Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Porth Beach Tourist Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Porth Beach Tourist Park > Reviews

Porth Beach Tourist Park
Porth
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR7 3NH
Tel: 01637 876 531
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 68 Reviews
                8/10 from 68 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Michelledavies 1 review from this member

 It was our first time to this campsite lovely and clean very quiet. Clean showers and toilets.

But very disappointed that itís dog friendly park but you couldnít take the dog on the beach between the hours of 09. 30/1800 hrs but the cove of either side you could.

But unless your quite fit person and like walking up steep hills you had to take the car then pay a min charge £4.50 to park the car.

The pitches were very spacious but only electric not fully serviced.

No park on site for children.

Myself personally I found it very expensive to stay here £446.00 for a week in our own caravan. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Dolphie 1 review from this member

 Just returned from this great site been there for many years now, love the proximity to the beach.

Newquay town is a 20 minute walk away, and great cliff walks to Watergate beach (good for the surfing) Brittish weather was Mixed. But that is expected.

***One point I would like to mention is that having booked this years holiday Last year (2020) we got it at 2020 prices, however looked into booking again for later this year (September) and found prices are over DOUBLE what we paid last September. (attempt to regain Covid losses??)*** 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Stellios 1 review from this member

 As a Family we have been visiting porth beach for 15 years, Great site Great Location just 100 Metres to the beach. Very helpful staff and very clean facilities.

This trip was unPlanned we just turned up and booked in on arrival.

The only reason that my rating of the site was not 10/10 all round is that the Prices for this year have been Hiked by 60% over 2020 prices. We paid £467 for our stay, whereas Last year 2020 in May we paid £281 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 21 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Diannadee 1 review from this member

 We love porth beach tourist park. Have done for the last 10yrs

Lovely family park,

Beach just across the road

Lovely flat pitches, very clean toilets, showers, laundry,

Security barriers, and the pub on the beach, the mermaid. Entertainment food and of cause drinks, what more could you wish for. Staff friendly and very helpful nothing too much trouble.

Newquay just a short way away, and a bus stop just out side the site. Wifi and a decent tv reception

Watergate, st mawgan, mawgan bay, st evel, go carting.

We give this park a 100/per cent. Will be there next year hopefully xxx. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in a great location, access to wondrous Beaches and walks.

Facilities are all modern and clean.

Downsides, no Motorhome Grey waste points I could get to but thatís minor.

The issue we had is there is nowhere to exercise Dogs. Nowhere on site, the empty car park signs said no and the Beach is not Dog friendly unless before 9 am and after 5 am. One Lady near us got a £100 fine as didnít see the no dog signs so be warned.

Otherwise a great site in a great location. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Muddyboots6 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 3 nights with a motorhome as part of a CCC Rally. The site is in a fantastic location right opposite the beautiful Porth Beach and is within easy walking distance of Newquay town.

Situated on the coast path there is a stunning walk in the opposite direction towards Watergate Bay, Mawgan Porth and beyond. We walked to Porthcothan and got the bus back. Bus stop right outside the site on the route Newquay/Padstow and buses from Newquay to just about anywhere else!

The pitch we had felt small with the neighbours (especially those behind) very close but I believe bigger pitches are available at higher prices which would be a good investment in high season.

The vast majority of the pitches are grass although there are some hard standings. There is no screening between and vehicles sited behind are very close. The site is large and maybe a little more imagination with the siting of the pitches would be a good idea. There is night security and entry barriers. There are also static caravans pitched to one side of the site.

There is no shop or entertainment area. Also no children's play area but with the beach opposite the children can play all day! None of this would deter us from visiting again. Although we don't take children and are always fully stocked with supplies.

The Mermaid pub over the road was very popular. We ate there and food was good. Its much nicer if you can get a seat in the main bar which is a lovely traditional pub area. There is a large open dining area too at the rear but we found it too noisy for us. Also in the village is a small tapas bar which we didn't visit.

The showers and toilets are spotless. I used the disabled shower without realising (there was no sign on the door but when I came out I realised it was much larger than the others). There is a shelf and pegs for clothing but nothing to place shampoo etc on in the cubicles which may be more of a problem for the disabled.

The push button control lasted 5 secs max before needing another push which was frustrating! A really lovely idea was the baby bath with shower attachment. Again everything spotless and looked very new.

I would definitely return (but not in the high season)as the site is in such a fantastic location but may think twice if I wanted more facilities or had children with me. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mark+lesley 9 reviews from this member

 Our last visit to this site was in 2010 and we were not happy about the shower blocks and how 'grubby' the floors were, well having visited in July 2017, some seven years later we have seen a fantastic improvement. It would appear that the site now have a dedicated cleaning team. As an early riser, 6. 30am it was pleasing to see the shower blocks being cleaned so early and this continued throughout the day, well into the early evening. So top marks to the site with regards to these improvements.

The site's main selling point is the beach which is quite literally over the road, unfortunately, for our week, we had one day on the beach due to the weather.

The pitches are graded on size to what you pay, rather than per person, which can work out cheaper with large family's and set ups.

One thing that we have always commented on is that with the amount of land that the site have, which I think covers the car parks, why not have more amenities, such as a shop. If they do own the land this could be expanded with an entertainment building/bar which serves food to compete with the Mermaid pub next to the beach ?

What we have also seen different is one side of the site lost to static caravans/lodges for hire, which from looking at the lack of cars parked at the side of them would suggest half of them were empty the week we were there.

Anyway from arriving with a fair amount of trepidation, we had a lovely week at Porth Beach (apart from the weather). 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daveswalking 1 review from this member

 This is the 5th July running we've stayed here so that gives you some idea of our impression of this site. On the plus side, it is across the road from the beach, a pub and just outside Newquay. It's ideally situated for going to most places in cornwall which are within an hours drive.

It has security at night, great shower block facilities and pitches to suit all sizes of unit from small two person tents to much bigger units.

A negative is that the prices have crept up over the years and the local shop closed a few years ago, meaning you have to get stuff in. Overall, I would rate it 8 out of 10. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maxt46 54 reviews from this member

 Ok this is a great site, very near a great beach (just across the road) toilets and showers were always clean and warm, so why not for us? We have 2 dogs and for some strange reason the site charges a ridiculous £4. 00 per night per dog and provide nothing for them not even a bin or dog walk.

So moan over, no shop, nothing for kids except the fabulous beach where by the way dogs are banned till October, the one saving grace for us was the pub across the road (The Mermaid) good food and beers dogs and children welcome lovely outside seating overlooking beach.

So not for us but area is really worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 173 reviews from this member

 We are regular visitors to this beautiful site right next to a stunning Cornish beach!

You can book online or by telephone or out of season just turn up, which is what we did this weekend. Plenty of choice of pitches even though they had 2 separate rallies going on.

OK it's not a cheap site, we paid £25 per night in May on grass with electric, 2 adults in a motorhome, but you get what you pay for. We did have a 'star' pitch, by the stream, which incurs and extra £1 per night.

Lots of bins and water points around the site. Excellent, clean toilet/shower block including a laundry and under cover washing up area.

Short walk to the beach with great pub (The Mermaid). Lovely walks along the coast path either into Newquay town/beaches or Watergate Bay straight from the site or there's a bus stop right outside the site if you're not able!

We had (as we always seem to do!) an Indian takeaway delivered to the site by the Maharaja Restaurant. Excellent as always.

We love it here and will continue to not only recommend it to our camping pals but to revisit time and time again ourselves! 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Porth Beach Tourist Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Porth Beach Tourist Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3336 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement