Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Oban Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Oban > Oban Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Oban Caravan & Camping Park
Gallanachmore Farm
Gallanach Road
Oban
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA34 4QH
Tel: +44 01631 562425
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: April 1st To October 10th

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 117 Reviews
                7/10 from 117 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 01/04/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 01/04/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 99 reviews from this member

 We only stayed at Gallanachmore Farm for one night as a stop over en-route to Barra.

The main tent field at the top of the site is spacious enough, fairly open and reasonably flat. There is also another more sloping but sheltered field lower down by the entrance.

Since there were only the two of us in a tent for a single night we were allowed to stay in one of the reserved rally fields across the road from the main campsite.

We had this field to ourselves. Although further away from the amenities, this was more than made up for by the view across the water.

The facilities, especially some of the showers blocks, are pretty dated, but clean enough with plenty of hot water.

The staff were really welcoming and helpful and this all made for a really pleasant start to our holiday.

Conveniently close to Oban and associated shops and ferry. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Handrc7203egt 1 review from this member

 Awesome! Really enjoyed our stay, incredible location too! 🙌🏼 Very friendly staff, super helpful, lovely shop and great laundry.

Enjoyed having a beer waiting for the washing to finish on the decking chatting to other families staying!

Great atmosphere. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Birdysbird 2 reviews from this member

 We are new to caravanning & this was the very first site we stayed on with the caravan. Site access is via a 2 1/2 mile single track road with plenty of passing places, luckily we didn't meet any large vehicles coming the other way but our neighbour did and had their wing mirror clipped on their motorhome.

We thought the price was quite reasonable at 21 a night for caravan, 2 adults & electric. Check in was easy & we were given a map on where we could pitch & told we could choose where we wanted to go. The shower/toilet block was basic & the showers not the cleanest but the water was hot and we managed with the facilities.

Oban is a lovely place with plenty of shops & places to eat. We took the ferry over to Isle of Mull 7. 40 return as foot passengers, once there there's a bus that meets you to take you to Tobermory.

We would definitely stay at this site again if in the area even with the basic shower facilities its still a nice place to stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Raymie 1961 4 reviews from this member

 Really nice site and friendly staff. Toilets are very basic and could be better. Showers pretty bad. No worth the money.

Easy access to the ferry to mull. Nicely cut grass areas 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Danmayberry 1 review from this member

 Nice place, lovely owners, but a couple of gripes, firstly the mens toilets in the bottom camping field were smelly, although modern they could do with decent cleaners also maybe some cleaner blocks or the water to the urinals set to flush frequently.

Another thing is there is no facility at the toilet block to empty my grey water waste(had to pull waste master all the way to the other toilet block and even then had to lift it to 18 inches to empty it out)

Still, its a nicely situated site. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Larsson07 1 review from this member

 Went for weekend. Can't fault site. Just as all they said, it was clean, immaculate site. Well impressed with well stocked shop and on site facilities.

Also the on site maintenance and best was view from camp site, hills to one side and sea view to other. Had a lovely quiet time.

Going back ASAP loved it. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 80 reviews from this member

 Like many, we used this site for a stop-over on our way to Mull.

Bad weather put a dampener on things as the site was a boggy mess, even on the gravel pitches with fine views over to Kerala. As it was busy, the vans were packed in like sardines and despite being so open, it felt claustrophobic.

We felt the shower area and washing up facilities were poor but apparently the higher block is the better.

As a convenient location for the early ferry it was OK, but we wouldn't choose to stay otherwise. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Happycampervanner 2 reviews from this member

 As other reviewers have said for a large site not cramped and you choose your own pitch. Ideal for the ferry terminal. A long windy access road but lovely views and plenty of pull in places.

Our second one night stay here and facilities are good - easy to drive over grey water disposal, good elsan point. Large grass area for those on a short stay getting early ferries - ours was a little later but didn't hear a thing despite many people having moved on early.

Would love it to be a little cheaper but it is better value for money than some other local sites and comparable to others with such a large site & facilities to upkeep. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nessmanuk 11 reviews from this member

 The location of this site is superb. Facilities are good and the cost was very reasonable being charged 16 for 2 people in a tent. This compares with the 23 I was charged at Roseview Campsite just along the road where the facilities were not nearly as impressive.

There are a number of areas where one can pitch - some obviously nearer the toilet blocks than others but it is great to have a choice of location.

The male on reception was friendly and helpful. First time at this site but wont be the last. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jen and Andy 1 review from this member

 We normally stick to Caravan Club sites as you know they are of a high standard but on this occasion thought we would try this site and were not disappointed.

No regimental pitches here you choose your spot there is loads of space with fantastic views in a stunning area away from it all but only 2 or so miles from Oban. The site is really well cared for and the facilities spotless and checked regularly.

We will definitely be back. Thanks to all concerned we had a brilliant time. 


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oban Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Oban Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Oban Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Oban      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3795 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020