Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oban Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Oban Caravan & Camping Park
Gallanachmore Farm
Gallanach Road
Oban
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA34 4QH
Tel: +44 01631 562425
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: April 1st To October 10th

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 112 Reviews
                7/10 from 112 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Larsson07 1 review from this member

Went for weekend. can't fault site. just as all they said, it was clean, immaculate site. well impressed with well stocked shop and on site facilities. also the on site maintenance and best was view from camp site, hills to one side and sea view to other. had a lovely quiet time. going back ASAP loved it.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 71 reviews from this member

Like many, we used this site for a stop-over on our way to Mull.

Bad weather put a dampener on things as the site was a boggy mess, even on the gravel pitches with fine views over to Kerala. As it was busy, the vans were packed in like sardines and despite being so open, it felt claustrophobic. We felt the shower area and washing up facilities were poor but apparently the higher block is the better.

As a convenient location for the early ferry it was OK, but we wouldn't choose to stay otherwise.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Happycampervanner 2 reviews from this member

As other reviewers have said for a large site not cramped and you choose your own pitch. Ideal for the ferry terminal. A long windy access road but lovely views and plenty of pull in places.

Our second one night stay here and facilities are good - easy to drive over grey water disposal, good elsan point. Large grass area for those on a short stay getting early ferries - ours was a little later but didn't hear a thing despite many people having moved on early.

Would love it to be a little cheaper but it is better value for money than some other local sites and comparable to others with such a large site & facilities to upkeep.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nessmanuk 10 reviews from this member

The location of this site is superb. Facilities are good and the cost was very reasonable being charged 16 for 2 people in a tent. This compares with the 23 I was charged at Roseview Campsite just along the road where the facilities were not nearly as impressive. There are a number of areas where one can pitch - some obviously nearer the toilet blocks than others but it is great to have a choice of location. The male on reception was friendly and helpful. First time at this site but wont be the last.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jen and Andy 1 review from this member

We normally stick to Caravan Club sites as you know they are of a high standard but on this occasion thought we would try this site and were not disappointed. No regimental pitches here you choose your spot there is loads of space with fantastic views in a stunning area away from it all but only 2 or so miles from Oban. The site is really well cared for and the facilities spotless and checked regularly. We will definitely be back. Thanks to all concerned we had a brilliant time.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnmac13 2 reviews from this member

I can only re-iterate the previous comments, very friendly and loved the way you could choose your own pitch, ( wish people would park and walk about to do this though ). There is a hidden secret to this site, if you go through the gate half way up the site and into the field above there is an old Drovers route which takes you up to the top of the hill and the views are spectacular. You can see across Kerrera to Mull and beyond.

We had a fortnight and didn't do half the things we had planned.

Take the ferry over to Kerrara and walk straight to the other side and then South and round to the lovely tea shop. Brilliant.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Piggle28 23 reviews from this member

Stayed for 1 night in a motorhome as travelling to Mull early the next day, arrived in the pouring rain, friendly welcome and told which zones to pitch in, recommended we avoid the grassed areas due to the rain, this however brought its own problems as everyone then crammed onto the hard standings making it feel like a French Aire which is ok when your not paying 20 a night! As we were off early the next day settled down for an early night and given how close we were to each other had a surprisingly peaceful night. I'm sure had the grassed ares been in use it would of been much better. Very clean facilities despite the appalling weather and can get a cab into Oban if you wish to go out to eat in the evening.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baz1951 13 reviews from this member

Nice location, but some sloping pitches. Facilities good and staff friendly and helpful. Some of the hard staying pitches near to reception are quite cramped. Very handy for getting into Oban albeit using quite a narrow road that has plenty of passing places

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Raysmiffy 14 reviews from this member

This is the largest campsite I have ever camped in. Impressively though, as big as it is, the grass is kept immaculate. They use cones to keep tents off the yellowed patches from previous tents, and it seems to work well.

The toilets are cleaned at least three times a day, and I have seen the same guy go around the site picking up any small pieces of rubbish. I get the impression he is obsessive with his work, so you could not accuse the managers of this site as having a complacent attitude.

The site has a good atmosphere for me as I feel I have as much space as I need for my large tent, car and trailer.

The only criticism is that you need to go to the reception area at the gate to pick up wifi, where I think they could extend it by using an extender in the toilet block somehow.

The road to get to the place is a bit narrow, with some morons even using the passing places to park their cars, adding to the tension when towing a trailer or caravan.

One of the best campsites near Oban IMO though, all due to the fact that the staff look like they care and at least try to respect that some of the campers have travelled hundreds of miles to get there.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Densey 2 reviews from this member

The site was nicely situated with a nice outlook over the beach. but maybe it was just us but the owner was really grumpy and unfriendly. My husband had a shower and they were filthy, the worst he'd ever been in and people could see in as he was showering and getting dressed, not the best

Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2370 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019