Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wheal Rose Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Redruth > Wheal Rose Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Wheal Rose Caravan And Camping Park
Wheal Rose
Scorrier
Redruth
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR16 5DD
Tel: 01209 891496
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 42
Open: 12/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 25 Reviews
                9/10 from 25 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tony gsd 3 reviews from this member

 Very large pitches even standard pitch big enough for a caravan and awning, large and extra large extremely generous. All facilities very clean.

Very good location for most of Cornwall. Very friendly and helpful staff / owners will. Return in September.

Is our new favourite Cornish site. We don't have children with us but site has a nice outdoor pool and a play area. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: NTCC 1 review from this member

 Great little site, lovely facilities, spotless. Good for getting round Cornwall straight onto A30.

Good pool for the children, we had the pool just for our family for a session, there is an online booking system in place.

Felt safe and owners helpful and friendly. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Superstar2 1 review from this member

 Great stay, just rebooking. Lovely quiet campsite. We did lots of walking.

Weather was good and we relaxed while littlies played in the pool.

Easy access to A30. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Dee T 1 review from this member

 We had great time at Wheal Rose, the campsite is large with clean facilities,

The new owners are friendly and helpful and the shop has all the basics you need.

Itís close to the A30 so a good base for exploring,

The kids loved the swimming pool and the llamas along the coast path-

We will definitely be back again! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Isaac91 1 review from this member

 Had a great time here! the children loved it, especially the pool!

Close to the A30 so perfect for exploring,

With very clean facilities and great value for the money.

Overall it was a very relaxing stay and would definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Springerholic 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed 4 nights in half term. Weather fantastic. Site half empty. I have no idea why in school holidays. Its clean, tidy. Has a small shop, small heated outdoor pool.

Close to St Agnes beaches, Perranporth and Gwithian. Short drive to Tescos. Friendly owner/staff but left to own devices which I liked. Dogs free. 2 minutes off A30 Prices very reasonable.

We are looking forward to returning. There are previous comments about barking dogs. And yes there is a kennels a few fields away.

Yes they do bark but all goes quiet around 6pm and we used the kennels for daycare and could walk the dogs there plus we were out virtually all day so the minor issues were far out weighed by the positives. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heather44 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived and they had no record of our payment in full. You leave a £10 deposit for the card that opens the gate to the site. We were put at the bottom of the field near a pile of rotting grass cuttings which smelled of cabbages all night. Pitches are large though!

Toilet block was large enough, just shame it wasn't looked after! There is a coin operated hairdryer in the ladies and my daughter said the shower was good.

Washing up facilities were good although hidden around the back.

The pool was teeny, but was heated and good for small kids however any small children soon left once three teenage lads got in!

Good play area for little kids and boy was there a ton of them. We used the pool table, you'll need a 50 pence piece for it.

I loved the book exchange in the reception area, great idea and if you don't have one to exchange then just make a charity donation!

Campsite is in an ideal location to explore North and South Cornwall. If you are a seasoned camper with all the gear you'll get on ok, just ask to be nearer the top of the park away from all the kids and the play area. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Philspoors 1 review from this member

 We booked Wheal Rose due to it's great location and reasonable price.

The camp site lived up to our expectations. The location is ideal within driving distance of a number of key attractions. Overall we feel that the camp site is good value for money.

Pros: Good park and football pitch for kids, free wifi, decently sized pitches, friendly staff, games room and well stocked shop, swimming pool, relatively quiet site.

To be aware of: Toilets are dated and although cleaned we have definitely stayed on sites with better facilities, there is a dog kennel (or something) nearby, there was a little noise from this. Athough there are washing machines it would be advisable to go to a laundrette as these are domestic appliances and weren't great. There are three sinks for washing up, for the size of the site it would have been useful to have more. There were a few times we had to wait a while to be able to wash up.

Overall, no complaints. We stayed on the top part of the site (which has a road running through it with fairly secluded pitches) rather than the bottom part which is a large field. We would happily stay again assuming the prices remain the same. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happycaravan 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 12 nights in july, site easy to find off the A30, only 2 mins driving, close to both redruth, truro for supermarkets etc, site is good location for cycling and walking and is easy to cycle to Portreath only 15 to 20 mins cycling, shop on site, handy for milk etc, very good size pitches and well kept, plenty of water points on site, but only one waste point for chemical toilet and grey water. Nice pool to use but a fair way from the pitches

Toilets a little dated and could do with more cleaning at peak times, 2 days no soap in the mens.

There is also either a farm with loads of dogs or a kennels near by, and the dogs Did bark a fair bit.

Great farm shop to use 2 mins by car, turn left at the gates,

Good meat and cornish local food, good prices too.

Overall enjoyed the stay in a loverly part of cornwall great beach at perranporth and dogs allowed too on łeads.

Dont think we will return as we found better sites in the area 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hamletmilly 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site with plenty of space, good facilities and friendly owners. It is really close to both the north and south coast and right beside the Portreath cycle way which makes for a great cycling holiday.

There's an internet connected PC in the shop if you need one, and the shop also has plenty of supplies to save you having to go off shopping.

Very good value. We had a really great stay. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wheal Rose Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Wheal Rose Caravan And Camping Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wheal Rose Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wheal Rose Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Redruth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3401 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement