Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Low Wray Campsite National Trust

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Low Wray Campsite National Trust Reviews

Low Wray Campsite National Trust
Low Wray
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 0JA
Tel: 015394 32733
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 17/05/2021 to 31/10/2021
           24/03/2022 to 30/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 111 Reviews
                8/10 from 111 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ewhite 1 review from this member

 Beautiful quiet campsite in stunning location.

Pitched up by a little stream which our 3 year old loved.

Shower and toilet facilities were clean and modern.

Would definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Denoto 1 review from this member

 Okay, where do I start. Firstly this is by far the best campsite that I have ever had the pleasure of staying at, it literally caters for everyone tastes, whether it's a family break, solo trips, couples wanting a romantic getaway or groups of friends, Low Wray offers it all.

This isn't just one of those boring campsites where you pitch your tent in a field with nothing to do and nothing to see other than a toilet block, this campsite as it all. It is like one of those that you see in the American movies or summer camps, it is surrounded by an abundance of wildlife, gorgeous scenery, fantastic views from all over the camp, amazing walks around the lake, and offers something for everyone, and suits all weather conditions, and would be ideal in all seasons - It really is a camper's paradise! And if Marks and Spencers made campsites, "this wouldn't be any old campsite, this would be an M&S campsite". - This seriously is probably the best campsite in all of England, if not the United Kingdom, and is going to be hard to beat next time round.

The location is truly out of this world, the views are amazing, I searched for a campsite like this for years, and thankfully I've found it now. The entire camp is surrounded by plenty of walks for all ages and cycling tracks for those that feel a little more adventurous, lots to explore, and it offers a wide choice of pitches, you can either decide to choose a lakeside pitch, Maddow pitch or even the woodland pitch - or if you prefer to feel as though you're actually wild-camping. Then I highly recommend the woodland or lakeside pitches, and yet you'll still be close by to other campers, showers and toilets. - without feeling as though you are cramped together or completely isolated for civilisation.

We originally wanted a lakeside pitch [ but sadly all taken] but I personally found this area a little crowded and not that private compared to some of the other pitches on-site. Even though it is very beautiful it was rather busy for my liking and very shaded. All the pitches throughout the camp are great, so you won't really go wrong when booking wherever you are placed. However, try and get one close to the lake or more towards the top of the lake. But was totally happy with our pitch 203. However, 210 was also amazing. [Best of everything and amazing views]

The site is huge, and even though it were very busy it also felt like we were the only ones there in some cases. The meadow pitches and lakeside side pitches feel a little more sociable, and often these are used with families with small children. The entire camp felt totally safe and relaxed throughout. - We left quite a few things outside our tent in the evening, and they were all there the following morning [chairs, tables and fire pit]

The staff are extremely friendly and leave you to it once you have checked in, but they're always happy to help if you ever need them.

The shower blocks are extremely clean and these were also cleaned regularly, they were also set back, and they blended in nicely.

You'll also find in the same area. Recycle units, rubbish area, washing up area, [bring your own dishcloths and washing up liquid] and washers and dryers that are coined based in case you need to dry or wash any muddy/wet clothing.

The showers are push in and roughly last for 4 minutes, then simply push again to continue using, inside the shower room there is plenty of room to also change inside, but there are no mirrors to shave, this needs to be done at the sinks outside the showers. - Tip: Bring your own mini shaving mirror, just saves time. There was never any queues while we were there, and these stayed open 24 hours.

The water was always hot, but not too hot where you couldn't step into them, in case you have small children, it is perfectly fine. - However, there is a step into the shower block itself for anyone with disabilities, this may present a problem, especially for wheelchair uses. But it might be wise calling and asking, which I'm sure they'll have one to cater for those that need easy access.

But keep in mind that the entire site isn't flat, and it's all-natural so there are lots of slopes especially in the woodland pitches, for those that what wheelchair access, it might be best to choose a meadow pitch, as this area is relatively flat compared to the rest of the camp.

The entire site is perfectly laid out, and it becomes very obvious that a lot of thought gone into the layout of this camp, to make it blend perfectly with its natural surroundings. The campsite is set back away from anything, therefore the next nearest town would be Ambulside or Hankhead if you do not have a car for getting around this may be a problem. [Thankfully my mate did]

Ambleside is 5 miles drive and Hankhead 2 miles. - Both are beautiful, but I personally preferred Hankshead, as this wasn't too touristy but still very traditional. With a few great pubs, that served great food and proper ale, and very cute. - And had that the unique pub smell that you only find in the lakes or country pubs.

The campsite would be great if also offered a minibus service to local towns, for anyone who is travelling solo and does not have a car, it does offer mountain bike rental [£25 per day] - so it might be wise and work out cheaper actually buying one or bringing your own before going. Also, there is boat hire for the lake which I also highly recommend, but I also noticed that lots of guests brought their canoes and dinghies.

This is an amazing campsite, and it's the first time I have been back to lakes since I was a child, however, I do not drive. If I was on my own, bikes are great however to see all that the lakes as to offer would be difficult using a bike and very tiring. - If the site also offered an excursion centre to see all the beauty that the lakes as to offer this would be amazing or even a minibus service that picked and dropped you off at local towns, so that you could have a drink in the evening at the local pubs and bars, without having to worry about driving or biking back.

There is a ferry service that goes from the camp, which takes you to Ambleside and Windermere, but sadly this wasn't in service when we arrived due to covid.

In the evenings, you'll find families and couples sitting by the lake chilling with campfires, extremely peaceful and very nice, we also saw quite a few night-swimming in the lake, there are loads of private areas around the lake if you want something a little more romantic or private ;). - If not, there are many beaches where families got together and chilled for the evening.

The beaches around the lake are pebbled, however some or better than others. And the rocks can be quite sharp and make it very difficult getting in and out of the water, so bring some flip-flops or water shoes. The water is very shallow maybe 1-2 feet for a good 10 metres in certain areas. Throughout the day you'll see people swimming, and boating. And shockingly the water was warm, but this is July. - The water appears to be safe, but like anything make sure you are watching your kids, we often saw children playing in the water with no adults around in case they slipped or banged their heads. And the area is also netted off so no speed boats can enter certain areas.

There are no lamps around the camp at night, so it does get very dark at nightfall - so make sure you have plenty of touches for getting around, I also like the fact that it didn't, it gives it a much more natural feel throughout the camp.

Campfires are allowed as long as they are raised off the ground and they do not damage the grass and the surrounding area, we purchased a portable raised net fire-pit from amazon for £20. And it was easy to roll up, place in a bag, and carry to the lake at night.

Guest that do not fancy camping, then there are also tree houses, pods, and safari tents randomly scattered around the site, which all looked amazing and blended in perfectly. - There is room for camper vans, but these areas or pitches looked rather basic compared to the rest of the camp pitches, and are set back away from the main camp area towards the lake. But still surrounded by meadow views and are based alongside the road leading out of the camp or onto the camp.

There is also mini-adventure playgrounds scattered throughout the camp for children to play on. And all the pitches are well placed, giving each camper their own individual space to camp without being cramped together. Cars need to park in the car parks provided, and there is only one pitch with its own car parking space. Pitch 203.

This was our pitch for our stay, after reading the reviews and some blogs that other guests had written, I found this pitch to be perfect. At first, I was worried because one previous guest wrote that the ground was uneven and very rocky. However, I invested in some decent steel storm pegs before going, and these worked a treat. The pegs that came with our rent all bent and I'm thankful that I purchased these before going.

So I highly recommend getting some heavy-duty pegs, I picked some up on amazon for £20 for eight. Went in perfect and stayed in place throughout our entire stay. - I think any basic pegs you get with any tent will be difficult to peg and will bend or break straight away.

The walk to the castle is great, and you'll also find a coffee and cake shop with plenty of outdoor seating, set in the perfect location. The walk down to the lake is amazing, and it's extremely beautiful. We only stayed for 4 nights, I now wished we had stayed a lot longer, as the weather turned out gorgeous.

We had pitch 203, it as its own car parking space. The pitch is large, there is a pod just next to it, but it's not in your way, and there is another pitch across the away, pitch 204 that's a little more flatter, but both are ideal if your are a large family and require two tents close to each other, but not on top of each other.

The area [pitch 203 ] is surrounded by trees, however, it isn't completely covered, so when the sun is out it becomes a sun trap and gets the sun all day. Just behind the pitch, there is a small children's play area, but even though children played on this regular it wasn't to the point where it became annoying and noisy, in fact, you wouldn't even realise they were there.

All the pitches are covered in wood chip and after reading some reviews that the area was very muddy, we found it perfect even after two nights of heavy rain. You can also vaguely see the lake through the trees if you face your tent North East. [Not a perfect view, but you can still see the lake "just"] Pitch 210 is right next to the lake with its own beach and there is also another pitch just across the way, and this is also a woodland pitch, not lakeside pitch. To me this was perfect.

And if I were to go again, I would ask again for either 203 or 210. The shower block is 1 minute away from the pitch, and it's out of sight and looks a little further on the map, but is perfectly positioned. The pitch is right next to the little bridge that takes to the pizza bar and main reception area, but again its all hidden away and everything perfectly blends in with all the natural surroundings so nothing is in your face, and you get that true wild camping feeling, and you can also launch your dinghies and canoes from this area next to the stream and row out onto the lake if you bring your own dinghies and canoes.

The shop does sell alcohol [ Bottles priced at £3. 75] and also offers coffee and croissants. I was expecting more from the shop, it's small, cute but very basic and didn't sell that much personally, all the team are super friendly, and they all appear to love their Jobs which very understandable. Just outside the shop, you'll find the pizza bar/hut which again blends in naturally to the surrounding area, but sadly this was closed throughout our stay, I believe it only opens at weekends.

I really didn't want to leave, could have quite happily stayed there for weeks, beats city life for sure and it certainly makes you question urban and city living.

The site also offers many decent bike routes around the camp, away from the narrow country roads, so it's safe for children and families wanting to explore the surrounding areas without having to worry about the sharp bends and narrow roads leading to the camp.

My only tip would be to bring some decent heavy duty pegs, everyone on the camp was super-friendly, totally relaxed atmosphere throughout, everyone was very respectful of each other, [but I guess that demands on who's there when you stay] and it was extremely chilled and surrounded with some of the best views that England has to offer [ Like truly amazing]

Its caters to all campers, [apart from carvans] and it has something for everyone who wants to get back to basics. - However, if you prefer sites with live entertainment, children discos, bars and takeaways - this isn't going to be for you.

I also found the campsite to be LGBTQ (gay) friendly, and I would highly give this site more than 5 stars if I could, and I highly recommend it to everyone!. It has tones of character, depth, and is unique to all the other sites I have visited over the years, it's a true gem, personally, I think that anyone who has ever visited here will struggle again to find anywhere quite like it again after.

Even though its totally great, and I can not fault it in any way. It would be cool to maybe see an excursion centre that offers a little more than a boat or bike rental, maybe an area where families can chill and have a drink in the evening, without having to leave the campsite, and like everything else on the site, make it blends in naturally to the surrounding areas, there is nothing on the site that is commercial, which is what I loved.

Another thing which would be great would be large purpose-built fire pits with seating areas where guests can get to know each other in the evenings and create more great memories, while the kids can get to know all other kids that are stopping, something as a kid I used to love. - And I also understand that some families or guests may want to be a little more sociable in the evening, rather than sitting outside their tents - The site itself, is very isolated if you not drive or feel uncomfortable using a bike for getting around.

And another great feature would be a zip line running through the camp, this would be a great feature for both children and adults alike, and maybe a swimming deck that went a little further into the lake, so that guests could dive and swim further out, while also giving easy access into the lake for those that struggle with standing or walking on the rocks. So that everyone can enjoy a true back to nature experience. - if everyone was butt naked you couldn't get more natural. :)

Overall 10 out of 10. Fantastic site! It's going to be hard to beat. Already recommended it to the rest of the family and their kids. - Would go back tomorrow if I could.

Top tip: Invest in some heavy-duty steel pegs, as the ground throughout the camp is solid. [not the camps fault] Enjoy and respect each other. And you'll have a perfect stay. - and go for Woodland pitches for that more of wild camping vibe [ Plus there more private] and the lakeside pitches are also great, but these pitches do tend to get crowded. All the pitches are well placed and the site is beautiful, so don't worry. But try and get one more towards the lake for the full-on experience. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lisale 1 review from this member

 Great campsite & great facilities!

Based on the meadow view field (which seemed better than the woodland ones - purely as we had uninterrupted sunshine!) toilet & shower facilities a stones throw away & they were kept pretty clean.

Definitely a little room for improvement on cleanliness in the bathrooms but still a reasonable standard.

Shame the boats weren’t running from Wray castle but not at all a campsite fault - just bear in mind you’ll need to drive to Ambleside/Bowness to board.

Lovely little shop stocking everything from milk to fire wood & very helpful & friendly staff! We will be visiting again! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tonyto 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite with really great facilities.

Cannot wait to go back.

Very well kept and had a lovely chilled break.

Will definitely use the site again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Johnkazer 2 reviews from this member

 Being a holiday in-between lock-downs we were just glad to be away! The site was well organised for the situation and we got on fine with the arrangements.

The kids had a great time, as the site is interesting with plenty of places to explore on-site as well as nearby.

Our pitch was reasonably close to the water and many guests had their own boat-type thing for launching directly from the shore - fantastic opportunity. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Fromdownunder 3 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fantastic place to stay with children, they are close to the water for swimming and they have canoe and bike hire.

I would highly recommend

It's far enough away from towns but close enough should you need to go shopping, although they do have a well-stocked small shop on site. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Gavin1 1 review from this member

 It was good though the limited shop hours were a nuisance.

Site a bit fragmented and directions a bit unclear.

Seemed to be plenty space in spite of restricted capacity 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Briang 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location, quite unique really with masses of space between the pitches spread out in the woods.

It was a pity we couldn't get electricity but we understand that fitting power cables in such a spread out site would not be feasible. Thus there is no lighting but that's no problem if you've got a head torch.

The drying room was great. Two complaints: the light in the dishwashing area needs fixed and there is no radiator in the mens toilet block while there is in the women's! (This is just in one toilet block, furthest away from Reception).

It would be a fabulous site for children with all the adventurous activities on offer. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Urabus 8 reviews from this member

 Beautiful setting amongst woodland and on the edge of Lake Windermere. Generous pitches with plenty of room between.

The car ban on the camping areas can make getting lots of gear to pitches away from the carparks challenging.

Toilets and showers are not the most modern and don't seem to be cleaned as regularly as on some sites, however they are by no means filthy.

Boat hire is quite expensive, we used the placenon the other side of Ambleside which was much more reasonable.

If you have your own craft it is a great place to launch from as it is on a seltered inlet. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 595 reviews from this member

 Excellent base for Ambleside and Lake Windermere.

Lots to do in the area and excellent hillwalking.

Good shops, pubs and places to eat in town.

Will use again 
via mobile


Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Low Wray Campsite National Trust child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Low Wray Campsite National Trust?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Low Wray Campsite National Trust dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3409 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement