Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Trevella Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Trevella Park
Crantock
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 5EW
Tel: 01637 830 308
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 190
Open: 22/03 To 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
                8/10 from 38 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: J + J 16 reviews from this member

Been coming here for many years either early or late in the season with a family tent this was our second time on a pitch with EHU point. This pitch was the muddiest pitch I have camped on, admittedly I asked for that pitch due to location when pitches across the road were lovely and green with grass-I could have moved as there was plenty of room. It would have been nice to be advised before hand.

The site was family owned and run years ago but not any longer they seem to be moving into the static caravan realm at the expense of campers (caravans, tents, and campervans). During our stay there was building plant moving around the site which adds to the building site feel due to the expansion.

The camp shop was on the run down to end of season which was a shame as there were still plenty of people staying, it did seem expensive but Morrisons is just down the road, and Sainsburys in Newquay. Reception staff was helpful but overall there seems a lack of staff which seems to add to the feeling of neglect.

The only facilityís block which was open to campers was OK and clean, however it is looking dated by todayís standards, the gents shower cubicals are small with push button taps, plugs missing on the sinks. Part of the ceiling had been replaced with a temporary sheet of plaster board. There is an automatic facility to empty out your camper van toilet at £2 a go. There is an arcade area with game machines, laundrette at £5 a load and £2. 50 per dryer load.

The pool was closed even though a few people would have liked it open-no opening or closing dates provided. There is a pool in Newquey.

Price seems ok for camping but £3 for a dog! With no dedicated walking area, only poo bins and bags provided.

The fishing lakes were the largest disappointment! In all the years Iíve been coming, never have I seen rats until now which would have been trapped/killed by the warden-bailiff. Again maybe lack of staff. Travella Lake was in need of some serious work to replace most of the fishing platforms which were showing signs of rotting, overgrown with reeds to the point of being unfishable, in fact reeds seem to be overgrowing large parts of the island and some of the margins. Not once did a member of staff come round to check or advise! Springfield Lake had a strong smell of sewage from somewhere!

Location is ideal for the tourist attractions like: - Eden project, National trust gardens, Padstow and lots of others.

Can recommend Rick Stines at Fistral beach. It may be slightly expensive at £25 for 1 x fish and chips, 1 x curry + rice, 2 x soft drinks and desert.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Callie968 57 reviews from this member

This site has been a family favourite of ours for years but since its changed hands has become neglected in some areas, also due to ongoing expansion some areas are unfinished and messy.

Pitches large but overgrown and neglected fresh gravel needs to be put down. Site covered by a sea of windbreaks as no privacy between pitches.

Request for pitch numbers doesn't work there were some disappointed travellers.

No doo poo bins, no ambient site lighting and nothing for teenagers to do after 9pm when park shuts so they hang around the laundry room as its undercover.

No hand gel at Chemical disposal point which was also blocked and filthy.

Bins overflowing and being visited by flies wasps and foxes in the night bins also giving an unsavoury smell.

Toilets covered in toilet paper, scum, discarded nappies and ingrained dirt more staff needed with some strong deep cleansing.

Biggest disappointment the neglect of the fishing lakes, these used to be fantastic however they are overgrown with brambles hedges and weeds, no checks made therefore fish being dropped, hooks removed incorrectly and wrong baits being used resulting in poor quality fish this isnt the parks fault but if they had a baliff at busy times to educate people this could be avoided. Impossible to walk around the large lake due to pathways being unpassable in some areas.

Its a beautiful area however this site needs more staff and more attention to high traffic areas like the toilets/showers/bins and lakes.

Very disappointed

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alan29 12 reviews from this member

Positives.

Its in an excellent location for the main Cornish attractions. There's a big Morrisons a couple of miles away. The staff in reception are pleasant and helpful. There are beaches and pubs close by. Towing access is good.

Negatives.

They are in the middle of a big expansion for more mobile homes, so the bottom of the site is a massive building site. That is obviously the priority at the moment.

Grass had been cut but not collected so there were brown clumps everywhere.

Rubbish bin from our area hadn't been emptied before we arrived and still hadn't been emptied two weeks later half way through a bank holiday week end! Over full and stinking.

The embankment behind our caravan was a mass of weeds and nettles, even though all the roadside verges in Cornwall were a mass of colour from wild flowers.

Hand wash soap dispenser at the chemical disposal was empty at the start and all through - not good. Broken soap dispenser in the ladies shower block all through the fortnight. No shaver points in the shower blocks - never seen that before.

Never saw people going round the site checking facilities/rubbish, even though they had been told about the rubbish etc.

The touring areas would be greatly improved with some cared-for bushes or big tubs of plants. They are a bit bleak.

Free wifi is advertised on the website, but its pretty unusable.

Didn't use the cafe. Pool was closed.

Overall impression was of neglect through employing far too few staff in the run up to a busy period.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lorraine_w 4 reviews from this member

We have just come back from a 4 nights stay.

This is a lovely camp sit, very well looked after. Once people leave the camp site, they come around and cut the grass. Nothing worse than coming out of your tent in the morning with long wet grass!

The toilets block and other facilities are great. It seems they have made a lot of changes to the park over the last year - many people come back year after year. The washing macines have been updated and have been told they are 100% better and you can use your own washing tablets etc.

They have family showers which are great, they are very large rooms and allow families to get showered and dressed togther -especially great if the kids hate showers, you have the room to keep them under the shower.

we were close to the children's play area and they do lock it at 9pm so you don't have any older children hanging around talking late at night

The park pool is lovely, no life guard.

Yes it is a bit sloping but hey, it makes it more fun fallen off your blow up bed during the night.

Staff very helpful, shop is good but a bit expensive. The restaurant does a lovely english breakfast.

We fell in love with the site and we have booked for 2 weeks next August.

About 5 mins drive from New Quay and clsoe to a very nice beach BUT it does get busy and some car parks are full up by 9am! other car parks availble but it is a bit of a walk.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Callie968 57 reviews from this member

Gone downhill havent booked for next year as very disappointed.

Park now dominated by statics leaving a small cramped camping/touring area.

Swimming pool too small in peak times and very shallow deepest end is waist height on a 10 year old quite cloudy and dirty

Shop understocked melted chocolate bars and very overpriced

Restaurant opened for silly hours 8 - 11 am and 5 - 7 pm except tuesday which is chefs day off ?? it could be a gold mine

Check in chaotic, pitches mown before you pitch therefore loads of wet grass sticking to everything

Facilities didn't fare well at high season

Fishing ok well looked after

£5 for a 37 min wash load is extortionate

Lost its sparkle facilities need upgrading and expanding wont be using again far too much choice in and around Newquay of better fairer priced sites

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jane79 6 reviews from this member

We picked this site, as I used to go here as a child in the statics, some 20+ years ago. I have good memories of the site and the area. This time returning in a tent, as a couple in our 30s.

It's well kept, staff are friendly. There are 2 toilet blocks, the newer building is further down the site with bigger cubicles, and family rooms bigger than our bathroom at home! We used the older, closer building as the showers were more powerful.

The site and therefore the pitches slope, but this didn't bother us. They tended to pitch everyone at the top, I presume as these are the flatter pitches, but it would have been nice to be a bit more spaced out. A few people asked to move further down field, which was fine with the owners.

We didn't use the pool, but it was well used during our stay. All the kids parks are near the statics so the tent pitches were fairly quiet.

Location to Newquay is good, and it is possible to walk to Crantock beach. Crantock beach has a national trust car park (free for members) £4, neighbouring car park £2.

There is a Morrisons & Lidl fairly nearby but the site shop stocked quite a bit too. Newquay has Tesco, Asda, Aldi & Sainsburys.

We would definitely return to this site, especially in a few years hopefully with a young family.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: J9withdogs 6 reviews from this member

We booked for three nights but left after just two.

The touring site slopes in two directions which made levelling almost impossible. Luckily there were plenty of empty pitches so a friendly receptionist allowed us to move to the top of the field. There is no landscaping - just long rows of pegs marking the pitches.

We were looking forward to being able to do the advertised walk across country to the beach but that would have involved going through the field adjoining the site with bulls in it, so we didn't risk it.

The beach car park has a 6ft height barrier on it so no driving to the beach in our campervan either.

We were charged £8.55 for the dog but no dog walk is provided. We walked him round a storage field but this was not shown on the site map as a designated facility. What was the charge for??

The shower/toilet facilities were basic and dated. The gent's showers had frosted windows which looked-out onto the washing-up sinks. Weird!

The Safari Tents looked like something out of a prison camp and one of the luxury glamping tents blew down while we were there.

My opinion is that the site is more interested in selling static caravans than looking after the touring customers.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Callie968 57 reviews from this member

2nd visit and booked for next year so that's says it all really

Positives

Great semi rural location easy access to Newquay and surrounding areas

Premium pitches great, flat and well tended and fully serviced

Toilets and showers 2 block central locations well sticked and tended, Family showers excellent

Crazy golf 30p, 2 parks, warm outdoor heated pool

Good security, night wardens patrol park to prevent noise

Tidy site filled with beautiful flowers very safe for children

Great coarse fishing lakes

Negatives

Shop bare, opens until 11am and then again at 5pm ???? considering location they could have a more varied choice, restock quicker and extend opening hours

Games room and tv room need updating and could provide a great base for teenagers /older children

Pool small and very shallow can get over subscribed

With add ons ie dogs electric etc works out at nearly £50 a night peak season

Tent grass pitches cramped and on top of each other sloping

Need more bins

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Callie968 57 reviews from this member

Excellent! Premium pitches excellent great size with elec hook up, Fab adventure play park for children locked at 9pm so no screeches late at night. Good shower blocks dated but clean a few queues early morning but faired well for peak season. Great for children so good we have booked again for next year teenager loved it and its a great location for exploring the area there's a few tweaks I think that could help as stated below but overall for a family holiday its a 10/10 excellent pool and surrounding landscaped gardens

Very dark around the site at night virtually no lights at all a few discreet courtesy road lights wouldn't go a miss.

Shop could be better stocked very bare shelves and it could be a gold mine

An updated TV room would be good its very gloomy and bare in there a teenage chill out room would be a great investment

Bigger games room please !

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jdcb1969 3 reviews from this member

Just back from a 7 night stay at Trevella.

The site was very busy with a lot of tents on the Main Field. When we arrived it had been raining very heavy and there was a lot of Mud on the sides of the Road etc.

Staff where excellent and very helpful

The Shower & Toilet blocks where good overall. The water pressure wasn't very good. And they sometime run cold, but not to bad. Due to the site being so busy, the showers and toilets did get a bit dirty. But they did there best as it did Rain a couple of days - Rain & Grass = Mud !

The Pool was OK. Kids used it once. Very busy.

The crazy golf is a bargain at 30p.

We didn't eat on site but the Cafe did look very nice.

The TV room could do with an update.

Crantock beach was fantastic. Only a 2 min trip by Car. - Be warned - if the Sun is shining the Car parks will be full by lunch time.

Overall - it was a good site and we would return. Maybe at a less busy time of year.

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2638 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019