Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping La Ravoire

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Rhone-Alpes > Lake Annecy > Camping La Ravoire Reviews

Camping La Ravoire
Route De La Ravoire
Doussard
Lake Annecy
Rhone-Alpes   (Browse area)
74210
Tel: 0450443780
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 108
Open: 15/05/2021 to 13/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Biddyk 1 review from this member

 Third year in a trot staying at La Ravoire. It's not a very busy sight but the views are tremendous and the staff who own it and work there are really friendly and helpful.

We drive from the UK and bring our own tent and it works out so much cheaper than staying in their accommodation and makes a lovely family holiday in a beautiful area of France affordable for us.

The pitches are a tad on the small size but saying that we have a Berghaus Air6, plus porch plus the shelter all on our pitch.

My kids are 10 and 12 now so probably at the upper limit of things for them to do there now.

Look forward to returning out of season when kiddies are a bit older! 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jacfrosty 12 reviews from this member

 We had 12 lovely days at La Ravoire last two weeks of August.

Nice small campsite, Lots of English but everyone friendly, children having a great time as able to get to know each other well.

Swimming pool lovely, but no deep end. Two slides, one nice and gently the other fast.

Facilities with no loo seats but very clean.

Area is fabulous. My grandson (11 years old) went paragliding which he loved.

Semnoz is the mountain above that side of the lake and is a must to visit on a clear day as you get the most amazing views of the alps and in particular Mont Blanc. Wonderful restaurant up there (Les Roches Blancs) which did fabulous local food.

The lake was fabulous for swimming in, especially for 2 mad labradors, 1 crazy granny and one 11 year old boy.

Annecy is delightful and the surrounding countryside is beautiful.

Both Geneva and Chamonix not too far for a day trip and well worth the visit (especially Chamonix).

Marked down as no loo seats - its a 4 star campsite for goodness sakes! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Katglasgow 6 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site in a beautiful location. Very level pitches and good facilities these were cleaned regularly throughout the day. We never had to queue for a shower and it was always hot.

As well as toilets and showers they also had separate private sink cubicles which we really liked. You need a special adapter to connect you EHU to the power supply but you can borrow one from the campsite for a 15 euro deposit.

The staff on this site were very friendly and helpful with good local information and a really nice friendly feel in all communal areas. The pool was amazing the kids could play there all day long and multi sports area and playpark where kids hung about in the evenings. Because the site was not too big it was really easy for the kids to make friends.

The site is down at the south end of Lake Annecy right next to the main cycle path. It felt more picturesque that some of the sites that were closer to Annecy town. Everybody cycles here its very safe and such a beautiful way to get around there are places to stop all the way round the lake - beautiful.

We visited in the 1st week on July and were lucky enough to catch the Etape which is the amateur stage of the tour de France there were lots of extra events on in Annecy town and a brilliant festival atmosphere.

The site is also visiting by a free bus service that take you into the Sambuy Mountain resort where you can try luge (grass tobogganing) you can also take your mountain bike on the bus and bike back down to mountain and follow a trail all the way back to the campsite!

We also had longer day trips from here into the Chamonix Mont Blanc area which were breathtakingly amazing. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AndrewMoorey 35 reviews from this member

 Arriving at Camping La Ravoire we were welcomed by the lovely Julie and the staff, booked in quickly and shown to our pitch. We had asked for a large pitch for our TA van plus a 3 metre awning and sun canopy and there was room left for the car as well.

Our pitch backed onto the road that runs down the west side of the site which can get a bit noisy with local traffic from early morning. We managed to hook up to electricity and water quite easily but too far away to run grey waste. Two-pin electrical socket on the post but they will lend you an adapter for a E15 deposit.

There are a lot of cabins and safari tents but still plenty of shady pitches for tourers, tents and MoHo's.

Pool, bar/ cafe all good as previously mentioned, Showers acceptable, clean with plenty of hot water whenever I used them but I do struggle with the lack of a toilet seat! Paper is provided but did run out a couple of times.

Having the dogs with us, with the temperatures in the mid 30s we regularly walked them down to a little public area adjacent to the Ches ma Cousine restaurant (excellent food) where we all piled in for a swim.

Most times the lake was warmer than the pool, other times we drove to the opposite side of the lake to another small public beach. Julie arranged our rendezvous with the local vet for the pooches but so far he is the most expensive we have come across, plus he did a bit of a sales number on us for two tick tablets and we left E160 lighter.

Overall a very enjoyable experience, couldn't fault anything really and we'd definitely return. So much to do in the area if you're outdoorsy or adventurous, we like to kick back and relax with the occasional meal out in one of the many excellent eateries (all dog friendly) especially Restaurant de Pontgibaud in Lathouile. Its where the locals eat and the food is fantastic and inexpensive.

Access to the site can be tricky if you follow your sat nav as it will try and take you through the little commune of Bredannaz. This has two sharp 90 degree bends and a very narrow exit. Better to stay on the main road until you come to the Chez ma Cousine restaurant on your left then turn right and approach the campsite from the South.

Even so it's a bit tricky with a long outfit with a quick zig-zag as you turn off and the road is single track but the locals seem to be willing to take to the verges if you meet them.

Missing it already, a very nice site with 360 degree scenery you could never tire of, looking forward to coming here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LesleyandPeter 35 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were somewhat disappointed, the pitches are small and random.

We are used to a bit more privacy. However this made for a really friendly and enjoyable holiday. The facilities are great, especially for families. The setting is very beautiful, Doussard is a lot quieter than Annacy, and set in dramatic scenery. If your wanting an action packed holiday with lots to do then you cannot go wrong staying here. If you fancy paragliding look at FLYEO go to the field in Doussard where they all land and there are a few companies offering Paragliding, we found flyeo to be very professional. The best way to see the lake is by boat, we took the boat from Doussard to Annacy. Annacy offers plenty of shops cafes and restaurants, and is one of the prettiest places we've ever visited. If your wanting a peaceful break in amazing countryside then you've found your paradise. Don't miss travelling to Chamonix and taking the cable car to top of Mont Blanc its amazing. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snotzke 2 reviews from this member

 This is a well-run campsite with friendly and helpful staff who make an effort to create a welcoming atmosphere.

We were here in high season with another family and had two adjacent pitches for the ten of us. We were lucky to have relatively large pitches with ample space for parking, playing and cooking.

We rigged up a tarpaulin awning which saved us in the rain as well as providing extra shade, which was necessary in the amazing weather we had the second week. (There's a huge Decathlons the other side of Annecy. )

The site is a small one which is safe for the children to roam free in. They preferred the bouncy castle to the rest of the small playground. The children spent a lot of time in and out of the swimming pool, which is great for families with young children. They particularly enjoyed the slides. The inside pool area was useful on the wet days. We could have a coffee at the bar and enjoy the view of the mountains while they played.

The food on offer in the bar may be limited, but it is freshly prepared and good quality. The little on-site shop has a range of staples as well as the obligatory fresh baguettes and croissants for breakfast. We did our shopping in the Intermarché or Carrefour in Faverges.

There is some gentle evening entertainment. My children enjoyed the fire juggling, but we didn't watch any of the other acts.

The toilets and showers are clean and tidy and there is an extra toilet paper dispenser in case the cubicles run out, which they do frequently. There is plenty of hot water for showers and enough sinks for the washing up even at peak times.

The laundry seems a bit expensive at 5€ a load (we needed several loads as there are a lot of us), but a whole load fits in the dryer (3€), which dries everything in an hour. The best time to do the washing is in the evening, as there's no queue then.

There are plenty of activities in the local area for all types of weather. The cascade and zip wire in Seythenex are well worth a visit with teenagers. The walk to the beach was a bit much in the heat, but the parking isn't too expensive. The pedalos with the slides were a great hit.

We didn't manage to do everything we would have liked, so we'll definitely be returning to this site some time over the next couple of years. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grannycamper 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely little campsite, close to the lake with only a short walk to get there. It is set in an ideal location for sightseeing, The area surrounding Lake Annecy is beautiful. We have a Montana 6p tent which is quite big but there was room to park our car next to it, so it suited us fine. We stayed for the last week of July 2015 and the weather was Beautiful and although it rained a couple of times it was at night so all was well. The campsite has a small bakery that sells fresh bread every morning and a shop that sells most of the things you might need until you can go to a supermarket, there is a well stocked one in Dussard. There is also a great pool for the kids with a water slide, I enjoyed the slide too! I would certainly return to this site, and, I enjoyed my stay there very much. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Socco74 2 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site. I agree with the comments about the site being cramped when busy and since our last visit 4 years ago they have installed more static caravans. Its the location that keeps us returning! For cycling families a ride into Annecy and back is a must and for more serious cyclists there plenty of col's in the surrounding mountains to test the legs. The lake is great for swimming due to its tepid temperature. The site takes pride in its facilities and other than a toilet seat we couldn't ask for more! We may try one of the other many sites in the area next time though if we can guarantee a better pitch. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Albourneboy 13 reviews from this member

 Arrived on this lovely little site on Friday 20th June (2 days late after breaking down in the UK) and left early morning of Sunday 6th July.

Really enjoyed our stay. We had a fully serviced pitch which was very convenient. Our pitch was reasonably sized but we were glad that the site was quiet throughout our visit - if it had been full, the site could have felt cramped and we would have had to park our car on our pitch, which would have made that feel cramped too.

The toilet/shower block was very good and was kept very clean. Not sure how it will cope when the site is full but there were never any queues when we were there. There is a small shop selling basic goods in the same building that contains the reception office. The staff stocked up this shop in preparation for the high season the day before we left. Bread is available here every morning from 8am. Baguettes didn't have to be ordered and there always seemed to be some to buy - if you wanted anything else though, an ordering system was in operation. Also in the same building is a small laundry (3 washing machines and 3 dryers). The machines cost 5 euros to use and could turn round a hot wash in about 40 minutes. We never used the dryers so can't comment on those.

There is a also a bar and of course, a swimming pool. The bar does a very limited range of meals in the evening. Again, can't comment further as we never ate there and we never used the bar or the pool.

The area is beautiful. The lake is surrounded on 3 sides by mountains rising to over 2000 metres and you can drive up many of these to be rewarded with stunning views out over the lake and even out to Mont Blanc.

Annecy itself is very picturesque and with so many places to eat, you are totally spoilt for choice. A bike ride is a good way to get there as is the lake 'taxi' that visits several small ports around the lake.

Hang gliding is extremely popular in the area and hardly a day goes by when you can't see dozens of these colourful craft of all shapes and sizes flying around. You can even go tandem with a pilot yourself if you are feeling brave enough. Not cheap though! There are lots of things to do on and in the lake such as pedlos, snorkelling, stand-up paddle boarding - the list is endless. You can even go canyoning in one of the local gorges.

A trip out to Chamonix is worth the journey but to make the most of it, you do need to go very early. A cable car ride to see Mont Blanc from the Aiguille du Midi is a must if you can get on it (we couldn't sadly as it was sooo busy!) and also the rack & pinion train ride to see the glacier is well worth it too. Try a meal at the little restaurant whose terrace overlooks the glacier. The Alpine Choughs enjoy the food there too!

We also drove to Geneva on another day but beware, entering Switzerland will cost you 47 euros for a 'Vignette' (seems to be some sort of road tax). We found Geneva a nightmare of traffic lights/pedestrian crossings/trams/bus lanes/taxi lanes etc. We couldn't even find anywhere to park for longer than 90 minutes and none of it was free. Ended up having a quick picnic down by the lake and heading 'home' again. If you can, find a Park and Ride - it'll be easier though you may need a map to work out where to go. Nice place but we won't go again. Ever!

Being in the mountains, you are very likely to experience a thunderstorm (or several thunderstorms!). We had a few wet days and found it a struggle to find things to do in an area that is so heavily into outdoor activities. There are a few indoor places to visit such as local museums if you are into that sort of thing but the area is not littered with Chateau like many other areas of France.

One word of caution - the road to the site passes through a small village where the road gets very narrow. No problem if nothing is coming the other way (we were lucky) but there is nowhere to go if you are towing a caravan - you have to hope the oncoming driver will back up for you! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mcdoog 2 reviews from this member

 Booked in for a week and stayed for a couple more days.

Excellent location - very close to cycle track and other amenities. Annecy is a boat ride or short car journey away. Lots to do there and the Chateau is worth a visit.

Great for kids - being smaller it was easier to keep tabs on them. The pool was great and lots to do in the area.

Spotless - the two guys who did the toilets worked like trojans each day.

Staff excellent, everyone very helpful and on message.

Overall - excellent 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping La Ravoire child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping La Ravoire have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping La Ravoire?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping La Ravoire dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lake Annecy      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Rhone-Alpes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2795 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement