Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Village De La Guyonniere

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Saint Julien Des Landes > Camping Village De La Guyonniere Reviews

Camping Village De La Guyonniere
1 La Guyonniere
Saint Julien Des Landes
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85150
Tel: +33251466259
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 393
Open: 01/05/2021 to 12/09/2021
           01/05/2022 to 12/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ammdkids 26 reviews from this member

 A really good site. We had a huge pitch. The toilets were spotless and recently updated. The swimming complex was fantastic. The entertainment was okay.

We had a brilliant day out at the Grand Défi tree climbing place organised by the campsite.

We especially enjoyed happy hour at 5pm when a half price beer was very welcome while sat around the pool.

Also they have a cashless system where you put a refundable amount on a special bracelet. This meant no purse was needed at the pool. We will return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nipperlocko1 1 review from this member

 Absolutely fantastic 5* campsite with huge pitches and excellently placed for the vendee region, nearest beaches 10 minutes away,

Plenty of on site amenities including excellent bar and restaurant plus take out service, kid’s club, spa facilities and fishing,

Very clean showers and toilets and well cleaned,

We also made a fantastic visit to puy de fou which we pre booked,

All in all I fully recommend this site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cc7979 21 reviews from this member

 Agree with the other comments - a very good site and probably the best we have used in France.

Excellent facilities with modern. Refurbished indoor and outdoor swimming pool, slides - even a lazy river! Toilet facilities were clean and more than acceptable. Pitches are generally on the large size.

Nice restaurant - you can eat inside or outside and watch the entertainment - we only saw the fire-eater but was good. Food expensive, but this seems the way with campsite in France now (although a good standard).

There is a nice bar which again, is expensive, but a great touch is a bar in the swimming pool complex. Drinks are served in plastic cups and can be taken to you lounger - a rarity in France we have found. As mentioned in other reviews, there is also a 50% off happy hour in the afternoon, which makes the drinks suddenly good value. Get in the queue early though - and not too late so you don't reach the front until the end - they are strict!

It is also nice that you are on a large lake - very quiet - I took my inflatable canoe on it and hardly saw anyone else.

The only couple of issues are firstly, the area isn't the greatest. There really isn't anything in walking distance (nice little typical French village aside) and the towns on the vendee coast are all of a type. Pleasant enough but not very "French". Obviously it is a plus that the coast is so near - but it is still a 20 - 30 mins drive so have to pack the car up etc. We found much more for us, and the kids, to do when we visited the Loire the previous year.

We also had an issue where there were multiple thefts on site during our stay. We bizarrely had our clothes drier and clothes stolen - although a number of others lost bikes. The site ultimately dealt with it well - the police were contacted and items were returned. I do wonder if the site could have vetted a little better when the thieves were let on.

This is a popular area for British visitors - there are a two other large 5 star campsites in 2 miles radius. Knowing friends who have been to the other two, I am glad we chose this one and can thoroughly recommend.

Would we return? Theoretically, yes, the site was excellent, but I am not sure I would rush back to this area of France.  


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HOSPITALWORKER 32 reviews from this member

 Our second year at this campsite. We love this site as it's so quiet and peaceful. The pitches are really big and it has everything we are looking for on a site. Although there are over 200 pitches they are really well spread out and it doesn't feel like there are that' many pitches.

My only complaint and it's not really a complaint is that the water in the showers isn't very hot and the toilet paper is situated outside the toilet which means you have to make sure you take some in with you.

Pou De Fou is an excellent day out and again we have been there twice - love the place.

We don't have young children or teenagers but I would say this site is suitable for young children but not for teenagers. Also excellent for older people (like us)

Hope to return to this site in a few years time. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Markheatrix 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first trip to France with our caravan and we picked this site with nothing to benchmark it against. We found the site on here out of all the choices and we couldn't have been happier.

Pitches were huge, toilets and showers were spotless and new. The site was so well kept, well organised and the staff were great, especially Valerie the kids rep with our 2 children.

There are many playgrounds, animals to feed and pet and the pool was great. We met some lovely people, most of what seem to have been going for years.

That's not in a clique sense but that once you find this site, you just want to come back. New developments for the pool area for next year we believe. Loved it here and will be back. I 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Defender 6 reviews from this member

 For our first overseas family holiday, we selected Village de la Guyonnier. After all, so many positive reviews couldn't all be wrong could they?

The site is located just outside a small village called St Julian des Landes. There is a long access road leading to the site that would prove entertaining if two units approached each other from different directions! The entrance and initial car park to the VdlG could be better signposted, especially for new arrivals. There is nowhere to park except outside of the reception block and with a caravan hitched up, you end up blocking the internal access path. We were not sure whether we should have driven to this point or not as the road appeared to narrow and then turn 90 degrees left. A sign indicating that we could exit the site from here and/or return to the main car-park would be useful.

That said, we were sited on Le Tournesol, a flat field closest to the facilities, and jolly glad I am too that we were located here.

Our pitch was approximately 45ft x 40ft so plenty of room for the twin-axle caravan, porch awning, car and room to stake out the dogs.

We were very close to what looked like a new wash-block that was kept immaculately clean throughout our stay. Not sure about the toilet-paper dispensers though. The idea is that you help yourself to paper before entering the cubicle. If it is an attempt to save paper, I'm not entirely sure that it is successful as the owners hoped.

The pitch, although 'flat' in the sense of being 'level', was quite corrugated and rutted. This was in common with all of the pitches in this area. Mind you, the appearance of moles during each evening probably didn't help with keeping the pitch bowling-green level!

This is a huge site, approximately 30 hectares, with only 340 or so pitches. No-one is crammed in and you all have room to relax and chill without encroaching on your neighbours.

There are lovely walks around the site, especially leading down to the Lac du Jaunay, which is worth several days visits to explore and hire boats, canoes or pedaloes or indulge in other water-borne activites.

Located within a 5-10mins drive is a paint-ball site and a high-wire tree site. There are plenty of attractions slightly further afield such as go-karting and quad-biking.

The site is only 15 minutes from the seaside town of Bretignolles sur Mer - a lovely coastal resort with a beautiful beach that extends for many miles north and south. For dog owners, be mindful that dogs are excluded from most beaches during peak season and only allowed on certain beaches whilst on leads.

The site has a rustic feel to it. Certainly no Pin Parasol in its appearance but aesthetically pleasing and we found that it added to the ambience and allowed you to wind down to a rural speed of life much quicker. After a day or so, you hardly noticed any of the (minor) shortcomings and when you did spot something 'not quite right' it just added to the appeal.

The site appears to be Dutch run, with the majority of holidaymakers being Dutch, British and French (in that order).

The Ritz brothers circus attended the site whilst we were there and this proved very popular and entertaining.

The staff, with the exception of the reception staff and the bike hire/kit hire chap, all appear to be (predominantly Dutch) students awaiting to return to college/university but their enthusiasm was infectious. All staff were extremely friendly, helpful and courteous and nothing was a problem for them. Reception even telephoned a local vets for us to arrange for the treatment our dogs are required to undergo before arrival back in the UK.

The bar was reasonably priced - soft drinks being the standard 2E or 2. 4E each and glasses of wine starting at 1. 8E.

Takeaway food was priced similar to other sites in France and the reasonably well-stocked shop was not too overpriced. The site is worth staying at purely for the Croissant Amand that the shop served each morning!

There are numerous child play areas, tennis courts, pens of animals scattered all around the site (sheep, goats, rabbits etc), a daily tractor ride for 'les enfants' and nightly entertainment.

The 'spa' facilities offered a jacuzzi, hot seats, sauna and Hammam as well as offering massages if pre-booked.

Very rarely do we seek to return to a site that we have stayed at before, but by day three, two of our group were asking 'can we come back?'

Overall, a hugely enjoyable holiday and a site that we will most certainly re-visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ljhomer 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed in our caravan for the first time in the Ruelle Basse field which is really nice with excellent wash block facilities. Although the pitch was really big it was on a bit of a slope and as a first time caravanner a bit difficult to level out. Our pitch didn't have water or drainage so if I booked again I would book a fully serviced pitch - little trek to get water and empty grey waste.

La Pointe field looked excellent though with even bigger flat pitches and most fully serviced but I think its a case of book early and quite a few people I spoke to were on 2nd and 3rd trips and booked for next year. My 10 year old son loved the site I am not 100% sure it held enough for me as a single parent, perhaps with friends although I'm not sure there is enough entertainment to keep teenagers busy.

We did have great neighbours which always helps and a couple of very helpful English guys gave me a hand with leveling my caravan and some great pointers for the future.

Beaches not very far away that you're allowed dogs on which is great as ours loves swimming, he also swam in Lac Du Januay which is just a short walk from the campsite, but steer clear of the algae.

The takeaway I felt was a bit pricey so we only used it on the first night, didn't sample the restaurant or wellness centre so can't comment on those. Reception staff were lovely and very helpful.

Overall enjoyed our stay and would recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Kemurf 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed in a static on a huge pitch near the goats, with a nearby play park. The tent pitches also seemed huge, similar to RCN La Ferme du Latois which we had camped at the previous week, nearby and loved. Spacious and in a good location as it was easy (10-15 mins) get to the beaches and SuperU. Shop was good for croissant run in the mornings and laundry area next door. Nice play areas dotted around. Seemed to have good facilities for disabled too. Mix of Brits, Dutch (mostly) and French.

Best things about the site;

Kids loved it! as made lovely friends and enjoyed the pool. The contra-current at the side of the pool is really good fun, the slide and paddling pool are good and the covered pool was good too, as weather was often not great.

Space - pitches are big. Toilet and showers seemed very good.

Nice bar, didn't use the takeaway or restaurant or the Wellness Centre.

Lots of activities/ things going on, for adults (yoga, abs class etc) and dancing/singing for the kids to use as you like. Entertainment some evenings, but not in your face.

I thought the pool area and campsite generally lacked TLC though, a bit of pride, it felt shabby in places (paving slabs around pool sticking up, pool tiles and slide looked grubby and dirty), bit overgrown or bare even, like outside the shop area. It wasn't even the end of season. Opposite feeling to the pretty La Ferme du Latois nearby. Commercial, little bit tatty, which is so easily fixed.

But this site suits all age kids as there is so much to do, so many other kids to hang out with. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Baggiess22 1 review from this member

 Having stayed at several other Vendee campsites, Yelloh village and Castels, this one is truly a 5 star site. Our pitch no. 55 was huge, caravan, full awning, side annex, outdoor eating spot for 4 and a full size badminton court setup, we could still have got another 3 cars along with ours on the pitch. Pitches are simply no comparison to other sites.

Toilets were brand new and spotless, showers always hot and powerful. We enjoyed the bar area, it has a very relaxed and welcoming feel to it, music is fab and live entertainment was excellent to suit all tastes. My teenage son enjoyed the pool tables and table tennis.

The younger children's entertainers worked tirelessly, dancing, singing, and playing the fool they quickly became the pied piper with all the kids loving what they did.

The swimming complex was always clean and well supervised, an added bonus of a poolside bar selling bar snacks and a happy hour with half price drinks. Wi-fi was down for the first 3 days which I found great because we talked as a family, when it came on normal service was resumed with everyone looking at their iphones. We had no issues with connections and face-timed our elder son in the UK several times.

Fishing lake holds some good carp and tench and its free for the duration of your stay

Nearby beaches are excellent and only 15 min drive. The surrounding area is very beautiful with many places to visit, we took a pedalo out on Lake Jaunay, bikes are also popular here.

We also used the wellness center on site, sauna, steam-room and Jacuzzi plus relaxer beds, really nice touch.

Already booked up again for next year like so many others. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spike city 1 review from this member

 Just come back from 10 days at this site.

Firstly, we were blessed with fantastic weather, we have spent the last few holidays camping in Cornwall, never again!.

The site itself has everything you need ( except decent wifi).

The pitches are massive, and the Pools are fantastic.

Even at peak time we were able to get a sun bed.

The site is Dutch run, I would say that when we were there it was 60-70% Dutch families.

It was nice not to have a 'little England' feel, the Dutch are a very friendly lot and all speak English, and we found them a very happy go lucky bunch.

The coast line is approx a 20 minute drive, and you won't be disappointed. Beautiful beaches everywhere, and so relaxing.

You can go on to a fantastic beach at 11am and nearly have it all to yourself!.

The French tend to go to the beach mid afternoon, but we still never found it crowded at all.

Le Dunes at Brem sur mer was a lovely beach with some good waves for body boarding. Le Trenches ( south and about 40 mins away) made us feel we were in the Caribbean!

Back to the site, the pools were both excellent, the outdoor pool was a bit chilly at first, but really refreshing once you are in.

Going into the indoor pool after the outdoor was like stepping into a bath!

The only slight downside of the site is the very poor wifi reception ( it won't worry most people) it was rubbish to be honest!

Everyone trying to get emails etc just couldn't.

We found the best thing was to sit in a Mc Donald's (16 mins drive) and use the free wifi there!.

All in all we had a fantastic time, everyone was really friendly ( except for the odd English couple who as normal looked miserable!)

Would we return? You bet, 50 weeks today we will hopefully be back there in the sun :-) 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Village De La Guyonniere child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Village De La Guyonniere have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Village De La Guyonniere?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Village De La Guyonniere dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saint Julien Des Landes      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5224 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement