Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Debden House Centre

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Site Reviews

Debden House Centre
Debden Green
Loughton
Essex   (Browse area)
IG10 2NZ
Tel: 0208 508 3008
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: 1st May - 30th September

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 68 Reviews
                7/10 from 68 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angiepangie 1 review from this member

Visited twice this year. Lovely large site near Epping Forest with plenty of large pitches. I booked a pitch online but when I arrived I found it too steep and surrounded by trees. Staff were happy to let me choose another available pitch. Staff were friendly and helpful. Toilets and showers were spotless with plenty of hot water. No shops in the immediate vicinity but a short drive into Debden you can find Aldi and Sainsbury's, banks and other shops. I haven't rated the child friendliness as I don't have young children but there are playground facilities and plenty of children were enjoying themselves.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ratty 188 reviews from this member

This is an easy site to book up on and you can choose your field and your pitch and we chose the noisy field, with campfire allowed as it was myself an d a friend. Booking confirmation was emailed over and off we went.

Check in was simply and quick at the entrance and we got our wristbands and off we went. We declined the offer to let us know about the facilities etc, as we have been before.

We drove onto field 7 and we were the only people on there. The field is large, fairly flat and plenty of patches in the grass where you can have a fire. They sell bags of logs, or you can bring your own.

We set up and went for a walk in the forest, which is huge and you can spend hours and hours in there, perfect for the walker, cyclist, etc.

Clean portaloo toilets on the field and well stocked and no problem using them at all, with the other facilities in another field, and these contain the laundry, washing up, showers, etc.

A great site, close to London and perfect if you want group camping or family camping, just choose the appropriate fields.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ratty 188 reviews from this member

A return visit for me after staying last year. Booking was online on their website and was very easy and was able to simply choose a pitch that was available.

On arrival the lady on reception was very slow and seemed more worried about things behind the glass screen rather than serving the waiting punters. However once we got seen she passed us our wristbands and on we went. She did not open the barrier until we had put our wristbands on, which is a good thing as it stops people sharing them.

We stayed in field 7, the party and campfire field and we stopped midweek, so it was very quiet with just one other tent in it.

It is fairly flat and the pitches are all of a good size.

The toilets are two portaloos for this field and they were clean, well stocked and perfectly usable. There is fresh water on the field too. If you want a shower there is a block in another field, but we did not use this.

Fires are allowed and there are pre-dug pits, although we took our own firepit along. They sell logs for 5 per bag.

There is a shop, cafe, launderette, cottages to rent, playgrounds and vending machine on site.

This site is a great location for London and shopping. And perfect for walkers and cyclists who want to explore Epping Forest as you can walk straight in to the forest from the site.

We paid 10 per adult and 3 for the motorhome. I will be back soon and will taking my bike.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bebs 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend at Debden House and still can't get over the total disregard of some drivers for the safety of other people, especially children. There were cars driving straight through Field 1, past the kids play area, and others driving off road to avoid the speed bumps. I only saw one driver being stopped by a lone security guard. It is a lovely spacious camp which should allow kids to play in safety but, thanks to some people, that was not the case.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Canvassleeper 7 reviews from this member

We had a great time at Debden. It was pretty lively noise-wise, as there was a big group in the same field, but not too much of a disturbance. It is a shame you can't have fires in the field with electric hook ups, as ideally we'd have both this time of year!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Magnusspuss 10 reviews from this member

This site was great fun. We stayed 2 nights, we were 2 families with kids under 6. The kids enjoyed exploring the woodlands, tree rope swings and falling in mud and collecting kindling. There was lots of space around our tent for them to play ball and frisbe and general running about and we could see them from our camp.

Site was very large and a real mix of campers. There was a bit of late night noise, didn't bother us much at all and a bit too much litter left by campers, a bit of a long walk to toilet blocks and the kids play parks weren't up to very much but kids had a play anyway.

So close to London yet feels like your miles away in the countryside. Fires-great

We thought we'd go again but there's so many other sites that we haven't.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ratty 188 reviews from this member

This isn't a cheap site at 10 per adult, then 3 per car, then 2 per dog, and all this n a quiet Thursday night, however the site was huge, empty and perfect for what we wanted.

We booked on their website, you cannot phone and book which is annoying if you haven;t been before as you are taking potluck as to the pitch you might get.

We camped in field 7 which allows campfires. The field is large with one portaloo and a fresh water tap. There is access straight in to the woods from the field, which was lovely with the dog.

The pitches are not that big and are all very close to each other, so when the site is busy expect your neighbours to be up close. However this didn't affect us at all as we were the only ones in the field. Each pitch has its own firepit, basically a hole dug in the ground and you buy their logs at 5 per bag.

There are a couple of toilet and shower blocks with laundry room and washing up rooms. We did not use any of these as were only there for a night, however we stuck our heads in and they looks clean and well maintained.

There is a shop and cafe on site, however we did not use either, so cannot comment. There is a playground for the kids, however the fields are so big and with the woods surrounding the site, there is plenty for kids of all ages to do in the sunshine.

Site is fairly close to M25 so access is easy and is in the heart of Epping Forest offering great walks and days out. Plus London is not too far.

I would use this site again but not sure I would on a weekend as I just don't like people pitched right next to me so I can hear them snore.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Botany 2 reviews from this member

Miserable. Poorly run. Filthy. Extremely noisy at night so expect sleep deprivation as there are no rules. Bad language and inappropriate behavior too common especially at night

Found again that most staff operating the site have not had adequate training to operate such a site.

Noise decibels during day high with pa systems dominating. Although a second visit it's definitely the last. City of London Corporation should make Newham Council raise its low standards to a place where families and all can enjoy the forest. Is the forest not a legacy for all?

Next trip soon will be going back to reliable WoWo campsite in Sussex.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bettyfamily 3 reviews from this member

Just arrived home from our three say stay at Debden House. Absolutely loved it, cannot fault it at all. After reading some naughty reviews, we were a bit anxious, but we had a brilliant time! We stayed in Field 2, our plot was fantastic. Field 2 is the smallest field and the plots are quiet close together, but good size for keeping an eye on the kids and it also backs right onto the forest, which is great for wood collecting for the fire! Everyone we came across on the site were very friendly and happy to be there. We felt safe and we felt the kids were safe, which is very high on our priority list. Night times were very peaceful, despite being told to expect all night parties from reviews. We did do Tues-Thurs though, so maybe quiet through the week. Toilets were very clean, as we're washing up facilities. We absolutely intend on visiting again next season and would recommend Debden House! We've never done camping before and was expecting a tough time, but got to say it's been a brilliant break and I'm so so glad we ignored the poor reviews!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Iand 1 review from this member

A brilliant campsite run by the London Borough of Newham, so very like a French camping municipal in terms of customer service and facilities. Absolutely massive but strictly controlled numbered pitches means no overcrowding. The field numbers can be used as a party rating; field one and two are nice and quiet, up to field seven (about a quarter of a mile away) which is often party central.

Fires allowed everywhere except field one.

Main toilet block is great, the outlying one leaves a bit to be desired. If you visit the city, the number 20 bus, 12min walk away, takes you to Walthamstow so you only need to pay for zone 3-1 travel and you've got the market as well as super cheap cafes, on the way there and back.

Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Essex   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2472 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.1016