Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Low Wray Campsite National Trust

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Low Wray Campsite National Trust > Reviews

Low Wray Campsite National Trust
Low Wray
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 0JA
Tel: 015394 32733
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 153
Open: 24/03/2024 to 30/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 125 Reviews
                8/10 from 125 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  125 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Cather 1 review from this member

 My partner and I have visited this campsite twice now, the facilities are fantastic and exactly what we need, views of the lake and access to it are wonderful, the staff are super friendly.

The shop has everything you need! Pubs within walking distance, things to do like visiting the castle etc.

I couldn’t recommend it more. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kesava 1 review from this member

 Nice place, but not that much enjoyed due to heavy wind and rainy days. Not had a good sleep, but nice in day time and all enjoyed. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dacylo 1 review from this member

 Lovely place, our pitch was located in a great spot overlooking the lake.

Staff very helpful, great facilities.

Plenty for children to do, peaceful and quiet 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jotim8 1 review from this member

 First visit to camping site in 35 years - there to do the Windermere marathon on Sunday.

Facilities really good (toilets/ showers/ washing up area).

Very friendly and helpful reception.

Scenery obviously beautiful. Won't wait 35 years to come back - will put my new tent to more use! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Sharna 1 review from this member

 Great experience!

Clean facilities with all you need and beautiful surroundings

The staff were really friendly and helpful and the little pub on site had lovely food. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: VStromNeil 7 reviews from this member

 I visited Low Wray on a last minute three day tour of the Lake District by motorbike. I used the website to check availability and book, it was all very easy.

The site has got a large variety of options. I chose a woodland camping pitch for my little two man tent. I was the only person in the woods which was great, although the system for selecting pitches is a bit random.

When walking round the empty pitches, there were a number with parking alongside the pitch. My pitch had no parking and I ended up with my bike in the parking for another pitch / adjacent to the access road, it was not a real problem just a little odd considering every other pitch was empty.

There are numerous toilet / shower / washing up blocks around the large site. The one I used was cleaned daily and although a little rustic, it contained everything I needed in a facilities block. One note, the hot water never really gets HOT. It's ok to wash in but not quite what I would call hot.

The site is large, well spread out and it is SO quiet. I woke every morning to a delightful array of birdsong, including a Cuckoo. I had a pair of Mallard ducks join me one evening when I was cooking dinner, the next evening a Jackdaw tried to assist me by starting to open some chocolate shortbread I had bought at the on site shop and a van camper said they had been watching deer in an adjacent pasture.

There is a 'quiet time' but a group of van campers in an area out of site of my pitch were a bit busy every evening with banging doors and chatting. I don't think they were aware how far the sound was travelling in such a quiet location. Also worth noting, there are midges! The shop sells Smidge, so they are easily dealt with.

Overall this is a really excellent site for all sorts of activities. It is very fairly priced based on the location, five minutes from Ambleside and ten from Windermere, the shop even does hot breakfast rolls from 8. 00 am in the morning. 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: PetertheCamper 7 reviews from this member

 The site is spread out across the western shores of Windermere and secluded fields/woods. The narrow road to the site proved challenging for a touring camper van in front of us but generally shouldn't be a problem.

Trying to book a pitch at reception was slightly frustrating due to an over-complicated booking system where tent pitches were of wildly differing prices. Our options for a small two person tent and car in a bank holiday week ranged from £25 to £45 for one night(!).

The signal at reception is poor so it took a while to book us in. Our pitch at £25 required some creativity as it was on a slope. £45 will get you a waterside pitch with level ground covered in bark. I prefer grass when camping. I'd recommend pre-booking if possible to save you the hassle.

Toilets and showers are fine-there is a drying room and pot wash area also.

The scenery is spectacular. The Lake District is exceptionally popular and hence busy in the warmer months. Wray castle is within easy walking distance. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vipond 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site. Staff very friendly and welcoming upon arrival. Easy to find a pitch which suited us.

Once set up we recced the site and facilities which are to a very high standard.

Felt very safe and secure on site able to leave kit and equipment with no worries.

Kids and families had their own field which suits our type of stay and they all looked to have a fantastic time.

Great location to get to many walks from near to odg and newdg locations.

Very nice friendly atmosphere pubs at both. We had our days planned but already looking to book for next year and do the walks local to the site.

Already recommended site to family and friends. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Dwecw3 2 reviews from this member

 Amazing campsite with excellent facilities.

Plenty space out between tents etc. Staff were helpful.

This campsite is highly recommended,

I would go back again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Kerobe 1 review from this member

 Great campsite with great clean facilities.

Views are spectacular and staff are very friendly.

They had a drying room that was actually warm which was very useful and the showers were a good temperature and pressure.

Facilities were never too far away and pitching was easy. 
via mobile


Previous     125 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Low Wray Campsite National Trust child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Low Wray Campsite National Trust?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Low Wray Campsite National Trust dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3602 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement