Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Baltic Wharf Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Bristol > Baltic Wharf Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Baltic Wharf Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Cumberland Road
Bristol
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS1 6XG
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 28 reviews from this member

 Having been born and still having family in Bristol, have tried several times to get a booking at this site. Managed it for last November only to be thwarted due to lockdowns.

So was really looking forward to this visit. I'm not sure I can add much to the reviews of this site, safe to say the location is brilliant.

Being next to the floating harbour for walks, within walking distance of countless pubs and restaurants, so many sights to see and the MH does not have to move.

I doubt I will be able to get another booking here due to other commitments, just so glad I finally made it, well worth it! 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 96 reviews from this member

 We managed to get in again, following the latest council reprieve.

It's the first time we managed to get a pitch on the 'front row' overlooking the harbour and enjoyed uninterrupted views.

The weather was glorious and we couldn't believe the amount of people just over the hedge enjoying themselves. There were parties, barbecues, sing songs, as well as the youngsters having sailing lessons, so it was far from quiet, but just lovely to see people relaxing.

We had two great cycle rides from the site; one to Clevedon and one to Portishead;

Both used mostly quiet tracks and lanes.

It's going to be a big loss to us when the site finally closes. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pauleb 12 reviews from this member

 A brilliant city centre but secluded wooded campsite.

Open a secret door and you are straight onto the quiet end of the harbourside just few minutes walk to a pub, SS GB 🇬🇧 and the busy commercial area.

We will be so sorry when this site closes for redevelopment. Luckily we manage to get a booking when the lease was extended but it must close soon, depending on the roadworks outside the main gate. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marion 1 review from this member

 Amazing location, directly on the waterside with a beautiful quayside walk into city centre.

Close to a great range of pubs/bars/cafes and restaurants.

Immaculately maintained site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 96 reviews from this member

 I was pleasantly surprised to get in for the one nights when Tredegar park was in lockdown.

This was our fifth visit and it was a great as ever and we took advantage of the wonderful walk around the floating harbour via the back gate.

Each time we think it's our final visit due to the council's decisions, we are always delighted to find they've given it a reprieve and let's hope it stays that way. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ourvera 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite will wow you simply because of its great location. You arrive through the usual barrier type approach, reception hut on your left.

The site has a feel of an Aire, gravel car park location, all service facilities, toilet, shower, washing up area, motorhome service point.

Park up and take your key for the gate on the opposite side from the entrance because that is where the magic lies, it is a gateway to harbour side, Baltic Wharf. Boats are there, paddle boarders, pubs, coffee shops, groups of people dot the waterside setting up their deck chairs. From here you can walk into Bristol City, water taxi a short cut to the other side, admire the colourful houses that speckle the rise from the water to city parks.

You can glimpse the Clifton Suspension and you can feel the city vibes, diners populate the bars as you walk the marina. There is history, culture and art in abundance in this vibrant city, easy to walk, the Cutty Sark, Banksy, a narrow boat community, city shopping and museums.

The site is a perfect place to pitch up if you want a city break. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pauleb 12 reviews from this member

 Unexpected peace in the city of Bristol. A secret doorway takes you from the camp site straight onto the quiet part of the Harbourside, but only a short walk from the SSGt. Britain.

Site is spotlessly clean and the facilities are well managed and CV19 compliant. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dave E.Buoy 1 review from this member

 The site itself could do with a little updating as there are no fully serviced pitches, or child play facilities and pitches are a little too close to each other.

The shop carries some very basic supplies and toilets are provided via porta-kabins but are modern and more than serviceable. The site is a 5 minute drive from Bath centre and around 30 minutes to Bristol.

However there are two local riverside pub/restaurants (The Locksbrook Inn & The Boathouse Inn) that are around a 15 minute and 4 minute walk from the site and they provided excellent atmosphere and food and I recommend them highly.

There is an excellent cycle path and a local Lidl for all your shopping needs. We'd definitely use the site again. 


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 96 reviews from this member

 Despite Storm Ciara and the road collapse outside the site, we made it!

There were quite a few folk that didn't though, so the site was nice and quiet for a couple of nights 'til the storm died down.

The torrential rain created quite a few large puddles on the site but they drained fairly rapidly.

As ever, the wardens kept the site pristine and should be congratulated, given the conditions.

We had a few good walks whilst there including the steep hill past the colourful houses in Cliftonwood, that can be seen from the site across the floating harbour.

During one heavy shower, we discovered Bar Chocolate in Clifton Village and dashed in for hot drinks. Once inside we decided upon an early lunch and were served delicious fresh food.

The newly created "Cargo" area near to M Shed is a lovely addition with attractive cafes and shops in the small units that appear to have been created from shipping containers.

We had evening meals in the Nova Scotia pub, which is a real traditional pub with associated fare at great prices; The Cottage Inn, which we thought was grossly overpriced and also the Stable Bar near the free terminal at the city centre. Their food and drink were great, but it's more of a younger element that frequent it, with noisy music in the background - but very friendly staff and a huge selection of (strong!) ciders.

No doubt this will be our last visit to Baltic Wharf, given the council's plans to build houses and apartments on it. We've enjoyed our half-dozen or so visits and will miss it greatly.

If you manage to find a couple of nights cancellations, I urge you to give it a go. 


Date of Visit: December 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jimcol 1 review from this member

 Ideal site to explore Bristol city centre. Ferry is cheap and frequently run.

Site tidy, however the warden a bit unfriendly.

No dog run on site, but nice walks nearby. 
via mobile


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Baltic Wharf Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Baltic Wharf Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Baltic Wharf Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bristol      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3487 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder