Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sheriff Hutton Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Sheriff Hutton Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Sheriff Hutton Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bracken Hill
Sheriff Hutton
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO60 6QG
Tel: 01347 878660
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 85
Open: 01/04/2021 to 02/11/2021
           01/04/2022 to 02/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 74 Reviews
                8/10 from 74 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  74 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Pauliowesto 4 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit here, lovely campsite,

Facilities were very clean and well maintained,

Pizza delivery service was great, kids enjoyed the park.

Thank you very much see you all next year! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Likeyousteve8 2 reviews from this member

 Very quiet site. Nothing to do on site. Bus stop is to far away from site entrance.

Good place to keep clear of this horrible Virus 19

Would come here again. Possible not

I wanted to get into YORK to see the Cathedral. In the end Getting Taxi. Cost £40 all in round trip. As this I wanted to go by bus bus to far from site entrance.

They do have good take away place near by, they delivered on site. Very reasonable prices. Pizza world. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dreamboat 4 reviews from this member

 The site is level and with a good number of grass or hardstanding pitches. Grounds are well maintained. Good shower heat and pressure and laundry facilities also good.

I did feel that there were a lot of people on the site over the weekend using the WC/shower block and although a couple of basins had been taken out of use to create more space, it didn't feel Covid compliant. If the Velux windows had been open there would have been more air circulation than the side windows alone could provide.

The site is just off a busy road and we found the traffic level noticeable, especially during the morning commute time.

The nearest shop/pub is in the village of Sheriff Hutton, about a mile or so from the site.

It's not a pleasant walk because of the traffic. There's no on-site dog walk. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MorticiaAddams 1 review from this member

 This is the 3rd time weíve been to this campsite and weíll be going back again,

Itís a lovely site the owners canít do enough for you, any problems you may have they will definitely help sort,

Itís a quiet site even when itís full there is no noise problem, the site closes at 11 so thereís no danger of any late night noise

There is a small area for children to play with a playhouse,

There is a small shop, on site with the basics on sale,

There is a mobile fish & chip van that comes around about 8. 30 pm, we found that this was too late for us, but there is a very good fish shop in nearby strensall which is reasonably inexpensive,

Strensall has the usual amenities including a boots and a pub that does meals, There is a shopping centre at monks cross which is about 10/15 minutes away that had a range of shops, a 24 hr Asda and a Sainsburyís, boots and various others.

All in all sheriff Hutton is a very relaxing holiday

If you fancy a day out there a plenty of attractions at York and If you just want to chill itís nice and quiet,

We stayed there for 8 nights and Iíd recommend this site, it it very reasonably priced 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: SUMMEROF63 10 reviews from this member

 Friendly site, with good facilities, childs play area centre of park, was always busy,

Not much of a local bus service, however only a short trip to yorks park and ride scheme,

Local pub (about 20min walk ) cracking beer garden and lots going off over the bank holiday !

2nd visit to this campsite no hassle at all, and can vouch for the local pizza take away not far from the site, good value and good food 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MalcolmR 35 reviews from this member

 On Arrival a Very friendly and warm welcome, shown a selection of pitches. The site was a lovely size some 80 units and very well laid out.

It was very quiet and peaceful except for a couple of days with the constant thump drone from a neighbours music box (it was turned down)

The site pitch was lovely had a tree nearby for some shade, easy to peg out the awning in to the grass. Facilities were spotless and kept very clean indeed, and the very helpful manageress and team.

TV reception was ok, But the site WIFI internet service was awful I had to stand next to the site office to get the site wifi signal which was not comfortable as we paid for a full year of WIFI. Hopefully this will improve.

It is a good location for the area but local shops bus service not so good. We shall certainly return and recommend to others.

Its nice and quiet and restful. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suke20 3 reviews from this member

 Well what can I say about this lovely site. The wardens were really approachable and very happy to help.

Toilets were really clean and warm, showers were lovely too.

Only down side was the size of the dog walk very small so we walked our dog off site, but wasn't a problem.

Thanks for a great 4 days. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Junior pullman 4 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Sheriff Hutton. We have enjoyed both our visits. The site is clean and well maintained. We were there for three weeks and not once were the facilities anything other than clean.

The pressure is good and the water always hot. The site managers and assistants are all very friendly. There are both grass and hard standing pitches, with and without hook up. We booked hard standing with electric and were given a choice of pitches.

There was a lot of rain on this visit, but even though the grass and a few of the hard standings got water logged, the ground drained well once the rain had ceased. There are many places to visit near and far.

The site has a small play area, looks like a wooden fort, which was always popular with children when the weather allowed, bikes and scooters are also permitted if care is taken. It's near the road but traffic noise is only obvious early mornings.

I can't think of any negatives for this site. There are just two of us, but it is a site for all. Totally recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cpaalp 6 reviews from this member

 We booked the day before & got the last 2 electric pitches and they managed to get us both side by side.

The site is immaculate, roomy pitches and the facilities spot on. Even though the site was virtually booked up there was hardly anyone using the showers/toilets at any time so never had to queue and they were always clean.

About a mile from the village and it is in the countryside so very quiet and peaceful. We were there for the triathlon at Castle Howard and they very kindly allowed us our pitch until 2pm so we didn't have to pack up early.

Recommend the pizza delivery service! Would definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AdenG1 10 reviews from this member

 Only caravanning since the beginning of the year and last weekend was my second visit to Sheriff Hutton. Like it so much that I have booked to go back next weekend.

The site is excellent - a large flat field sheltered by hedges around the perimeter with well spaced hardstanding. You need rock pegs if you are putting up an awning on the hardstanding as both the van and the awning need to fit on the hardstanding and its made up of crushed rocks.

The staff are all really friendly and take a real pride in the site - no rubbish, all amenities clean and grass well cared for.

Proximity to York is a major plus - a short drive down the road is the Monks Cross shopping centre with many shops and restaurants. This is also one of the park and ride locations for York so you can jump on a bus.

Plenty to see within a short distance - I travelled up to Nunnington Hall, which is closer to the Slingsby site but is still only about 10 miles away and had a very relaxing visit.

Cant wait to visit again - best bit is that's later this week! 


Previous     74 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sheriff Hutton Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Sheriff Hutton Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3187 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement