Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glenloin House Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Loch Long > Glenloin House Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Glenloin House Caravan And Camping Site
Arrocher
Loch Long
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 7AJ
Tel: 01301 702239  or  07810 194259
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 32 Reviews
                8/10 from 32 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Asiend 1 review from this member

 This is an absolute gem for those seeking peaceful, comfortable, well looked after spot with outstanding views!

Full of history from Caledonian mountains to WW2 torpedoes testing site Arrochar is a must see- and this is definitely the best spot to see it from, conveniently located behind the quiet Gulf station for all your petrol needs.

Great facilities (spacious bathrooms and sparkling clean showers), good availability of pitches but most importantly- people who look after it are the kindest, most helpful hosts we have met on our path and I can't thank them enough.

We stayed longer than planned, so welcoming this site was and stoneís throw from Helensburgh. I enjoyed a glass of good whisky in the hotel on the hill above the pier with super quality live music.

Definitely worth visiting, we will be back soon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Travel 1 review from this member

 Although I arrived later than planned due to a cancelled train I was warmly received and directed to a patch of ground where I could camp for my stay and I was told about the facilities.

These were good and the shower (costing an extra £1) was nice and hot once it had heated up (can take up to a minute).

The location was fabulous, right at the foot of the Arrochar Alps, which provided me with plenty of great walking.

In Arrochar there are shops including a fish & chip shop and there is a shop attached to the campsite that among other things sold many tasty cakes.

All of this for only £5 a night was great value for money. 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Suemanser 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite is the friendliest we have ever stayed at!

We had a great welcome from the owner who gave us a choice of pitches & our neighbours who were so friendly & welcoming.

I had been concerned about road noise but found it no problem at all.

Pitches are spacious & mostly sunny & there are places to eat nearby if you want.

Will definitely return any time we're in the area & would recommend to others. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Filoud 1 review from this member

 Basic site, across the road from beautiful Loch Long.

There were two showers and two toilets in the ladies, that were clean and accessible with a supplied key. Showers were coin operated and really nice and hot and powerful, but the room itself was really cold and would benefit from the heating being on and maybe a hand drier.

Better signage would be a real help to guests, such as Reception, Grey Waste, etc.

The attached takeaway was tasty and overall customer service was good throughout and staff were really pleasant.

We had no complaints but feedback is left to help with minor improvements that could be made 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Tonymr 1 review from this member

 Site ok but wash rooms cold, no hand towels and foul water disposal a long way from the site.

Fresh water facilities in the washroom which was not ideal.

Told to dump the grey water in the stream on site? 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Graemelawson 6 reviews from this member

 On site from Friday 8th until Sunday 10th October and had a great time also enjoyed meals in Loch Long Hotel and great company was to be had there along with good food and excellent entertainment,

Canít wait to go back, hopefully make it before end of season, itís a great value site, quiet, well looked after, with good facilities and considerate owners/ warden.

Good food on site too for breakfast or lunch and tea/coffee and lovely cakes. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nessie64 2 reviews from this member

 Loved this site. Very friendly people, Brian and Viv.

Toilets very clean and great wee cafe with outside tables and benches.

It rained from we got there until we left the but can't wait to try it in the better weather.

Cannot beat it for the price with EHU too.

Couple of places to eat and half a drink 5-10 minutes away and wee chippy and shop. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Nnnccc 26 reviews from this member

 Liked this a lot so stayed an extra night. Site is just off main road behind petrol station. Got a nice grass pitch, not the levellest but nice nonetheless.

Site wasn't too busy so no issues with queuing for toilets/ showers which a key is issued to you for entry to stop non-residents from using facilities.

There is a car park opposite and people park up there and expect to be able to use site facilities so makes sense

To issue keys. Chemical waste is a bit of a trek away but again this deters passersby from using it. Toilet/shower more than adequate, £1 coin required for shower but you can't complain as this place gives excellent value for money.

If anything, I think they could possibly squeeze another toilet/shower into gents as they are very spacious and I think another one of each would be advantageous if site was very busy.

Location of site was excellent, just off main road, a little bit of road noise but not to worry about and easy walking distance into village where there a a few hotels, bars, chip shop, etc.

Snack bar beside petrol station run by owner and used a few times and more than impressed by what I had. Very popular going by the amount of people stopping to use it.

I did cycle round area and did manage to get into what was torpedo range on Loch Long during war. Very interesting though I do believe you're not supposed to go there. Got chatting with local fishermen who told me history of place.

I would return to this site, did enjoy it and that's what counts. There are quite a few statics on site but to be honest hardly saw any of the people in those. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ramoras 1 review from this member

 This is a nice site utilised by many it seemed as a stopover although a few campers stayed longer. The facilities are basic, and here I can only comment on the male facilities although my wife said the female facilities were similar.

There were 2 male toilets but only 1 in operation and the one shower unit requires a £1. Coin for every 5 minutes, long enough for me but not my wife with her long hair. That said it was a power shower and lots of adjustable hot water.
Whilst all surfaces and 'touch points' appeared to have been kept clean the same could not be said in general. There were areas of black mould in the shower cubicle, but not enough to put me off.

Overall I would visit the site again it was cheap enough to be a good place for a short night or two's stay. And very close to Loch Lomond but at a much better price. The area is served with a great general shop and Chippy. It is well maintained on a bus route.

Although not frequented by us I was told the on-site cafe was excellent. It needs mentioning to all that it is near a main road which was busy 9 to 5 weekdays.  


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mike202 4 reviews from this member

 Pleasant site, grassy and plenty of trees. Midgies not a problem when we were there. Facilities clean, showers etc but only one loo in the gents.

Noise from the main road goes on all night. Shops and and a pub nearby within a few mins walk, as well as a petrol station next door.

Was full when we got there but the owner eventually managed to fit us in. The views over Loch Long were very beautiful. 
via mobile


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Glenloin House Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Glenloin House Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Glenloin House Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Loch Long      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1979 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement