites?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ocknell & Longbeech Camping In The Forest Sites dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fritham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2420 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements