Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Flower Of May Holiday Parks

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Flower Of May Holiday Parks
Lebberston Cliff
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO11 3NU
Tel: 01723 584311
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 50
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 126 Reviews
                8/10 from 126 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  126 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: StanD53 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here in a tent in July 2018 with 2 adults and 2 6 yr olds for a short 2 night break. We found the staff were really helpful and the pitches were a decent size. The amenities blocks were spacious and clean and not too far from the tent pitches. The kids used the indoor pool for an hour ( have to pay) the only issue is that kids under 8 have to have an adult in the water with them ( despite the kids being really good swimmers ) and you were not allowed to supervise from the seating sited around the pool. There is also a decent sized playground on site which the kids really enjoyed, we did visit the clubhouse but only to watch the World Cup match so can't comment what it is like on an evening. There is a reasonably stocked shop on site and a cafe tgat does breakfast, fresh coffee and lunches. All in all an enjoyable 2 night stay.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Adria caravanners 1 review from this member

We have just returned from our first visit to Flower of May near Scarborough and we had a great time. We nearly didn't go, due to the recent reviews, but I'm glad we ignored them. We arrived about half an hour after a torrential rain storm which had caused them some problems (as it had done all over Scarborough). The reception staff were great and we were taken to a good, well drained pitch. The majority of the caravans seemed to be seasonal pitches, which didn't bother us one bit, but there was a constant flow of tourers like ourselves.

We had a fully serviced pitch for 27 per night plus the cost of electric. Which you buy from reception. In the 7 days we used 4. 45 which included running a TV, hairdryer, water heater, lights and recharging phones etc.

There is still a wobbly tap in the loos, but I used another sink, so that didn't bother me. The toilet blocks have smallish loo cubicles, but there were plenty of them. The showers were large with push button hot water and were cleaned twice a day when we were there. Our kids have grown up so we were there as a couple and didn't use most of the facilities - they would have had a whale of a time when they were younger! We did use the shop and bar which were fine.

There were a lot of kids around on scooters, bikes, 3 wheeled scooters and a segway, but they seemed well behaved. It did make you stick to the speed limit or under.

The site is nearer Filey than Scarborough but there is an hourly bus service from the bottom of the lane to both Scarborough and Filey/Bridlington. There isn't much within walking distance, apart from a pub and a Spar at the petrol station, but we knew that before we booked it.

While Filey itself is a small resort, there are impressive beaches. Scarborough has a North and South Bay, with beaches in both areas. The North bay is further away from the town centre and therefore a bit quieter.

It is certainly a site we will visit again and we are really glad we stayed there.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Loopytriplelll 27 reviews from this member

Having been a regular visitor previously with a tourer, a change in circumstances means I'm now a camper with a tent.

So me and my 8 year old son decided to pay a visit with our new set up.

Where my former wife had done all the bookings previously, I did this online and found it an easy process.

Check in on arrival was easy and having paid my 10 deposit for the barrier card and put some electric on the card 4 as we were staying 4 nights. We were shown to the camping field.

Plenty of space and the warden was very helpful.

All set up under an hour.

The site was very busy being in the school holidays.

You HAVE to drive at crawling pace all over the site as kids on bikes and scooters just ride all over the place without a care in the world.

The showers are still well kept with the push button every 10-20 seconds to save being left on. These are free unlike some sites.

Torrential rain mid week meant the site was very wet but surprisingly the camping field soon drained off. I didn't see one tent flooded, Although the on site shop suffered a bit of flooding.

Evening entertainment has not changed for as long as I can remember and its ok for the younger kids. My son loved it.

There is a charge for the swimming pool but its not a lot 3. 50 for both of us and they arent too keen with how long you stay in at non busy times.

The building is tropical heat inside but the water is shall we say cool.

You must visit the fantastic Scarborough Fair collection which is in the main carpark. I'm not going into detail but google it. Its a good way to kill a few hours and is quite a hidden gem of scarborough.

Our first outing as Dad and son camping was great. This place also holds special memories for me as it was my son's first holiday when he was 2weeks old.

We both loved it and will be back next year.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BRanger5104 12 reviews from this member

Like a previous reviewer of this campsite I too had based my choice to stay on the many good reviews it has. We have a boy and girl aged 8 and 6 and thought the swimming pool and clubhouse would be great for them on our 2 week stay.

To say I was bitterly disappointed would be an understatement. The website shows pictures of all the best bits of the park, not in itself unusual as that is what lots of sites do when marketing a product, but the reality is a lot different.

I will start with the check in experience which was simply appalling. There is no cheery smile, no polite conversation just a particularly grumpy group of staff who don't appear to have the first clue about customer interface. Sadly this wasn't our only contact with them during our stay but more about that in a while. There was one male warden who was happy and chatty and helpful but the rest, especially the female warden, always looked miserable and as if you were bothering them!

TOURING FIELD

Don't be fooled by the pictures as these show the pitches on The Avenues which I have to say are very nice and have plenty space but unfortunately are mainly taken by seasonals.

The touring area is, well just awful. The pitches are small and cramped and for some reason the order is own car, caravan, awning which means you exit your awning onto someone else's pride and joy, not good with small children. This also means if you have guy lines/storm straps you may not be able set them up due to limited space? The concrete hard standing is fairly level but the gravelled area has paving slabs laid which were loose on every pitch and a very real trip hazard. They are all serviced pitches was is great but you pay extra for electric and have to purchase cards to top up the meter.

Now through no fault of the owners it rained for the first week which highlighted how bad the drainage is on these pitches but fortunately we seemed to be lucky with one of the drier pitches. The pitch to our right was flooded and at least 2 people refused to stay on it.

SWIMMING POOL

The pool area is very good and we spent a lot of time in here. Pricing was reasonable costing 7. 50 for one adult and 2 kids. The pool is warm and well kept and they have inflatable sessions and there is a small jacuzzi. The changing areas are very warm and clean and the showers are hot.

Inside the pool complex is a games room with pool table and electronic games and a small indoor football/basketball court.

CAFE

Serves a limited menu and prices are quite high. We only used it once so can't comment other than to say the meals we had were nice and the portions were good.

ON SITE SHOP

Good selection and a few camping spares as well. As usual prices on high side but not exorbitant and plenty of local supermarkets.

CHIP SHOP

Only used this our first night for ease. Nice fish and chips but again bit prices. Always had customers waiting so popular addition to the site.

CLUBHOUSE

We don't usually stay on sites with clubhouses as a matter of personal choice and I have to say this just reinforced that decision. On the plus side I do have to say that the beer/lager is well kept and reasonably priced. There is an adults area upstairs but most seem to congregate in the bar downstairs where there is a stage and entertainment. The kids entertainers are the usual type of mediocre amateur type stuff but the kids enjoy it. It was sad to see tables of adults with many empty beer glasses and kids running around both indoors and outside the clubhouse unchecked. The foul language from some of the older kids was really quite shocking. There were pedal bikes scattered on the ground even though there are bike racks by the entrance. The kids were quite feral running around and screaming, I am all for kids having fun but this was ridiculous.

PLAY PARK

Good range of equipment but sadly the area seems 'run' by the kids off the seasonal pitches/statics. My daughters bike was stolen and on reporting to reception they had a 'so what' attitude. No offer of an apology, no please fill out this form in case it turns up, no emotion at all other than pure apathy. The lady behind the counter said I was the third person to report a bike theft that day and when asked what they were doing about it she simply shrugged her shoulders at me.

TOILET BLOCKS

Only one word really, disgrace. I wish I could upload the photos I took to put on Trip Advisor to this site. Very old and tired with dirty grubby floors and walls and the gents toilets were a health hazard with excrement on the stall walls, probably as they are so tight it is difficult to turn round and closing the door itself is a challenge. The showers are hot and water is plentiful but the block is freezing as every single window is permanently open, all the sinks had odd taps and these could turn through 360 degrees as they were so loose and the hand driers were worse than useless.

DISPOSAL POINT

Again very old very tired and stinking. No hose provided to rinse your cassette and instead you have to use a single tap mounted directly above the sluice which no doubt has had countless splashes.

It has to be said that some of this is down to other people with no thought for anyone else leaving their rubbish/waste for others to clean up.

There are a few good things such as the pool and the on site Scarborough Fair, and the grounds staff do work hard to keep things looking nice but bear in mind this is a site geared for maximum profit for minimal outlay from the owners.

It will very obviously suit some and maybe we are a bit exacting but it was not for us.

Would I go again?, , , , , , , NO NO NO NEVER

Would I recommend it?, , , , , , most definitely not and that is mainly due to the rude, ignorant, miserable staff.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 90 reviews from this member

After reading all the positive reviews about this site we were very dissapointed with the site and these are our reasons why:-

The touring pitches are allocated on the middle field and all the bays seem to be taken with seasonal sited tourers, this site is mainly statics and a lot of sited tourers. We were given the choice on arrival of two pitches, they were all lined up on the field and crammed in very tightly packed together, there is a hardstanding all service area for caravan and awning but parking your car has to be in between each pitch leaving no space whatsoever, in fact, we couldn't peg our awning out properly as the car next door was parked in its allocated space literally within touching distance of our awning! If we wanted to sit outside we had to sit either at the front of the van or the back of the van. We like more space and felt like we had none on this site, the pitches looked very tired and in need of an update. Our electric box was hanging on with duck tape. The electric is not included in the pitch fees and we used around 8. 00 for 6 nights which isnt too bad, but, we used the showers on site and didn't use our heating at all as it was warm so I would imagine in winter or when its cold you would go through a fair amount of electric. In all my years of caravanning I have never had to pay for electric on a metre. The shower block near the central touring field was tired and in need of an update, half of the hot water taps weren't working, there was plenty of hot water and the showers were fine but it needed bringing in line with the other amenity blocks on site, like the ones near the brand new camping pods/sited tourers!

We didn't use the bar or pool on site and if you want to go in the pool you have to pay extra, same as the play area/sports court and Museum, its all extra charges and the museum is 50% off if your staying on site but its still another 11. 00 for a family of four. The pool is nothing special and for 11 a family of four can visit the fantastic new fun pool at Bridlington with water slides etc.

There is a huge park on site and our children attempted to go and play on it most evenings, however, they were met with children swearing at them and intimidating them, its a bit like a community feel on the site possibly due to the amount of sited vans on and the children were ruling the roost and parents where nowhere to be seen.

We went out and about all wk as the weather was brilliant so we went to Scarborough. Filey and Bridlington, parking was an absolute nightmare due to the council not updating any of the pay & display machines so it took us ages to park up, and its costly too at around 6 a time to park. Parking is free on most of the major resorts seafronts after 6pm so we went into Scarborough for a meal one evening and it took us ages to find somewhere to park, and the traffic was gridlocked along the road into both Scarborough and Filey. It was peak time at half term and good weather so expected, but, the parking was an joke!

There isn't anything near this site other than a petrol station and pub, you need your car to get out and about.

We wouldn't stay here again as its not our kind of site and quite costly when you add all the extras up after you've already paid a fair amount for your pitch fees, and what really affected us was the lack of space in between each pitch, they are too crammed in and we like more space.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sueandbilly 5 reviews from this member

We have returned to Flowers of May 3 weeks after our first visit to catch up with some friends over the Bank holiday weekend, on my visit to the scruffy toilet block that I mentioned in my first review and visit, still nothing had been done regarding the water drain grid in the floor it was still there held in place with black duck tape. Also I had mentioned about the loose taps (which could be turned around 360 degrees)in the first washing sink, these had not been fixed.

Apparently some notice had been taken by management regarding the cobwebs and spiders nests in virtually ever corner as a member of staff had a broom with a dirty cloth attached to it making a half hearted effort to clean the walls and corners from said spiders nests, as I was talking to him a whole tile became dislodged from the wall and fell down. I commented that the tile could have hit an older person or even a child on the head with devastating effects.

When I spoke to the site warden about this incident and also the loose taps and the water drain grid on the floor held in place for over 3 weeks, his comment was 'That's the cleaners job nothing to do with me' and there was silly me thinking that site safety was of paramount importance.

Once again we wanted to use the swimming pool, which was advertised as being open, only to be told that a local school had hired the pool for swimming lessons, never mind the customers that have paid in full their pitch fees which include all site amenities.

On the Monday after the Bank Holiday, we awoke to find ONLY our caravan left on site which was occupied, another couple turned up later the same morning. I think that speaks volumes about Flowers of May. No one wants to stay. On a quick trip to 3 other local sites they were all over 75% occupied, another damming indictment about a site owner that only has 2 Gods and one of them is money.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angel1974 4 reviews from this member

We stopped for 4 nights. As we have a large tent (7M) long, the warden put us at the top end of the camping field, near to the path that leads to the tourers. We had plenty of space to pitch. The kids enjoyed the playground and the entertainment the 2 nights we visited (magic mike and dave marshall) We used the top toilet/shower block near the tourers as it was nearer for us, no queuing for showers etc.

We went out for day trips out to filey, bridlington and scarborough as they wasn't too far away. This is our 2nd time at Flower of May, and wont hesitate to come back again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trevorjane 22 reviews from this member

Thank you again for another fantastic 9 night summer holiday, as always toilets and showers well kept, amusements and pool rooms more than adequate to keep our young lad happy, site is so safe he can wonder around and make friends, our little girl really enjoyed Magic Mike and if I'm honest so did I, the real magic part of this site is The Scarborough Fair Collection, this must be one of the worlds best kept hidden gems, the whole family love the magical experience of this very special place, not only the rides, cars, motor bikes, steam engines, organs the very pleasant staff are fantastic, for the hours we where in there it felt like we owned them which is a credit to the owner,

Looking forward to next years visit we have only just returned home

Thank you to the whole team

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camper777 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights in a tent. The site is very well set out. The camping field was nicely laid out and close to the park for the kids.

The on site facilities are fantastic. The cleaning/washing area could do with some plugs in the kitchen to wash up, efficiently.

The toilets & shower facilities are great. Nice and clean thoughout our stay. The Swimming pool is great and reasonably priced.

We usually go glamping here, but this time they were all fully booked so opt out to camp out. Which was nice too.

We will be back here. Love Flower of May xxx

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Opal0313 21 reviews from this member

Stayed here over the bank holiday weekend. Site was quite full but you didn't feel overcrowded. It was quiet at night. Toilet block was dated but clean, did see more modern blocks on site. Good large playground. Large well stocked shop. Chip shop was OK if a little pricey was charged for a polystyrene tray to put our fish and chips in! Had to buy bottled water as we have no filter in our water system and the water had a strong taste of chlorine. The pitch was part gravel and part paved with made it very difficult to pitch our porch awning putting the pegs inbetween the cracks on the paving slabs, making it useless when the wind got up ripping the pegs out. We did have an enjoyable weekend and would return but preferably on a different pitch.

Previous     126 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2992 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019