Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brixton Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Brixton Caravan & Camping Park
Venn Farm
Brixton
Plymouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL8 2AX
Tel: 01752 880378  or  01752 402732
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 43
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 26 Reviews
                8/10 from 26 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Abduljutt 1 review from this member

Reluctantly came back here after a few years. Glad I did though. Its very clean and tidy. I will be coming back here yearly once more.

I was also made to feel welcome by other holiday makers, and the replacement wardens were extremely helpful.

I look forward to coming back here next summer with my girlfriend and pet dog.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kierenkeithbiggs 1 review from this member

The wardens are great, very approachable and they're a couple who live at the entrance, and they're a good laugh

The other visitors are quiet and keep themselves to themselves

The facilities are old but kept clean to a high standard

I'm always seeing one of the wardens work around the site daily, the poor bugger works his backside off, usually gardening, but it really pays off as the site looks beautiful.

Add to this the little courtesies that are supplied around the site such as bog roll, washing up liquid, sponges, and youve got a very agreeable, practical and peaceful holiday site.

Don't know much about the local area but its very close to plymouth which has everything.

Overall, 5/5 and highly recommended for the holidays.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phil daw 4 reviews from this member

Back again for my annual visit only this year without time constraints as the owner now opens all year round with extended stays no problem.

They say silence is golden and it certainly is on this site. A place that you can really relax in away from the hussle of everyday life, with great pitches and facilities and close to all amenaties with low cost pitches and friendly wardens, it seems to be the idilic location for most needs inc settling in students to their new uni, rambling, surfing, fishing or discovering the SW, maybe we'll meet soon.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thenewzeland1 1 review from this member

We found this campsite by mistake and was so glad that we did. On arrival we were greeted by the warden who showed us to our pitch and then proceeded to direct us to all the local amenities. The site itself was lovely, well kept and tidy with clean showers which are free and clean toilets and kitchen. The local pub which is a 2 minute walk from the campsite serve fantastic food and a wide selection of traditional ales. Plymouth itself is only 10 minutes away which is great for shopping and has a great selection of restaurants. We had a great time and recommend it to anyone, we will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Creaturegirl 1 review from this member

I don't know what you look for in a campsite but we look for space, proximity to local facilities, quiet when we get back after a busy day out, and friendly campers. We found that Brixton Camping and Caravan Park had all this in abundance. The showers were clean, toilets clean, there is a small kitchen with a microwave and fridge and freezer that was great back up for us as we were last minute campers in a hurriedly bought tent! We had a brilliant time at this campsite, were left to get on with our holiday and when we did talk with Steve and his partner the exchanges were always friendly, relaxed and just what you are looking for when you are away from home. We are not into club houses, amusement arcades etc…. So if you are looking for a genuine 'green' campsite then this one ticks all the boxes. Plymouth is just down the road, a 10 minute drive, and an easy one at that; tackled with aplomb by my daughter who is a new driver! There are stacks of places to go in Plymouth itself, restaurants in abundance but if you want a night in and don't feel like cooking the local Indian restaurant delivers an award winning takeaway…. Literally the best we have ever had and we eat a lot of Indian food. We had a great time and will definitely have this campsite on our annual places to go list. With regards to children this is a great campsite to take the kids if you want them to rediscover simple pleasures like playing together!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Touring the World 6 reviews from this member

Basic - a field with electric hook up.

The toilets and showers are well used and dated, rustic would best describe them.

It appears as though lots of workers live there in various caravans etc. Plenty of coming and going.

I would say bordering on a being a gypsy site.

There is a walking short cut from the site to the village which has a busy locals pub which appears to do good food only viewed not tasted.

The chip shop, lots people will tell you is good but is only average - it's good to them because it's the only one.

There is a bus to Plymouth at 10 past the hour but is expensive at £7. 80 for 2 adults when a taxi back, door to door £10. 00 (the last bus back is 6. 50pm)

Don't expect your female companion to have a shower, we paid for two nights but left after one.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ferris1986 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights in July during hot weather with our two small children (aged 1 and 3). The campsite itself was fairly spacious (in the first field) in a nice location and the atmosphere was relaxed. Unfortunately the facilities were very outdated, unclean and of very poor standard (cracked tiles, poorly decorated, dusty and broken fittings). The site doesn't have play areas for the children but there was plenty of room for them to ride bikes and play ball games, etc on the grass. The owners had guests staying with them during the weekend of our stay and chose to spend the hot evenings outside creating excessive noise - shouting, laughing and foul language throughout the evening. You could possibly expect some noise from other inconsiderate campers but we certainly did not expect this behaviour from the people in charge of the site. I was also appalled that one of the wardens was vomiting in the toilets the next morning due to a hangover!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phil daw 4 reviews from this member

I have been fortunate this year in extending my stay to five weeks and have had a great time, with good showers, clean toilets and a fully equipped kitchen with plenty of freezer space the site has all the amenities you need.

The staff have been great you soon get the community spirit feel about this warming friendly site with always someone willing to give a helping hand.

I will be back throughout the year and always look forward to every visit and with local shops and pubs right beside the site and a supermarket and takeaways just down the road, I would say that this nice quiet site should please anyone whatever their needs.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Curlyheadedgenius 2 reviews from this member

Not to impressed with this site overall. It's convenient for Plymouth but on arrival I took a shower and it worked fine but wasn't clean and looked like it hadn't been cleaned for quite some time. Only one toilet cubicle in the mens loos and there was a queue in the morning. The hand drier wasn't working either. All the bins were full up although the site was only partially occupied. Kids throwing gravel around which wasn't too impressive. The wardens were nice enough but they could do with paying more attention to whats going on in the site and keeping cleanliness around the site. If it wasn't so convenient for Plymouth I wouldn't stay here. Sorry Brixton but I wont be coming back in a hurry.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ianfwhitehead 2 reviews from this member

I enjoyed my weeks stay. The facilities were adequate and clean enough, but a bit tired looking and dated.

I would stay here again if it wasn't for the abundance of Contractors staying on site in caravans. They were mainly ok, but I did have a couple of nights of interrupted sleep due to noise. Also, one caravan took delivery of a few industrial sized pallets from a large lorry on site, this did little to enhance the peaceful holiday atmosphere.

Another aspect of the stay I didn't enjoy was being crowded on the last night by half a dozen tents pitching up within about two feet of each other and my tent, even our guy ropes where crossing! There was no reason for this as there was plenty of space in our (and another) field. I would've hope the warden could have supervised to avoid this.

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4684 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019