Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Roydon Mill Marina Holiday Lodges

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Harlow > Roydon Mill Marina Holiday Lodges Reviews

Roydon Mill Marina Holiday Lodges
Roydon
Harlow
Essex   (Browse area)
CM19 5EJ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Lodges Only
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Be the first to leave a review

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 This location no longer offers any touring facilities for camping or caravanning. Please do not contact them if you require a touring pitch. They now only provide holiday lodges for sale or rent.  


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Jatlegend 1 review from this member

 I stayed in one of the new Luxury Lodges at Roydon Mill Estate, I have to admit that I was unsure about renting one as the last time I visited the campsite 2 years ago it was a bit over powering, lots of noise, the lake was used for jet skiing and loud water sports. But I was pleasantly surprised with the transformation of the whole park, the bar was very tastefully refurbished and no more loud water sports, we spent a fantastic relaxing 3 days at Roydon Mill and I have to say we will be coming back in 2009 to see them all again. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Watcher 1 review from this member

 The site is still being developed with log cabins. Only 7 privately owned static caravans left on site. Touring caravan area now closed, as will camping area be, within the year. Bar and restaurant refurbished, with increased prices. No children's facilities, shop, cafe or water sports on lake at time of writing 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fern_finch 9 reviews from this member

 To get the real benefit of this site you have to look at the whole picture.  I do agree with the previous comments about safety and the river access - furthermore the Stanstead Express trains run next to the site at all hours.  And there is some noise coming from the main club house / disco.
 
But that said, the site is right on a picturesque canal, and boasts it's own lake, that has a bar with terrace.  The site is a 45 minute drive from Canary Wharf, and has all the amenities that we would now expect from a campsite.
 
It's proximity to London and Essex, means that it can be rather busy - especially during the summer weekends.
 
There is a station with a direct conection to central London just outside the main gate, and Roydon itself has plenty of pubs serviing food.  On site the restuarant has a take away, so we took advantage of the Friday night fish and chips takeaway.
 
If you're looking for a local family break where your children can let off steam, and you like a pint then this is for you.  If you're looking for something a bit quieter, perhaps you should look elsewhere. 


Date of Visit: November 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barry J 1 review from this member

 This is a local site for me. They had problems with travellers a few years back when they accepted day visitors to the artificial beach on the lake. The security has been very tight ever since, which probably explains some of the earlier comments by previous reviewers.
They do not accept day visitors anymore. There are some very nice pubs in Roydon and some good towpath walks upriver. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dvjk 2 reviews from this member

 This was a nice clean and comfortable campsite, except for the showers and the outdoor washing up bay.  There are a lot of trees around the site which is good for shade on hotter days.
 
The trains going by during the night was also a bit irritating as we were camped close to the line (not an option if you want an electric pitch). 
 
The site is surrounded by a lovely canal, stream and weir but bear in mind that this isn't blocked off for very young children.  The children's play area (near the lake) hasn't been well maintained.
 
There isn't a site food shop but the post office/store in Roydon is well stocked (too far to walk though really).  
 
Our biggest criticism with the site was that they close the gate at 5:30pm.  This forces you get the barman out of the bar to open the gate (if you're car is over 4'11" tall - the height of the gate).  When he's busy this can cause a bit of friction. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rare 1 review from this member

 Had a great time. The trains are not even an issue. It will be excellent for fishing when the fishing season starts again. Staff really friendly and helpful. Food lovely and plenty of it for a great price, entertainment great also for a good price. Def going back. Showers are very clean. Toilets are very clean. Plenty of toilet paper, although no soap in the toilets just to wash your hands. There was always plenty of staff checking that you were meant to be there, for example checking the tickets attached to our tents. Did not think it was too expensive to stay. Good selection of drinks in the clubhouse. All in all a very good stay 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: June Day 12 reviews from this member

 We only stayed one night en route to Norfolk. Very friendly people but a weired site. The camping field looked lovely, albeit very close to the trains which would not have bothered me but if you are sensitive to train noise be warned there are loads! We were on a caravan pitch, but with what appeared to be mainly residential caravaners! Then at about 5 oclock vans started to pull up and out got workers (could be from the M25 roadworks) who were obviously living there too! Not a problem but unexpected. OK for a one night stop over but would not stay longer.

It should also be noted that the Water Ski Centre was shut in Mid 2004. This is not shown on their website or in the 2005 AA Guide book. Although you can still go to the lake it is somewhat delapidated. 


Date of Visit: September 2004
Reviewer: Brotherbung 12 reviews from this member

 We had a really enjoyable week-end at this site. It is very professionally run, with friendly and helpful staff. Security is second to none. Their Club is impressive, the acts are entertaining and their prices are again reasonable, meals are good as well.We will definitely be going back.There are walks to enjoy along the river, fishing on the lake ,although they have stopped the boating etc. on the lake unless you supply your own equipment (Insurance reasons).The only drawback to the site is the closeness of the railway line, but you soon get used to it,at least we did. 


Reviewer: NickLC 1 review from this member

 April 2004
Expensive pitch. Cheap food in clubhouse and plenty of it. The Saturday night entertainment was very noisy - even half way across the camping field! But the noise from the trains drowned out the other noises!
Staff were helpful and the camping field wasn't busy so we had plenty of space. Our toddler played in a big fibreglass boot which they have (next to the canal/weir?!!!) the other kids playground equipment was right over the other side of the site next to the lake. It was ok, but not the safest, bits of steps on the slides falling off etc. I was a lot more nervous about my son playing on it all than I normally am.
Wouldn't go back, personally, if we had a caravan it might be a different story as you'd be more insulated from the noise, and maybe with older kids.  


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Roydon Mill Marina Holiday Lodges child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Roydon Mill Marina Holiday Lodges?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Roydon Mill Marina Holiday Lodges dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harlow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


382 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement