Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Boroughbridge Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Boroughbridge Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bar Lane
Roecliffe
Boroughbridge
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO51 9LS
Tel: 01423 322683
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 95
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 104 Reviews
                8/10 from 104 Reviews

Photos (22) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wheresmebus 5 reviews from this member

Stayed for a week as part of a group of three units. We thought the site standards were perfectly acceptable, and the staff very helpful and friendly. The toilets/ showers/ washrooms were very clean and well maintained, barring some evidence of mould in some shower cubicles. The chemical disposal unit was very clean indeed. However. There is noise, the factory complex across the road operates 24/7 and the sound level is all pervasive. We're used to night-time background noise, but some campers might find it unacceptable. The A1 can be heard too if the wind is in the other direction. The water supply and grey disposal is quite a hike if your pitch is near the access end of the site. Boroughbridge town is about 20 minutes walk away, there's a pavement but you have to cross and recross the road. Roecliffe village is walkable in the opposite direction - there's a pub there but we preferred those in Boroughbridge.

Would we visit again? Yes, quite possibly.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fortyfoot 5 reviews from this member

Very disappointed with this site, it seems to get worse, ladies toilets are never flushed properly, one of the six has been out of action for months.

Staff never seem to do any thing other than sit in the office, the grass is hardly ever cut and when it is it is never done neatly. No refuse bins in the service areas in the caravan areas you have to go to the main gate and use large bins which are difficult for older and smaller people to use.

Several years ago the manager was called Ken, the site was then maintained superbly.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Niknrich 17 reviews from this member

Just back from a nice few days at this site. We went with a group of friends but were pitched a short distance away due to the sizes of the pitches in each area. We were given what the site manager called 'The Honeymoon Suite' (!) - a lovely quiet pitch right on the end of the field with only one neighbour, so it was a beautiful spot. However it was a loooong way to the loo!

The facilities are the usual Club standard with plenty of space and no queueing even though the site was almost full. There were plenty of washbasin cubicles but my husband commented not enough urinals in the Gents'! The grass pitches were level and well-drained but a couple of the concrete hardstandings seemed to retain water more!

The noise from the A1 was audible at times but not bothersome, but the humming from the dairy was a bit louder (though it didn't keep us awake). The owls hooting from the trees at night were lovely!

Being a Club site they do like their rules, and despite asking permission to stay longer on our departure day and following their instructions on where to park our van, we were still 'told off' for not being in the right place!

A nice site though overall, and we'd probably visit again.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Riff 15 reviews from this member

Discovered this site in 2017 and have stayed a couple of times in August and again in September.

The facilities are the usual Club standards. I never had to queue for the toilets or showers. The family room is available during the time they are closed for cleaning and I took advantage of this once during our first stay.

The A1 is audible but not intrusive. Also, I found the 'humming' coming from the nearby dairy quite soothing at night as it reminded me of the sound of generators at festivals, and that sends me to sleep.

Pitches were nice and flat and the distance to the facilities was very reasonable (we have been put miles away on other Club sites).

The pub in the Roecliffe is more of a gastro-pub. They serve real ale, but the drinks prices can be somewhat erratic.

There is a riverside walk to Ripon, which is a nice place to visit. However, if you do take that route, don't pick up the footpath near the church as it is narrow and muddy. Instead, walk towards Roecliffe Grange where you can pick up the river at Lock House.

In the other direction, Boroughbridge is a nice town. There is a decent-sized Morrisons nearby to service your grocery needs.

Points of interest in Boroughbridge include The Devils Arrows and the Roman fort at Aldborough (free entry to English Heritage members).

The pubs are also OK but our personal favourite is the Black Bull.

Great discovery for 2017. Definitely be back in 2018.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Dad1uk 30 reviews from this member

We visited here in our Folding Camper for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

A well maintained site with very pleasant staff.

As previously mentioned there is a noise issue, either from the nearby A1 or from the factories, depending which way the wind is blowing.

Toilets are clean and tidy and the showers are operated by push button and are hot.

Ideal site for overnight if travelling up the A1.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Natalie Hurst 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site. Never again, it recently changed management and the people who had it at the time of our visit were temporary and don't we know it. The site looked like the grass had not been cut for a week, in the ladies there are 6 toilets but 2 are permanently locked not out of order, it just saves cleaning 2 toilets.

To be fair the shower facilities and washing areas are clean and well kept but the main site lets its down. There is a factory over the road that has some form of generator going 24/7, we were the furthest pitch away from the road and we could hear it all night, every night, even on a weekend.

At the time of our visit the children's playground was out of use as the workmen were tipping all the soil around that part of the site. Whilst on site workmen were laying new concrete bases. We were telephoned before arrival stating that they would only be working in the unused area and it would not affect our stay. The first morning the workmen arrived at 7. 30am then a concrete mixer. Then the workmen decided they could dig out next to our caravan for the laying of a concrete base next week. After being out for the day we arrived back to 3 sections closed off and yellow spray markers ready for digging out. Talk about living on a building site. The management team said if you don't like it you can always change pitch but that would not have solved any problems.

The ccc have a policy of always having neat and tidy sites. Well not this one.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ayrshireman 17 reviews from this member

I recently spent a couple of nights at this fine site. It is very well laid out, with lush grass and good space in the camping area. As usual with the CCC, a friendly and helpful welcome. The dog walking area was just fine for my four legged friend. I thought I was being smart pitching the tent almost at the furthest point of the tent area, until I realised that the WiFi 'didn't reach that far'! A small price to pay for a sense of privacy. Though I was not using a caravan, the layout of the caravan area impressed, with a good selection of concrete hardstandings, and broken by hedges and trees into two areas. Friday's chip van removed the need to cook. The only slight downside was (as mentioned in other reviews) the noise from the dairy across the road. All in all a fine site which I have no hesitation in recommending.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Special01 42 reviews from this member

This is a good stop off going north. Site is clean and tidy as expected of a C/C site. Toilet block is good. Showers hot and powerful. Good dog walking area. Site staff very friendly. Crown Inn pub in Roecliffe 1. 5miles away. 20mins walk on footpath. Is dog friendly and has a good pint of Theakstons beer. Good meals too.

Good garage in Borougbridge. Canal garage.

15 per night, good value in 6 weeks holiday. Would return again

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SvenBoy 11 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights, to use as a base for the Dales. Like many people I watched the Yorkshire Tourist Boards free promotional video (aka The tour de France 2014!)and thought what a lovely place to see. As stated in other reviews, I am on a motorbike, with a small tent.

I found the site more then met my needs. On arrival I was shown to a spot which was in the full glare of the sun (this was the day before the hottest July temperature on record) I asked if I could be moved to a shady spot, which the friendly warden duly obliged. On the plus side this was in a spot where the previously highlighted noise from both the A1 and the 24/7 working dairy were limited. On the downside it was a fair walk to the facilities, but that wasn't really a problem.

The town of Boroughbridge was in walking distance, and Knaresborough, which turned out to be one of the lovlieast towns in the country was only ten minutes ride/drive away.

I would not hesitate to visit both the area and this site again, although I would probably break the journey up by staying a night elsewhere both up and home. 220 miles on a bike with 95% on motorways was very tiring from Berkshire.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Special01 42 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 days. We have stayed on site before. It is a good stopping off point to see York. Ripon Cathedral. Fountains Abbey and much more. A newspaper car visits site every morning at 9am. Chip van 2 times a week. And a very nice pub in local village of Roecliffe. Called Crown Inn. 15 mins walk on footpath. Dog friendly too. Nice selection of local ales. Facilities on good as expected from C/C sites. Yes well worth a return visit. OAP rate. 3 nights. 39.

Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2767 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019