Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Baltic Wharf Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Baltic Wharf Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Cumberland Road
Bristol
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
BS1 6XG
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (7)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 71 reviews from this member

Just visited again on what is becoming an annual visit.

The site is more or less the same as ever, though we were alarmed to see only one functioning toilet in the gents when we arrived.

Despite seemingly being repaired, there appears to be a water leak somewhere and I sadly get the impression the C&MC aren't that bothered about getting it seen to.

There seem to be more rumours about the site closing again.

However, despite the cold and wet, we enjoyed ourselves again.

Happily, the Cottage Inn is much improved, though the rather limited menu seems a bit pricy.

However, from a recommendation in the guest book, we also visited the Nova Scotia.

And what a treat to find a real pub with proper characters in.

Despite apperaances from the outside, it was very welcoming and the food was sensational, and half the price of the Cottage for instance.

We used the Bristol Ferry a couple of times and the operators on it are so friendly.

Finally, we again enjoyed a performance in the Tobacco Factory Theatre (What does stuff do?) which was very entertaining. Disappointingly, the service and food in the Yard cafe/bar were less inspirational.

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 71 reviews from this member

We've just had another four nights at this fantastic site (though we did have to book last October).

The site was as pristine as ever, with the all-important warm shower blocks and piping hot water.

We had loads of heavy rain at nights but the site drained freely and was fine.

We managed a couple of cycle rides, one to Blaise Castle Estate and one to Ashton Park and on to the suspension bridge and Clifton Downs.

The visitor book mentioned that the Cottage pub had improved but we didn't bother this time, catering for ourselves apart from lovely pizzas in the Stable Bar in the city.

We used the ferry to get there once (and back) and 3 return each was great value.

Also visited the Wildlife Photographer of the Year exhibition at the M Shed, which was well worth it.

Here's hoping the C&MC manage to extend the lease again for this wonderfully located site.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

Our favourite CMC site. Hope it stays open for many years to come.

We stayed for the New Year festivities and it was packed. Always a great firework display at midnight along the waterside and over the city.

Fantastic position within the city of Bristol, literally on the waterside.

Excellent wardens, good facilities (dated but always clean and warm), good pitches (all hard standing) and easy access/walk into Bristol.

Fantastic pub next door to the site (Cottage Inn) with the best onion rings in the world!

Lovely walk into Bristol and the surrounding areas which are all well worth a visit (Bedminster for its street art and Clifton for the bridge, etc. ).

It's not cheap but it's very convenient. It's not easy to book either but if it says online it's full give the site a ring and go onto their cancellation list if necessary, it works! We have been lucky enough to book for New Year 2018 again and another trip in May so can't wait to be back there.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stylus92 5 reviews from this member

This is a real gem! It is in the middle of Bristol docklands and because of this there is so much to do straight from the site. The docks themselves are a revelation and things such as the SS Great Britain, are only a short walk away.

In fact you don't need the car at all while you are here. The town centre is close at hand with all its facilities and shops and restaurants.

But the site itself is delightful. It is small and cosy, with immaculate facilitates and carefully laid out pitches, all immaculately kept. The toilet block is typical caravan club - immaculate.

If you are unsure about trying a site in the centre of Bristol, don't be. It really is a delight.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sundancekid2009 22 reviews from this member

Managed to phone for a 1 night booking, very nice site in the centre of Bristol. (quite expensive as a NON member of the carivan club)but worth it when there's no-where as close to Bristol centre where there's always a lot going on, we liked the idea of the 'boat' ride to the centre although getting back was touch & go. (the last boat is the last boat of the afternoon ) plus if you use the yellow/blue boat you have to return ( 4-00 each ) with them or pay again. The site was really tidy, toilets & showers fantastic. We're hoping to for a return booking at the end of November for a early Xmas party.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Keefysher 16 reviews from this member

This weekend our caravan took on the role of a City Centre apartment here at Baltic Wharf.

Apparently it is impossible to get a booking here looking at the CC online booking system. Must be all those non existent block bookers that cancel at a point after blocking out the bookings. Fortunately Christian & Anthony the wardens manage things very well and returned our call enquiring of availability a week earlier.

We towed through the City Centre from the M32 as opposed to the route in the handbook, during Friday afternoons rush hour. Fortunately the area is known to us, so being in the correct lane at the correct time made the journey a doddle. On our way out it took 5 minutes to clear the city centre to the M32.

An ideal site, meeting our needs to visit family and have friends drop in for a few drinks in the Cottage and after in the caravan. More cities need to embrace this kind of site here in the UK.

We prepared the caravan for departure them walked to the Brunel Buttery for bacon butties and coffee, sat in the sunshine watching the steam engine shunting in one direction, rowing boats and paddle boards in the other. Walked back through the door from the wharf, hitched up and on our way home.

A great site to visit Bristol.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wp1234 13 reviews from this member

Stayed here during the Balloon Festival weekend. Great location, nice staff but boy oh boy do you pay for it 81 for two night with three adults, This was for a gravel square ( no grass) that would really equate to a poor free French Aire experience - good to see rip off Britain is alive and well in Bristol.

Would I stay there again yes but only at half the price.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

Baltic Wharf Caravan Club site is in a fantastic position set on the side of the docks right in Bristol City centre, it's a very small, fairly cramped site with very little grass but it's very well maintained, the facilities are immaculate & the wardens efficient and friendly. The site entrance is directly off the road with no parking (so DO NOT TURN UP EARLY or you'll block the show) and you need make a tight swing in if approaching from the west (clfton direction) so follow the CC directions ! There is a gate which leads directly onto wharf where you can walk into the city centre or catch the water taxi in (CC members get concessionary rates) the Cottage Inn pub is next to the site and offers good food & real ale. The site is in a fantastic position for visiting all that this diverse city has to offer and although its central location is very quiet overnight ! It's a must visit place if you can manage to get booked on !

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

We love this CC site. An oasis within the city! Having thought it was due to close we were so pleased it has had a reprieve, although no one really knows for how long.

Easy to get to (if you follow the CC instructions in their handbook). Small but perfectly formed. Of course it's extremely popular so you have to book early. All hard standing pitches, mostly without awning, although they have larger pitches in the centre section (which we've always been lucky enough to book!). Small toilet/shower block always spotless and very functional. Undercover washing up area and bins/recycling in the same area.

You're given a key on pitching up for the 'back gate' which leads to the waterside and a front gate fob should you wish to come and go once locked at 8pm. Lovely pub next door to the site (Cottage Inn) although very popular and busy especially at weekends. Lovely walk along the waterside into the city, and what a city, it's great. We love Bristol. So much to see and do.

We have been lucky to book a pitch for the New Year celebrations later this year and cannot wait to be back at Baltic Wharf!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Richard19540 24 reviews from this member

Definitely the best site if you want to see Bristol. Well kept showers and loos etc but the real plus is the location. A BS1 postcode. Very close to the city centre. (About a 20 min walk) Definitely recommended.

Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1697 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019