Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of John O Groats Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > John O Groats > John O Groats Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

John O Groats Caravan And Camping Site
John O Groats
John O Groats
Highlands   (Browse area)
KW1 4YR
Tel: 01955 611329
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 90
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 43 Reviews
                9/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tony Stanway 4 reviews from this member

This was the last night if my End to End solo bike tour. Being so close the the end I was expecting a premium price. 8. 50 was one of the cheapest nights I had on the whole trip.

I set up close to the fence, as close to the sea as I could in view of the Post.

John O ' Groats has had a bit of a revival since the North Coast 500, cafes gift shop and a nice make over. Nowhere near as commercial as Lands End but just enough to be welcoming.

Great shower facilities, good welcome and fantastic views.

Highly recommended.
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Matt4666 11 reviews from this member

This campsite is the first and last campsite if you are dojng then JOGEL or LEJOG challenge. Situated in the heart of the village right next to the Pentland Firth, with stunning views over to the Orkney's, and an abundance of wildlife to boot.

The site has two types of pitches hardstanding and grass. I stayed on a grass pitch in a tent, and finding a flat spot was a bit of a challenge here to be honest, but the owner is fairly relaxed where you pitch so it isn't a real issue.

You get a key for the shower block, which is good considering the close proximity to the harbour, the shower block is modern and very clean, and the showers are perfect after a hard days traveling. In between the male and female showers is the washing up area, which again is spotless and has a coin fed washing machine and tumble dryer, ideal this far north.

For those interested in wildlife of the end to end challenge this is a nice site to stay at.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Welshone 4 reviews from this member

This is a busy little site but very very nice. The owners were extremely helpful with info from good walks to lending me some washline pegs. The pitch was level, grandstanding with grass to one side. Me and the dogs loved it here.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikro 21 reviews from this member

What a position! Great views to the Orkneys across Pentland Firth. Whoever said there's no reason to stay more than 1 night missed a treat by not walking out to Duncansby Head & Stacks. We were lucky enough to see a Puffin. Facilities excellent and clean, lady who greeted us very friendly and helpful, allowed us to check in at 10 a m. Could do with a key each for the facilities though.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stevepluschris 6 reviews from this member

Probably one of the most envied camp site locations ever. Right at the top of Scotland in the village of John o' Groats. The site is adequate for the night you will spend there, there is no need to stay longer. You will marvel at the views of the Orkneys if you are lucky! have a wander around the rip off priced gift shops in the village, not eat in any of the equally expensive eateries and have your photo taken at the most famous road sign in the uk! Job done. The site has a vast toilet block with showers you could hold a dance in, a bit old and cold (a bit of heating for the 20 fee would have been nice) but spotlessly clean. Very friendly welcome from the owners, 16amp power, lots of water points. TV reception A1 mobile reception too. Wifi compliments (at a cost) of Highland Public Wifi. And that's it. You can say you been there but you are unlikely to go back. All in all a must visit----once!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RobHi 2 reviews from this member

I stopped here at the end of my LEJOG cycling trip and pitched my small tent. Plenty of space, although a bit exposed when windy, but that is the nature of the area. I pitched my tent behind the excellent shower block and locked my bike to a washing line pole, because like most sites there's no bike parking. The bike seemed perfectly safe though. Site is literally 30 secs walk from the end/start of LEJOG/JOGLE and is the only camping option, but a good one.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 182 reviews from this member

Stopped one night, doing the NC500. Well, you have to stop at John O'Groats & get that photo of the famous sign post pointing to Lands End, before the next group of charity fundraisers arrives to get their 'end of trip' photos. Apart from the jetty & refurbished hotel, there's not here of note, but late Queen Mother's Castle of Mey is nearby & well worth a visit. The site was fine, we expected the owners to be taking advantage of the location but the fee for EHU was about 20, well in line with similar sites and the owners were welcoming. We were allocated our pitch; we hadn't booked, we got the last hookup (mid week at 5:00pm); it was on well-mown grass (no hard stands left) which we prefer anyway. Fabulous views of Orkney from all pitches. Dog walk offsite towards the beach worked well. The showers were in massive cubicles, hot, free, and not the push-button pulse type. One key, so we had to co-ordinate our visits to the showers & toilets. We'd be happy to come back, but we might book next time to be sure we'd get a hookup.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Deba 14 reviews from this member

Lovely site. Wonderful views of Stroma island and the Orkneys. We were very lucky with the weather and was able to go on the wildlife cruise around the bay. Facilities are very good and when I realised I hadn't enough pegs the lady at reception let me borrow some. Pitches are very generous and plenty of hard standing. No separate area for tents which is good for families with different units. Would definitely use again and thought it was good value for the main holiday weeks, 20 with electric for our motorhome.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mth760161 3 reviews from this member

Good site with plenty of space to choose where you wish to pitch tent. Facilities good, provided with key to shower/toilet block, so only good when arrive and warden is on site, although can access warden via mobile phone. Dishwashing and laundry facilities are also on site. If you need to get provisions, nearest shop is the post office about a mile away - not open on Sunday however. Nearest supermarket possibly Wick, 17 miles away. Great location for day trip to Orkney and John O'groats tourist facilities - with tourist vistor centre on site. If I venture that way again, would definitely stay there.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

This site is literally situated alongside the famous landmark of John O Groats ! We turned up early 10am and the nice elderly couple who run the site allowed us to pitch immediately and leave to Motorhome so we could catch the 10. 30 ferry to the Orkneys for a day trip ! (56 each for a full days guided tour incl ferries & coach ' well recommended) The site has fantastic views over the sea towards the islands, we had a level hardstanding with EHU if anything the pitches are a little close together ! The toilet & shower facilities although old were immaculate and the shower cubicles are huge with plenty of unlimited hot water. We had fish & chips from the kiosk above the small harbour and although the owners were very nice, the fish & chips weren't the best (all frozen food) and at 18 for two won't have it again ! the same applied to the breakfast in the cafe next morning ! all in all a Great place to stay but avoid the local food lol

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near John O Groats      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2320 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Christmas Giveaway


Advent Calendar

A new prize every day til Christmas PLUS a grand Christmas Day Star Prize

Click to Play!