Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Longnor Wood Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Longnor Wood Holiday Park Reviews

Longnor Wood Holiday Park
Newtown
Longnor
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 0NG
Tel: 01298 83648
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 47
Open: 01/03 To 10/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 159 Reviews
                9/10 from 159 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  159 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: GMC1958 39 reviews from this member

Very impressed with the friendly reception that we received on arrival.

Our fully serviced pitch was spacious. The toilet block was immaculate and spacious.

The site was very clean and tidy. A very peaceful and pleasurable site.
via mobile

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JAM14 2 reviews from this member

Enjoyed a long weekend at Longnor Wood (Adults only)

We received a warm welcome from staff and were shown to our pitch. The site itself is very well kept, clean and tidy. The showers and toilets were clean and very warm

There is a very large field for dog walking and a doggie shower, with warm water, which we used each day

The campsite is approximately a mile from the village of Longnor which is an easy walk along the road

There was a nice pub, tea rooms and a chip shop open on Saturday lunchtime when we visited

I would certainly recommend this campsite as there was nothing we disliked

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bob thomas 9 reviews from this member

We stayed here fifteen years ago, and with massive investment its moved on massively. The location for us was fine, with Buxton 20 min drive away. The toilet area is spotless, not many toilets or showers but with a lot off self contained plots ie pods and chalets it was not a issue. Nearly every plot is hard standing so not so tent friendly and we felt we were positioned tucked away in the corner, which was fine by us. No kids, nice and quiet so we were happy. Just felt that in a couple of years there will be no tents allowed which would be a shame.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gpjw 11 reviews from this member

Nice site in rural area with lovely views from outside the actual site. Staff helpful and friendly. Great service provided to nearby pubs. Toilet block very clean and good showers. Easy to travel to lovely Bakewell and other places. However, went there as it is an adult only site and for the peace and quiet, but sadly and annoyingly it was disturbed by 3 sets of selfish neighbours who had dogs continually barking! What a shame! Owners really should discourage this as it would otherwise be a pretty perfect site.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Waggyfromderby 34 reviews from this member

Its a good site, but water don't drain away properly in showers so the changing area always has a wet floor. They charge too much for Broadband unless you are on pitch 17 which is next to the office so you can use theirs for free. Great dog walking area with fantastic views - much better than those from the site itself. But oh - how Longnor has gone downhill. 4 pubs and only one open and that had a temporary landlord. The ale was not good. Try instead The Pack Horse at Crowdicote another mile out of Longnor, friendly, good home cooked food, good ale.

There is another local pub, the Winking Man at Upper Hulme, which picks up and takes campers from the campsite for a meal and food but dogs are not allowed and 70% of campers have dogs. Talk about shooting yourself in the foot. Honestly I use the other Adults Only campsite Cloverfields at Harpur Hill, A few miles away.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maxxi 5 reviews from this member

Spent 1 week here from 10th until 17th July 2016 in a tent on the camping field.

On arrival we were met by a lovely member of staff who showed us a choice of 2 pitches, one behind an hard standing on the caravan side and one on the camping pitch, we initially choose the caravan side but was way too small for our tent so had the camping field pitch instead.

We were asked not to pitch on the previous tents pitch area because it needed drying out, bearing in mind that these pitches are only 6x6m, we pitched half on and half off. We were right up to the next pitch, leaving no space for the car, saying that even with being pitched over the previous tents pitching there would of ben very little room for the car.

The pitch itself was very slopey and we had to use cardboard under furniture etc to get a level which was very annoying. You also felt sea sick at times it was that bad.

The camping field was unlit at night which meant torches are a must unlike the caravan side, I would advice using lights near guy ropes too for passers by.

The on site shop closed at 5pm and only sold a very small amount of goods, the washer and dryer is located in the reception area so you could only use it up until 3:30 pm allowing for the cycle to finish which was unacceptable for such a large site.

There is 3 male showers, 3 toilets, 2 urinals and 2 sinks in the gents area, the so called privacy rooms were impossible to wash in, the sinks were only hand washing sinks, the info states you can wash in them in privacy. Showers cubicles could do with being larger, easy to get dry cloths wet. Only having 2 sinks made washing difficult and the 2 urinals too close together. The cleaning of the area could of been a lot better, very smelly of stale urine.

The pitches are too close together and the field in my opinion is too small for 13 pitches.

We would not stop on this site again nor would we recommend it to other campers (this review only on camping not caravanning).

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eclectus 30 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site! almost don't want to leave a review because I would like to keep it for myself.

Just spent Easter at Longnor Wood- a last minute booking (and I was surprised I could get in) but I was so delighted when I arrived and overwhelmed by the outstanding beauty of the setting, absolutely stunning scenery and only an hour or so drive from home.

Approach road from Longnor itself was a little bit scary, but only because I didn't know the area. (don't let sat nav guide you to this site). It is a little remote but not too far from any local services and supermarkets etc. The approach to the site is via a single lane with passing places then heading up a steep hill to the site entrance.

We were very welcomed upon arrival and guided to our pitch and set up very quickly. We were given a guided tour o the facilities and advised to call at reception if further help needed.

The weather was very temperamental, but if you let the weather stop you doing anything or going anywhere you would never go out. I think we experienced every type of weather possible that weekend, but it was fun.

Toilet block kept very clean and tidy, easily accessible. Putting green, boules area and badminton on site. Small tourist information hut. Small shop selling fresh eggs and the basics on site also.

We had 2 dogs with us and they had a wonderful time to. A meadow at the entranced served as a dog area and the dogs loved especially with the bunnies everywhere.

We visited buxton and Hartington whilst there. We also spent time in 'Poole's' cavern (highly recommended)

Overall had a fantastic weekend even though the weather was poor. The site was one of the best I have been to, why I have never been before I do not know. A definite return visit will be planned

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wildvoice 17 reviews from this member

Stayed for a weekend break during November, the weather was not the best which made the ground around the pitch quite soft, the pitch would probably benefit if it was more hardstanding with less grass, our pitch had water and electric but no waste. Upon arrival we were met by the wardens who where very helpful and cheerful, the male warden showed us to our pitch and explained what was around and about. The shower block was clean and tidy with plenty of hot water and was not one of those dreadful push buttons, the site offered free wifi in reception but was £7. 50 for 3 days if required. The only disappointment was that as you enter the site you drive through beautiful scenery but when pitched up there are no views what so ever, great shame!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bowyer 19 reviews from this member

We had a lovely welcome and was shown to our pitch, which was on a slight slope; easily sorted by our ramps. We were on pitch 19 close to the modern, clean toilet block; which was not a problem as the site is adult only (peace and quiet) and very well run.

There's an information hut with sports equipment (badminton, golf putting clubs and boules)shelf of books and video CDs. The shop is within the reception area and all the staff are friendly and helpful.

The site is great for walking and we walked to Buxton and bused it back to Longnor. Whilst mentioning Longnor I should make an important comment on the 'Ye Old Cheshire Cheese Inn', who, if you telephone them will pick you up from the site; we though walked to the pub (not along an over busy road) distance 1. 6mls to a fab Sunday lunch; their staff are very amenable and it has a great atmosphere. The camp site, pub and area in general is highly recommended. WE intend to return!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cbrpilot 14 reviews from this member

Better late than never, we submitted this review in Jan 2015.

We stayed at Longnor Wood for our second time, again to coincide with the Annual Buxton Carnival and Fringe. Again we were made to feel at home by the site owners and the wardens, they really are such very nice friendly helpful people, they always have time for a chat.

With the site being so highly manicured and cared for there really aren't any faults to find. The pitches are spacious and well appointed and the surrounding area is just a joy to relax in. Again we toured the whole area and revisited places from our previous visit (see our review dated July 2013).

we really can't praise Longnor Wood enough and booked for 2015 before we left, such is our love for the site and area.

Previous     159 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5135 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019