Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Moreton In Marsh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Moreton In Marsh Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Bourton Road
Moreton In Marsh
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL56 0BT
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 183
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 139 Reviews
                9/10 from 139 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  139 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bungle 8 reviews from this member

Opal 0313, I think weíve just met your friendly warden.

As has been said, you have to park across the front of the van on this site, something iím not fond of. Thatís all very well, but some of the pitches arenít long enough to do it.

Iíd been on site for 2 days and had to park on the grass down the side, that is usual on other sites, along with 2 other units in our row, if we hadnít, the road, which is very narrow anyway, would have been blocked. Along comes Mr Happy and starts telling me in a very forceful manner that I was told to go back to the hedge when I booked in. I wasnít!Three times I had to tell him this and he still wouldnít have it.

He then said I should go and park my car in the main car park! I asked him if he was going to speak to the others parked on the grass? He walked off saying Iíll leave you to move your car. 2 days later the other cars were still there.

Iím not an habitual rule breaker, but when Iíve paid for a pitch with an awning that's what I expect to get.

And at £175 for 3 adults its getting very expensive.

I think theyíve put too many pitches in, had they used the bigger area hardstandings found on other sites it would be a better site.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Opal0313 23 reviews from this member

Arrived to a unfriendly welcome. Alright it was the first bank holiday weekend of the year and a lot of people were arriving but it would have been nice just to have a friendly smile.

The wardens who booked us in was miserable not a smile at all and gave us a list of dos and don'ts. One being make sure the car was parked across the front of the caravan & awning NOT on the grass at the side of the caravan.

A man booked me in while a lady booked in my friend. We felt these were a couple who you could not share a joke with.

We found a pitch that was nicely in the sun as there are a lot of trees on this site so a lot of shaded pitches. The pitches are not wide and you have to put your caravan in the hedge bottom at the back in order to put your car across the front.

As with all CMC sites you find a pitch then you go back to reception to let them know the pitch no you are on and in some cases receive a barrier card. Thankfully it was another lady who was in reception and she was totally the opposite. Cheerful and lovely and friendly and was someone you could laugh with.

The site is quite a large one and within 10 mins walk to Moreton-in-Marsh which has pubs shops and a couple of supermarkets. Plenty to do in the area as it was a hot weekend we didn't go to far just a couple of walks.

Our party had another encounter with the unfriendly warden when we went to the toilet block while it was been cleaned. We asked if there anywhere else to go and he rudely shook the closed sign that was on a chain across the doorway.

Finally as we left for home after a lovely weekend our favourite warden just walked passed our outfits as we were leaving through the barrier, no goodbye thanks for coming have a safe journey, nothing said at all which made us smile.

We liked this site and would return after all once your booked in you don't see much of the wardens. Just thought this poor man is in a job he hates and was having a bad weekend.
via mobile

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 214 reviews from this member

This is really just an update to a previous review.

This site now has 10 Pods available for hire, newly opened this year. One of the motorhome service points is currently being converted to and open grill.

Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Michael Jones 2 reviews from this member

Excellent CC site just a short walk from the town.

It's a very popular site, so book early! Easy, friendly check in and a decent choice of pitches Great size pitches in various sections. All spotless as with all CC sites.

Mobile chip van that visits is called the StarChipEnterprise and really the best weíve ever tasted thanks Wayne and Alex.

Booking our next visit for when there there again, details in reception

Great place short walk in to town lovely Cotswold tea rooms cafes restaurants and beautiful old bars and inns Black Bear being my favourite for local ales and footy on telly canít wait for the next visit in Spring.

Highly recommended.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Choc 13 reviews from this member

What a lovely well run site and central to everything you want to do and all within a 20 mile region, castles, quaint villages, gardens, Zoo and a wildlife park all within 25 mins drive.

My only niggle was when we arrived we were told to find a pitch and let them know what number it was, as it was a Sunday we had a good choice to pick from and was even told if you like the sun these are the best pitches so of course we went for the sunny pitches, set up and put the awning up and chilled,

On Monday morning we were woken at 8. 15am with the workers who was working behind us, building what looked like log cabins, machines, diggers, grinders, saws going you name it we had it but of course didn't know this as there was 6 foot hedge between us, if you want a site day don't go where they are building works are but as we were out about all day and wasn't getting back till 5pm the builders had finished, would of been nice if someone from the site had told us this,

But overall the site is perfect and will definitely return as it is so close to everything you need on a holiday.

Moreton is lovely and a 10min walk gets you to the train station and we went to Oxford for the day which was £10 return brilliant well worth a visit. Budgens, Tesco and a co-op and a Market every Tuesday. Dog Friendly it has everything.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mogadon69 15 reviews from this member

Our third visit to this site, at different times of year, previously Easter and November, it was lovely to see the site at the height of summer.

Access to the site is very easy, being at the side of the A44, and a few minutes from the town centre. Moreton in Marsh is a lovely little town with a good outdoor market on Tuesdays and an abundance of pubs and eateries, a Tesco express, a small co-op, Budgens and Aldi, as well as independent shops

It is a relatively large site, laid out in two distinct areas, one side is very open, while the other is sheltered by mature trees, we chose the latter for this visit and were glad we had, as the weather was hot and sunny all week and the van kept fairly cool under the shade. Pitches are mainly hardstanding, with a few grass pitching areas in and among, all have EHU and TV connection.

Facilities are the usual CMC standard, very clean throughout our stay, and the blocks are modern and well lit with plenty of room in the shower cubicles. Ample dishwashing facilities. There is a separate disabled block with easy access.

As others have said, a fish and chip van and pizza van visit the site on different nights, the pizza we had was lovely if a little expensive, we didn't try the fish and chips but they smelled delicious.

There is lots to do in the surrounding area, several NT properties to explore, Batsford Arboretum, Cotswold Wildlife Park, Broadway Tower, and many, many delightful villages and towns, all worth a visit if you have the time.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jadsett 44 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to this site and it never disappoints. We stayed for 6 nights and used it as a base for trips out by train and bus.

The site is quite busy but pitches are well spaced out and offer a good choice of sunny or shady. The facilities are well maintained and kept well up to the standard that we've come to expect from CAMC. The site is visited by a fish and chip van and a mobile pizza oven. I can recommend the pizzas

The site is 10 minutes walk from the town centre and a further 10 minutes to the train station. That offers hourly services to Oxford in one direction and Worcester and beyond the other way. We had days out in Oxford, Worcester and Evesham. There are also bus services to Broadway, Stratford, Cheltenham and Bourton in the Water. We visited Bourton, which was delightful

When in Moreton we make a point of having a meal at Marshmallow, which offers excellent food although labelling itself as a 'tea room'. We also had a good meal at the Bell

Other 'not to be missed' features of the town are the Victoria Coffee House and the Tuesday market

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

Lovely CMC site on the outskirts of Moreton-in-Marsh town.

Friendly wardens and nice easy check in. The site is always busy but we had a decent choice of pitches as it is spread out fairly well.

Good clean facilities on site (2 blocks) and plenty of bins, water, waste, etc.

Easy walk (5 minutes) into town - which seems to have got a lot busier (traffic-wise) since we last visited a few years ago.

Lots of pubs/restaurants/cafes/tearooms to choose from and quirky shops with some high street shops. Tesco Metro, small Co-Op and larger Budgens for any supplies required.

The weekly Tuesday market is great. Regular buses to/from Stratford-upon-Avon & Bourton-on-the-Water from outside the site and/or town. We went to Bourton and paid £4 return each - not bad for the distance.

We also walked from the site to Batsford (1. 5 miles each way across fields) where there's an arboretum with garden centre and cafe and the Cotswold Falconry Centre next door. 10% discount for CMC cardholders for the arboretum and the falconry centre offer a 2 to 1. We would highly recommend the falconry centre.

Best pub in Moreton is the Black Bear, great food and good ale & cider (not overpriced like the majority of them!).

Lovely Indian restaurant too - The Spice Room, just off the main high street.

Looking forward to returning to Moreton in the next few years.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jaydreamers 38 reviews from this member

Have not been back here for nearly seven years, don`t know why because it is a vey nice C&MC site well laid out with two very clean toilet blocks, friendly wardens and it is only a 10 minute walk to the town.

Plenty of drinking and eating places in the town. Can highly recommend Hassan Balti India restaurant in the High Street. The site is visited by a fish and chip van and a mobile Pizza Oven on different evenings and we can recommend both.

There is a market on Tuesdays in the Market Square selling a wide variety of goods.

Site was quite muddy but we have had an abnormal amount of rain.

There are many places of interest within a short drive Burford, Bourton-on-the-Water, Batsford arboretum to name just a few.

There are several supermarkets within easy reach of the site, some on foot or a short drive.

All in all this is a very nice site in a lovely location and well worth visiting all year round.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mafield01 3 reviews from this member

What a pleasant site this is to stay on, extremely clean and well kept, with very accommodating wardens. This is our 3rd visit, and have to say one of our favourite sites.

Only downside of club sites is they are getting expensive, especially in school holiday times, and our stay was the week following Easter. Outside of school holidays, it is good value for money.

Previous     139 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2683 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019