Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Boroughbridge Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Boroughbridge > Boroughbridge Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Boroughbridge Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bar Lane
Roecliffe
Boroughbridge
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO51 9LS
Tel: 01423 322683
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 95
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 109 Reviews
                8/10 from 109 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  109 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 01/01/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 01/01/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 228 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- Leave A1(M) at junction 48 and take first exit at end of slip road. Continue to next roundabout and take first left signed to Roecliffe. Continue along this road passing Alexanders car dealership on the right and the site is about a hundred meters further on also on the right, look out for the flag pole. No arrivals before 1. 00pm.

This site is on the opposite side of the A1(M) to the small Yorkshire town of Boroughbridge and is open all year. The River Ure, which is navigable, borders one side of the site. This site is prone to flooding and the site is designed to cope with this as all but the pitches are not protected. There are 95 pitches in total.

They are spread over three pitching areas with one which is all grass pitches and the other two a mix of grass and hardstandings. On the non grass sections there are grit roads which can be a bit dusty when itís windy.

There are 34 hardstandings, either on a gravel or solid concrete base all with electrics. All other pitches are on grass and will be a mix of with or without electric hook-up. Electric points are convenient to all pitches which have an electric supply. They are rated at 16 amps and use CEE17 blue connectors.

There are a couple of fresh and waste water points dotted around the site but the only chemical emptying point is at the facility block which makes it a long way from some pitches.

The toilet block itself is of a very nice standard and as an enclosed washing up area and a separate laundry. Near to the exit is a motorhome service point. Reception sells a few essentials and newspapers can be ordered.

For children there is an adventure style playground and plenty of space for ball games away from the pitching area. There is also a recreation room with table games and a TV. WiFi is available free of charge and there is a good 4G signal on site. TV reception was fine using a directional aerial. Given the proximity of the A1(M) there is an almost constant hum of traffic noise.

This is a handy site for those travelling north to south as junction 48 on the A1(M) is just over a mile away. Boroughbridge is worth a visit and about a mile walk from the site and is worth a visit with plenty of places to eat. At the southern end of the town is a Morrisonís supermarket. There are plenty of opportunities for exploring further afield with York and Ripon being within easy reach. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ljamfam 33 reviews from this member

 Perfect for a one night stay on the way northwards to the lakes or Scotland but donít think we would like to stay any longer.

1st problem encountered was the lack of parking space while checking in. We had a caravan and tow car in front of us and we could barely get our campervan off the road. If another unit turned up at the same time they would have to stay in the road.

2nd problem was the distance from our pitch to the chemical disposal. Not only was it a fairly long walk but also uphill. Designed for the fit - not if you have any kind of walking problem.

Toilets clean but nothing special. Very little tourist info on local pubs etc for a meal. Staff pleasant but did not give us either gate barrier or WiFi codes, no site layout plan either we had to search for everything. I will give the benefit of doubt that this was because we were only staying one night. Site layout is very random. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: VersysGTRider 2 reviews from this member

 Very nice campsite

Kept very tidy and clean and friendly staff

These are what you expect from official C&C sites

Only downside to the site is the factory across the road which works 24/7 so there is machinery noise through the night, which is why I gave 4 stars

Other than that its worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Royston 01 6 reviews from this member

 My favourite site just off the motorway and beside the river.

Lovely helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble.

Nice level pitches with electric and Wi-Fi available.

Town is a short 15minute walk woth with a great butcher's a d several bakeries.

Morrisons just up the road for fuel and shopping.

All in all a great stopover to either visit places or interest or just a break if travelling north or south.

Am in fact booked in again Sunday 15th Dec 2019. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Louiseandpete 3 reviews from this member

 Wonderful staff. Lovely quiet site. Everyone super friendly and helpful. Best time we have had for ages.

Will definitely be going back. Thank you so much xx 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wheresmebus 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a week as part of a group of three units. We thought the site standards were perfectly acceptable, and the staff very helpful and friendly. The toilets/ showers/ washrooms were very clean and well maintained, barring some evidence of mould in some shower cubicles. The chemical disposal unit was very clean indeed.

However. There is noise, the factory complex across the road operates 24/7 and the sound level is all pervasive. We're used to night-time background noise, but some campers might find it unacceptable. The A1 can be heard too if the wind is in the other direction.

The water supply and grey disposal is quite a hike if your pitch is near the access end of the site. Boroughbridge town is about 20 minutes walk away, there's a pavement but you have to cross and recross the road. Roecliffe village is walkable in the opposite direction - there's a pub there but we preferred those in Boroughbridge.

Would we visit again? Yes, quite possibly. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fortyfoot 6 reviews from this member

 Very disappointed with this site, it seems to get worse, ladies toilets are never flushed properly, one of the six has been out of action for months.

Staff never seem to do any thing other than sit in the office, the grass is hardly ever cut and when it is it is never done neatly. No refuse bins in the service areas in the caravan areas you have to go to the main gate and use large bins which are difficult for older and smaller people to use.

Several years ago the manager was called Ken, the site was then maintained superbly. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Niknrich 17 reviews from this member

 Just back from a nice few days at this site. We went with a group of friends but were pitched a short distance away due to the sizes of the pitches in each area. We were given what the site manager called 'The Honeymoon Suite' (!) - a lovely quiet pitch right on the end of the field with only one neighbour, so it was a beautiful spot. However it was a loooong way to the loo!

The facilities are the usual Club standard with plenty of space and no queueing even though the site was almost full. There were plenty of washbasin cubicles but my husband commented not enough urinals in the Gents'! The grass pitches were level and well-drained but a couple of the concrete hardstandings seemed to retain water more!

The noise from the A1 was audible at times but not bothersome, but the humming from the dairy was a bit louder (though it didn't keep us awake). The owls hooting from the trees at night were lovely!

Being a Club site they do like their rules, and despite asking permission to stay longer on our departure day and following their instructions on where to park our van, we were still 'told off' for not being in the right place!

A nice site though overall, and we'd probably visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Riff 15 reviews from this member

 Discovered this site in 2017 and have stayed a couple of times in August and again in September.

The facilities are the usual Club standards. I never had to queue for the toilets or showers. The family room is available during the time they are closed for cleaning and I took advantage of this once during our first stay.

The A1 is audible but not intrusive. Also, I found the 'humming' coming from the nearby dairy quite soothing at night as it reminded me of the sound of generators at festivals, and that sends me to sleep.

Pitches were nice and flat and the distance to the facilities was very reasonable (we have been put miles away on other Club sites).

The pub in the Roecliffe is more of a gastro-pub. They serve real ale, but the drinks prices can be somewhat erratic.

There is a riverside walk to Ripon, which is a nice place to visit. However, if you do take that route, don't pick up the footpath near the church as it is narrow and muddy. Instead, walk towards Roecliffe Grange where you can pick up the river at Lock House.

In the other direction, Boroughbridge is a nice town. There is a decent-sized Morrisons nearby to service your grocery needs.

Points of interest in Boroughbridge include The Devils Arrows and the Roman fort at Aldborough (free entry to English Heritage members).

The pubs are also OK but our personal favourite is the Black Bull.

Great discovery for 2017. Definitely be back in 2018. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Dad1uk 36 reviews from this member

 We visited here in our Folding Camper for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

A well maintained site with very pleasant staff.

As previously mentioned there is a noise issue, either from the nearby A1 or from the factories, depending which way the wind is blowing.

Toilets are clean and tidy and the showers are operated by push button and are hot.

Ideal site for overnight if travelling up the A1. 


Previous     109 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Boroughbridge Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Boroughbridge Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Boroughbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2130 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement