Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Primrose Valley Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Filey > Primrose Valley Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) Reviews

Primrose Valley Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)
Primrose Valley
Filey
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 9RF
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 04/07/2020 to 30/11/2020
           01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 57 Reviews
                6/10 from 57 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Median 17 reviews from this member

 I wouldn't rush back to this site. While I'm certain that some will really like it it just wasn't for me, we used it as a family member had booked a static on the main site.

The pitches are quite close together and the space for your awning, or the space where you would sit outside, is just brown earth. The grass here had long since gone due to groundsheets. The pitches are also close to the road so there is an amount of road noise. The shower block is adequate and kept clean. Water, waste and electricity are all on pitch so if you have the right pipes etc you can set it up as a serviced pitch.

While the site is close to the beach it is quite big and the touring pitches are farthest away from it, expect a long walk. The beach is good though and the walk to Filey very enjoyable.

The activities on site may be a draw for some however we didn't use them. Except the pool(s) which were crowded with not enough changing facilities.

Warden was visible on the day we arrived and the day we left - to remind us we were due to leave!

Overall I wasn't impressed - although I suspect others may disagree. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hartcaravan 4 reviews from this member

 We were at this site for 7 days. Very clean site and touring warden very good always doing something. Only gripe is where you put your awning is mud on some of pitches other pitches are full gravel all pitches should be like that. Toilet block spotless and always clean showers also tidy and hot but have to use a push button. Its a 10 minute walk to main complex and very pricey but has plenty facilities t00 keep kids busy. Swimming pools also good. The site is next to main road to hull so can be noisy at peak times but not that bad all in all a nice clean friendly site will be back 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hath 9 reviews from this member

 This was a last minute booking for four nights and the cost was spot on £36 for a hard standing with electric and grey waste, I know the weather cant be helped but we could not use our awning due to the mud were the grass should have been some other pitches have already had gravel put down to put your awning on I think its about time all had this done, and why when you have purpose built hard standing they cant make them flat. Check in was quick and the young lad very helpful, plenty on site even if end of year, toilets and showers were clean and tidy though a little dark a brighter paint would have lightened everything up. It was very dark in the touring area were we were with no lights at all I didn't feel happy with letting her indoors walking round to the shower/toilet block on a evening due to the lack of light 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jubilee1949 13 reviews from this member

 This is the worse sight I have ever been to. Muddy were the awning should go so you are treading it in your van the grass on other side wet and muddy leading to tap and electric hook up. No lighting at night time only place lit up was rubbish bins and toilet block been to haven sites all over never complained before. We arrived about 1-30 book in time from 12-00 no one to meet us note on hut saying go to main road hut so I when only to find this empty to so back to barrier were warden had suddenly appeared to tell us we're to go but to take our time as the people before us had not left yet should have been off for 10-00 so why still there tells its own story no one seemed to bother. All in all not a good place to go. The only plus was the lady who cleaned toilet block twice a day she seemed to be the only one working on touring site never so any security people in 4days could not recommend 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pac1974 11 reviews from this member

 Just spent 10 nights at Primrose Valley its a site we visit often, the site is usually spot on but on this time it was below the normal, the touring warden seen to be on days off more than he was there and the time he was there he was just sat in his hut, there was more litter left around the site.

The rest off the site was good my 2 yr old loved it we spent a few night in the main complex watching the shows and after coming to haven sites for a few years we managed to win on the bingo so I had a happy 2 yr old with a large teddy.

Food at the mash and barrel was good and service was quick even at the weekend.

Still a good site to visit 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PostieKev 9 reviews from this member

 My family stayed on this site for my anniversary weekend and had a wonderful time. Located 5min drive from Filey, 10 mins from Bridlington and only 15 from Scarborough. But we were only there for the weekend so did not leave the site as the facilities are amazing! Near the touring area there is a swimming pool, sports bar, go karting, boating lake, laser quest, park and fun fair. {I might of missed stuff out but you get the idea} But 10 min walk into the site {touring area is just off main rd} there is shop, starbucks, several places to eat, amusements, another swimming pool and a couple of entertainment bars. We stayed at lots of Haven sites and this is the best site we've every been to. The only problem is that the touring area only has 'super electric pitches' so no cheaper pitches or tents. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kiwiislander 14 reviews from this member

 The touring area was roomy and nice and dry on our visit, no mud, but it had been good weather for a while. Plenty of room for awning etc, , and allocated pitches, which is great when you have a motorhome - no worries about driving off for the day and having your pitch 'pinched' on your return. Also allocated parking spots - again, great, because we have been to other sites where others have brought three and four cars with them and think its OK to park in front of a motorhome (its not) Toilets & showers clean, warm and plenty of them. Heck of a long walk to the main complex for little ones, although there was a swimming pool and fairground quite near the touring areas, with quad bikes, go carts and boats nearby too. There is also a small bar there, but it closed at 9pm on a Friday night in the school holidays, even though the signs clearly said it was open til 11pm. There were LOADS of empty spaces, at the weekend in the main school holidays - but at £64 per night, its ridiculously overpriced - I think Haven are in danger of outpricing themselves - especially as everything else is also very expensive - drinks, activities etc. Maybe they don't want tourers ? We won't be goin g again, there's loads of lovely sites out there at a third of this price. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kevinboy 10 reviews from this member

 Never again like others have already intimated. But firstly for some positives - The site itself is lively with some excellent entertainment during our stay and can’t fault this side of the park, the static area called the “lakes” looked absolutely fantastic along with the other 5 star areas on the park. The site has 2 swimming pools which we visited on several occasions, nice and clean with water walkers and other water sports available at extra charge, the fun fair again extra charge, quad biking at extra charge, pedal boats at extra charge, motorized boats, fishing, bouncy castles you guessed it all at extra charge. The site has its own golf course which looks nice from a distance but that’s not for the general public and for the static owners only, the Spar shop was well stocked and surprisingly affordable with good deals to be had. Eating out you had Fish and chips, lovely papa john’s Pizza, the Mash n Barrel restaurant all reasonably priced with Carvery on a Sunday and breakfast for a few quid.

Now for some Touring info – Check in is a wooden hut next to the old static caravan reject area which had trucks, tractors and static caravan movements most days, the touring site itself was unkept with overgrown weeds, bushes and trees. The grass was unkept (where there was grass) with litter laying around. The drains stank at the “European standard super pitches” but did have electric and water around 20ft from the van. The 1 refuse bin area was over grown, overflowing and pests flying around just to make the dumping of rubbish interesting. The lighting from the tennis court up through a lane to the touring site is non-existent and don’t recommend any children or women walking around there on their own at night. The toilets had broken door locks both on the outside door and inside, the toilet attendant did try to do a good job but people don’t treat this place with respect with mess in the toilets, vomit in the shower and people leaving shavings in the sinks which I feel is unacceptable and these type of people should be banned from going out in public! The site is very secluded and out of sight - out of mind seems to be the way forward. 


Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ColonelConkers 4 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site at various times of the year and this time it was the last week of the season. NEVER AGAIN!

On arrival we were given our allocated pitch number, only to find a caravan pitched up there. We went back to tell the warden who said we could choose another pitch. Every pitch we looked at was a complete mud bath and full of puddles. There is a hard standing concrete area for your unit, but to reach the bollard where you have your electric hook up and and fresh water you had to make your way through mud and puddles (good job I took my wellies).

There were lots of complaints and a lot of disgruntled campers.

On the plus side all facilities were open and hats off to the lady who kept the toilet block extremely clean. She was there twice a day, mopping and cleaning, which must have been difficult due to all the muddy feet walking in and out of there. The toilet block was always lovely and warm due to the underfloor heating and plenty of hot water, never had to queue for a shower.

The outdoor wash up area has been updated, but this could do with a bin for people to put there waste instead of leaving it in the bottom of the sinks.

This site is in a really good location, it is only a 25 min walk along the beach to Filey, and probably 35 mins along the cliff top. There are two bus stops on the site, where you can catch the bus to Scarborough or Bridlington.

The Spar shop on site is well stocked and normal Spar prices, some bargains to be had.

The touring pitches would be far improved if the awning area was gravelled. It was no fun getting covered in mud everytime you needed to fill up with fresh water.

I would have given this park 10 out of 10, but the pitches really let it down. The park needs to spend a bit of money gravelling those pitches. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Bluey100rabbit 5 reviews from this member

 We have just come home from a Sun newspaper holiday at Primrose Valley. We have done a few holidays this way and have always been impressed.

We arrived earlier than our scheduled check in but our caravan was ready, the check in staff were helpful and directed us using the map as it is a huge sight. Our caravan was just a standard one and was clean and tidy with all the beds made. Unfortunately the air vent in our roof was leaking due to rain I rang reception who said that they couldn't do anything about it as a vent is health and safety required, I insisted someone came to check it out as the floor was slippery to both us and our toddler daughter. Maintenance came out quick but only left us with blue roll to mop it up. No alternative was offered to us or apology. Luckily we had little rain till we were leaving so didn't turn out to be a problem. My husband said they must been aware of it as it looks like it had been sealed recently.

The park was clean and tidy with lots of choice of food, drink, activities although the fun fair didn't open until our 4th day and lots of things did appear closed-maybe as it was only a Monday to Friday trip.

The entertainment for children was fantastic although it was very busy and we had to get in extremely early to get a seat. There seemed to be far too many people with only the one bar for entertaining- we couldn't leave our seats because as soon as we moved people were trying to take them from under us.

The location was nice with quite a walk to the beach, there was a big hill to go down and not very practical for some to manage. We walked along the beach into Filey and sat building sandcastles.

Over all we would go again but earlier on or later on in the year so that we can take advantage of the facilities and not have up queue for everything. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Primrose Valley Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Primrose Valley Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Primrose Valley Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Primrose Valley Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Filey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1655 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December