Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blacklands Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Brighton > Blacklands Farm Reviews

Blacklands Farm
Albourne Road
Henfield
Brighton
West Sussex   (Browse area)
BN5 9AT
Tel: 01273 493528
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 125
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 129 Reviews
                8/10 from 129 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  129 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Howsthatcamper 1 review from this member

 1. Family friendly run campsite that requires significant energy and management experience to maintain the large numbers of people at any one time,

Toilet cleanliness, and day-to-day issues and people constantly arriving and leaving. Four fields, huge toilet and shower blocks, various wash-up facilities, some with hot water, were sufficient in number, hot water in shower was included, ample loo rolls available in each toilet with constant toilet supervision,

On-site shop with essentials, a simple freezer for ice blocks that was swopped to increase its size, and a simple 4 socket extension cable for phone charging kept under tarpaulin along with soft chairs to relax.

2. Sufficient rules to keep semblence of order and some extra rules were added at my request were dealt with quickly and with courtesy. Camp fires early evening through to mid-night were very popular across the site amongst groups so the air can get very smokey.

Also, due to the random nature of different types of people pitching nearby, light sleepers might be kept awake until 02:00am with conversations beyond the 23:00pm curfew for keeping noise to a minimum.

Traffic noise was barely noticeable in Paddock A. The main field for large family groups and children's play area can get very busy at weekends so would not be appropriate for couples wanting some relaxation.

We enjoyed our stay very much in Paddock A with the added benefit of many places to visit, the countryside setting that offered nearby walks to three or more attractive pubs.

Make sure to ask for map from the shop as we only became aware of this feature from fellow walkers, without which our destination to The Bull Inn would have been much more difficult yet the walk still had its problems with tracks fading out, ramblers signage found in dis-repair, and warnings about trespass.

Big thanks to Graham and Neil for the extra help and extended stay.

Would happily stay again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Jenny48443tvy 1 review from this member

 Toilets and showers were cleaned regularly. Always toilet paper in the loos.

Perfect setting. Kids loved it.

Rope swings hanging from trees as well as a playground. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: VivGeal 4 reviews from this member

 A great place, very relaxed rules. Very friendly, Toilets and showers not 5 star but adequate and free.

Excellent touch on first night when a man in a buggy drove around telling us shop was about to close.

Choose your own pitch and the fire bowls looked great although we didn't use one. Nice atmosphere with some groups all camped together.

Lovely lake to fish but could perhaps do with a bit more info. Can't think of anything to criticise.

As they say on Love Island -"It is what it is" No frills but very nice and quiet but friendly. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: S66sop 1 review from this member

 Nice compact site with excellent shop and decent facilities.

The kids in the group loved the play area and it was great to be able to sit up as a group round a fire-pit on our second night. Nice walks easily accessible and staff very friendly.

Toilets and showers are dated, but clean and perfectly adequate. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rds2 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed from Fri 1st to Sun 3rd of June and were very impressed with the improvements on Blacklands Farm. They kindly sent us an email on the day of pitching to let us know the site was very wet and muddy, giving us the option of cancelling. We didn't and were very glad. Yes it was wet and muddy but you just get on with it, despite the conditions the showers and other facilities were kept clean and tidy. The play area is excellent and has more stuff in it than the last time we were here. The staff all seemed very friendly and very hardworking. Only thing of fault were some parents who let the kids stay in the play area after the 9. 30pm kick out and thought it funny to run rings around the staff member trying to lock it up for the night!.

The only downside is that although you can book online you just find a plot on arrival, ok on some weekends but it's hard to pitch 3 tents together on busy times. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: CB-Camper 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 1 night at the end of October as our usual site was flooded out. The site was heavily water logged due to the recent rainfalls so finding an area to pitch that wasn't totally boggy wasn't easy, but fortunately due to the time of year it wasn't busy (there was only 1 other tent there at the same time as us!).

The owners were very helpful and friendly and the toilet facilities were clean and well maintained. We didn't really explore the site or area as it was just a base to bed down for the night whilst visiting friends in the area.

Would stay here again if the normal site we stay in Sussex was fully booked. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Helenal 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, great little shop, but let down by not so good showers (tepid and dribble of water) and lack of hot water in general. Would give higher marks if the showers and hot water weren't a problem, pity really as a good site on the whole. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Twixthecat 41 reviews from this member

 A great weekend with friends again.

We were 4 families and with 7 children age 2 - 7 between us. We had a whale of a time. The play area in the middle of the main field is the hightlight of the site. The kids love it, so therefore we love it. Didn't really leave site.

The facilities are ok. Plenty of loos and showers, never needed to queue. A bit dated, but generally fairly clean with paper etc. Don't need to pay for showers which is a bonus.

It is a brilliant site for visiting as a group. Not one I'd choose just as a family on our own though. It can be a bit noisy - kids playing football till after 10, adults chatting and laughing around the fire till very late. We've been several times and never experienced any roudy or nuisance behaviour, only people having fun. Just it's sods law the one night you think you'll turn in early, the group next door decide to stay up chatting. It's lovely that it has a sort of friendly mini festival atmosphere, but annoying if would prefer quiet. The campsite guys do go round on their buggys telling you to be quiet, but sound travels!

My main grips is that although you book in advance you still only get pot luck where to pitch. We were a group with a couple of the families arriving later. It was a real shame we couldn't save pitches or have allocated pitches as when other people arrive they take the space you were hoping the other members of your group would have! We had booked EHU so were restricted in where we could go - but still have to drive round looking for a free spot.

I'm sure we'll be back. We know what it's like and the kids love the cows! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Elsie1 6 reviews from this member

 Booked this campsite totally on a whim, late at night, arriving the next day.

Very friendly welcome, chose our own pitch.

Play area in the main field (which is where the hook up and facilities are).

Toilets and showers good, washing up area good.

We were not there for one night but the feeling I got was that it was a really laid back site, fires allowed but, with really sensible guidelines - no vehicle movement after 11pm, no audible music, dogs on leads.

Although we didn't do them, the site led to some woodland walks.

What I have to say really stood out for me was the shop. It has to be the best stocked small site shop I have ever come across. Everything you needed was there but nothing excessive. And, all a good price. Also, there were loads of toys and games for the kids to buy - we bought a small badminton set for 3. 50.

We camped here because nearby was camping world with a large tent display.

I would return here if I was looking to go that far afield again! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scots1 1 review from this member

 Camped here 29th / 30th April (Solo camper)

Nice wee well run site, no vehicle movement after 11pm & a quiet site too from roughly around the same time.

Staff owners were great. And look forward to seeing them again when I need to use tent

And thanks for giving me that bit of grass all to myself especially as you were full up on the bank holiday weekend :-) 


Previous     129 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blacklands Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blacklands Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Blacklands Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brighton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3532 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement