Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Green Lane Camping And Caravanning (formerly The Huntsman And Hounds)

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Althorne > Green Lane Camping And Caravanning (formerly The Huntsman And Hounds) Reviews

Green Lane Camping And Caravanning (formerly The Huntsman And Hounds)
Green Lane
Althorne
Essex   (Browse area)
CM3 6BJ
Tel: 01621 741126  or  07908979028
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
                8/10 from 38 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Raywoo 1 review from this member

 Very friendly site and good pub very close.

Food in the pub is basic but very nice.

Excellent roads around for cycling.

Only criticism itís a shame there isnít a park for the children to play in on site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Miken295 2 reviews from this member

 Perfect, quiet, friendly campsite clearly suffering after long lockdown.

No water on field due to a leak and we had no electric on our point after 3 days for reasons we could not discover.

Hopefully these matters can be sorted quickly as the site has much going for it.

Associated with a delightful country pub. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ryanco 1 review from this member

 Quiet, friendly staff and locals are helpful too,

Attached pub sell good meals and facilities are clean,

Just went for bank holiday weekend and would definitely go again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Cortin 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 1 night with my 8 year daughter, as her first time camping.

Was booked in to another site, but they wouldn't tell us where they are!

Phoned this site at very short notice and Jim and his staff were very helpful, half hour later we were there putting up the tent.

The site itself is very basic, a large but well kept field behind the pub in a very quiet location.

My daughter enjoyed it so much, we're going back this weekend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: User2 4 reviews from this member

 The site is a large field next to the pub. They charge £20 a night just to stop. They didnít tell us that for EHU you pay £5 extra for a card. We didnít try the shower as it was an extra £1.

They donít tell you anything, they just take your money. So for your 20 quid you donít get much. The field has an array of rotting caravans, which doesnít add to the charm.

When we left the next day we had to find someone at the pub to unlock the gate. The site isnít close to anything, other than the pub.

Very expensive mistake, donít bother. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 29scrabbly 9 reviews from this member

 Booked this site as it had a pub but the night we wanted to eat 'the staff hadn't turned up ' so no food available. That meant a 20min drive to the next nearest pub. Front entrance VERY off putting as you have to park on the main road, go to the pub to get the key, open the gate (heavy), set up where you wanted, then shut the gate and return the key !

No instructions as to where was hook up available, where toilets, where showers. We had to hunt to find anyone to make enquiries. We even found it difficult to find anyone to pay ! The performance with the gate meant we left the car behind the pub which was inconvenient as I leave the cases in the car to avoid cluttering the van. Every change of clothes meant a walk to the pub and back. Lots of caravan storage which makes it look unkempt. Lots of lived in vans as well and flat bed trucks which shouldn't have mattered but it did. Too far from anywhere interesting. On enquiring from the barmaid she said that was why people came. Takes all sorts ! We were booked in for 4 nights but left after 1. Just weren't happy there. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stevenlesley 4 reviews from this member

 We stopped a night here at end of June while exploring this part of Essex. It was a Sunday night and that meant the pub shut early so couldn't verify the reviews of good beer and food (which we would have liked to do).

The camping field is at the back of the pub and there were a number of long stay caravans which wasn't a problem though. Basic shower facilities in a small building adjacent to the pub, the challenge was first to locate it then find the door code to get in.

Showers were basic but obviously not adequately cleaned regularly which is a shame as the site has such a great potential if it was smartened up with a little more effort, which was the main negative about this site for us, but don't let that put you off, just be aware. The pub toilets remained open all night for access (but not the bar!). 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slowcyclist 1 review from this member

 I'd cycled over 80 miles on my fully laden touring bike by the time I got to Maldon, some of it being paced at time trial speed by a kindly guide on a nice light road bike. What I needed was a beer, some food and a pitch for the night. I got all three. The barmaid gave me a cheery smile and a pint, followed swiftly by another. The guy in charge of camping told me where to go, Essex style: by which I mean he told me where I could pitch my tent and Jim, the landlord, offered to cook my dinner although it was, technically, his day off.

Not only that, Jim was looking for his golf shoes and the evidence suggested he finds it tricky to do more than one thing at time. A fact that was confirmed when he was still trying to focus on that task at well after ten o'clock. For the record, my steak and ale pie hit the spot and the beers were all spot on. Yes, I did sample a few.

I can't vouch for the shower facilities as I made an early getaway, with the promise of a luxurious bath at my brother's house later in the day.

Cheers, Jim! 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cranky 11 reviews from this member

 Spent a very enjoyable weekend here. We have our own facilities so didn't use site shower but toilets were fine and open all night. The field was mown and although there is a few 'long term' vans around its not a problem and most sites have them. Pub is lovely and food and beer excellent. Hook ups seem new and are the card system.

Will be returning. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Austin10 1 review from this member

 Excellent basic site. Stayed 4 nights. Very good pub to sit in during the evening with friendly locals, tasty food (especially Sunday lunch) and excellent beer (need to pre-order food in the evening during the week). Toilet facilities are the pub toilets left open each night which were clean, and lights on. Basin is small but quick hot water. Why do some people nick plugs? Shower is in a separate shabby-looking building. Half-hourly bus service to Burnham, Maldon, Chelmsford from a stop a third of a mile away beside the Althorne post office/shop (although bus travels within 200metres but no stop nearby). Field was clean. Did not use a hook-up. 2 of us with tent was £10 per night. Brilliant value! Would use it again. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Green Lane Camping And Caravanning (formerly The Huntsman And Hounds) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Green Lane Camping And Caravanning (formerly The Huntsman And Hounds)?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Green Lane Camping And Caravanning (formerly The Huntsman And Hounds) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Althorne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4372 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement