Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Low Wray Campsite National Trust

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Low Wray Campsite National Trust Reviews

Low Wray Campsite National Trust
Low Wray
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 0JA
Tel: 015394 32733
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 04/07/2020 to 29/10/2020
           24/03/2021 to 29/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tonyto 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite with really great facilities.

Cannot wait to go back.

Very well kept and had a lovely chilled break.

Will definitely use the site again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Gavin1 1 review from this member

 It was good though the limited shop hours were a nuisance.

Site a bit fragmented and directions a bit unclear.

Seemed to be plenty space in spite of restricted capacity 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Briang 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location, quite unique really with masses of space between the pitches spread out in the woods.

It was a pity we couldn't get electricity but we understand that fitting power cables in such a spread out site would not be feasible. Thus there is no lighting but that's no problem if you've got a head torch.

The drying room was great. Two complaints: the light in the dishwashing area needs fixed and there is no radiator in the mens toilet block while there is in the women's! (This is just in one toilet block, furthest away from Reception).

It would be a fabulous site for children with all the adventurous activities on offer. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Urabus 8 reviews from this member

 Beautiful setting amongst woodland and on the edge of Lake Windermere. Generous pitches with plenty of room between.

The car ban on the camping areas can make getting lots of gear to pitches away from the carparks challenging.

Toilets and showers are not the most modern and don't seem to be cleaned as regularly as on some sites, however they are by no means filthy.

Boat hire is quite expensive, we used the placenon the other side of Ambleside which was much more reasonable.

If you have your own craft it is a great place to launch from as it is on a seltered inlet. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 566 reviews from this member

 Excellent base for Ambleside and Lake Windermere.

Lots to do in the area and excellent hillwalking.

Good shops, pubs and places to eat in town.

Will use again 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 Booked this for a Motorhome and found ourselves out in the wilds on the edge of the track onto the site, lovely views but it felt like a car park.

In the site it was splendid, loads of nice touches and details, good signs and lovely walks, even the shop was good staffed by happy people.

Showers were good but the shower block was freezing cold, for 30 a night in April we thought this was very poor.

Lovely location best suited for campers etc 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Philip Whitaker 6 reviews from this member

 Outstanding campsite in an outstanding location!

I've always avoided Windermere in summer--but that's because I've never been over to the west shore. It's wonderful and so much quieter than the east, with Lower Wray Campsite bang in the middle of one of the most beautiful parts.

The site offers a wide variety of pitches, some in the middle of an oak wood, some on Windermere's shore and others on open grass. It's actually quite a large site but the lay out, the hummocky ground and the tree cover mean that pitches are well spread out and private.

Facilities are good and staff are extremely helpful.

If you arrive on foot or bike (as I did), ignore the sign saying full--advance bookings only. Staff were more than willing and able to find me a pitch for the night. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NdBuk 2 reviews from this member

 We camped here over the May day bank holiday weekend with 2 other families. We stayed in the Woodland area on one of the 'new' pitches.

The meadow pitches were just the usual pitch number on the ground, however the woodland pitches are a tent sized patch of wood mulch which (other than dragging bits of it into the tent) was a great base to camp on.

Whilst we were 'with' another family, and they were on the pitch adjacent to ours, we weren't actually right next to each other. The pitches in the woodland area are a touch more secluded. Ours was surrounded by trees and bluebells and fenced in with a lattice fence of woven live saplings. We still had plenty of room in our large pitch for both our tent (7m x 4m) and the Event Shelter (for communal cooking etc. With the other families). They were on a medium pitch with a couple of tents in the same clearing as them, but still quite secluded and well spaced.

Our pitch was a short (30 second) walk from the nearest car park. You don't park next to your pitch, but there is a good network of dirt track roads and small car parks to ensure that you don't have to carry your kit too far. You can however get about the site by following various paths which is much quicker (and nicer) than the road route.

The roads on site aren't great, but then you shouldn't be doing more than the 10mph speed limit on a narrow road where kids are liable to be walking anyway. They're absolutely fine at that speed.

Toilet blocks were well maintained and clean. Showers were nice and hot.

There are also a few other options on this site too. We had a look around a couple of the safari tents near to us and they looked like an excellent choice for easy camping complete with double bed, bunk bed, log burning stove and kitchen! They also had yurts dotted around the site and a gypsy caravan.

They have a few activities that can be done on site. We sent the kids off doing the orienteering course and they had a great time (although they did manage to route themselves through just about every boggy bit on site). We also hired out a couple of kayaks from the on site place but couldn't go too far out of the bay as it was quite windy and choppy.

Always a fan of the National Trust sites and will definitely be back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camp looney 2 reviews from this member

 We spent our second camping trip of 2015 at Low Wray and had a magical three nights. The site is well kept, quiet and the location is breath taking.

The toilets where clean and there was never a queue for showers (we spent the last weekend in July so the site was busy). The shop on site is adequately equipped and they provide a charging service for your phones and tablets.

The site is split into lakeside pitches, woodland pitches and meadow pitches. They also have Tipees, pods and Yurts that can be rented.

We stayed on Vic's meadow which is a 30 second walk to the Lake shore. There is a lovely walk round the lake to Wray castle where you can get a boat across to Brockhole Park and from there you can get boats to Ambleside or Bowness. We took our inflatable kayak which we launched from the little stone beach on the site for no charge.

We enjoyed our stay so much we visited again in September again staying on Vic's meadow, and we have booked for next year this time we have managed to book a lakeside pitch. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rademan08 3 reviews from this member

 My favourite site in all of the UK.

Pitch 210 I think.

You get your own beach front !

I took a blow up boat to use on the lake as where the pitch is, its a horse shoe shape.

Not much to say about this site, its massive, on site facilities are top notch. Staff fantastic.

The only down side for me was the holes in the road, the road surface was horrid. Broke my suspension arm. But it may have been sorted as this was over a year ago. 


Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Low Wray Campsite National Trust child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Low Wray Campsite National Trust?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Low Wray Campsite National Trust dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1761 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December