Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Measham House Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Measham > Measham House Farm Reviews

Measham House Farm
Gallows Lane
Measham
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE12 7HD
Tel: 01530 588940
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 31+ Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Steve1001 2 reviews from this member

 Not a bad little site, owner is very helpful and friendly, it was a bit on the muddy side but we stayed during the months of.

December and January so only to be expected. We were left to our own devices and only had contact with the owner if we encountered any problems, which were virtually non existent,

So all in all a good stay 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sterlingcaravan 5 reviews from this member

 We booked for two nights enroute back from Devon travelling north. The site is well placed for that A42 there are two toilets one single and one in with shower, both are clean but very basic in farm outhouse.

We stayed on cottage field which had no lighting and no outlook other than barns and storage vans. We have two small dogs and there was nowhere at all to walk them other than the site field.

The owners didn't want us to walk them up the farm drive cos it would upset her dogs! Dogs at cottage barked a lot and owners dogs ran at our neighbour when going to shower which he was not happy about. A lot of aircraft noise from East Midlands.

We booked and paid for two nights but only stayed one, no refunds, we didn't like this site and would not have wanted to stay more than one night. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LouLiz 15 reviews from this member

 Stayed here as it was close to Calke Abbey. Arrived in the pouring rain and had a problem with the hose fitting as it wouldn't connect to the farm's tap but the owner came out and helped sort the problem.

He also made us a fitting for us to use the next day. Only a couple of other vans in the field we were in and on the Sunday morning we had breakfast outside and were the only ones left so had the field to ourselves.

Toilet clean.

Would definitely return 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gandry 6 reviews from this member

 Booked in on this site for 2 nights in May. Via email we were told the CL was full but could go on the Cottage Field, £15 pn.

The site is in a good position for getting to from the M42, the CL is well kept by the side of the long drive leading to the farm.

Calling at the farm before we pitched we were allocated a pitch no. And never saw the owner again.

The dogs were in pens and barked when going near them especially going to the toilet block which is quite spacious, (didnít use the shower).

Cottage Field is a good size suitable for (controlled) children to play, with a Maize field (I think) on one side and farm buildings and stored caravans on the other. It has EHUís, drinking water and an elsan disposal point and is ideal for holding a small rally.

It is a lovely part of the country and Calke Abbey and Conkers are within easy reach,

Ashby de la Zouch is close by with some nice shops and a Wetherspoons where we enjoyed a nice meal. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daz1975 2 reviews from this member

 Nice site and owners good clean and working toilets and showers will visit again. We were in the cottage field and was a good size with room for the kids to play and plenty of room

M between units water point was easy and so was the waste

Great for cookers visit and also means ham car boot

Met some nice people on site had a good weekend in all 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kate75 11 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a lovely relaxing weekend recently while visiting Conkers and the Armed Forces Memorial Arboretum both close by and both worth a visit.

The site was in a paddock next to the farm house and is surrounded by farmland and countryside. The site is mainly sunny but has a few trees surrounding it.

As already said all the pitches are sloping to some degree so use of levelling blocks is essential. The site is very peaceful and makes for a lovely retreat. The owners have an information point at the house entrance.

At only £12 with EHU it is good value. TV signal was excellent. It is very easy to find from the A42. We had a great time here with our children who spent their time playing on the grass areas on the paddock as the site was not full. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TonyC52 13 reviews from this member

 Stayed for the weekend on the CL site. Good directions, easy to find and easy access, just a mile or so of A42 junction. Nice friendly welcome.

Field is closely mown grass. Depending on which pitch you choose it is sloping to a lesser or greater degree so levelling will be required. There is a separate exit gate at the bottom of the field so no sharp turns required.

The 5 hook-up points are arranged along two sides of the field, plenty of room to space apart, and other 2 sides unobstructed for the view.

There is a drinking water tap and elsan disposal point in the top corner of the field. Just opposite the entrance is an archway through to farm courtyard which contains a single toilet cubical and a shower (50p), both were very clean and tidy.

If you want a treat in the morning you can book full English breakfast in the Farmhouse.

Had a 'chill-out' weekend so didn't do any of the local attractions but would be happy to return. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Westy2011 3 reviews from this member

 This site has a cl caravan club field and a rally field which is the cottage field, stopped on the cottage field with electric hook up and the owners have upgraded for 2011 by installing a water & elsan point in this field. Both fields share a shower and 2 toilets which are clean and functional, 50p to use the shower.

We found the owners to be very friendly and helpful and the location set out in the countryside very good for a cheap basic weekend away,

Will be using this site again and get my elderly parents to stay over in the b & b on site 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nickkky 5 reviews from this member

 What an excellent place to stay. There were a group of us - mix of caravans and tents. We went to celebrate my daughter's 21st. We were on the so called 'rally' field well it was one of the best kept rally fields I have ever seen. The view of the fields were second to none.
I have to agree with the previous comment about a tap on rally field would be useful but it was not the end of the world to fill up with water by going for a walk to the farmhouse - which is beautiful.
The toilets and shower were well used but still clean. Plenty of electric hook ups. All in all a must if you want somewhere to chill out and relax. Plenty of space and fantastic service from the owner 


Reviewer: Busterpot33 42 reviews from this member

 May 2005
We stayed on the Top Field - bank holiday weekend, not crowded. Absolutely lovely place...could quite easily live there 365 days!!! Tucked away no problems for children who could play safely. Could make a lot of improvements but it is nice anyway...so peaceful. Water tap in Top Field would be very useful, could easily be done as there is a house in the top field so water supply is already there. Very friendly...you must all go and try it. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Measham House Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Measham House Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Measham House Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Measham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1945 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December