Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cressfield Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie > Cressfield Caravan Park Reviews

Cressfield Caravan Park
Ecclefechan
Lockerbie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG11 3DR
Tel: 01576 300702
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wullie 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Cressfield caravan park for one night on our way to Troutbeck cc site,

Likes: price 20 per night, easy on off M74, nice entrance into park, you can walk to the Royal Hotel through gate on park, good food.

Dislikes: The pitches are not very well looked after, they are hard standing gravel with lots of grass/weeds growing around them, water points not too far away but when emptying grey waste water it was backing up & flooding out drains all around.

The toilet blocks are dirty don't know when they were last cleaned, the showers are 1 or 2 slot meters no instruction on how to work them, my shower didn't work so back to van to shower, my wife's shower worked but was poor & didn't stay on very long.

There's a lot of static caravans on the park now & looks like it will become a statics only park.

Would we use the park again No. 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jayneelew 3 reviews from this member

 Loved this site. Warm and helpful reception gentleman, I spite of the pouring rain.

Best shower unit I have found anywhere, even a full sized bath in one. Masses of room, warm and unlimited piping hot water.

Lovely countryside and dog walking. Will certainly return often as do convenient off M 74. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pam H 12 reviews from this member

 Quite a big site, very orderly and clean. Lots of pristine grass between the rows of hard standing. Nice scenery but a bit soulless.

Dog walk at site entrance to riverside. Good for overnight stop, can't comment on anything else because we got there after dark and left without looking round.

(Have rated customer service 1 because we never saw anyone, just spoke on phone, so can't really comment) 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Liddell 3 reviews from this member

 This site was ok, a little run down but new owners so a work in progress. Facilities were ok, nothing too wrong.

My moan has to be the charge for showers, hairdryer and anything else extra costs, so it might be reasonably priced for site fee but extras chargeable. Owners were very helpful.

Good luck in your new endeavour. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frederico 47 reviews from this member

 We had an overnight stop here with a caravan and a one man tent. It is easy to get to on caravan friendly roads. Good place for a stopover or to explore the area.

We were given a choice of hard standings with the tent opposite. Water close and the toilets a short walk. Nice views spoiled a bit by rain. The toilets were clean and tidy.

Close to the village for a shop and a pub near the site entrance. We did not use either. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nanny G 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one night here on our way to visit family in East Lothian.

A very good stop over decision as we arrived late and as requested by the owner we phoned to let him know the time of arrival and were met at the entrance by a very helpful gentleman who showed us to a large pitch with excellent views of the magnificent sunset.

Toilet block and showers good, good dog walk to the river for our beloved pet terrier who loved the rabbits he sniffed on the way.

A short walk to the village shop the morning after to replenish supplies and a quick chat with the American lady who ran it and we were off again on our travels.

All in all a good site to stop over on the way North to Scotland which we will be using again frequently. Cost in May was 18. 


Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cassie95 1 review from this member

 This was our first outing with our first caravan. We chose a site close to the motorway and not too far from home. Access to the site was easy, which is just what we had hoped for. The site is a mix of statics, tourers and seasonal pitches, with space for tents too. However, it was not the right weather for a tent!

The pitches were all level and as the site was quiet, we had our pick & were told by the very helpful owner that we could park up anywhere.

The toilet and shower block was clean. Each shower had it's own privacy cubicle which meant I could get all the kids in at once. One cubicle even had a bath, which was perfect for us. The bath or shower was 1 a go, but you got 10 minutes of hot water.

Plenty time to fill a bath! The hairdryer was 20p a go. There were no hand drying facilities so if you just used the loo, you had to remember to take a hand towel with you.

The laundry only had one washer and dryer, which wasn't a problem for winter, but could be in the middle of summer!

The recycling area was having building work done, but it didn't bother us as we weren't on the site the day.

There is a pub next to the site and a shop in the village. There is a small playground and an outdoor chess set, but the weather was against us!

The site is set in a valley, with lovely views of the surrounding area. It was fairly windy, but the tourers with awnings up were still there as we left!

We found it a very peaceful site and there was remarkably little noise from the motorway.

We travelled to walby farm park one day, just over the border and went to Carlisle on another day. There's also Gretna gateway just down the road and mabie farm park close by. Carlyle s birthplace is in the village, but we didn't go as the weather was atrocious!

We will probably use this site again in winter. 


Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 45 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit as a stopover on our way to Moffat it is mainly a static site with mini bungalows.

The toilet block is a short walk from the touring pitches and has small bathrooms some with shower and one or two with a bath along with a loo and basin. All hot water is coin operated.

There is a separate toilet with a hand basin liquid soap and a hand dryer. There is a laundry and wash up area. You are given a key on arrival to a gate straight from the site to the local hotel that does real ale and good food.

Just a short walk to the village where there is another pub and a couple of shops where you can get everything you should needs and a bus stop should you want to visit other places in the area very convenient for the M74 and of course the birth place of Thomas Carlyle.

Do not know if we will visit again because we may spend New Year in Stonehaven next year. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Terrylynn+flynn 20 reviews from this member

 Having previously stayed at this site for a family party at the next door Cressfield Hotel we decided to make a 1 night stopover travelling home from Outer Hebrides. Hadn't booked but rang en-route to check if pitch available and arrived to very friendly welcome from owner.

Large site with quite a lot of static vans and lodges but very well laid out and well tended site. All touring pitches hardstanding with a couple of easily accessible water taps and drive over drain for grey waste.

Shower block good with very spacious bathrooms - large shower cubicle, toilet, washbasin and plenty of hooks to hang your clothes, towels etc. 1 for 6 minute shower which is plenty long enough even if washing hair. Also a room with a bath - very unusual for a campsite.

Great dog walk - large grassy field where your dog is allowed to run off lead as well as a path that meanders down to the river. For longer walks exit the site and turn right, follow the lane and then you can walk in the woods.

You can see the motorway from the site but we couldn't hear any traffic noise - although if in a tent it may be more noticeable.

18 per night seems very good value for the facilities offered and this site makes a great stopover while travelling to or from Scotland. In fact, we have decided that we will always stop here in future en route to and from Scotland.

As it was the last night of our 2 week holiday we treated ourselves to a meal in the Cressfield Hotel - excellent food and good value. Very popular restaurant and bar. There is a short cut through a gate in the hedge to save walking all the way around. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grahmd 5 reviews from this member

 I'm overall very impressed with this site as it is reasonably priced and up to a high standard.

The shower block is en suite with showers that are 1, which is good shower compared to other sites I've visited.

Friendly wardens on site.

I was surprised there wasn't many tents on the site as its one of the best sites I've visited.

Shops, pub and restaurant short walk away.

There are lots of places near by to visit.

Its near motorway but I slept every night and will come back. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cressfield Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cressfield Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cressfield Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lockerbie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1902 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement