Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brow House Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Brow House Farm Reviews

Brow House Farm
Goathland
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 5NP
Tel: 01947 896274
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 60
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 32 Reviews
                8/10 from 32 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Matthewhuk 2 reviews from this member

Camping here is certainly an experience, if you are a fan of the TV series Heartbeat then you will recognise the location as Greengrass’s farm, lets just say I think when they filmed they must have tidied the place up considerably! The owner is a friendly guy with quite a resemblance to old Claude himself!

Facilities are certainly very rustic but serviceable for this back to basics sight and if you camp it the top field rather than squeezed in with the caravans below the views are magnificent. It’s also inexpensive (I wouldn’t say good value) for £5 each per night.

Campfires are allowed and logs can be bought from the farmer who comes round in the evening.

This could be a great site especially for exploring the village of Goathland (Aidensfield) as it’s only a 10min walk down but sadly what could be a nice chilled out style camping experience is let down by attracting the kind of low life’s and yobs that just go camping to get drunk and stay up half the night making a noise leaving their litter strewn across the field on their departure.

Would I return? Probably not and certainly not at the weekend!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EmilyG95 1 review from this member

Absolutely love this place!

I spent a lot of my childhood weekends here, first camping trip when I was 2 weeks old was here and my parents stayed well before I was born! Me and my sister never knew what it was really called as we always called it “greengrasses back garden”

Its not the best for facilities, and very rustic “proper camping” but the views are amazing! So quiet and peaceful. Short walk into Goathland (heartbeat country) with lovely tearooms and pubs for food. The Goathland to grosmont walk is also a favourite, or could even take an old fashioned steam train.

The owner is very friendly and welcoming, and a lovely location for going to other areas in North Yorkshire like Whitby or Scarborough.

Will probably still be camping here when I’m old and bring my own children. Would highly recommend

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angelamoulder1 2 reviews from this member

Beautiful Location, proper camping and at a good price. We will definitely be back. Saw the amazing meteor showers in the beautiful sky here and filled 4 days with fun for our little ones. Recommend the rail trail walk up to grosmont and back via the malyan spout waterfall. A great day out, also did steam train to whitby and back and a walk around the steam track around the moors in general. Brilliant. Delighted to be able to use our firepit for cooking morning and night. Site facilities clean and more than adequate. An accessible freezer would have been useful as although happy to freeze our packs for us we had to leave some on the last day as no one was about at the farmhouse. Also just be wary of the weather as a couple of tents suffered some damage in the bad winds. Ours stood fine however so it could just be down to tent type/pitching. Thank You :-)

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nobbly33 1 review from this member

Me and my friends stayed here and it was a great experience

Cheap and cheerful

Close to town

Amenities good

They allow camp fires as well

Will for sure stay here again

Nice and friendly owners as well they came round with fire wood every so often so we never ran short. Toilets and shower in good condition with no queuing.

Would highly recommend this site to anyone couples or groups.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tanone67 1 review from this member

Got here on Saturday afternoon. Paid at the farm house and was directed to the field and loos.

Its a lovely place. A little rustic. 3 loos. Male, Female and disabled and a shower. Never had to queue though.

They even came round with wood at a very reasonable price, nearly half what the same sized bag cost us at Asda. No official pack up time and no curfews or 'be silent' time.

Great place in a great location. Going back very soon.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hols-1985 1 review from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights, after reading the reviews was a little cautious and considered cancelling, but decided to give the site the benefit of the doubt and arrived with an open mind. The site is on a working farm and upon arrival we were greeted by the farmers son who offered to move around some of the caravans on site to enable all people in our group to pitch next to each other. We were allowed camp fires and thoroughly enjoyed the walks around the local area of Goathland. As mentioned in other reviews the toilets and shower are dated and not the cleanest but they are in full working order, I just took some gloves and cleaning wipes to allow me to clean the toilet seat before using!

All in all very enjoyable camping experience, kids loved watching the animals and playing hide and seek around the farm! Great back to basics camping trip which entertained the kids without spending in club houses and amusements!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Proctor122 2 reviews from this member

Great little site. Took our 2006 motorhome here. Has electric hook-up, but be careful not to have too much on, did trip out twice. Toilets and shower available on site, but very, very basic. Owners very friendly and easy going. When we stayed the site had one permanent resident, a very nice guy who sells duck eggs, lovely. If you want the luxury of home or the Ritz, don't bother, this site is for those who can make do and get by, and don't get fazed.

Amazing location for real walkers. And perfect if you are/were a 'Heartbeat' TV program fan, as it's film location is on your doorstep in Goathland, pub and all. Nice pub, friendly people, TV series garage across the road selling usual tourist things.

Another nice place to eat and drink down the road at the hotel, very nice people. We would definitely consider going back.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keaton01 2 reviews from this member

Camping here is basic. The views are stunning, and the surrounding area is beautiful. The site was reasonably quiet, which is what we like, and the owners were friendly. The facilities were basic (a male, female and disabled toilet and a shower) and this does not worry us at all, but we do like them to be clean. The toilets were disgusting. It was evident that they had not been cleaned for some time before we arrived, and were not cleaned for the 5 days we were there. We loved the area, loved the situation of the campsite, and loved the peace and quiet but sadly, the hygiene of the site will prevent us from considering it again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adam+Paula 3 reviews from this member

My wife and I spent 4 nights at this sight. It is a field in a working farm. To get to the toilets it's a wander downhill across a field. When you get there there are a couple of toilets for each sex and 1 unisex shower. Overall the facilities were kept clean during our visit. Firepits already exist and are dotted around the field to provide a focal point for solo campers (like us) or groups. Wood can be purchased from the site at a reasonable £4 a bag. The oldest of the farmers sons drives around to sell you wood on your doorstep (if you miss it you can get wood from the farmhouse) he is also a thoroughly nice and helpful person.

Goathland has a couple of pubs which serve real ale and is only a short walk from the site. Food is served at the hotel (which also boasts an a la carte restaurant) so you have options for food if not cooking for yourself. You can also pick up the train which travels between Pickering and Whitby. We took the train to Whitby and were surprised by how long it took. The charm of steam power almost makes up for the ridiculous travel time for such a short distance.

We chose this site for 2 reasons:- campfires and the area. The North Yorks Moors are beautiful. We had a day riding across a variety of terrain on our tandem mountain bike (thank you muddybums. Com for the route) and hardly saw another person - real 'out there experience'.

Would we go back? To the area 'Yes', to the site? Perhaps. Don't get me wrong, there is absolutely nothing wrong with the site. It's very good and does exactly what it says on the tin. Basic camping in a beautiful area. But the lack of 'no noise after???' would make me think twice.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thehawksworths 1 review from this member

What a fantastic place, don't get me wrong it's just a field on a farm but been allowed to have campfires makes this a fantastic down to earth site, how camping should be, back to basics. Me and my son went on the 21st September 2012 and we were the only ones there, pitched where we wanted and what a fire we had that evening clear skies, so many stars. The views around you are fantastic and like other reviews goathland only 5 mins away, the toilets and showers very basic but clean overall fantastic experience, many thanks to the owners who also were very nice

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2893 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019