Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Low Wray Campsite National Trust

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Low Wray Campsite National Trust
Low Wray
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 0JA
Tel: 015394 32733
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 24/03 To 29/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 101 Reviews
                8/10 from 101 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  101 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 64 reviews from this member

Booked this for a Motorhome and found ourselves out in the wilds on the edge of the track onto the site, lovely views but it felt like a car park.

In the site it was splendid, loads of nice touches and details, good signs and lovely walks, even the shop was good staffed by happy people.

Showers were good but the shower block was freezing cold, for 30 a night in April we thought this was very poor.

Lovely location best suited for campers etc

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Philip Whitaker 6 reviews from this member

Outstanding campsite in an outstanding location!

I've always avoided Windermere in summer--but that's because I've never been over to the west shore. It's wonderful and so much quieter than the east, with Lower Wray Campsite bang in the middle of one of the most beautiful parts.

The site offers a wide variety of pitches, some in the middle of an oak wood, some on Windermere's shore and others on open grass. It's actually quite a large site but the lay out, the hummocky ground and the tree cover mean that pitches are well spread out and private.

Facilities are good and staff are extremely helpful.

If you arrive on foot or bike (as I did), ignore the sign saying full--advance bookings only. Staff were more than willing and able to find me a pitch for the night.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NdBuk 2 reviews from this member

We camped here over the May day bank holiday weekend with 2 other families. We stayed in the Woodland area on one of the 'new' pitches.

The meadow pitches were just the usual pitch number on the ground, however the woodland pitches are a tent sized patch of wood mulch which (other than dragging bits of it into the tent) was a great base to camp on.

Whilst we were 'with' another family, and they were on the pitch adjacent to ours, we weren't actually right next to each other. The pitches in the woodland area are a touch more secluded. Ours was surrounded by trees and bluebells and fenced in with a lattice fence of woven live saplings. We still had plenty of room in our large pitch for both our tent (7m x 4m) and the Event Shelter (for communal cooking etc. With the other families). They were on a medium pitch with a couple of tents in the same clearing as them, but still quite secluded and well spaced.

Our pitch was a short (30 second) walk from the nearest car park. You don't park next to your pitch, but there is a good network of dirt track roads and small car parks to ensure that you don't have to carry your kit too far. You can however get about the site by following various paths which is much quicker (and nicer) than the road route.

The roads on site aren't great, but then you shouldn't be doing more than the 10mph speed limit on a narrow road where kids are liable to be walking anyway. They're absolutely fine at that speed.

Toilet blocks were well maintained and clean. Showers were nice and hot.

There are also a few other options on this site too. We had a look around a couple of the safari tents near to us and they looked like an excellent choice for easy camping complete with double bed, bunk bed, log burning stove and kitchen! They also had yurts dotted around the site and a gypsy caravan.

They have a few activities that can be done on site. We sent the kids off doing the orienteering course and they had a great time (although they did manage to route themselves through just about every boggy bit on site). We also hired out a couple of kayaks from the on site place but couldn't go too far out of the bay as it was quite windy and choppy.

Always a fan of the National Trust sites and will definitely be back again.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camp looney 2 reviews from this member

We spent our second camping trip of 2015 at Low Wray and had a magical three nights. The site is well kept, quiet and the location is breath taking.

The toilets where clean and there was never a queue for showers (we spent the last weekend in July so the site was busy). The shop on site is adequately equipped and they provide a charging service for your phones and tablets.

The site is split into lakeside pitches, woodland pitches and meadow pitches. They also have Tipees, pods and Yurts that can be rented.

We stayed on Vic's meadow which is a 30 second walk to the Lake shore. There is a lovely walk round the lake to Wray castle where you can get a boat across to Brockhole Park and from there you can get boats to Ambleside or Bowness. We took our inflatable kayak which we launched from the little stone beach on the site for no charge.

We enjoyed our stay so much we visited again in September again staying on Vic's meadow, and we have booked for next year this time we have managed to book a lakeside pitch.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rademan08 3 reviews from this member

My favourite site in all of the UK.

Pitch 210 I think.

You get your own beach front !

I took a blow up boat to use on the lake as where the pitch is, its a horse shoe shape.

Not much to say about this site, its massive, on site facilities are top notch. Staff fantastic.

The only down side for me was the holes in the road, the road surface was horrid. Broke my suspension arm. But it may have been sorted as this was over a year ago.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Slbell26 1 review from this member

Just back from a BH weekend at Low Wray. There'd been mixed reviews before we went but overall we had a lovely couple of days.

Staff in reception/shop all friendly and helpful. Pizza saved cooking on arrival the first night - went down well! Shop had a little of most of what you'd want - another reviewer commented that it's expensive - well, it is a campshop and pretty remote, not Tesco Metro! Main washblock clean and plenty of hot water for showers (and space to store clothes/towels etc to keep them dry whilst in there). I liked having different camping areas dotted about so you always felt it was a very small site, although it isn't really. Nice play area for the kids.

We were fortunate in that we were at a flattish edge of the main field but quite a few tents in the middle were pitched at interesting angles. Good grass to keep the tent clean plus we had good weather, but even after a shower of rain overnight, ground still good. A very quiet site - everyone tucked up well before the 11pm curfew (just unfortunate we had noisy neighbours - the rest of the site was silent!)

My one criticism would be the lack of washing up facilities - only 3 sinks in our block.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aristote33 3 reviews from this member

This is a very large campsite by Windermere, so some pitches are exactly by the lake. Some other pitches are at the back, near the fields with sheep grazing.

Because the site is basically developed on farmland, some pitches are not very evenly flat for pitching tents. Also because the ground has not been improved greatly, there is not much soil above the rocky ground, and it made pitching the tent rather difficult, as the pegs would not go in fully.

Also the pitch markers are flat numbers embedded in the grass, so we couldn't find ours, and found it only when the tent next door left since they had pitched their tent right on our pitch marker.

Possible improvement: have pitch markers on sticks/poles rather than flat in the grass.

The facilities are good and functional, and well maintained.

National Trust's Wray Castle, although not very interesting, is in easy reach within walking distance along Windermere.

Pitches are sorted in different categories, and it seemed some basic ones featured very different characteristic, from fair size on a grassy area, to bigger size in the woodland.

There is a well designed map of the campsite you're given when you take your instructions from the reception. It would be good if this map was made available on the website as a PDF file so people can foresee what to expect (expectation management).

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GroovyTimes 2 reviews from this member

Visited her with friends a few weeks ago. Site is well located for discovering the Lakes and facilities are functional. You do have to carry things from where you can park the car to your tent pitch so you need to be aware of this. The other thing you need to be aware off is this site strictly enforces a silent site 11pm- 7am (well at the 11pm end, kids were up playing from 6am)so if you are planning on sitting and catching up with family and friends, quite simply go elsewhere. Family and adult groups are mixed and the site is not effectively managed to accommodate for these different groups, with different needs. So, a good site if you've kids but I would recommend you go elsewhere if you are visiting as a group and want to enjoy all that camping is fundamentally about (sitting and catching up). Disappointing and upsetting stay and even though I'm a seasoned camper (5-6 times per year for the last 20 years), this was my most unpleasant camping experience to date. Went with 3 other professional adults but was made to feel like one!I expect far better than the NT that the service received.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Marek740605 1 review from this member

Great location for the campsite, away from busy Ambleside or Windermere on the west side of the lake. Everyone can find something interesting if it comes to pitching. There is a field with plenty of open space, woods, lake side etc. Nice and friendly staff on site and you can even borrow a wheel barrow to transport your stuff over to the pitch location as not all the places are accessible by car. Toilets and showers are clean and hot water is in abundance. There is a little shop on site and fresh bread every day. Also there is a fairly new path from the campsite all the way to Ambleside, avoiding the road. You can go by foot or on the bike. Unfortunately we have stayed in one of the pods. Now the idea is great, no doubt, but the design not so. Why would you fit a carpet in the wooden structure in the middle of the woods next to a lake. This will catch moisture, get damp and will stink. And so did our little pod. What's wrong with wooden floor? Easy to clean and will remain dry. Then there is a question of ventilation. If you fit double glazing, which will keep the warmth in, you have to make sure there is sufficient ventilation otherwise your breath and prespiration will make the place damp. That is damp times two now. And where is damp there is cold. And that's how it was in our little pod. Great idea bad design. Now the pods are empty, there is nothing in them so basically one has to take everything as one would be going with the tent. 50 for a night is slightly on the expensive, I think. But to summarise with the spendid weather we had all week the lake side view, I would definitely recommend the campsite. Maybe in your own tent though.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Taxis Kendal 29 reviews from this member

The two of us stayed in a small tent, arriving by car on a Monday in June. We paid the 10 extra for a lakeside pitch, so one night cost us 26. 50 in total.

We pitched 20 feet from the water's edge, on very short grass and dry mud, on a slight slope, with trees and bushes providing shade. We had an amazing view of the lake and hills beyond. Stunning. WOW! Pegs went into, and stayed in, the ground perfectly.

Male and female toilets, and pot washing facilities were very good. The showers were roomy and clean, but of the poor quality push button type. Not warm enough.

We didn't use any other facilities, but many were on offer - check their website.

This site gets a nine out of ten despite having the best views of any I've stayed at, due to the price and unpleasantly poor shower flow.

Previous     101 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2238 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!