Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beverley Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Paignton > Beverley Holidays Reviews

Beverley Holidays
Goodrington Road
Paignton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ4 7JE
Tel: 01803 843887
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 194
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 82 Reviews
                8/10 from 82 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Martin1010 14 reviews from this member

Beverley Park is large and has a good standard of facilities available with indoor and outdoor pool, shop and childrenís play areas. The site was well maintained and kept very clean and tidy. Repairs were carried out within hours of someone vandalising the fence from around the childrenís play area. It is a bit of an oasis within what is fairly urban and built up surroundings. The pitches at the front of the site have lovely views of the sea. Many of the visitors have been coming repeatedly for years and have very fond memories.

The takeaway was excellent and open late, although the pizza takeaway was shut. The entertainment, whilst not our taste was very popular and our teenage son enjoyed going with friends he had made.

The shower block near the childrenís playground was the one we used. Was a little dated but kept clean which was a challenge given the heavy volume of usage given that the site was full.

Downside. The main Brixham road near the site is being widened (has been at various points over recent years) but means that there can be some significant traffic jams nearby. In addition, donít expect to get anywhere soon due to the combination of the Devon road network and the sheer volume of tourists in July/August but hey, you are on holiday. It could take 45 mins to do 5 Miles at times.

Watch about parking your car near the trees. Not sure if it was the heatwave but when we returned and I washed my car, I found it plastered with tiny specs of hardened tree sap. It has taken two days so far washing and using specialist cleaning stuff to try and get it off which has been a real pain (and cost)

The big issue is that the volume of visitors in the site at peak time is vast compared to the facilities there. Add to this that the residents of Beverley Bay over the road can also use the facilities and local residents can have memberships giving equal access. The swimming pool and sun beds were a real challenge to access with only 90 beds available and 5sunshades and it was frankly ridiculous. We tried to get sun-beds for 5 days without success as it was packed and were advised we would have to queue from 7. 30 to get a place. We tried and yes got a place but then left our sunbed for 20 mins and found all our stuff had been cleared by the staff which apparently hadnít happened before. Someone came back from swimming to find the staff had cleared her one sunbed (not sure why she didnít see it happen) and someone else had occupied it so a tense standoff occurred. This was a new stance they had taken but it wasnít applied consistently or through the day so some beds were empty from 10 ish for 3 hours and nothing happened so some disgruntlement from people sat on chairs and not able to use the beds. They really need to determine their stance and if taking this, be consistent all through the day.

Would I come back. Yes, but once you have done the surrounding areas you have really done it so unexpectedly we are having a second year holidaying in the UK but further down in Cornwall

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nigel Rickard 31 reviews from this member

This is a huge site with many chalets and statics, this must reduce the use of facilities blocks as we had no problem with queuing. There is always plenty of hot water for showers, perhaps a bit too hot for me. The view from the touring pitch we were given was absolutely lovely, the pitch was large, plenty big enough for motor homes and large caravans.

You can walk to the beach at Goodrington in 15-20 minutes, but the climb back up is steep. Being on a hillside there was a nice breeze, which in the heat wave was very useful. However as one review stated if it was windy you would get the worst of it. We did not use the pool but it looked lovely, large and well attended. The on site restaurant served good quality food, not cheap but you get what you pay for, there is a rood top terrace with views.

Now the downsides, the reasons why our marks were not high.

We booked by phone and my wife definitely asked for 4 nights from Tuesday to Friday, I heard her tell the Beverley rep. The rep did not give her the nightly rate and the total was more than we normally pay, we were happy. She was told an email would confirm, we never received one. With hind sight we should have chased that email. Somehow the rep gave us only three nights and when we arrived all dates and pitches were fully booked. 360 mile round trip for 3 nights.

After our restaurant meal we pushed the boat out and ordered liquor coffees. After a mouthful we knew the cream was off. The drinks were replaced and apologies made. Unfortunately we did not feel too well the next day so reported the problem. Heard nothing further. A refund for the drinks would have been nice.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hookupandgo 4 reviews from this member

This is a good spot for exploring Paignton, we did book over the phone and explained this would be our very first trip in a touring caravan so wanted to ensure we had a sensible pitch (Flat!) with all the available facilities, as we have two small children as well. We went in October so it would be quiet too.

Good points is its location and views from pitches, they have a shop on site. BTW This shop is a separate business to the Caravan Park the till operator told me when he couldn't help with directions on the park. Bizarre and I gave this feedback to the park after it happened. If you have a business on site your staff should be able to point you in the direction of the launderette or swimming pool, or soft play cafť at the very least.

When we arrived, we were taken to our pitch by a warden who was great, and we parked up fine. Later that day terrible windy storms came and because we were on a corner plot the wind almost took our awning. On reflection, if I had been the booker, I wouldn't have put a first timer on a high corner pitch considering the predicted winds. As there were hundreds more sheltered pitches more suitable. We stuck it out but it felt very much a learning curve and my parents who are caravaners for over 30 years were very annoyed we were put there. Lessons learnt.

They had a large playground, a little tired but only needs of lick of paint. The softplay cafť was unmanned when we visited but the kids enjoyed it and a nice touch especially when it rained!

We visited the indoor pool and had quite a different experience in there, staff were very friendly and welcoming. Decent size and the kids loved it and large family changing rooms.

Toilets and showers were clean and hot so excellent cleaners! Good outdoor large dishwashing sinks too.

The Launderette was confusing, some machines say coins and tokens or both. My machine said Tokens (I wanted a large one) which I went to reception for, only to come back for the machine to reject them!) So please amend the communication posters on each of the machines. Easy solution.

We liked the location, but we won't be coming back due to our experience BUT it hasn't put us off caravanning :)

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SadieKemp 5 reviews from this member

I camped here for a few days with my family. The facilities were great although we didn't make use of the pool as it was rather busy. My sons used the gym. The evening entertainment was good particularly for little ones. If you like running there is a Parkrun only a 15 minute jog away. There is a water park a similar distance away with flumes that we all enjoyed.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Normanmansell 2 reviews from this member

Very pleased with this site from arrival to leaving. Starting with a friendly and efficient welcome on check in, then shown to our pitch so no trying to find it from a tiny map. The pitch itself was a good size, with plenty of space between units. Everything was well kept and cared for. The amenity blocks were clean, and checked and cleaned regularly, good strong showers and plenty of hot water. The bar wasn't overpriced and the entertainment team work very hard. All in all we had a good stay, everyone was friendly and everything worked as it should. We would certainly use this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Raymond Caplen 2 reviews from this member

Easy check in then shown to our pitch by the warden, pitch was small & at an angle to all the others and sloped on all sides so asked if we could select another pitch but were told none were available, so set up on pitch 119. Site has very good and clean facilities swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, site showers also very good. Taxis to Paignton about £ 6. 50 but not very reliable. Visited Splashdown water park £ 12. 50 per person would not go again as there not enough rubber rings for the slides but were advised by staff you can buy your own at reception!Only disappointment with the site was the fact that were vacant pitches available as we spotted a few in our field that were empty for the duration of our stay.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rustys 6 reviews from this member

Nice campsite, very large, but with all good facilities. All though tent was exposed to a wet rainy night it was'nt to bad. Little bit of a walk to good clean showers and toilets, again no kitchen facilities for basic campers from NZ. Easy to find and good location, staff very helpful.

Russell and Sue NZ

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: IDK2013 7 reviews from this member

Overall a pretty good site.

When we arrived we had to park up to check in (the caravan spaces had been taken up by cars which did mean having to leave it not in a space - staff said it was ok but did make it tricky pulling out again). Reception staff were really friendly and helpful and we were then shown to our pitch and told how they would like us to set up. The only criticism of the reception staff would be that they didn't tell us about the facilities available at the park across the road and it was only when we overheard other people talking that we found out what else was on offer.

We were given a plot in the corner which meant we had a bit of extra space, however the other pitches were small and did feel like you were living in each others pockets! The field we were in was on a slope with no tarmac/gravel to get to the top part. Due to the awful August weather we had it did cause the bottom of the hill to get churned up and at least 2 cars got stuck trying to get up the hill and made it even worse.

The toilet/shower block was clean and well laid out. The shower cubicles were split in to 2 with a wash area and dressing area which is a great idea as your clothes etc. Can stay dry whilst showering.

The site is well kept and everything was clean and tidy. The shop on site is well stocked and I was surprised at how well priced things were. Don't get me wrong, it was not cheap, but I would not say it was overpriced either.

The swimming pools are nice but the indoor pool is quite small which I can imagine would feel very overcrowded if the weather was not great.

There is a pub/restaurant and takeaway food outlet there. We had fish and chips from the takeaway and it was fine. The entertainments team work very hard and are fantastic for the children. My daughter thought that this was the best entertainment that she has ever been to which is great. However, the adult entertainment in the evening wasn't the greatest but that may just be my taste.

The area is very hilly so not really walking distance to anywhere but there is a bus stop just outside the park so not the end of the world.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Jonandthegirls 6 reviews from this member

We have been holidaying at Beverley for years in a tourer and have always sung it's praises to anyone who would listen however we don't feel able to do this any more following this years visit.

To be fair, the site itself is fine with good facilities but I fear that lack of investmemt is starting to make some of it look a bit tired. For us, Beverley has always stood proud of other sites for the atmosphere in the evenings in the clubhouse - we meet up each year with friends who are also regular customers and they feel that standards have dropped considerably this year. We used to enjoy great quality entertainment which was the highlight of the holiday. Not any more!

The majority of the entertainment was just using the audience, and we find that a bit tacky in this day and age. Gone are the quality acts that we used to enjoy, in place of low budget acts that just died on their feet! The house band used to be excellent but now lack the fabulous keyboard player and a decent vocalist.

Beverley always gave repeat customers a loyalty discount but this has also gone so we don't feel like it's good value for money now.

We have sold our tourer so stayed in a comfort plus static at £800 for a week, and although it was clean it was well worn and a bit disappointing. Flaky and missing trim, surfaces bubbling and lifting, etc.

We are already booked to return in October for a couple of days but that could well be our last visit to a site that we used to love, unless standards improve and prices lower.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helenlyn 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a week in May We have stayed a few times before with our children. How it has changed !.

On arrival reception staff very helpful and we were shown to our pitch, nice big pitch with plenty of room and great views over the bays. Pool was excellent, Food in takeaway was a bargain on special nights. Did not use the club house after 2nd night. On first night FRIDAY having gone out at 10pm to find bar shut at 11pm with NO NOTICE, when I asked about this I was told it was not up to bar staff to call last orders or time but the entertainment staff. Bit of a let down. So tried upper deck bar next night SATURDAY to find at 10pm after buying one drink the bar then closed again no notice. Unable to watch sport television in bar due to restaurant not wanting it on after 10pm and was told by bar person that they did not want any trouble in the bar and security would not allow sport on to watch.

As we are both over 63 yrs old I found this unbelievable. ,

Had to then go downstairs to listen to the disco ????.

Crossed over next night to the sister site Nicer place. Major sport final on the television and could also play snooker. No real ale even though it was advertised

Being the only people in the bar for the next 2 nights we then decided to go into town.

Overall the site was great. Toilets very clean Views stunning. Most of the staff friendly( except in upper deck bar found her abrupt and condescending) Very disappointed will not be returning.

Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4302 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019