Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Blue Dolphin Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Filey > Blue Dolphin Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) Reviews

Blue Dolphin Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)
Gristhorpe Bay
Filey
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 9PU
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 272
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 213 Reviews
                7/10 from 213 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  213 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Flowersyy 1 review from this member

Stayed here for first time in a tent with 2 young kids and a dog. Said they were dog friendly but dog only allowed in outside areas, nowhere else!

Lots of stuff for kids to do. Camping without electrical hook-ups was on top of the cliffs, high up, which was very very windy!

There were plenty of spaces below that they could have sent us to instead. When we checked in, Reception staff not very friendly, more interested in talking to each other.

This is in contrast to when you arrive at the caravan reception where they're always nice and friendly.

Facilities were nice, good toilet/shower block, everything clean and nearby.

Weather though was absolutely terrible and one day there was even hailstones! So very cold but can't blame the site for that! Would go again.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maz9999 31 reviews from this member

Horrible place to stay, we wanted to leave after an hour

Disgustingly filthy, complained about the litter, fag ends and general dirt in the outside ď non smoking ď seating area but even the staff said it was because it was busy, yeah busy but pay someone to clean it up out of the millions you are ripping people off for

No access to any beach as the site is on a cliff

No water / motorhome filling places, Elsan dump filthy, bins overflowing with waste, didnít even attempt the showers as the rest of the place was a tip

Entertainment at night was packed, noisy and hot as well as a mile queue at the bar to be served nasty expensive beer

We left after 2 days after paying for 5 days ( £55 a night ) never ever again !

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ncb1 5 reviews from this member

Never again, when we arrived on site and were thrown our welcome pack and information and told 'be off site by 10am and no later on the day we leave'. After finding our pitch (160) we were disgusted to find a huge muddy puddle to put our awning up on. We had booked hard stranding but that was only for the van and not the awning apparently, fair enough. We set up and made the best of it, and apart from the water bed feel underfoot in the awning we were set up and on holiday.

The shower block and chemical disposal point were a fair trek from the van but were kept clean and tidy, the showers were hot and with a good water pressure.

We were pitched right next to the main walkway through to the site entertainment block so had a constant flow of swearing 10 year olds walking past our van.

There were gypsies on the site whilst we were there, who were constantly shouting, swearing and banging on the side of caravans as they walked past. I spoke to someone in the touring reception about this and she said that the warden would deal with it. I didn't realise there was a warden, we never saw him in the five days we were on site.

The touring site was scruffy with litter everywhere, dog mess and what seemed like a mountain of cigarette ends.

The entertainment block was well equipped with a large arcade, two show bars and a restaurant as well as takeaway options, the swimming pool and changing facilities were good but we had to queue over 50 minutes just to get in.

Whilst looking around the site, the static part of the site is immaculate with groundsmen patrolling the site all the time and keeping the grass cut and areas clear from litter. Unfortunately they don't care as much about the touring side of the site.

The surrounding area is really good, a short drive into Filey and its incredible beach and Scarborough and Whitby are both within and hour of the site.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LokiThorIronmamFury 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here early July. Whilst the weather was our friend, the campsite alas was not.

Disabled campers are just not catered for at all. I informed haven, on booking, that I am disabled & needed to be close to the amenities block. I was pitched up a hill, a very difficult walk from the loos. That was the first problem. The second problem was the pitches! They are on a very steep slant up on pichers view and are unbelievably small! The booking information had them at 5x7. 3 meters but they are no way that big. 4. 5 X 6. 5 meters maybe. Tents are a clear afterthought & money making exercise, no bins, no water point, tents ridiculously & dangerously crammed in together.

It absolutely spoiled the holiday. To top it off, Charlie our touring receptionist was going to make a face after talking to me but as my friend who camped with us, was looking directly at him, he quickly changed his expression. Thanks Charlie for being rather rude!

The only decent thing was the disabled loo (a very painful hike away)

My husband said the men's just wasn't maintained throughout the day and stunk of urine from about 3pm until the morning.

Really disappointed with this site because it absolutely could be so much better.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Annaballa2007 3 reviews from this member

Just came back from Blue dolphin.

We had booked a grass pitch with electric hook due to no hardstanding pitches left. Up on arrival to reception we were given a warm welcome and lots of information about the facilities on site. The touring and camping pitches were all on a hill we found our pitch cw66 and pitched up unfortunately due to the slope of the pitch even using two sets of levelling blocks and levelling legs we could not get our motor home level. The showers are warm and have good pressure. You do have to keep pressing the button as on most sites but you got a good shower. The hand dryers there is a trick to using these you have to put both hands under the dryer for it to work there is a small sticker on the front to show your apparently according to a staff member the dryers are set that way to stop kids drying their hair. Otherwise you will think that none of the dryers work. No hairdryers so you will need to take your own. There is a great dog walking field and a lovely cliff walk in to Filey which takes about 90 minutes to get there but on a lovely sunny day the dogs loved it. Filey is dog friendly there are section on the beach the dogs are allowed on and lots of dog friendly pubs. Don't forget you have another 90 minute walk back along the cliffs. There is a bus service outside the Haven site but we did not use it. On site the touring pitches are about 5 minute walk to use the facilities and take ways. Not a good walk when it rains you will get soaked. An ideal site if your staying in the static caravans but for touring and camping they need to do a refurbishment as when it rains you will get stuck in the mud but the tractor will pull you off. Staff are really friendly and helpful overall we had a great time. Only scored a 6 due to the touring pitches

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thompsonca 1 review from this member

I stayed 2 nights at his site and have always enjoyd it. Still a lovely site but please put rubbers on your toilet doors it was banging doors till everyone finally settled. Never again will I want to be near shower block. Fish and chips was very expensive but enjoyed them but didn't use club house not my thing. Shop on site well stocked. I do enjoy Blue Dolphin so will come again. Thank you. Next time I will try Euro pitch.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Oatlea 5 reviews from this member

Booked a short break to the Blue Dolphin site with our touring caravan (Monday to Friday). On arrival we were surprised to find the touring area quite busy but found our pitch quite easily with the use of the map given at reception. Like most reviews have said the pitches are slightly sloping which can make pitching a bit tricky when trying to get things level. The touring area is about a 5 to 10 min walk through the main caravan site to the entertainment complex. The complex itself has more or less everything you could need for your holiday, ie: shop, bar, take away, entertainment rooms, arcade and swimming pool. There is plenty to do on the site for adults and children alike although if you do want to venture outside you are not far from several tourist places such as Bridlington, Scarborough, Filey and Whitby. There was entertainment going on throughout the day for the children and shows for the adults in the evening. Although these weren't the best it was towards the end of season and I guess to be expected. The one concern I would have is that there was only one toilet/shower block for the whole of the touring site which was very large with at least 177 pitches. Having said this they were always warm and clean both day and night.

All in all we would highly recommend this site and only which we had booked for a full week rather than a short break

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pscholes 1 review from this member

Having a mixed bag of reviews on this site I wanted to give a fair reflection. Firstly the site is generally on a slope. Some pitches seem flatter than others but some are one a slope. This is more an issue for tents then trailers or caravans as these can be levelled. Regarding the toilets and showers, we found them to be fairly well cleaned and maintained. The day after some grass cutting the shower floors did seem to be dirtier because the grass had been brought in. There was a shutter door which was shut but housed more toilets and showers (in peak season). Showers were spacious and warm.

The swimming pool was a bit on the chillier side (saying this as a regular swimmer at our local pool). Outdoor pool was shut so can't comment on that.

The Ents complex was similar to most of the other Haven sites we have visited and generally good. There were 3 urinals that had black bags taped on them as they were out of order. Not particularly a problem just looked a bit poor.

As we booked early we paid £11 a night for an electric pitch and were more than happy with the over all park and facilities.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dsewell103 6 reviews from this member

Just got back. You get what you pay for. £77 for 7 nights with electric, one shower block for very large touring site. Nice large showers. No washing/shaving cubicles. Dog walk not clean. Site very hilly my largest ramps still left van with a slope. Tents where sited next to caravans and motorhomes. Leading to lots of nose. Was surprised to see travellers with there ladders on top of van, large calor gas bottles outside of there caravans stopping on site. Have just interested in money. The site had lots of litter all-around.

Dustbin men empty bins at 7. 30 am on Friday nice time to get up. Will never go to a have ever again. Been camping all over country the worst site I have ever stopped on

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lisanne 2 reviews from this member

We visited for 5 nights, the first impressions were good, friendly check in and smiley faces, we found our pitches easily although it was a bit hilly. Then it all went down hill from there, the only toilet/shower block available for what seems to be half of England was always unlocked even though it had key pads, always smelly and flooded from the showers, not enough toilets and just generally filthy, glad we had our own shower to fall back on, we had 3 pitches with friends and the holiday it self was quite expensive, so the facilities just didn't match up to our expectations ! The entertainment left a lot to be desired also very repetitive and boring not what you would expect for a haven site. The neighbours were constantly having a domestic which made for very uncomfortable evenings in the awning. It was like a scene from Jeremy Kyle! Will not be booking another haven site

Previous     213 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Filey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4725 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder