Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Longnor Wood Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Longnor Wood Holiday Park Reviews

Longnor Wood Holiday Park
Newtown
Longnor
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 0NG
Tel: 01298 83648
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 47
Open: 01/03/2021 to 10/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 161 Reviews
                9/10 from 161 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 31+ Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: EribaAdventurer 4 reviews from this member

 Location

The site is very peaceful, and very remote. There aren't any views from the pitches as the site is surrounded by trees to protect it from the wind as it is on a hill (many an awning lost). Its 1. 5 miles from the nearest village, where there is 1 pub, small shop, cafe and chip shop. The walk is either by a fast road, or a slightly longer walk over fields which isn't that pleasant as its very boggy after rain, and fields are full of cattle. As the site is on a hill, its a long haul back (no buses or taxis in this neck of the woods).

Facilities

There is a small shop on site in the reception. But it only opens 9 - 5 with an hour for lunch. It only has the essentials like beans and chocolate. Don't expect local produce.

Toilets and showers are clean, but the recent revamp has made them very cramped for space.

There is a dog wash which is a nice touch, but the hot water rarely works, and I don't like to wash my dogs in freezing cold water.

Phone reception is hit and miss depending on your provider. The site does have WiFi, but at an additional cost.

Dog walk - amazing! But let down by the many owners who don't pick up after their dogs (check your shoes before getting in your accommodation).

Local walks - unfortunately there are very few walks from the site. As previously mentioned, the longnor walk is more of a chore than a pleasure. The walks around the lanes from the site are OK, but they are roads at the end of the day.

Log cabins

Tourers and tents aren't that close to the log cabins so you may miss out on the fights in the hot tubs.

Recycling

In this day and age you would think that campsites would be keen on Recycling. There is 1 bin for recycling, and 3 for general waste. The recycle bin fills up quick, so majority is just put in general waste.

Cost

Having toured for many years prior, I think the price is on the high side. Whilst the site is pleasant, its remoteness, lack of provisions in the shop and its short opening times would make me think twice before staying here.

I knew the location of the site so its remoteness didn't faze me, but I bumped into so many weekend campers expecting a village or pub within easy walking distance. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Philip 22 32 reviews from this member

 We Stayed Here for 4nights and thought the park was quiet & Tranquil as promised.

We were personally shown to our Hardstanding Service Pitch where we were given a brief description of the Facilities and advice Local Places to eat and explore.

All staff were friendly and helpful

Good access to dog field.

Would have like a Disabled Shower Room & Toilet this would have been a bonus 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: GMC1958 42 reviews from this member

 Very impressed with the friendly reception that we received on arrival.

Our fully serviced pitch was spacious. The toilet block was immaculate and spacious.

The site was very clean and tidy. A very peaceful and pleasurable site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JAM14 2 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed a long weekend at Longnor Wood (Adults only)

We received a warm welcome from staff and were shown to our pitch. The site itself is very well kept, clean and tidy. The showers and toilets were clean and very warm

There is a very large field for dog walking and a doggie shower, with warm water, which we used each day

The campsite is approximately a mile from the village of Longnor which is an easy walk along the road

There was a nice pub, tea rooms and a chip shop open on Saturday lunchtime when we visited

I would certainly recommend this campsite as there was nothing we disliked 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bob thomas 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed here fifteen years ago, and with massive investment its moved on massively. The location for us was fine, with Buxton 20 min drive away. The toilet area is spotless, not many toilets or showers but with a lot off self contained plots ie pods and chalets it was not a issue. Nearly every plot is hard standing so not so tent friendly and we felt we were positioned tucked away in the corner, which was fine by us. No kids, nice and quiet so we were happy. Just felt that in a couple of years there will be no tents allowed which would be a shame. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gpjw 12 reviews from this member

 Nice site in rural area with lovely views from outside the actual site. Staff helpful and friendly. Great service provided to nearby pubs. Toilet block very clean and good showers. Easy to travel to lovely Bakewell and other places. However, went there as it is an adult only site and for the peace and quiet, but sadly and annoyingly it was disturbed by 3 sets of selfish neighbours who had dogs continually barking! What a shame! Owners really should discourage this as it would otherwise be a pretty perfect site. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Waggyfromderby 37 reviews from this member

 Its a good site, but water don't drain away properly in showers so the changing area always has a wet floor. They charge too much for Broadband unless you are on pitch 17 which is next to the office so you can use theirs for free. Great dog walking area with fantastic views - much better than those from the site itself. But oh - how Longnor has gone downhill. 4 pubs and only one open and that had a temporary landlord. The ale was not good. Try instead The Pack Horse at Crowdicote another mile out of Longnor, friendly, good home cooked food, good ale.

There is another local pub, the Winking Man at Upper Hulme, which picks up and takes campers from the campsite for a meal and food but dogs are not allowed and 70% of campers have dogs. Talk about shooting yourself in the foot. Honestly I use the other Adults Only campsite Cloverfields at Harpur Hill, A few miles away. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maxxi 5 reviews from this member

 Spent 1 week here from 10th until 17th July 2016 in a tent on the camping field.

On arrival we were met by a lovely member of staff who showed us a choice of 2 pitches, one behind an hard standing on the caravan side and one on the camping pitch, we initially choose the caravan side but was way too small for our tent so had the camping field pitch instead.

We were asked not to pitch on the previous tents pitch area because it needed drying out, bearing in mind that these pitches are only 6x6m, we pitched half on and half off. We were right up to the next pitch, leaving no space for the car, saying that even with being pitched over the previous tents pitching there would of ben very little room for the car.

The pitch itself was very slopey and we had to use cardboard under furniture etc to get a level which was very annoying. You also felt sea sick at times it was that bad.

The camping field was unlit at night which meant torches are a must unlike the caravan side, I would advice using lights near guy ropes too for passers by.

The on site shop closed at 5pm and only sold a very small amount of goods, the washer and dryer is located in the reception area so you could only use it up until 3:30 pm allowing for the cycle to finish which was unacceptable for such a large site.

There is 3 male showers, 3 toilets, 2 urinals and 2 sinks in the gents area, the so called privacy rooms were impossible to wash in, the sinks were only hand washing sinks, the info states you can wash in them in privacy. Showers cubicles could do with being larger, easy to get dry cloths wet. Only having 2 sinks made washing difficult and the 2 urinals too close together. The cleaning of the area could of been a lot better, very smelly of stale urine.

The pitches are too close together and the field in my opinion is too small for 13 pitches.

We would not stop on this site again nor would we recommend it to other campers (this review only on camping not caravanning). 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eclectus 31 reviews from this member

 What a beautiful site! almost don't want to leave a review because I would like to keep it for myself.

Just spent Easter at Longnor Wood- a last minute booking (and I was surprised I could get in) but I was so delighted when I arrived and overwhelmed by the outstanding beauty of the setting, absolutely stunning scenery and only an hour or so drive from home.

Approach road from Longnor itself was a little bit scary, but only because I didn't know the area. (don't let sat nav guide you to this site). It is a little remote but not too far from any local services and supermarkets etc. The approach to the site is via a single lane with passing places then heading up a steep hill to the site entrance.

We were very welcomed upon arrival and guided to our pitch and set up very quickly. We were given a guided tour o the facilities and advised to call at reception if further help needed.

The weather was very temperamental, but if you let the weather stop you doing anything or going anywhere you would never go out. I think we experienced every type of weather possible that weekend, but it was fun.

Toilet block kept very clean and tidy, easily accessible. Putting green, boules area and badminton on site. Small tourist information hut. Small shop selling fresh eggs and the basics on site also.

We had 2 dogs with us and they had a wonderful time to. A meadow at the entranced served as a dog area and the dogs loved especially with the bunnies everywhere.

We visited buxton and Hartington whilst there. We also spent time in 'Poole's' cavern (highly recommended)

Overall had a fantastic weekend even though the weather was poor. The site was one of the best I have been to, why I have never been before I do not know. A definite return visit will be planned 


Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wildvoice 20 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a weekend break during November, the weather was not the best which made the ground around the pitch quite soft, the pitch would probably benefit if it was more hardstanding with less grass, our pitch had water and electric but no waste. Upon arrival we were met by the wardens who where very helpful and cheerful, the male warden showed us to our pitch and explained what was around and about. The shower block was clean and tidy with plenty of hot water and was not one of those dreadful push buttons, the site offered free wifi in reception but was 7. 50 for 3 days if required. The only disappointment was that as you enter the site you drive through beautiful scenery but when pitched up there are no views what so ever, great shame! 


Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Longnor Wood Holiday Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Longnor Wood Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Longnor Wood Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Buxton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3257 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement