Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cwmnanthir

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Neath > Cwmnanthir Reviews

Cwmnanthir
Banwen
Neath
Powys   (Browse area)
SA10 9LU
Tel: 01639 722322
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 6
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 11 Reviews
                10/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Egibbo387 1 review from this member

 After giving John a call to find out if there was availability on site, he couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly or helpful. He very clearly explained that we were welcome to come down and have a look at the site (as it was very muddy when we came down, he knew we wouldn't be able to drive our motorhome up onto the grass pitch) He offered us a hard standing pitch between two sheds, and we were more than happy with his honesty, clarity and helpfulness.

The facilities were lovely and clean, the shower was very nice and plenty of hooks to hang things up on. The washing up facilities were great and we used the freezer. Also, a kettle and microwave are available.

John was so kind to us during our stay, and gave us great advice about the nearby waterfall walks and other things to do while we're in the area. We will be back in the future to complete the walks, and to say hello to John once again.

Best campsite we stayed at during our tour of Wales, so quiet and peaceful and a great idea for people to be able to collect their own firewood. Seeing the fires at night was a lovely sight. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ngladding 3 reviews from this member

 A super little site, so glad we stayed here. Wonderful woodland location with magical dark skies for star gazing. Refreshingly relaxed approach to camp fires, a rare find. In a perfect location for exploring waterfall country and the Beacons. Campers' kitchen is a bonus. Book ahead to avoid disappointment! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Paddy Wagon 6 reviews from this member

 This is a very nice, small, isolated site in rural Wales beside a stream. The washing and toilet facilities are of good standard and are located the other side of the access road. The access road is a few miles long, narrow but in good condition. Camp fires are permitted.

It is close to the waterfalls area of south Powys and the Neath / Dulais valleys.

There are no hook-ups but they would change the nature of the site.

It would be nice to have more local information and maps available on the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rhysmoore11 1 review from this member

 Perfect campsite for us! Very friendly owners, perfect location for photographing the waterfall (that was the purpose of our trip), very quiet and peaceful. Facilities were also very good (toilets clean etc. ) and great value fir money, highly recommended 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mistericeman 4 reviews from this member

 After searching on UKCS for a place to stop for a weekend whilst trying to buy parts for our old landrover from Neath (Long story ;-)

We found Cwmnanthir.

AND We consider ourselves VERY lucky to have done so.

John and Janet couldn't have been MORE welcoming to their little corner of paradise,

AND paradise it is.

At the end of a narrow and winding lane you will find a very nice green field at the side of a babbling stream to camp on, Camp fires are welcome to complete the perfect (For us anyway)camping weekend away.

Chickens to feed, Giant friendly Great Danes to stroke and sheep to watch come running as John and Janet feed them.

Clean well kept toilets AND THE nicest hottest FREE shower I've ever had on a campsite.

Miles of walks around and a fantastic friendly peaceful vibe Cwmnanthir is extremely well worth a visit. We WILL be back.

IF you can book the 'Orchard pitch' it's even more bliss than the main field.

John and Janet.

You have a little corner of paradise there. Many thanks for sharing it with us albeit for a rather too short weekend.

My Only two complaints.

We could only stay with you for a weekend AND I can only score a maximum of 10 out of ten ;-) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BaggyAdventures 4 reviews from this member

 My husband and I stayed one night in our hired motorhome. Luckily the owner had explained it is about 1. 5miles off main road down narrow road and to just keep going! As I can see why some may turn around thinking they have taken a wrong turn. But his instructions were crystal clear.

Site is at bottom of valley right next to a River, so a very rural spot. No hook-ups and an un-level field, so was a challenge to get the van level'ish being our first time motorhoming - but it was fine. Beautifully quiet and you can walk out across countryside straight from the site. I would highly recommend that you have a local map and compass as walking signage is very hit and miss! You can walk to the waterfalls from the site, but we had a few double-backs as we didn't have a map and signs were missing from gates & posts.

Facilities whilst fairly basic all worked well. Shower free. They even have a little kitchen area for washing up/fridge which is handy for campers.

They have an open fire pit that you are welcome to gather wood and use which was a nice touch.

Definitely off the beaten track, but delightful because of that. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Reverend Badger 3 reviews from this member

 Have just spend a very rainy weekend on this site and it was absolutely fantastic. I don't have much to add to the other reviews, the site is small but contains everything I look for in a campsite - river, wood, campfires and a just enough facilities to add a touch of comfort.

The location is great for exploring the Brecon Beacons and the National Show Caves are close by and well worth a visit.

I have a rule of not visiting the same site twice but I think I'll be coming back here. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fenrir 1 review from this member

 We are a family of 4 with 2 small children and a dog. This is a really lovely campsite with a perfect balance of feeling in the middle of nowhere and wild, but with the bonus of 2 nice, simple bathrooms and access to a conservatory with basic kitchen, fridge and kettle.

The field is a nice, small size with picnic benches and fire pit areas available. There is a lovely shallow stoney stream running alongside it, and best of all, we were the only people there that day so we had the whole place to ourselves!

The family who run it are absolutely lovely, keeping a supply of things that people tend to forget to bring available!

When we arrived we were greeted by two huge Great Danes. Although they initially appeared to be terrifying, are actually as soft as soap and our 2 children instantly befriended them, dividing their time between cuddling Griff the giant puppy and George the duckling!

There are amazing waterfall walks just a 10 minute drive away (or, if all adults, just set off walking)and the whole area is stunning.

A lovely, easy going, back to basics, site. We'll be back for sure.

The Barber Family 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eggleif 1 review from this member

 WHAT a find! I was looking for somewhere close to the Brecons for a little walking, dark skies and some tranquillity. The owners provide all you need here. Just off the beaten track, they offer an absolutely perfect place to pitch up. Not over-run, folk just enjoying the outside space. Ducks, dogs, chickens (I almost had one coming back to Reading with me) all running free. Lighting of camp fires is encouraged, the list is endless. This place is simply one of the best campsites I've visited (and that's a number, UK and abroad). We will be returning very soon with friends in tow. Thank you both and to your gorgeous twins who entertained our difficult one.

Andy, Darah and Ella. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cosmicmedusa 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely quiet site. The owners are very friendly, as are the animals that are on the site. We walked to the waterfall and at a comfortable pace it took as about an hour to get there but was definitely worth the walk. There are many other waterfalls that you are able to walk to in the area so if you enjoy walks this site is great.

The toilet and shower were always clean and we only had to queue a couple of times. The kitchen conservatory area is usable and there is a kettle, fridge freezer and microwave in there. They could do with some more frosting on the window for the shower room.

All in all this site is super and great value for money - we would definitely visit again. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cwmnanthir child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cwmnanthir?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Cwmnanthir dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Neath      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4026 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement