Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trevella Holiday Park (PHolsUK)

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Trevella Holiday Park (PHolsUK) > Reviews

Trevella Holiday Park (PHolsUK)
Crantock
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 5EW
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 190
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: J + J 22 reviews from this member

 The main camping field has got smaller by the fact that the only flat pitches have now been taken by static caravans as part of the sales pitch that is everywhere at the site-buy your holiday home adds everywhere!

The small takeaway has been replaced by the static sales room. Some of the non-electric pitches have been converted to static vans. Lots of camping pods line the other road side perimeter. Some comments in the bar were “are you in the members club” leading to a unwelcome feeling

The main facility's block for campers has been refurbished still small cubical s with push button taps- water could be hotter!

Need more recycle bins around site not just the ones tucked away behind reception block as most rubbish is just dumped in the bins provided with no attempt at recycle.

Pool was not open during the hottest week in May so far. Shop has improved with more stock and fresh bakery and coffee. Now a very small bar opens at about 4-9 PM. A mobile fish and chip van come occasionally also sells pizza’s cash only.

Nothing much has changed since my last review, the fishing has deteriorated even more in that Springfield Lake was closed, from what could be seen some fishing platforms had rotted to the point of collapsing into the water. Trevella Lake not much better, some pegs unfishable due to overgrown trees/bushes.

Both pubs in Crantock serve food, even a small pizza restaurant (Jam Jar) very good.

Parking in Newquay is expensive everywhere unless arrive early and find a free bay. 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Suecr 1 review from this member

 Just arrived today as have booked a Premium touring pitch. Dearer than a standard. Don’t bother.

The difference is only the water hook up. The pitch is small even though it’s described as a “super pitch”Our premium facilities include a footpath through to a dog walk field that so far about twenty people plus two groups have passed through literally 6 inches from our caravan.

We cannot move the van any further back because the van only just fits on the bit of hard standing. The view just feet from the front window is a pleasure as we get to watch the world and his wife empty their toilets right next to our van ( about 6 foot) whilst staring in through the windows while their poo is emptying out.

Also got the pleasure of the waste water unit and the drinking water for everyone to use also right next to us. Grand central station. What a lovely spot pitch 77 is (NOT).

View in every other direction is statics, pods, tents you name it, it’s here. Really don’t waste your hard earned cash on this one folks.

Lovely girls in reception which is why I’ve given a higher score for customer services. Not because Hoseasons have anything to shout about 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: J + J 22 reviews from this member

 Nothing much has changed since my last review, the fishing has improved slightly in that the reeds have been trimmed and platforms repaired but some are in need of backfilling so as not to be a slip/trip hazard.

The main facility's block for campers has been refurbished still small cubical s with push button taps- water could be hotter!

Need more recycle bins around site not just the ones tucked away behind reception block as most rubbish is just dumped in the bins provided with no attempt at recycle.

Pool was open and warm. Shop has improved with more stock and fresh bakery and coffee. There is now a very small bar which opens at about 4-9 PM but cash only.

Parking in Newquay is expensive everywhere unless arrive early and find a free bay. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Apairofoldcampers 6 reviews from this member

 Wish I had read the reviews before booking.

We Only came to this site to join up with our Daughters family. They had stayed here previous which they enjoyed and wanted to try a safari lodge.

We were on a Premium plus pitch and although the decent size expected, it obviously had not been mowed for at least 3/4 weeks!

They ask you to leave by 10am and not arrive till after 3pm, that gives them 5 HOURS to get a pitch ready, really what else do they have to do except cut the grass!

We were placed on the 2nd row pitch 74 amongst seasonal pitches only! Very disconcerting watching people leave for work/school each morning and return each night. Felt very uncomfortable.

While the lower premium plus pitches were nearly empty and cut twice during our week stay!

The toilet/shower block looked clean and acceptable on 1st glance.

However the operation of them is questionable.

No toilet brushes available so I pity the poor cleaners.

The showers must be the quickest 10 second push button we have ever come across. (remember your ribbon/ ties folks) there were several cable ties around some showers but they had stretched.

The worst was the lighting in the block. It worked on a sensor as you entered only! so if no one else came in while you were meditating or showering you were in the dark!

No wardens were 'ever' seen on site, there is no security barrier at the entrance, the touring site has a separate entrance before the reception entrance and we witnessed several cars cruising, unquestioned to view the site. For such a very large camping site we felt there should have been a security barrier at least.

It felt like anyone could just turn on to the 1st field pitch up and never get questioned.

Overall the static site looks well laid out, just a shame they don't care about the tourers/campers pitches.

Our grandchildren said the pool was cold

Our daughter received a welcome pack along with her keys and map. We just received the MAP!. No welcome pack.

The walk to the beach is nice but not for any one with walking difficulties, it comes out by the Gannel part of the beach. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: J + J 22 reviews from this member

 Been coming here for many years either early or late in the season with a family tent this was our second time on a pitch with EHU point. This pitch was the muddiest pitch I have camped on, admittedly I asked for that pitch due to location when pitches across the road were lovely and green with grass-I could have moved as there was plenty of room. It would have been nice to be advised before hand.

The site was family owned and run years ago but not any longer they seem to be moving into the static caravan realm at the expense of campers (caravans, tents, and campervans). During our stay there was building plant moving around the site which adds to the building site feel due to the expansion.

The camp shop was on the run down to end of season which was a shame as there were still plenty of people staying, it did seem expensive but Morrisons is just down the road, and Sainsburys in Newquay. Reception staff was helpful but overall there seems a lack of staff which seems to add to the feeling of neglect.

The only facility’s block which was open to campers was OK and clean, however it is looking dated by today’s standards, the gents shower cubicals are small with push button taps, plugs missing on the sinks. Part of the ceiling had been replaced with a temporary sheet of plaster board. There is an automatic facility to empty out your camper van toilet at £2 a go. There is an arcade area with game machines, laundrette at £5 a load and £2. 50 per dryer load.

The pool was closed even though a few people would have liked it open-no opening or closing dates provided. There is a pool in Newquey.

Price seems ok for camping but £3 for a dog! With no dedicated walking area, only poo bins and bags provided.

The fishing lakes were the largest disappointment! In all the years I’ve been coming, never have I seen rats until now which would have been trapped/killed by the warden-bailiff. Again maybe lack of staff. Travella Lake was in need of some serious work to replace most of the fishing platforms which were showing signs of rotting, overgrown with reeds to the point of being unfishable, in fact reeds seem to be overgrowing large parts of the island and some of the margins. Not once did a member of staff come round to check or advise! Springfield Lake had a strong smell of sewage from somewhere!

Location is ideal for the tourist attractions like: - Eden project, National trust gardens, Padstow and lots of others.

Can recommend Rick Stines at Fistral beach. It may be slightly expensive at £25 for 1 x fish and chips, 1 x curry + rice, 2 x soft drinks and desert. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Callie968 56 reviews from this member

 This site has been a family favourite of ours for years but since its changed hands has become neglected in some areas, also due to ongoing expansion some areas are unfinished and messy.

Pitches large but overgrown and neglected fresh gravel needs to be put down. Site covered by a sea of windbreaks as no privacy between pitches.

Request for pitch numbers doesn't work there were some disappointed travellers.

No doo poo bins, no ambient site lighting and nothing for teenagers to do after 9pm when park shuts so they hang around the laundry room as its undercover.

No hand gel at Chemical disposal point which was also blocked and filthy.

Bins overflowing and being visited by flies wasps and foxes in the night bins also giving an unsavoury smell.

Toilets covered in toilet paper, scum, discarded nappies and ingrained dirt more staff needed with some strong deep cleansing.

Biggest disappointment the neglect of the fishing lakes, these used to be fantastic however they are overgrown with brambles hedges and weeds, no checks made therefore fish being dropped, hooks removed incorrectly and wrong baits being used resulting in poor quality fish this isnt the parks fault but if they had a baliff at busy times to educate people this could be avoided. Impossible to walk around the large lake due to pathways being unpassable in some areas.

Its a beautiful area however this site needs more staff and more attention to high traffic areas like the toilets/showers/bins and lakes.

Very disappointed 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan29 12 reviews from this member

 Positives.

Its in an excellent location for the main Cornish attractions. There's a big Morrisons a couple of miles away. The staff in reception are pleasant and helpful. There are beaches and pubs close by. Towing access is good.

Negatives.

They are in the middle of a big expansion for more mobile homes, so the bottom of the site is a massive building site. That is obviously the priority at the moment.

Grass had been cut but not collected so there were brown clumps everywhere.

Rubbish bin from our area hadn't been emptied before we arrived and still hadn't been emptied two weeks later half way through a bank holiday week end! Over full and stinking.

The embankment behind our caravan was a mass of weeds and nettles, even though all the roadside verges in Cornwall were a mass of colour from wild flowers.

Hand wash soap dispenser at the chemical disposal was empty at the start and all through - not good. Broken soap dispenser in the ladies shower block all through the fortnight. No shaver points in the shower blocks - never seen that before.

Never saw people going round the site checking facilities/rubbish, even though they had been told about the rubbish etc.

The touring areas would be greatly improved with some cared-for bushes or big tubs of plants. They are a bit bleak.

Free wifi is advertised on the website, but its pretty unusable.

Didn't use the cafe. Pool was closed.

Overall impression was of neglect through employing far too few staff in the run up to a busy period. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lorraine_w 4 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a 4 nights stay.

This is a lovely camp sit, very well looked after. Once people leave the camp site, they come around and cut the grass. Nothing worse than coming out of your tent in the morning with long wet grass!

The toilets block and other facilities are great. It seems they have made a lot of changes to the park over the last year - many people come back year after year. The washing macines have been updated and have been told they are 100% better and you can use your own washing tablets etc.

They have family showers which are great, they are very large rooms and allow families to get showered and dressed togther -especially great if the kids hate showers, you have the room to keep them under the shower.

we were close to the children's play area and they do lock it at 9pm so you don't have any older children hanging around talking late at night

The park pool is lovely, no life guard.

Yes it is a bit sloping but hey, it makes it more fun fallen off your blow up bed during the night.

Staff very helpful, shop is good but a bit expensive. The restaurant does a lovely english breakfast.

We fell in love with the site and we have booked for 2 weeks next August.

About 5 mins drive from New Quay and clsoe to a very nice beach BUT it does get busy and some car parks are full up by 9am! other car parks availble but it is a bit of a walk. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Callie968 56 reviews from this member

 Gone downhill havent booked for next year as very disappointed.

Park now dominated by statics leaving a small cramped camping/touring area.

Swimming pool too small in peak times and very shallow deepest end is waist height on a 10 year old quite cloudy and dirty

Shop understocked melted chocolate bars and very overpriced

Restaurant opened for silly hours 8 - 11 am and 5 - 7 pm except tuesday which is chefs day off ?? it could be a gold mine

Check in chaotic, pitches mown before you pitch therefore loads of wet grass sticking to everything

Facilities didn't fare well at high season

Fishing ok well looked after

£5 for a 37 min wash load is extortionate

Lost its sparkle facilities need upgrading and expanding wont be using again far too much choice in and around Newquay of better fairer priced sites 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jane79 6 reviews from this member

 We picked this site, as I used to go here as a child in the statics, some 20+ years ago. I have good memories of the site and the area. This time returning in a tent, as a couple in our 30s.

It's well kept, staff are friendly. There are 2 toilet blocks, the newer building is further down the site with bigger cubicles, and family rooms bigger than our bathroom at home! We used the older, closer building as the showers were more powerful.

The site and therefore the pitches slope, but this didn't bother us. They tended to pitch everyone at the top, I presume as these are the flatter pitches, but it would have been nice to be a bit more spaced out. A few people asked to move further down field, which was fine with the owners.

We didn't use the pool, but it was well used during our stay. All the kids parks are near the statics so the tent pitches were fairly quiet.

Location to Newquay is good, and it is possible to walk to Crantock beach. Crantock beach has a national trust car park (free for members) £4, neighbouring car park £2.

There is a Morrisons & Lidl fairly nearby but the site shop stocked quite a bit too. Newquay has Tesco, Asda, Aldi & Sainsburys.

We would definitely return to this site, especially in a few years hopefully with a young family. 


Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Trevella Holiday Park (PHolsUK) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Trevella Holiday Park (PHolsUK) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trevella Holiday Park (PHolsUK)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Trevella Holiday Park (PHolsUK) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Sussex 18/05 to 19/05

Endless activities for you and your dog to enjoy plus weekend camping - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2336 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement