Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Alpine Grove Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Chard > Alpine Grove Touring Park Reviews

Alpine Grove Touring Park
Forton
Chard
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA20 4HD
Tel: 01460 65079  or  07885 467391
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 40
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 113 Reviews
                8/10 from 113 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  113 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ThemCrawfs 1 review from this member

We stayed at this lovely, dog-friendly site for a week. Loved it so much we're going back for ten days this summer. As our dog is a little barksome when people stroll by, the owners offered us one of the glades, which was big enough for a 5m bell tent and car. The vibe of the site reminded me of some continental sites I've been on - chilled and pretty quiet. Surrounded by trees, couple of nice walks nearby, and a great location for seeing the West Country.

Facilities were good, the shop is more than adequate, and there's a tiny pool, which the kids love. There's also a good play area, all logs and ropes. You can hire fire pits, which I thought were pretty expensive, or take your own.

All in all very happy to have found this lovely site.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crystaldog 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site in August 2017 and stayed for 2 weeks. We camped in the wooded area which was lovely although I'd choose the open area next time for more sunshine. The toilets and showers were clean, there is a little play area and a lovely swimming pool. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Loved that fire pits are permitted. Would definitely return, the kids loved it.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Emmahuggz 3 reviews from this member

So - arrived for one night, to join family for the last evening of their hols, and take the kids off from them in the morn while they pack up - my Son In Law asked if I could arrive early - no, or pay £5 - I left that, and got there about 5pm. Beautiful site - very woody, lots of shade - rang the door bell at the gate, was told punch in some numbers and enter, and come to reception - so, in I walked. I asked if I could possibly be parked up next to my daughter, was told I should have specified this on the phone when I booked. I explained that actually, I did mention that I would be joining family - after a big sigh from the man I said it's too much hassle, it's no problem, i'll just have another pitch. He then said he was going to put me next to the toilets, and near the pool with screaming kids, (i love the sound of kids enjoying themselves - but one child was constantly screaming) I asked if there was any way I could go somewhere else, then he relented and put me next to my family, where there was a few spaces anyway. I paid over the odds for this site - I felt like a pain in the butt - never had this before anywhere. A few other campers said he was very abrupt too - ok, so it's the end of the season, I guess they are tired, but when people are paying their hard earned cash to support a business, you would expect common courtesy - won't be returning, especially as I learned a firepit is £16 for one night's hire - also, should warn parents, please keep a tight reign on your children - the main road is right by the park, and the cars speed along at great pace, and there is no fence :/

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bricklayer 22 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 8 nights during the school holidays, we pre booked after seeing their website, it looked ideal and as we have 2 older children (teenagers ) the idea of an on site swimming pool and local cycle routes appealed to us.

We arrived and pulled up to the electric gate, you have to phone a number to get in,

We had to pull up to a house at the top of this wooded site to go to the reception,

The site owner came out and directed us to our hardstanding pitch

We have a foreign van ( door is on the wrong side) and we were instructed as to which way to park the van, but it wasn't really a problem.

The caravans and motorhomes tended to be in one area on hardstanding (all these pitches had ehu ), this location is near to the toilets and the kids playground. And close to the pool

They are arranged in a fan shape around a middle grassed area

There are lots of cleared spaces in the wooded area for tents or campers who don't want ehu, . These looked really tranquil and peaceful !

The site has a reception with small shop ( iced creams, sweets, sausages, basic items )

There is a samllish heated outdoor pool with seats and sun loungers,

The site is close to chard with pubs, shops, takeaways, etc,

There is a good cycle route to chard, good dog walking locally in the woodland and bridleways.

The kids play area has swings, slides, trampoline, table tennins, and seesaws, - there were numerous kids in august playing and getting noisy, there are signs stating only one child at a time on the trampoline, , the sign also stated that the playground closed at dusk.

The site owner came over most nights to tell the assembled groups of kids that it was now dark and the playground was closed- they were noisy and they were screaming and yelling at 10 pm. As soon as the site owner left, the kids were back !

By 10, 15 the kids were back making the noise again bouncing on the trampoline with torches !

No parental control !- but this did mean you couldn't truly chill or relax, - there were about 6 caravan/ camper pitches that directly back onto the play area ( we had one ) we were 30 feet away from the action and the noise. Not nice after 8 nights

Otherwise the site is lovely, the site will sell you a fire pit and wood for £16 a night, -

We had our own fire pit - the site owner was not happy that we collected wood from the roadside verges for the pit.

If you are in a tent and want a wooded camp pitch without EHU, this place is great. And I expect you could get a lovely secluded quiet pitch in the trees,

If you need EHu, just make sure your are not too close to the kids play area, its loud !

This was the only downside for this site, the kids did make it loud at night.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WolfLakeWanderer 7 reviews from this member

This is probably the most relaxing campsite we have ever stayed at, quiet despite being busy and not big enough to feel impersonal.

Some reviewers have commented that the washroom facilities were not up to scratch but we found the opposite to be true, always clean, well maintained and never had to wait for a shower even though the place was quite full on a bank holiday weekend. The only fault I could mention with the facilities is that the lights didn't seem to work over the pot-wash sinks.

We were shown to a nice flat pitch under some large trees by the very friendly and efficient owner on arrival who also sorted us out with an EHU extension, nothing was too much trouble and I saw him helping to repair the jockey wheel of a trailer tent later in the week. Just a slight word of warning about the trees, I did have to pitch tent up at home and clean off a fair amount of bird offerings, not really a problem but if that sort of thing bothers you.

Swimming pool great and coped well even with lots of kids and inflatables in. The pool area is a real suntrap and we spent a lot of time there in the unexpectedly hot weather we enjoyed. The small shop is what you would expect to find on a site of this size and was not overpriced in comparison with others. Tesco supermarket about 5 mins drive away.

Lyme Regis and Seaton about 25 mins away and both attractive seaside towns with all the buckets and spades and ice-creams you can handle. If you fancy a nice coastal walk it's worth a visit to Stonebarrow Hill about 30mins drive east along the coast. From here you can take a circular walk to the top of Golden Cap, the highest point on the south coast, spectacular views on a clear day. The fire-pits seemed popular with many campers but didn't try one ourselves as the £16 cost did seem a little steep to us. The surrounding area is beautiful and there are plenty of local attractions to visit. Overall a very enjoyable stay and highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Freyasmum 35 reviews from this member

I was only able to stay on this site for one night, but it was a gem of a site and I would have liked to stayed for longer. It is friendly, in a very quiet setting and pitches are within a wooded glades, some being beautifully secluded. Dog friendly. Although it only had limited wash /toilets /showers/ the site was quite busy and I didn't have to wait to use the facilities; However, I do agree that it could be a problem though and I would have thought that a site with so many pitches would require more toilets and showers. Has a small outdoor heated pool that looked good but sadly, I didn't have time to use.

At £25 per night, it is more expensive than we would normally pay

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Baileyjake 8 reviews from this member

Beautiful and unique campsite set in woodland. I would say this campsite is especially good for children with good playgrounds, trampoline and swimming pool. The owner/warden was very friendly and enthusiastic when I arrived explaining some of the wartime history of the site and he wasn't afraid to enforce the curfew on the playground equipment to keep noise down after 8pm.

There were lots of families with younger children and all seemed to behave well. We were invited to join the teddy bears picnic and other children's activities laid in by the owners but we were moving to the next site so could not.

The site seemed to be more geared up for tents and campers than caravans but I had a good hard standing pitch all the same.

My only complaints are:

Very muddy, should have taken my caravan carpet out.

I did have to wait for a shower, but the 2 showers were hot and clean (despite the mud)

The biggest complaint and something that would make me think twice about a return was this. Fire bowls and wood burners/braziers are permitted.

During my stay it was by no means cold but every man and his dog had a fire of some sort going. The guy next to me had a fire in a washing machine drum. Everything smelt of bonfires, my eyes were stinging and my family were all coughing. When I was packing my cadac up with a head torch on it was snowing ash. My car, caravan and clothes were covered in it. One camp fire is great but 30 of more under the tree canopy is just crazy. Maybe it was particularly busy. It's a shame because the smoke spoiled an otherwise idyllic site.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Elizann 1 review from this member

This is a nice campsite in a nice location. The only problem but I think a serious one is the lack of toilet facilities and showers. 2 toilets and 2 showers for men and 3 toilets and 3 showers for women and they are only cleaned once a day. The owners are nice people and the site is generally clean and tidy. If they could build an additional toilet/shower block I would rate this much higher.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Canada01 1 review from this member

We were on the site for 3 nights and for peace and quiet you couldn't fault it

This is a small site with large easy accessed level pitches in a woodland setting, simply beautiful

The owner who greeted us couldn't have been more helpful and gave us a choice of pitches

A couple of things mentioned in previous posts if sorted would make it a perfect break

The toilet block facilities could be re-vamped as they a little dated and in my opinion there are too few loos and showers for the number of pitches at busy times

The children's playground area could be fenced and gated so it could be locked up at a reasonable time in the evening when busy to stop noise disturbing other visitors

These are minor quibbles overall our touring holiday experience was very enjoyable and we would hope to visit again to explore the area further

We did visit Lyme Regis which is a quaint coastal area with a lovely harbour nice mix of small boutique shops great places to eat and lots of ice cream to devour

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BostonDangler 2 reviews from this member

Nice small site, gated entry via a keypad, nice and safe for kids. Very chilled out vibe, been several times over last couple of years. Lots of covered/shaded areas as it is set in a wood. Handy if it's very hot or raining. Some large grass areas for kids to play, small outdoor pool is a relief on hot days. Camp shop and a clean toilet and shower block. All flat and level, apart from the odd drainage ditch. A couple of picnic tables dotted around, but could do with a few more perhaps. Chard town nearby if you need to do a bigger shop, and it's an easy drive to the south coast from the site.

Previous     113 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4167 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019