Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whittingham & Goosnargh Sports & Social Club

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Whittingham & Goosnargh Sports & Social Club Reviews

Whittingham & Goosnargh Sports & Social Club
Old Whittingham Hospital Grounds
Whittingham
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR3 2JE
Tel: 01772 865339
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Vinni 1 review from this member

 Great little find. Last minute BH booking. The site has a social club and bowling green. Walks on the door step if you want.

Local pub, very inviting serves great food.

The campsite warden David is very accommodating, enjoyed our stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Paulho 1 review from this member

 Spoke to a lovely helpful guy over email but unfortunately this site was fully booked up.

I most definitely be booking again as Iíve heard nothing but amazing reviews. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Gem1258953 4 reviews from this member

 Very family oriented campsite. It was really busy bank holiday wknd when we visited with live music in the club on site. We could hear noise from this but nothing horrendous and our little boy was fast asleep in no time.

There is shops and takeaways close by a takeaway actually delivered to us on the campsite pizza etc. Drinks and food also available from the club on site.

Facilities on site are great. All round lovely campsite, very friendly staff. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Elden2 1 review from this member

 This was my first time at the site and it was very busy. It was bank holiday weekend.

There were two bands on during the day and a large crowd of motor bikers (a club I expect) and with only 2 toilets and 2 showers I felt there were too many people for the facilities that were on offer.

We did not take food with us for our dinner as we thought we could buy a meal but it did not seem possible as the club was packed with people waiting for the band to come on.

Luckily a take away pizza leaflet was dropped off just in the nick of time. Apparently, there was a also a pub down the road

That said we found a relatively peaceful spot and the owner was a lovely chap. I am sure that when it is quieter it is an ideal spot and very reasonably priced.

Despite the crowds it was very clean. Ideal for a short stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: MurrayS484 1 review from this member

 Couldn't stay as family issue, but visited friends who were staying, and was very impressed with the pitches, amenities and especially Dave, who was very helpful and understanding.

Will definitely stay next time when in the area 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eastwest7 1 review from this member

 New to camping and this will be the 3rd time we have stayed here for a weekend break in 6 weeks.

Dave who runs this is brill nothing is too much trouble for him.

The site is good for kids has it's away from the main road and at night it is quiet 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marramc48 15 reviews from this member

 A very quiet and secluded site although a housing development is in progress adjacent. The toilet is quite a distance from the CCC pitches although there are non CCC pitches adjacent to the club. However most caravans and motorhomes have their own facilities nowadays.

There is plenty of off road walking around the old hospital grounds.

A newsagent/general store is just a ten minutes walk away in the village and the city of Preston is only a ten minutes drive away.

Being just a ten minute drive from the M6/M55 junction 1 the site is conveniently situated for visiting Blackpool, Fleetwood and the Fylde,

The Forest of Bowland and Southport. At £10/unit/night inc. Hook up you cannot go wrong  


Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mamajeannie 16 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a stopover on our way to Scotland, we chose it because it is close to a motorway junction and seemed very easy to get to. The warden was so helpful and friendly, allowing us to park in such a way that we didn't need to unhitch the caravan.

The clubhouse was a bonus, we had pies peas chips and gravy for £3. 50, not gourmet cuisine, but just hit the spot. We could relax have a drink and chat with other campers in a relaxed very friendly environment.

There was a faint hum of noise from the motorway but this didn't disturb us. Would definitely use again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsf-red 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent a weekend here and it was our first camping trip. We chose this place as it seemed a quiet first try for us and we weren't wrong. My review will be limited as I've nothing to compare to but if you like simple no-frills relaxed camping then this is great.

We have a big 8 man tent and there was 5 of us but we were only charged £6 a night with electric! Where else can you get that?

The toilets were attached to the clubhouse and you entered via a keypad outside door and they were always very clean, always with toilet roll and plenty of hot water. No separate pot washing facilities but the sinks in the loo were big enough or you could just fill a washing up bowl.

Drinking water points were dotted around and could dispose of your rubbish behind the club which I found good as we were never near any smelly bins.

We were on the club lawn and the ground was very easy to drive the pegs in. It rained heavy pretty much for the first 24 hours and there was never a problem regarding water-logging, great drainage obviously!

There was a swing and slide and movable picnic tables on the lawn where my kids had fun playing with their ball, nobody telling them off made it nice and relaxed. There is also a small football pitch in the next field where they sometimes went to be a bit more boisterous.

We didn't go to the club but it didn't seem busy at all and looked reasonable price wise, sport being screened on the big TV in there would be a good point for some I suppose.

We found an Asda thanks to a very helpful staff member there about 5 miles away but at the end of the lane of the site is a village shop, pharmacy, chippy and pub.

The only minor negatives I could think of is the electric hookup was quite far from our tent so we had to go and buy an extension (our original hookup is 25m and we needed a 10m extension), I don't know if this happens a lot as I say I haven't camped before, but the guy on the site directed us to a place to buy the lead so was as helpful as he could be.

Also it is in the grounds around the old hospital being demolished so if you looked behind the clubhouse there was a big crane there but obviously this isn't permanent and the surrounding scenery is lovely otherwise.

All in all it did the job for us, we wanted a quiet chilled start to camping and we got it, absolute bargain, great for short stopovers, and if they ever put showers in, we would definitely return for a longer stay 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clhunter 5 reviews from this member

 We've just come back from a fantastic weekend staying here. We are a family of 2 adults and 4 children and were camping with a 6 berth dome tent. If you like basic camping to keep the costs down then this place is perfect. The locality is lovely and is within easy reach of the Fylde coast.

The site itself is in the grounds of the late Whittingham Hospital which is currently being demolished. Once this has been completed the outlook will be much better. But to be honest we didn't notice it. The owners were really friendly and accommodating and allowed us use of the Club etc. This has got to be one of the rarest places now that charge purely by unit and not per head. Therefore with a family of 6 it was a real winner. The charges were £6 per unit without electric and £8 per unit with electric. There was supposed to be an extra charge for membership to the club of £1 per adult which would last 1 month but we weren't charged it.

There are no showers but the toilets had hot water so we weren't having to heat up the water ourselves for having a wash and washing up. Thus saving us gas.

We were pitched on the Club's lawn with the swing, slide and small football net for the children, plus movable picnic tables we could use for mealtimes. As such the pegs went in easily as we weren't on the hardstanding fields.

Would definitely go again. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Whittingham & Goosnargh Sports & Social Club child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whittingham & Goosnargh Sports & Social Club?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Whittingham & Goosnargh Sports & Social Club dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1878 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement