Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wheal Rose Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Wheal Rose Caravan Park
Wheal Rose
Scorrier
Redruth
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR16 5DD
Tel: 01209 891496
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: March To December

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 20 Reviews
                8/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heather44 4 reviews from this member

Barking dogs, all day from the kennels, hear the gate beep as someone arrives and the dogs go even more mental, they did not bark at night though, thank goodness.

Arrived and they had no record of our payment in full. You leave a 10 deposit for the card that opens the gate to the site. We were put at the bottom of the field near a stinky pile of rotting grass cuttings which smelled of cabbages all night. Pitches are large though!

Toilet block was flooded and filthy but large enough, just shame it wasn't looked after! There is a coin operated hairdryer in the ladies and my daughter said the shower was good.

Washing up facilities were good although hidden around the back.

The pool was teeny, about as large as my dining table but was heated and good for small kids however any small children soon left once three teenage lads got in!

Good play area for little kids and boy was there a ton of them. We used the pool table, you'll need a 50 pence piece for it.

I loved the book exchange in the reception area, great idea and if you don't have one to exchange then just make a charity donation!

Campsite is in an ideal location to explore North and South Cornwall. If you are a seasoned camper with all the gear you'll get on ok, just ask to be nearer the top of the park away from all the kids and the play area.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Springerholic 5 reviews from this member

Stayed 4 nights in half term. Weather fantastic. Site half empty. I have no idea why in school holidays. Its clean, tidy. Has a small shop, small heated outdoor pool. Close to St Agnes beaches, Perranporth and Gwithian. Short drive to Tescos. Friendly owner/staff but left to own devices which I liked. Dogs free. 2 minutes off A30 Prices very reasonable. We are looking forward to returning. There are previous comments about barking dogs. And yes there is a kennels a few fields away. Yes they do bark but all goes quiet around 6pm and we used the kennels for daycare and could walk the dogs there plus we were out virtually all day so the minor issues were far out weighed by the positives.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Philspoors 1 review from this member

We booked Wheal Rose due to it's great location and reasonable price.

The camp site lived up to our expectations. The location is ideal within driving distance of a number of key attractions. Overall we feel that the camp site is good value for money.

Pros: Good park and football pitch for kids, free wifi, decently sized pitches, friendly staff, games room and well stocked shop, swimming pool, relatively quiet site.

To be aware of: Toilets are dated and although cleaned we have definitely stayed on sites with better facilities, there is a dog kennel (or something) nearby, there was a little noise from this. Athough there are washing machines it would be advisable to go to a laundrette as these are domestic appliances and weren't great. There are three sinks for washing up, for the size of the site it would have been useful to have more. There were a few times we had to wait a while to be able to wash up.

Overall, no complaints. We stayed on the top part of the site (which has a road running through it with fairly secluded pitches) rather than the bottom part which is a large field. We would happily stay again assuming the prices remain the same.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happycaravan 5 reviews from this member

Stayed for 12 nights in july, site easy to find off the A30, only 2 mins driving, close to both redruth, truro for supermarkets etc, site is good location for cycling and walking and is easy to cycle to Portreath only 15 to 20 mins cycling, shop on site, handy for milk etc, very good size pitches and well kept, plenty of water points on site, but only one waste point for chemical toilet and grey water. Nice pool to use but a fair way from the pitches

Toilets a little dated and could do with more cleaning at peak times, 2 days no soap in the mens.

There is also either a farm with loads of dogs or a kennels near by, and the dogs Did bark a fair bit.

Great farm shop to use 2 mins by car, turn left at the gates,

Good meat and cornish local food, good prices too.

Overall enjoyed the stay in a loverly part of cornwall great beach at perranporth and dogs allowed too on łeads.

Dont think we will return as we found better sites in the area

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hamletmilly 1 review from this member

This is a lovely site with plenty of space, good facilities and friendly owners. It is really close to both the north and south coast and right beside the Portreath cycle way which makes for a great cycling holiday. There's an internet connected PC in the shop if you need one, and the shop also has plenty of supplies to save you having to go off shopping.

Very good value. We had a really great stay.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Propellerhed 18 reviews from this member

We visited Wheal Rose this half term and had an enjoyable week.

The site is split into two sections, a more formal upper section where pitches are either side of a central road, and a lower section near the play area which is basically a large flat field. We were given the option and chose the latter, so the kids were near the play area.

The facilities are good, the toilet block is perhaps a little dated but it was clean. Slightly disconcerting at times as the ceiling is open to the roof, meaning you can hear all going on in the other toilet block. The showers were hot, although I can't comment on how well they cope with a lot of users as there was never anyone else in there when I used them.

The play area was popular with our children, there is a selection of swings, a couple of slides. There is also a small football pitch with some goalposts.

The site was very quiet, probably due to the awful weather, meaning we had a lot of space. The grass on the bottom field was very long (again perhaps due to the bad weather) which was a bit annoying, as it meant trousers getting wet unless you were wearing wellies.

The location is good for visiting a number of popular attractions and beaches, and the site is near the A30 so no miles of narrow lanes to navigate.

The owners were very polite and friendly, and left us alone once on site which is good.

Didn't try the nearest pub, but Redruth has all of the facilities and shops (inc. A big Tesco) just three miles away.

Liked the 'no hidden extras' pricing structure, makes a change from some sites who charge extra for awnings, tents, showers, hookup etc.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Apb22863 3 reviews from this member

This was our first outing with our caravan. Even though we were only an hour from home it was a daunting experience. Myself (someone had to stay at home and look after the farm!) and 2 children (7& 10) arrived to a very warm welcome and were shown our pitch. Nicely tucked in the bottom corner there was plenty of space for our caravan, table and chairs and the car.

The facilities were lovely and clean and there was plenty of hot water.

The children had taken their bikes so they had great fun cycling around the site and out onto the Mawla trail which runs behind the site and is accessed by a gate. The play area was also really popular.

As we had friends who lived nearby we didn't try any of the pubs as we ate with them or went to Perranporth for lovely fish and chips.

The only downside which was not the owners fault was the very poor phone reception but it's good to turn them off and relax.

We had a great time even though it was only 2 nights but we will definitely be back next summer.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lycia 1 review from this member

Just back from our first camping holiday - We found Wheal Rose a lovely site. We were shown our pitch (which was flat and plenty big enough for our tent and car, with room to spare).

We were told about the toilet block, with a family bathroom, separate ladies and gents (with about 6 toilets in each and 3 showers and a private wash basin), and there was a laundry with washer, dryer and sinks for washing up and was in the centre of the site - so not far to walk to.

The site had a children's play area with swings and slides - which occupied the kids (age 8 and 6)whilst we put the tent up! Kids did play on the play equipment till it was dark, so there was some noise, but by 10pm is was all quiet and our tent was right opposite! There was also an indoor room and table tennis.

The main thing for us, was the outdoor swimming pool - which was brilliant! It was heated, kept very clean - looked almost new! The photograph on the website doesn't do it justice - it was open from around 9. 30am to dusk and was free!

There is a small shop on site selling the basics.

The site was kept very clean and tidy. The toilet block was a little dated, and the toilet cubicles a little narrow - but very clean and more than adequate - never had to wait for a toilet or shower. The water was always hot, although this was too hot for little ones showering - you couldn't adjust the temperature - but there was a bath.

There was a lane/footpath along the park where you could exercise your dog.

The location is just off the A30, so no travelling miles down country lanes, just 2 mins and you are on the main road, yet the area was very quiet. There is also a large Tesco in Redruth, about 5-10 mins drive away. Good central location for visiting Falmouth, Penzance and the Lizard - we also went up to Tintagel and Port Isaac which was less than an hour away.

Only thing missing for us was free wifi - there was a computer on site to use, 3. 50 for 30 mins.

Overall a great site, which we would go back to and would recommend to friends.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shapeshifter 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at Wheal rose in all there was fourteen of us staying at the campsite and we all had a great time.

There was always plenty of hot water in the showers and the facilities where clean.

Everybody was very helpful even down to finding a dog friendly beach. The on site play area was great for the kids to go and play in and we always felt that they where safe.

The owners had a table tennis table and a pool table in the games room that the kids made full use of as well as the swimming pool

We will hopefully return next year.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lin. 1 review from this member

We stayed with Les and Jo over Easter, holding a rally for our motor home rally group.

We have had many enjoyable stays with them over the years,this being the second rally we have held. It was a most successful, enjoyable weekend.

We had sixteen van in all at the bottom of the site. It was really nice down there. Very sheltered, nice big pitches and the sun shone.

Since we started coming here the site has improved each year and is a very pleasant place to stay. Everyone that came to the rally had a great time,and said what a great place to stay. Many went off on there bikes, played bowls or just enjoyed the sun.

Les and Jo are always on hand and great hosts.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2618 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019