Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Haltwhistle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

Haltwhistle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Burnfoot Park Village
Haltwhistle
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE49 0JP
Tel: 01434 320106
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: 01/04 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 47 Reviews
                8/10 from 47 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NMack 11 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site beside the river. Being surrounded by trees, the site doesn't get full sun all day, but it does works its way around the site.

The site was almost full each night of the 4 we stayed and is relatively easy to get to. Do bear in mind the instructions for arriving, the entry to the site is as it says, steep. Once into the site everything is level. The facilities were lovely and clean, and the showers excellent. We took up the offer of a daily paper and the shop has a small selection of essentials if you run out.

As it was September, it was all adults on the site and was very peaceful. Have to say we did have really heavy rain one night but only saw one puddle the next morning. You could tell it had rained, the river had risen quite considerably, but was still no where near the campsite level.

A great site, well worth a stop if you're visiting Hadrian's Wall.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris5mph 29 reviews from this member

A very pleasant site in a wooded area next to the river. The small number of pitches makes it even better in my view (I am not keen on large sites). Excellently laid out and maintained with good facilities (except the push button showers never last long enough!). The managers were friendly and helpful - the only downside was, as usual, we seemed to be the only people on site who knew what 5mph means (it is walking speed, not Chris Hoy cycling speed).

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tillydog 2 reviews from this member

After a long difficult journey we were pleased to receive a warm welcome from Howard the deputy warden of this campsite. What wasn't welcoming was the number of 'polite' notices that decorated all available walls. I understand the need to ensure people understand the rules of the site but felt it was over kill. The cost of washing machine and Wifi was extortionate and my weeks payment of 10. 00 was soon eaten up when we had to source something for the caravan. It was extremely wet and when one lady was washed out there was little help for her. Perhaps a drying room where people can hang coats etc. Would have been helpful as a lot of smaller sites seem to have these facilities. Why do we have to put up with timed showers we all keep hitting the button till we have finished. Howard was busy around the site most days and was always pleasant and helpful. Not so the head warden who after us making an honest mistake and missed the one way system, did not accept our immediate apology but decided to give us a very sarcastic lecture as he thought we may not have one way systems in Wales. I can honestly say that if I had not fully paid I would have left sooner. Facilities were clean and the site pretty but this means nothing when you feel unwelcome.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandgrounder52 10 reviews from this member

We spent a rather wet 4 days here during July. However, the hardstanding pitch we were on drained very well so it didn't cause us any problems.

The site is approached by a narrowish public road for the last half mile or so but we didn't meet any oncoming traffic. The site drive itself is narrow but has passing places.

Wardens were very welcoming and were friendly and helpful during our stay. The site itself is attractive and well looked after and pitches were well kept.

The facilities were clean and modern. The push button showers (mildly irritating but expected) had loads of hot water at a decent pressure. Lovely! The chemical disposal (which MrPooter attended to) was inside a wooden shelter and had a dedicated hand washing sink. A very good idea, I thought.

Haltwhistle isn't too far (about 10 minutes in the car) but didn't really strike us as a dining destination so we ate in the van. We did have lunch at the Milecastle Inn after a few miles walking along the Hadrian's Wall path and would recommend the food and atmosphere there.

The site is excellently located for some of the best parts of Hadrian's Wall. We utilised the useful bus service (185 and AD122) which meant we could do linear walks (rather than circular) & make the most of the wall. However, you do need transport to get to a pickup point. The nearest is Haltwhistle itself.

We have been struggling getting TV reception via our 'mushroom' aerial but had a very good picture here.

The only downside to the site was a lady who thought it acceptable to have her dog off the lead when walking off the site and allowing it to urinate on other people's awnings, EHU cables etc. Unpleasant!

If I was in this area again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Archie Bargee 21 reviews from this member

Lovely site, tranquil and set in a beautiful part of Northumberland, close to the South Tyne and Bellister estate.

Warm welcome, very good facilities, better than many more expensive sites, clean and well planned.

Pitches well spaced and level-ish.

Unfortunately we hit on a couple of very wet days and part of the site was flooded, but all took it in good heart!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue6 27 reviews from this member

I agree with the last persons comments on strict arrival time of 13. 00 This site is in a lovely location. The facilities have been refurbished and a wonderfully clean. Washing and dryer machine too. A walk along the disused railway line, The Wallace Arms at Featherstone is the nearest pub, a warm welcome, a selection of ale, new ownership, they may do soup and sandwiches, but not meals. You can walk into Haltwhistle, but you will probably catch a taxi back. Do go to the Roman Army museum good for all ages. I did not visit the other Roman centre, so cannot comment. There is a fast flowing river adjacent depending on the amount of rain. Reasonable dog walking area adjacent/on site. I may be wrong but think this is an adult only site.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Crystal Singer 7 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site and it will not be our last! Beautiful, tranquil and lovely facilities, that just about sums it up. We were shown to our pitch, we wanted grass with electric. But there are hardstanding too. The stewards of the site could not have been more helpful or welcoming.

I have honestly never been on a more peaceful site. Our dog loved it too, a river to play in, a lovely walk and plenty of poo bins.

There was a small shop on site which was stocked with essential items (including wine glasses, very essential!) lovely showers, loos and washing facilities which included hairdryers.

Outside pot washing (undercover) and (according to hubby) the best chemical disposal point he has ever come across.

There are picnic benches dotted about which are a nice touch, all in all it looks very well tended.

Haltwhistle is not to far away and hadrians wall only a short drive.

They have very strict arrival and departure times but that is totally understandable, the road to the site is narrow and steep, I would not want to meet another caravan! So arrival after 1pm and departure before 12 noon, it does cut short our Sunday morning lie in but a small price to pay for such a lovely stay.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happy+Chappy 9 reviews from this member

What a lovely site, a credit to the new Managers and the Club. The new facilities block is super. The site is so pretty and tranquil. Traci the assistant showed us to our pitch, and was very helpful, friendly and informative. Nothing was too much trouble for her. Haltwhistle is a charming little town, with a Morrisons supermarket. We had a meal at the Black Bull Inn, which was excellent and reasonable priced. The surrounding countryside is beautiful with rolling hills and views for miles. Hadrian's Wall is right on the doorstep. Apart from the climb out of site, cycling is good. A disused railway line makes for easy, safe family cycling. The staff were all so friendly. This is what makes this Club so great. We will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

The road to the site is steep as other reviewers have mentioned, well worth it for the location is wonderful. We were met by Traci one of the wardens, she was friendly and helpful with both site & local

Information. She informed us about the parking situation at Hadrian's wall which was most useful.

Fantastic site we loved everything about it, peaceful next to the river. All we could hear in the evenings was the flow of the river & the birds roosting, lovely.

The facilities were immaculate making for happy campers. A proper campsite.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jays39 1 review from this member

This is a perfect campsite for couples with dogs, my wife and I loved it that much we stayed another 3 days with our two cocker spaniels and I must say they had the time of their life to.

The site is the perfect size, the toilet blocks were I good clean order every day, and the staff were their to help at any time, and they did help us, very kind as well. Haltwhistle town is just a 5 minute drive and very kind people and helpful, there is loads to do if you want to drive around such as walk haidrians wall (steel rig) and go see the famous tree from the film Robin Hood :-) my wife loved that.

Beautiful site and surrounding a must for all couples, not that good for kids as nothing for them to do.

Highly recommend lovely.

Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3269 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019