Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Hawkshead Hall Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Hawkshead Hall Farm Campsite Reviews

Hawkshead Hall Farm Campsite
Hawkshead
Lake District
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 0NN
Tel: 01539 436221
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 10/07/2020 to 31/01/2021
           01/03/2021 to 31/01/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 69 Reviews
                8/10 from 69 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bodandmeg 5 reviews from this member

 It is impossible not to award Hawkshead Hall top marks. - one of the best sites that I have stayed on in the UK.

To start with, very sensible, effective, appropriate and proportionate Covid measures are being taken (unlike some other ‘way over the top’ sites - which I think is partly down to laziness). ‘Remote’ reception was very friendly and efficient.

The site is immaculately kept. The facilities block is something else - a spacious, modern, clean, beautifully tiled facility - a pleasure to use. And (unlike many other sites), full recycling facilities are available at the rubbish disposal point.

Last but not least - the site is nestled in an absolutely beautiful location - with easy access to the surrounding fells, and only a 10 minute walk from the village of Hawkshead, via an off-road path.

If Carlsberg did caravan / motorhome / camping sites - this would be it ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: PaulB12 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from this site. At the time of visiting the site was open for touring caravans and motor homes. The toilet and shower facilities were closed.

The facilities available to us were excellent; power, water and tv signal. For us the main plus of the site was its location. Hawkshead village is a short walk away, and has pubs, cafes, shops and history. The views from the site over the valley are amazing, and the site is quiet, only sheep noises!

As a base to explore the Southern Lakes the site is ideal. You can walk to Tarn Hows and Latterbarrow, the Langdales, Ambleside and Coniston are a short distance away.

The owner of the site was very supportive and helpful, especially for us as inexperienced caravanners.

So please support this site this summer. We felt at no risk from Covid, the Lakes need your custom! 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Liz+ ant Slade 21 reviews from this member

 Great site ideally suited to visit the lovely village of Hawkshead,

Facilities really good and reasonably priced.

Only down side and its not down to the site/ is the road into hawkshead

Single track a lot of the way

We will be going again 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marysme 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site, it's in a great location 10 minute walk into the village of Hawkshead with its quaint shops, cafes and pubs that do meals.

The pitches are hardstanding large enough for caravan, awning and your car at the front with water, waste grey water and tv point on the ehu point. The facility block is immaculate with showers, toilets and wash basins and fully heated, fab site which we will be returning to.

Can't comment on child friendly but it looks to be ok. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stationhouse26 12 reviews from this member

 This was our first time taking our new caravan away for a week and we couldn’t have picked a better site. Superb toilet, shower and washing up facilities, although when it was 24 degrees out the showers were a bit on the hot side! Hairdryers and plugs sockets were available. Didn’t queue all week for one of the 4 showers and the site was full most of the time although it didn’t feel crowded.

We pitched on the far side away from the toilet block and had a lovely view of the fells, although to be honest if you chose any pitch you’d have a wonderful view! You pick your own pitch upon arrival after checking in. Very quiet after dark but the cows and sheep were pretty rowdy at feeding time!

If I could’ve added one thing it would have been a small shop for basics although the milkman did call every morning.

Beautiful weather helped but this site is a gem and we will definitely be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bev H 5 reviews from this member

 Amazingly clean site. Receptionist very friendly. Immaculate toilet/ showers which are free. Great washing up facilities in a proper room and free wifi in a large clean TV room. Lovely walks from the site.

Hawkshead only a short safe off road walk away with four pubs and a co op. Would highly recommend and would definitely use this site again 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Scotsbob 8 reviews from this member

 We spent 3 nights at this 'hidden gem' of a campsite. Originally trying to get into Ambleside sites but without success, headed for Hawkshead and on route found this site. We stopped at the reception to a lovely friendly welcome booked a pitch for 2 nights then decided to stay for 3rd. An open field site with areas for m/homes, tents/

Caravans some with EHU and water taps. It is a 10 min walk along a good footpath to Hawkshead for a choice of 'foody' pubs, gift shops & the COOP.

The on site facilities are 1st class with excellent toilets/showers and loads of hot water. There is a TV room where FREE WIFI is available. Buses to Ambleside/Coniston/Windemere pass the farm gate frequently. A really great friendly site. We would return here again. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Roadrunnerrobbo 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of a 5 week campervan tour of the Lakes, Arran, Scotland and the Lakes (again). What a fabulous camp site! And, at £19. 50 a night for a large pitch with electric hook up, and free showers, a real bargain. But, for us, the real bonuses were the views, the dog walking options, the network of cycle paths (must take my bike next time) the cleanliness, the facilities, the free wifi, the comfy lounge and the location.

So, addressing each in order:-

The views - Latterbarrow to the east, the Coniston fells to the west and fields of sheep in the immediate surroundings.

The dog walking options were endless thanks, largely, to the new (?) cycle paths. We stayed 5 nights and our dog is walked every morning and evening. Yet, I don't think he did exactly the same walk twice. Not to mention the stream to drink from and paddle in.

The cycle paths seem to be very extensive - I have looked, in vain, for a map of the routes but it seems that a lot of money has been invested in laying trails all over the Langdale, Ambleside and Hawkshead area since we stayed in this area 5 years ago.

The cleanliness of this site is A1 - the shower cubicles have a curtain which, love them or hate them, keeps your clothes dry on the stool or hanger whilst you splash til your hearts content. Normally I hate them because they cling to you just as they have clung to countless other naked bodies for months (or years?). Not at Hawkshead! During our 5 night stay the shower curtains were changed at least 3 times.

The facilities were more than adequate (plenty of showers, basins and loos for the size of the site) and it was lovely to be able wash the pots indoors, rather that just under an invariably wet, windy, grubby canopy. This room - 4 sinks plus drainer, I think - was spotlessly clean. There was an adjacent laundry room which I didn't enter so I can't comment on that.

Free wifi is always a bonus! But, I could only get a connection inside the TV room or just outside, not on the pitches. But that's a minor detail, especially when the TV room is warm and cosy with comfy sofas.

The location, for us, has always been a bit too far south as we've spent the last 20 years climbing, and staying close to, the 214 Wainwrights. If that isn't of interest to you, this site is in a great location because it has the aforementioned cycle trails for walking, as well as a myriad of footpaths and bridle ways on the doorstep; it is a 10 minute drive from lovely Ambleside with its pretty park, outdoor shops, chip shop, great pubs and other eateries; it is a 10 minute walk into Hawkshead which has some good eateries and pubs; and it is a 10 minute drive to lovely Elterwater and on into stunning Great Langdale. Not to mention Hill Top, Wray Castle, Coniston and Grizedale Forest. All of which are nearby, as is the ferry across Windermere. A bus service passes the gate although I'm not sure where it goes.

A delivery man comes around the site every morning in his van and blows his horn so there's no excuse for missing breakfast - he sells milk, eggs, yogurt and much more.

In summary, we liked this site so much that we hope to go back with the caravan (and bicycles!) for 4 weeks next year. Now that we've almost finished the Wainwrights we hope to relax and enjoy this beautiful area from the comfort of a first class site. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kimmies 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite in pretty valley, only a few minutes walk from Hawkshead village along a footpath away from the road, where there is a small supermarket open 7am-10pm every day, several nice pubs and cafes and some history.

The site has very nice, clean shower facilities, covered washing-up area with plenty of hot water and a laundry room with one washing machine and dryer. The main field wasn't crowded and another large field was opened to cater for extra campers at the weekends.

We had terrible weather for much of our stay and our pitch (with hookup) was water-logged but I think this was exceptional. This was one of the first 2 pitches on the left as you drive onto the site so be aware. Also, a boot drying room would be very useful.

No play area for children but plenty of space for games. Despite the wet, we would happily use the site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Broic 16 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite located just outside of hawkshead. Large campsite but well spaced pitches so does not feel too big.

Facilities are clean, plenty of hot water. Pressure a bit low but what can you expect for the middle of the lake district!

Good value for money. Lovely views and nice atmosphere in the evening. This is a working farm so there are sheep/pigs etc around. 


Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hawkshead Hall Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hawkshead Hall Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hawkshead Hall Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2124 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December