Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Whittingham & Goosnargh Sports & Social Club

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Whittingham & Goosnargh Sports & Social Club Reviews

Whittingham & Goosnargh Sports & Social Club
Old Whittingham Hospital Grounds
Whittingham
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR3 2JE
Tel: 01772 865339
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Elden25031oxe 1 review from this member

This was my first time at the site and it was very busy. It was bank holiday weekend.

There were two bands on during the day and a large crowd of motor bikers (a club I expect) and with only 2 toilets and 2 showers I felt there were too many people for the facilities that were on offer.

We did not take food with us for our dinner as we thought we could buy a meal but it did not seem possible as the club was packed with people waiting for the band to come on.

Luckily a take away pizza leaflet was dropped off just in the nick of time. Apparently, there was a also a pub down the road

That said we found a relatively peaceful spot and the owner was a lovely chap. I am sure that when it is quieter it is an ideal spot and very reasonably priced.

Despite the crowds it was very clean. Ideal for a short stay.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: MurrayS484 1 review from this member

Couldn't stay as family issue, but visited friends who were staying, and was very impressed with the pitches, amenities and especially Dave, who was very helpful and understanding.

Will definitely stay next time when in the area
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eastwest7 1 review from this member

New to camping and this will be the 3rd time we have stayed here for a weekend break in 6 weeks.

Dave who runs this is brill nothing is too much trouble for him.

The site is good for kids has it's away from the main road and at night it is quiet

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marramc48 15 reviews from this member

A very quiet and secluded site although a housing development is in progress adjacent. The toilet is quite a distance from the CCC pitches although there are non CCC pitches adjacent to the club. However most caravans and motorhomes have their own facilities nowadays.

There is plenty of off road walking around the old hospital grounds.

A newsagent/general store is just a ten minutes walk away in the village and the city of Preston is only a ten minutes drive away.

Being just a ten minute drive from the M6/M55 junction 1 the site is conveniently situated for visiting Blackpool, Fleetwood and the Fylde,

The Forest of Bowland and Southport. At £10/unit/night inc. Hook up you cannot go wrong

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mamajeannie 16 reviews from this member

We used this site as a stopover on our way to Scotland, we chose it because it is close to a motorway junction and seemed very easy to get to. The warden was so helpful and friendly, allowing us to park in such a way that we didn't need to unhitch the caravan.

The clubhouse was a bonus, we had pies peas chips and gravy for £3. 50, not gourmet cuisine, but just hit the spot. We could relax have a drink and chat with other campers in a relaxed very friendly environment.

There was a faint hum of noise from the motorway but this didn't disturb us. Would definitely use again.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrsf-red 2 reviews from this member

Just spent a weekend here and it was our first camping trip. We chose this place as it seemed a quiet first try for us and we weren't wrong. My review will be limited as I've nothing to compare to but if you like simple no-frills relaxed camping then this is great.

We have a big 8 man tent and there was 5 of us but we were only charged £6 a night with electric! Where else can you get that?

The toilets were attached to the clubhouse and you entered via a keypad outside door and they were always very clean, always with toilet roll and plenty of hot water. No separate pot washing facilities but the sinks in the loo were big enough or you could just fill a washing up bowl.

Drinking water points were dotted around and could dispose of your rubbish behind the club which I found good as we were never near any smelly bins.

We were on the club lawn and the ground was very easy to drive the pegs in. It rained heavy pretty much for the first 24 hours and there was never a problem regarding water-logging, great drainage obviously!

There was a swing and slide and movable picnic tables on the lawn where my kids had fun playing with their ball, nobody telling them off made it nice and relaxed. There is also a small football pitch in the next field where they sometimes went to be a bit more boisterous.

We didn't go to the club but it didn't seem busy at all and looked reasonable price wise, sport being screened on the big TV in there would be a good point for some I suppose.

We found an Asda thanks to a very helpful staff member there about 5 miles away but at the end of the lane of the site is a village shop, pharmacy, chippy and pub.

The only minor negatives I could think of is the electric hookup was quite far from our tent so we had to go and buy an extension (our original hookup is 25m and we needed a 10m extension), I don't know if this happens a lot as I say I haven't camped before, but the guy on the site directed us to a place to buy the lead so was as helpful as he could be.

Also it is in the grounds around the old hospital being demolished so if you looked behind the clubhouse there was a big crane there but obviously this isn't permanent and the surrounding scenery is lovely otherwise.

All in all it did the job for us, we wanted a quiet chilled start to camping and we got it, absolute bargain, great for short stopovers, and if they ever put showers in, we would definitely return for a longer stay

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clhunter 5 reviews from this member

We've just come back from a fantastic weekend staying here. We are a family of 2 adults and 4 children and were camping with a 6 berth dome tent. If you like basic camping to keep the costs down then this place is perfect. The locality is lovely and is within easy reach of the Fylde coast.

The site itself is in the grounds of the late Whittingham Hospital which is currently being demolished. Once this has been completed the outlook will be much better. But to be honest we didn't notice it. The owners were really friendly and accommodating and allowed us use of the Club etc. This has got to be one of the rarest places now that charge purely by unit and not per head. Therefore with a family of 6 it was a real winner. The charges were £6 per unit without electric and £8 per unit with electric. There was supposed to be an extra charge for membership to the club of £1 per adult which would last 1 month but we weren't charged it.

There are no showers but the toilets had hot water so we weren't having to heat up the water ourselves for having a wash and washing up. Thus saving us gas.

We were pitched on the Club's lawn with the swing, slide and small football net for the children, plus movable picnic tables we could use for mealtimes. As such the pegs went in easily as we weren't on the hardstanding fields.

Would definitely go again.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mags0152 25 reviews from this member

We stopped here on our way to and from Portsmouth from home in Scotland. Great place for a reasonably priced stopover. Quiet, spacious, flat and a friendly social club where you can get a reasonably priced drink and a chat.

Only facilities are hook ups, tap, CDP and drain but for £5 a night or £8 with electric in a secure location it's great value.

Close to the M6 so a perfect place for a stop over en route to or from Scotland.

Don't be put off by the appearance - the first thing you see is the derelict old hospital.

If you arrive before the club opens you have to wait to get into the locked field but the car park is big and there are plenty of places to go for a walk.

My only concern was that they give you the code for the locked gate to get in and then when you wake up in the morning the club is closed and no-one is around. Remember to write the code down!

I think it would help if they printed little bits of paper with the code on for those of us with slightly dodgy memories.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suicideblonde 17 reviews from this member

A lovely quiet campsite at a very reasonable rate.

The site is more suited to campervans and caravans due to the basic facilities ie there are no showers or pot washing facilities, although there are plans to install these in the future. But donít let this put you off as itís well worth it for a short stay or if youíre into more basic camping. The pitches are flat and well drained, but be sure to take rock pegs with you if you have them. The stones buried for the drainage make it a bit difficult to hammer the pegs in, but we didnít really find it an issue.

A £1 membership fee is also payable which allows you access to the club and sports facilities on site. The bar is very reasonably priced and we were made to feel welcome by regular club members, staff and fellow campers. The bar sells food such as chips, burgers, pizza and pies if you donít fancy cooking. There are a couple of local grocer shops and a chip shop about 5 minutes walk away and a couple of other pubs. We can highly recommend The Grapes Inn.

Itís a biker friendly club as well and several rallies are held at the site throughout the year. If youíre looking to take your dog with you, itís also dog friendly and there are plenty of walks around the site for exercise, with emphasis on cleaning up after your dog, making it pleasant for everyone to walk. Thereís a small childrenís play area, but thereís also the freedom and space of the site to play around.

Itís just under an hourís drive from where we live so we will definitely be returning and making it a regular getaway.


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4061 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder