Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pop Up Camping By The River

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Steyning > Pop Up Camping By The River Reviews

Pop Up Camping By The River
Horsebridge Common
Steyning
West Sussex   (Browse area)
BN44 3AL
Tel: 07771 535350  or  07812 605094
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/05/2021 to 30/09/2021
           01/05/2022 to 30/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 8 Reviews
                10/10 from 8 Reviews

Photos (1)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Windre 1 review from this member

 Great hosts and facilities,

Jaz (one of the hosts) was very friendly and helpful.

The toilet and shower facilities were great. Even the cows in the nearby field were were welcoming.

Sites were spacious.

Highly recommend! 


Date of Visit: January 2021 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 0 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note that this site has moved slightly down the river to a new farm from 2021 onwards. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: MoiraMcKendry 1 review from this member

 Jules and the team at the River are really friendly, highly organised, incredibly patient and good fun.

The site is brilliant - lots of self-pitch locations to choose from. Tempted by the wooded area among the shepherd's huts, we finally settled on the long field. Equipped with composting toilets, water stations and hot showers. Consider pre-ordering pizza on the Friday night to help you settle in, and definitely get a firepit - it just wouldn't be the same without that warm glow on a lovely summer's evening.

The river is not far down the track, and has one and two-person kayaks to rent. By-the-day, is the better deal, and there is plenty of river to tootle up and down - we took our lunch and nestled in the reeds to dine afloat. The river is tidal, so do take note of the flow.

Pop-up by the River is a fabulous place to visit - we will be back.

Cheers

Moira 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DeborahTurner 17 reviews from this member

 We visited this site as a small group of family, no kids.

The majority of the 'family camping' was on a big open field, very level, some beautiful trees and fantastic big tyre swings everywhere. We camped further away from Reception, closer to the shepherd's huts, more suitable for couples or adult only groups, perhaps. Especially as you can't take your car all the way to the pitch. On the field you can park the other side of the fence from your pitch, but not drive across the camping field. On the slopes by the huts, there is a parking area and a short walk to a selection of pitches. The ground here is much rougher than the field, but we very much appreciated this area.

Lovely site, great views across to the Downs, lovely walks to the river and along, and good dark skies for observing shooting starts.

Fires allowed in firepits, which are available to hire.

The compost toilets were very civilised, with a few 'event toilets' - the plastic cabins. Showers in wooden hits - hot, good outdoor washing up sinks with cold water. (we filled our washing up bowl with hot water from the shower alongside!)

Friendly Reception, not sure about any shop or supplies - although the wood was good - good seasoned logs, with kindling free.

A quiet, family orientated 'natural' site, no rowdy noise at night, just people sitting round their fires. No electronic music allowed. Quiet requested after dark. Plenty of space, no need to be close to other groups of campers.

We walked along the river and through fields to The Fountain pub. Good selection of nice Sussex beers, a lovely garden and a good BBQ lunch.

We would very much look forward to returning to this site. It is now 15 per adult per night, and 6 per child (U3's free)and 5 parking per car per stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Botany 2 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed it so much in June we went back three weeks later and had a great time with a large group of friends.

Arriving on a Friday we were warmly welcomed and shown our site. Their policy is not to overcrowd but they could double numbers before it was anything like the density of other average campsites.

Children enjoy the field, river walks and much more on offer. Pizza and mocktails on Friday made our day after travelling and pitching up tents.

Toilets are clean and surprisingly odourless. Showers are hot and never had to queue for either.

Saturday evening tug a war got the campers together and once ice was broken we got to know almost everyone on site.

Loved the evening open fires and the teepee we hired for our group gathering made a super focal point for evening marshmallows. We have already booked for next year and are planning our river walks and adventures. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stedders1 1 review from this member

 Lovely site with the friendliest welcome I have ever experienced at a campsite! Nice to see open space on a site, even over a busy weekend - as others have said they deliberately prevent the site from being over full. Composting toilets were fine and showers were hot. Plenty of kids on the site the weekend we were there but enough space they didn't cause any problems. Would recommend the pizzas! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Atkinson3 1 review from this member

 Just back from this lovely pop up by the river site in steyning West Sussex. Nestled in the South Downs Tiz and Joules offer a warm welcome and purposely don't over crowd this site even on a bank holiday weekend, bliss! We spent 3 nights here and if offers a big open field space for the children to play safely and the parents can always keep an eye. Facilities are basic as it is off grid, portaloos in wooden huts and hot showers in similar huts and cold water open air sinks. This is all you need though and was fine for us. The bonus was the pizza and cocktails available on a Friday night all served with a smile out of converted horse boxes, what a treat! The field is flat and you can hire a bell tent or shepherds hut if you choose too. There are lovely walks along the river and the local pub is about a 30-40 minute walk away. Fire pits for me are a must when camping and these are provided for hire with logs available to buy on site. This is our second visit here and we will definitely be back! Thoroughly recommend for chilled out back to basics with lovely people running the show! Would have been 10/10 if the pub was closer! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mazup44 1 review from this member

 This was my first time camping and it was amazing. The guys on site really sorted us out (especially as we ended up in Shoreham in Kent instead of on sea). We arrived really late and they reduced our panic by helping us on the way as well as on site. They showed us how to start and keep a fire going which made us so proud when it lasted for hours. I absolutely loved the experience and will be taking my employees there for a camping jolly. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pop Up Camping By The River child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pop Up Camping By The River?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Pop Up Camping By The River dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Steyning      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2638 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement