Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glenloin House Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Arrocher > Glenloin House Caravan And Camping Reviews

Glenloin House Caravan And Camping
Glenloin House
Arrocher
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 7AJ
Tel: 01301 702239
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 15
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 18 Reviews
                7/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pam H 12 reviews from this member

Was a bit put off by the large cross as we approached because hadn't realised it was a 'Christian' site, but no other sign apart from that.

We arrived after the petrol station/cafe reception had closed but went to the old house behind the site where the owner supplied the key for the toilets.

The A83 next to the site was quite noisy but probably busier than usual because traffic was being diverted onto it after an accident closed the other main road.

Otherwise, a picturesque situation at the head of loch long. £5 each, £5 elec, £1 shower - I had lovely hot one, partner's was cold but the owner refunded the money - apparently someone had put in the wrong coin and jammed the system.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnbw 1 review from this member

Brilliant wee campsite - Staff kind and very friendly. People on site very friendly. Great food shop.

Cheap as chips to stay. Local village with good food and bars. Campsite clean and tidy. Small toilet block but does job and staff keep as clean as possible.

I visit regular good walks and views second to none.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 567 reviews from this member

The campsite is situated behind a petrol station and a small takeaway cafe (both are closed by 6pm). We booked in at the garage - be aware there isnt any evening reception office. If you arrive after reception closed you can pitch and pay later but you may not get a toilet key unless the owner is around.

With the campsite being just behind the road we expected a lot of road noise but early evening it quietened down and we didn't notice any excessive noise during the night.

Plenty of pitches to choose from, some hardsdtanding and some on grass. Pitch where you like and electric on nearly every pitch. There is a fresh water tap on the site so you no longer have to go down to the garage.

Loos and showers seems to be fairly new but a little unfinished maybe. Two toilets and two showers in each. You get a key for the building when you arrive. We did notice during the day customers in the cafe being given the key to use the loos but come the evening it was just the campsite. Showers cost £1 for 5mins and water was good and hot.

We loved the village and walks down the side on Loch Long to the next village, also the forest footpaths up to Cobblers and Ben Ime.

There is a small grocery shop, a pub, a cafe and a chippy in the village. A 15 minute walk down towards Tighness village are another couple of lovely pubs and a cafe.

For £15 a night its a good site well situated for people travelling down to Kintyre. To be fair it maybe isnt the type of site for anyone wanting a holiday park but for a night or two its perfect - and only 2 miles over from Loch Lommond.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: K n V Latham 6 reviews from this member

Well it is what it says in the tin, reasonably prices overnight stopping place. Showers and toilets clean and tidy, had to pay £1 for shower, we prefer that to the push button that gives you 2 mins.

The site is in a lovely place, nice walk around the bay, pub and chippy, what more do you need.

Just be warned the drinking water is at the front of the café on the garage forecourt, not really great for motorhomes.

Ok for an overnight, will use again on out travels.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cc43 17 reviews from this member

This site was OK for an overnight stop and is just a short distance off the A82 if you are heading north to Fort William. The buildings are in between the site and the loch and so obscure the view.

The owner was very friendly and helpful. We had pre-booked; when I realised we wouldn't arrive till after 7pm on a Friday night, I phoned ahead and she left a key out for us. There was no evening reception.

The toilet block seems unfinished but is clean and adequate. No automatic lighting and I couldn't find the light switch when I went in on my own at 11pm. No dish-washing facilities. The place for emptying chemical toilets is quite a walk, and not easy to find, and no hose for rinsing.

Cheap prices, but £1 for shower.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jacqui Morris67 1 review from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights, nice clean and tidy site in the beautiful village of Arrochar with stunning views of the mountains. Toilet/shower block was clean.

A short walk takes you to the local pubs /shops/restaurants / hotels/ fish n chip shop and loch.

The owners were pleasant and helpful, there is a snack bar on site which serves lovely food/home baking. Brian the site manager was a great help when unhitching and hitching the caravan.

Great wee site at reasonable prices.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: S-and-G 10 reviews from this member

I am stunned this campsite does not have worse ratings, to be honest this is the worst place we have ever stayed.

Good points: the price, and we could pitch wherever we liked.

Bad points:

- very close to the road

- lot of unoccupied mobile homes, bringing a sad mood

- pegs went very hardly in

- no dish-washing sink, so we had to use the very small washbasins (no hot water neither)

- the toilet/shower block is a nice wooden building, but strangely sorted, doesn't really seem finished

- only 1 toilet for the men, where there was 6 empty toilet paper rolls and the soap was empty

- only 1 shower. During our 3-weeks holidays this is the only campsite where showers were not free, it costs you 1£ for 5min, and there was no hot water! Simply unbelievable.

- finally, there is a big Christian cross (3 metres high maybe), which is enlightened by fairy lights at night. And a 'Christian welcome' at the bottom a the second wooden panel when you come in. This made us feel very weird, even if we are both baptised.

Strangest campsite ever.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Millertommy 3 reviews from this member

Back again, this time I hired a static van, very reasonable price per night, and as usual the friendly folk make you feel very welcome,

And the little food hut next to the garage is amazing, not one single ding ding meal, all freshly cooked and beautiful,

Showers and toilet block are very clean and warm, (sometimes) depends on camp visitors,

But overall, brilliant holiday,

Well done glen loin.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Richardbatchelor 3 reviews from this member

We stopped here having been warned by the owner that it was basic. Well I have been to more basic that claim to be better!

Ok the site has no bells and whistles, it has all you need for a relaxed time. A 5 minute walk to the local pub, shop and chip shop.

We had a great pitch, you pitch anywhere you like very relaxed.

Bear in mind, hardly any mobile signal, hardly and radio signal, no ATM in the village at all!

The toilets and showers were fine, £1 for the shower but the very low cost of pitch more than fair.

We loved it for what it was. We had brilliant weather which helped of course.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GeoffBr 1 review from this member

We came up for the Arrochar Alps hill race and camped here for a couple of nights. We arrived at about 9. 15pm and received a friendly welcome at the house.

The facilities were good (even the old toilet block was ok, and the shower was free!)

Local shops are good. It's worth the extra walk to have a few pints at the Village Inn at the other end of the village.

The only thing that's lacking is a dedicated washing up area. This is presumably because most people are in caravans rather than tents.

We were quite surprised how many midges there were, considering it was July on the west coast of Scotland!

Overall, excellent value for a fiver.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3674 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019