Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Whittingham & Goosnargh Sports & Social Club

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Whittingham & Goosnargh Sports & Social Club
Old Whittingham Hospital Grounds
Whittingham
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR3 2JE
Tel: 01772 865339
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 7 Reviews
                9/10 from 7 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eastwest7 1 review from this member

New to camping and this will be the 3rd time we have stayed here for a weekend break in 6 weeks. Dave who runs this is brill nothing is too much trouble for him. The site is good for kids has it's away from the main road and at night it is quiet

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marramc48 15 reviews from this member

A very quiet and secluded site although a housing development is in progress adjacent. The toilet is quite a distance from the CCC pitches although there are non CCC pitches adjacent to the club. However most caravans and motorhomes have their own facilities nowadays.

There is plenty of off road walking around the old hospital grounds.

A newsagent/general store is just a ten minutes walk away in the village and the city of Preston is only a ten minutes drive away.

Being just a ten minute drive from the M6/M55 junction 1 the site is conveniently situated for visiting Blackpool, Fleetwood and the Fylde,

The Forest of Bowland and Southport. At £10/unit/night inc. Hook up you cannot go wrong

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mamajeannie 15 reviews from this member

We used this site as a stopover on our way to Scotland, we chose it because it is close to a motorway junction and seemed very easy to get to. The warden was so helpful and friendly, allowing us to park in such a way that we didn't need to unhitch the caravan. The clubhouse was a bonus, we had pies peas chips and gravy for £3. 50, not gourmet cuisine, but just hit the spot. We could relax have a drink and chat with other campers in a relaxed very friendly environment. There was a faint hum of noise from the motorway but this didn't disturb us. Would definitely use again.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrsf-red 2 reviews from this member

Just spent a weekend here and it was our first camping trip. We chose this place as it seemed a quiet first try for us and we weren't wrong. My review will be limited as I've nothing to compare to but if you like simple no-frills relaxed camping then this is great.

We have a big 8 man tent and there was 5 of us but we were only charged £6 a night with electric! Where else can you get that?

The toilets were attached to the clubhouse and you entered via a keypad outside door and they were always very clean, always with toilet roll and plenty of hot water. No separate pot washing facilities but the sinks in the loo were big enough or you could just fill a washing up bowl.

Drinking water points were dotted around and could dispose of your rubbish behind the club which I found good as we were never near any smelly bins.

We were on the club lawn and the ground was very easy to drive the pegs in. It rained heavy pretty much for the first 24 hours and there was never a problem regarding water-logging, great drainage obviously!

There was a swing and slide and movable picnic tables on the lawn where my kids had fun playing with their ball, nobody telling them off made it nice and relaxed. There is also a small football pitch in the next field where they sometimes went to be a bit more boisterous.

We didn't go to the club but it didn't seem busy at all and looked reasonable price wise, sport being screened on the big TV in there would be a good point for some I suppose.

We found an Asda thanks to a very helpful staff member there about 5 miles away but at the end of the lane of the site is a village shop, pharmacy, chippy and pub.

The only minor negatives I could think of is the electric hookup was quite far from our tent so we had to go and buy an extension (our original hookup is 25m and we needed a 10m extension), I don't know if this happens a lot as I say I haven't camped before, but the guy on the site directed us to a place to buy the lead so was as helpful as he could be.

Also it is in the grounds around the old hospital being demolished so if you looked behind the clubhouse there was a big crane there but obviously this isn't permanent and the surrounding scenery is lovely otherwise.

All in all it did the job for us, we wanted a quiet chilled start to camping and we got it, absolute bargain, great for short stopovers, and if they ever put showers in, we would definitely return for a longer stay

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clhunter 5 reviews from this member

We've just come back from a fantastic weekend staying here. We are a family of 2 adults and 4 children and were camping with a 6 berth dome tent. If you like basic camping to keep the costs down then this place is perfect. The locality is lovely and is within easy reach of the Fylde coast.

The site itself is in the grounds of the late Whittingham Hospital which is currently being demolished. Once this has been completed the outlook will be much better. But to be honest we didn't notice it. The owners were really friendly and accommodating and allowed us use of the Club etc. This has got to be one of the rarest places now that charge purely by unit and not per head. Therefore with a family of 6 it was a real winner. The charges were £6 per unit without electric and £8 per unit with electric. There was supposed to be an extra charge for membership to the club of £1 per adult which would last 1 month but we weren't charged it.

There are no showers but the toilets had hot water so we weren't having to heat up the water ourselves for having a wash and washing up. Thus saving us gas.

We were pitched on the Club's lawn with the swing, slide and small football net for the children, plus movable picnic tables we could use for mealtimes. As such the pegs went in easily as we weren't on the hardstanding fields.

Would definitely go again.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mags0152 24 reviews from this member

We stopped here on our way to and from Portsmouth from home in Scotland. Great place for a reasonably priced stopover. Quiet, spacious, flat and a friendly social club where you can get a reasonably priced drink and a chat.

Only facilities are hook ups, tap, CDP and drain but for £5 a night or £8 with electric in a secure location it's great value.

Close to the M6 so a perfect place for a stop over en route to or from Scotland.

Don't be put off by the appearance - the first thing you see is the derelict old hospital.

If you arrive before the club opens you have to wait to get into the locked field but the car park is big and there are plenty of places to go for a walk.

My only concern was that they give you the code for the locked gate to get in and then when you wake up in the morning the club is closed and no-one is around. Remember to write the code down!

I think it would help if they printed little bits of paper with the code on for those of us with slightly dodgy memories.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suicideblonde 17 reviews from this member

A lovely quiet campsite at a very reasonable rate.

The site is more suited to campervans and caravans due to the basic facilities ie there are no showers or pot washing facilities, although there are plans to install these in the future. But donít let this put you off as itís well worth it for a short stay or if youíre into more basic camping. The pitches are flat and well drained, but be sure to take rock pegs with you if you have them. The stones buried for the drainage make it a bit difficult to hammer the pegs in, but we didnít really find it an issue.

A £1 membership fee is also payable which allows you access to the club and sports facilities on site. The bar is very reasonably priced and we were made to feel welcome by regular club members, staff and fellow campers. The bar sells food such as chips, burgers, pizza and pies if you donít fancy cooking. There are a couple of local grocer shops and a chip shop about 5 minutes walk away and a couple of other pubs. We can highly recommend The Grapes Inn.

Itís a biker friendly club as well and several rallies are held at the site throughout the year. If youíre looking to take your dog with you, itís also dog friendly and there are plenty of walks around the site for exercise, with emphasis on cleaning up after your dog, making it pleasant for everyone to walk. Thereís a small childrenís play area, but thereís also the freedom and space of the site to play around.

Itís just under an hourís drive from where we live so we will definitely be returning and making it a regular getaway.


Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


252 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0900