Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Willow Hill Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Gloucestershire > Gloucester > Willow Hill Farm Campsite > Reviews

Willow Hill Farm Campsite
Willow Hill Farm
School Road
Apperley
Gloucester
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL19 4DJ
Tel: 01242 222848  or  07388 132122
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 9 Reviews
                6/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Catrig 1 review from this member

 Setting was beautiful.

Only one toilet, just not enough although it was a large space with Sink,

It was bad enough with one other family there, if the site had more than 2 families it would be horrendous.

There was a washing facility which was under cover but if rainin you would be standing out in the rain, it wouldn’t take a lot to extend the cover.

2 showers for the whole site.

Really think the owners should try staying there to see what is needed to improve, no wonder they wanted money by bank transfer before we reached the site.

Very narrow roads and no passing places to get there

Not good 👎👎 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Janescottage 11 reviews from this member

 We liked the outdoor games, indoor games, hammocks, swings, lighting, communal fire pits, pool, sun deck, paddling pool, water slide, bar, drinks were a reasonable price, cocktails, wood burner, decor, microwave, freezer, toaster, washing up facilities, apple tree shower, compost toilets, views, walks, pubs, farm dog, chickens, dogs are allowed off leads, friendly staff, very nice food,

Managed to find somewhere reasonably flat to pitch tent, good view of Milky Way at night,

There was plenty of space between pitches,

Grass a reasonable length and only muddy in one patch,

Good free Wi-Fi and you could book online.

The self guided trails were not mentioned and I forgot to ask.

Dislikes: Not well signposted, not clear where to go when you get there, very expensive per night, fire pit is very expensive,

The charge for the hot tub is not mentioned on the website and is very expensive,

Ordered food at 5:45 but couldn’t eat until 7:45,

Pool was a bit cool. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Elton3 26 reviews from this member

 Overall the site is very welcoming and has some great touches to boost it above other sites in terms of facilities.

A heated pool, outdoor hottub, central bar and restaurant that does great pizzas and big group firepits. However for a site that can take up to 100 people 3 toilets and 3 showers is not enough.

Now I know the site is in transition but some of the facilities are not good. If you want electric then as the site says its on an extra long lead but they do not have many of these, the main gate is too small for motorhomes.

The worst bit is the uncovered chemical disposal. All of my points seem a but picky but for £70 a night I would expect more. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Gazcamper79 3 reviews from this member

 We understand that there are guests who have enjoyed their stay. The view from the site is beautiful and they do offer food and a bar on site (both obviously chargeable).

We arrived and couldn't locate the site and when we did we couldn't find anyone to assist. After a lengthy queue at the bar someone thought they could direct us towards a pitch.

We were told to "pitch where we liked" The pitches are not marked and there was insufficient space for us to pitch that would give us electrical access.

The so called electric hookups are extension leads from the main house (unacceptable). We were not shown where the toilet and shower facilities were and couldn't find them.

After 2 weeks in campsites in Devon that were at least £20 cheaper per night (both with restaurant and bar facilities) our expectations did not match the £85 per night fee. Whilst I understand some guests are happy, a word of caution.

Once you have an issue do not expect any assistance. On discussion with the manager that we did not wish to stay. Although against terms and conditions were offered a full refund. Six weeks later after many calls and emails, with promises of a refund we still await any refund. Unacceptable and unprofessional. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Alexkd 1 review from this member

 We had a really lovely stay at Willow farm. The atmosphere is very laid back and extremely relaxing.

The children were allowed to have free rein around the grounds and orchard and had a great time exploring. We even had Sunday papers and magazines left for us in the morning.

Although the facilities were basic, I understand a shop and possibly a pool are to be opened in the near future.

Overall a lovely stay with great views. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Charlotte Jacobs 1 review from this member

 Wow, just wow. An amazing location with stunning views!

So I arrived later than anticipated but had been given helpful and clear directions via email in advance, and text from the owners anticipating my arrival.

Although not greeted by the owner (I was late arriving) I was greeted by a young lady and directed to the campsite, also there was an out of hours number which I spoke to the owner directly, he was extremely welcoming helpful for the duration of my short stay and nothing seemed too much bother. He even provided fire pit, wood and fire starters to my van whilst I was at the pub!

Nothing quite compares to the incredible view! I had gorgeous sunshine and could sit back and enjoy the view all day and night! Views stretching right across the valley, it was spectacular to wake up too.

Because during COVID I decided to stay self contained so can't comment of facilities. Very reasonably priced for a great location.

The short 2min walk through the orchard to the local pub down the hill felt like a real treat! And the views from the pub were just as special. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2021 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 0 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We're delighted to confirm we have been advised this campsite is reopening for the 2021 season onwards, and is now under new management. Any previous reviews can be disregarded as they will not reflect the current situation. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Taffy5 8 reviews from this member

 Well this was the strangest site we have ever stayed at! I phoned to book for an overnight stay and spoke to a very friendly lady. When we arrived after a long drive we couldn't find the site. We eventually asked a local dog walker who told us that 'there used to be a sign but they took it down'. We found the gate to the farm and went up the long drive to the farmhouse. It seemed deserted but after a lot of 'helloing' a young girl who spoke very little English appeared. She seemed surprised to see us and told us 'no owner today'. She gestured to a field so we drove in. The grass was pretty long but it was level. We weren't surprised to find that we were alone. There were great views to one side but the chemical toilet facilities were reached through nettles and stepping around a broken cold frame (with broken glass). The next day we went in search of someone to pay. Eventually we found a different young girl who didn't even know we had been there all night! She asked us to wait while she phoned someone to find out the price (£10). The site used to have toilets but these are now unusable.  



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Willow Hill Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Willow Hill Farm Campsite have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Willow Hill Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Willow Hill Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gloucester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2130 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement