Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brixton Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Plymouth > Brixton Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Brixton Caravan & Camping Park
Venn Farm
Brixton
Plymouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL8 2AX
Tel: 01752 880378  or  01752 402732
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 43
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 33 Reviews
                8/10 from 33 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Mickma 1 review from this member

 We've been camping here with our dive club 2-3 times a year for over 20 years.

Cheap and basic, somewhere to camp and park our boat, free showers, toilets and a water supply.

Easy walking distance to the pub and chip shop. Staff are friendly and helpful, facilities are basic and old but clean.

We don't need anything more or anything less. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MS ontour 1 review from this member

 My wife and myself had a short stay at this site

It was pleasantly quiet,

Clean & tidy helpful and friendly staff

Good location with public transport a couple of hundred yards away for Kingsbridge, Dartmouth and plymouth 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jmason 1 review from this member

 Had a great 4 nights, well looked after clean tidy and very friendly.

Will use again. Well located for Plymouth and central areas. Felt very safe and secure. Thanks Ash and June 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davidm 1 review from this member

 Arriving at the site was somewhat of a shock. A closed gate and 2 mobile phone numbers neither of which were answered. We drove in and looked for the hard standing we had asked for.

The first field was nice but sloping grass. Through the gate was an untidy area of gravel with long term static tourers. We then found the third field by which time the managers had arrived. We chose the only realistic spot in the corner on flat grass and close to the electric points. The area closer to the ELp had been used long term for a tent and the grass was dead.

Having said that we had a quiet 4 days visiting S Devon by bike. The mangers proved very friendly. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jim Cator 2 reviews from this member

 I chose this site for the location, I wanted somewhere where I could use local transport for walking part of the coast path. It wasnít my first choice but others were either closed or not taking tents because of the virus.

I got what I wanted, a field to pitch my tent in, hot water and toilets - thatís about it. Would I book this site again? Probably not if there is a viable alternative but it just about sufficed. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sammy247 1 review from this member

 The very helpful camp warden lives in a tent at the entrance to the field, he looked after us and made sure we had a power hook up.

The site itself is best described as basic rural and a throw back to 1955 amenities. Showers are tired but work, toilets are similar condition, bins have recycle ability.

The site is used as a base by workers so expect movement and engine start up at 7:00am.

There is a busy road somewhere beyond the site therefore distant traffic noise throughout the night.

A rookery somewhere near the site gives a lot of early morning bird noise, along with sheep and dogs, not a problem for us but may bother others.

No amenities for children, however they did allow camp fires at night so a chilled evening for a lot of campers.

The village nearby has a decent pub which does food, chip shop further down the road and a small diner.

All in all it did what it said on the can, donít expect more. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gill and John 3 reviews from this member

 Unfortunately, we didnít like anything (had intended staying three nights for walking SW Coastal Path, but two was enough)!

As there are many vans with old awnings which are not touring vans, but are obviously permanent residents (some of whom leave for work early and return later), the site is geared to them and therefore noisy at times.

In the touring area the grass hadnít been mown in ages and there was scattered litter around. The showers had dreadful mould growth and smelt, too.

The toilets were in a very poor state and all except one had floating excrement when we arrived. Therefore we used our own facilities, and left asap.

The charge per night, for such conditions, was extortionate, too, but you donít get to see the conditions until you get there!

The wardens were pleasant enough, but the facilities need thorough, regular cleaning and a refurbishment is very necessary. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Abduljutt 1 review from this member

 Reluctantly came back here after a few years. Glad I did though. Its very clean and tidy. I will be coming back here yearly once more.

I was also made to feel welcome by other holiday makers, and the replacement wardens were extremely helpful.

I look forward to coming back here next summer with my girlfriend and pet dog. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kierenkeithbiggs 1 review from this member

 The wardens are great, very approachable and they're a couple who live at the entrance, and they're a good laugh

The other visitors are quiet and keep themselves to themselves

The facilities are old but kept clean to a high standard

I'm always seeing one of the wardens work around the site daily, the poor bugger works his backside off, usually gardening, but it really pays off as the site looks beautiful.

Add to this the little courtesies that are supplied around the site such as bog roll, washing up liquid, sponges, and youve got a very agreeable, practical and peaceful holiday site.

Don't know much about the local area but its very close to plymouth which has everything.

Overall, 5/5 and highly recommended for the holidays. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Phil daw 4 reviews from this member

 Back again for my annual visit only this year without time constraints as the owner now opens all year round with extended stays no problem.

They say silence is golden and it certainly is on this site. A place that you can really relax in away from the hussle of everyday life, with great pitches and facilities and close to all amenaties with low cost pitches and friendly wardens, it seems to be the idilic location for most needs inc settling in students to their new uni, rambling, surfing, fishing or discovering the SW, maybe we'll meet soon. 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Brixton Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brixton Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Brixton Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Plymouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1542 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement