Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Village De La Guyonniere

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Saint Julien Des Landes > Camping Village De La Guyonniere Reviews

Camping Village De La Guyonniere
1 La Guyonniere
Saint Julien Des Landes
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85150
Tel: +33251466259
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 314
Open: 25th May - 15th September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 36 Reviews
                9/10 from 36 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HOSPITALWORKER 20 reviews from this member

Our second year at this campsite. We love this site as it's so quiet and peaceful. The pitches are really big and it has everything we are looking for on a site. Although there are over 200 pitches they are really well spread out and it doesn't feel like there are that' many pitches. My only complaint and it's not really a complaint is that the water in the showers isn't very hot and the toilet paper is situated outside the toilet which means you have to make sure you take some in with you.

Pou De Fou is an excellent day out and again we have been there twice - love the place.

We don't have young children or teenagers but I would say this site is suitable for young children but not for teenagers. Also excellent for older people (like us)

Hope to return to this site in a few years time.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Markheatrix 2 reviews from this member

This was our first trip to France with our caravan and we picked this site with nothing to benchmark it against. We found the site on here out of all the choices and we couldn't have been happier. Pitches were huge, toilets and showers were spotless and new. The site was so well kept, well organised and the staff were great, especially Valerie the kids rep with our 2 children. There are many playgrounds, animals to feed and pet and the pool was great. We met some lovely people, most of what seem to have been going for years. That's not in a clique sense but that once you find this site, you just want to come back. New developments for the pool area for next year we believe. Loved it here and will be back. I

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Defender 6 reviews from this member

For our first overseas family holiday, we selected Village de la Guyonnier. After all, so many positive reviews couldn't all be wrong could they?

The site is located just outside a small village called St Julian des Landes. There is a long access road leading to the site that would prove entertaining if two units approached each other from different directions! The entrance and initial car park to the VdlG could be better signposted, especially for new arrivals. There is nowhere to park except outside of the reception block and with a caravan hitched up, you end up blocking the internal access path. We were not sure whether we should have driven to this point or not as the road appeared to narrow and then turn 90 degrees left. A sign indicating that we could exit the site from here and/or return to the main car-park would be useful.

That said, we were sited on Le Tournesol, a flat field closest to the facilities, and jolly glad I am too that we were located here.

Our pitch was approximately 45ft x 40ft so plenty of room for the twin-axle caravan, porch awning, car and room to stake out the dogs.

We were very close to what looked like a new wash-block that was kept immaculately clean throughout our stay. Not sure about the toilet-paper dispensers though. The idea is that you help yourself to paper before entering the cubicle. If it is an attempt to save paper, I'm not entirely sure that it is successful as the owners hoped.

The pitch, although 'flat' in the sense of being 'level', was quite corrugated and rutted. This was in common with all of the pitches in this area. Mind you, the appearance of moles during each evening probably didn't help with keeping the pitch bowling-green level!

This is a huge site, approximately 30 hectares, with only 340 or so pitches. No-one is crammed in and you all have room to relax and chill without encroaching on your neighbours.

There are lovely walks around the site, especially leading down to the Lac du Jaunay, which is worth several days visits to explore and hire boats, canoes or pedaloes or indulge in other water-borne activites.

Located within a 5-10mins drive is a paint-ball site and a high-wire tree site. There are plenty of attractions slightly further afield such as go-karting and quad-biking.

The site is only 15 minutes from the seaside town of Bretignolles sur Mer - a lovely coastal resort with a beautiful beach that extends for many miles north and south. For dog owners, be mindful that dogs are excluded from most beaches during peak season and only allowed on certain beaches whilst on leads.

The site has a rustic feel to it. Certainly no Pin Parasol in its appearance but aesthetically pleasing and we found that it added to the ambience and allowed you to wind down to a rural speed of life much quicker. After a day or so, you hardly noticed any of the (minor) shortcomings and when you did spot something 'not quite right' it just added to the appeal.

The site appears to be Dutch run, with the majority of holidaymakers being Dutch, British and French (in that order).

The Ritz brothers circus attended the site whilst we were there and this proved very popular and entertaining.

The staff, with the exception of the reception staff and the bike hire/kit hire chap, all appear to be (predominantly Dutch) students awaiting to return to college/university but their enthusiasm was infectious. All staff were extremely friendly, helpful and courteous and nothing was a problem for them. Reception even telephoned a local vets for us to arrange for the treatment our dogs are required to undergo before arrival back in the UK.

The bar was reasonably priced - soft drinks being the standard 2E or 2. 4E each and glasses of wine starting at 1. 8E.

Takeaway food was priced similar to other sites in France and the reasonably well-stocked shop was not too overpriced. The site is worth staying at purely for the Croissant Amand that the shop served each morning!

There are numerous child play areas, tennis courts, pens of animals scattered all around the site (sheep, goats, rabbits etc), a daily tractor ride for 'les enfants' and nightly entertainment.

The 'spa' facilities offered a jacuzzi, hot seats, sauna and Hammam as well as offering massages if pre-booked.

Very rarely do we seek to return to a site that we have stayed at before, but by day three, two of our group were asking 'can we come back?'

Overall, a hugely enjoyable holiday and a site that we will most certainly re-visit.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ljhomer 3 reviews from this member

We stayed in our caravan for the first time in the Ruelle Basse field which is really nice with excellent wash block facilities. Although the pitch was really big it was on a bit of a slope and as a first time caravanner a bit difficult to level out. Our pitch didn't have water or drainage so if I booked again I would book a fully serviced pitch - little trek to get water and empty grey waste.

La Pointe field looked excellent though with even bigger flat pitches and most fully serviced but I think its a case of book early and quite a few people I spoke to were on 2nd and 3rd trips and booked for next year. My 10 year old son loved the site I am not 100% sure it held enough for me as a single parent, perhaps with friends although I'm not sure there is enough entertainment to keep teenagers busy.

We did have great neighbours which always helps and a couple of very helpful English guys gave me a hand with leveling my caravan and some great pointers for the future.

Beaches not very far away that you're allowed dogs on which is great as ours loves swimming, he also swam in Lac Du Januay which is just a short walk from the campsite, but steer clear of the algae.

The takeaway I felt was a bit pricey so we only used it on the first night, didn't sample the restaurant or wellness centre so can't comment on those. Reception staff were lovely and very helpful.

Overall enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Kemurf 6 reviews from this member

We stayed in a static on a huge pitch near the goats, with a nearby play park. The tent pitches also seemed huge, similar to RCN La Ferme du Latois which we had camped at the previous week, nearby and loved. Spacious and in a good location as it was easy (10-15 mins) get to the beaches and SuperU. Shop was good for croissant run in the mornings and laundry area next door. Nice play areas dotted around. Seemed to have good facilities for disabled too. Mix of Brits, Dutch (mostly) and French.

Best things about the site;

Kids loved it! as made lovely friends and enjoyed the pool. The contra-current at the side of the pool is really good fun, the slide and paddling pool are good and the covered pool was good too, as weather was often not great.

Space - pitches are big. Toilet and showers seemed very good.

Nice bar, didn't use the takeaway or restaurant or the Wellness Centre.

Lots of activities/ things going on, for adults (yoga, abs class etc) and dancing/singing for the kids to use as you like. Entertainment some evenings, but not in your face.

I thought the pool area and campsite generally lacked TLC though, a bit of pride, it felt shabby in places (paving slabs around pool sticking up, pool tiles and slide looked grubby and dirty), bit overgrown or bare even, like outside the shop area. It wasn't even the end of season. Opposite feeling to the pretty La Ferme du Latois nearby. Commercial, little bit tatty, which is so easily fixed.

But this site suits all age kids as there is so much to do, so many other kids to hang out with.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Baggiess22 1 review from this member

Having stayed at several other Vendee campsites, Yelloh village and Castels, this one is truly a 5 star site. Our pitch no. 55 was huge, caravan, full awning, side annex, outdoor eating spot for 4 and a full size badminton court setup, we could still have got another 3 cars along with ours on the pitch. Pitches are simply no comparison to other sites.

Toilets were brand new and spotless, showers always hot and powerful. We enjoyed the bar area, it has a very relaxed and welcoming feel to it, music is fab and live entertainment was excellent to suit all tastes. My teenage son enjoyed the pool tables and table tennis.

The younger children's entertainers worked tirelessly, dancing, singing, and playing the fool they quickly became the pied piper with all the kids loving what they did.

The swimming complex was always clean and well supervised, an added bonus of a poolside bar selling bar snacks and a happy hour with half price drinks. Wi-fi was down for the first 3 days which I found great because we talked as a family, when it came on normal service was resumed with everyone looking at their iphones. We had no issues with connections and face-timed our elder son in the UK several times.

Fishing lake holds some good carp and tench and its free for the duration of your stay

Nearby beaches are excellent and only 15 min drive. The surrounding area is very beautiful with many places to visit, we took a pedalo out on Lake Jaunay, bikes are also popular here.

We also used the wellness center on site, sauna, steam-room and Jacuzzi plus relaxer beds, really nice touch.

Already booked up again for next year like so many others. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spike city 1 review from this member

Just come back from 10 days at this site.

Firstly, we were blessed with fantastic weather, we have spent the last few holidays camping in Cornwall, never again!.

The site itself has everything you need ( except decent wifi).

The pitches are massive, and the Pools are fantastic.

Even at peak time we were able to get a sun bed.

The site is Dutch run, I would say that when we were there it was 60-70% Dutch families.

It was nice not to have a 'little England' feel, the Dutch are a very friendly lot and all speak English, and we found them a very happy go lucky bunch.

The coast line is approx a 20 minute drive, and you won't be disappointed. Beautiful beaches everywhere, and so relaxing.

You can go on to a fantastic beach at 11am and nearly have it all to yourself!.

The French tend to go to the beach mid afternoon, but we still never found it crowded at all.

Le Dunes at Brem sur mer was a lovely beach with some good waves for body boarding. Le Trenches ( south and about 40 mins away) made us feel we were in the Caribbean!

Back to the site, the pools were both excellent, the outdoor pool was a bit chilly at first, but really refreshing once you are in.

Going into the indoor pool after the outdoor was like stepping into a bath!

The only slight downside of the site is the very poor wifi reception ( it won't worry most people) it was rubbish to be honest!

Everyone trying to get emails etc just couldn't.

We found the best thing was to sit in a Mc Donald's (16 mins drive) and use the free wifi there!.

All in all we had a fantastic time, everyone was really friendly ( except for the odd English couple who as normal looked miserable!)

Would we return? You bet, 50 weeks today we will hopefully be back there in the sun :-)

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Mr Jabini 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from 2 weeks staying in a 'Super Octalia' mobile.

I would agree with the other reviews, especially the one from my fellow 'Welshman' so I won't repeat what has already been said, although I would suggest that the maintenance issues re tiles etc have been rectified.

During our stay we came across a few French, 2 British and the rest Dutch families. This was not really a problem, although it did take a few days for the children to mix with the others.

The site has plenty to do, but is not in your face with it.

As to whether we would recommend, we (Dad, Mum, Son 16 and Daughter 12) enjoyed our stay here and are planning to go back next year with our tent.

It may not be everyones cup of tea, but it is a five star site, and deservedly so.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MadFrank 21 reviews from this member

Have just returned from La Guyonniere after a multi-site break.

My pitch 116 on La Vigne was enormous - I managed to do a 3 point turn on the pitch with the van still attached to the car !

When we first arrived on site we were one of only about 5 or 6 'Brits' in site - the rest were Dutch - it was also very strange on a site in France that were no French families there.

The pool was great fun for the kids - especially the lazy river and the slides. Even in peak times it was possible (just) to get a sun lounger by the pool.

Food and drink expensive, wi-fi almost non-existant.

All the site roads are gravel and dirt so when it was dry the roads were very dusty - and when we got the 'Vendee thunderstorms' the roads turned muddy.

The track down to the lake was quite rough so youger kids on bikes and push chairs may find it a little rough.

Would I go again - divided on this one.

The site was quiet at night (on the most part), the facilities were reasonable, the pitches were great.

BUT.

For me I like to be able to walk into town - or be able to walk to a beach - neither of which were possible hear so it felt a little too isolated for me - so if we return it will be for a shorter time period - maybe just a week rather than 10 days.

Nothing wrong with the site - just didn't quite ticke the boxes for me.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thewelshman 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here from the 30th of July for 12 nights. Booked based on recommendations from many on here.

We stayed on Ruelle Haute which on pitch 15 which tbh is not ideal for a caravan as it has a dip to get on and off of it. This resulted in us grounding the caravan slightly on arrival and departure.

Good size pitch which a sanitary block in the middle of the field that although slightly dated, was clean and had hot powerful showers (This block is being revamped for 2013). This field is a bit of a walkthrough for other parts of the site and our pitch is next to the cut through from Ruelle Basse.

We had a waterpoint nearby that for the first part of the holiday took half an hour to fill and aquaroll – eventually fixed by maintenance on the second time of asking.

The site itself is very large (294 Emplacements) and split into multiple fields so you cannot see much of the rest of the site from where you are pitched. All pitches are a good size. We had a good mix of sun and shade – I would not stay at the pitches up towards the “equestrian Centre” as they appear to be in full sun.

Mix of British and Dutch with the odd French family.

The Pool complex is very nice but needs some maintenance, saw a lot of loose tiles around the pool – in particular the kiddie pool. The Bar is lovely and happy hour (5-6) is very good value as all drinks are half price.

Wi-Fi in the bar is free but can be very hit and miss due to the number of people using it – I would prefer to pay a small charge and get a faster connection.

The restaurant prices are ok, but to be honest we weren’t overly impressed with the pizza we ordered which was very burnt.

The snack bar (which provides the restaurant food) is reasonable apart from the frites which IMO are incredibly overpriced considering how small the portions are.

The shop is small but quite well stocked and again overpriced, but they have a captive market so you can’t blame them really.

Plenty for kids to do, the clubs run 10am, 3pm and a minidisco at 7pm as well as different activities e. G rockclimbing wall brought onto site most days. We took the kids on a pony trek which was 9e for half an hour – the lady running it barely speaks English but is an absolute gem.

So nothing really bad to say about the site, but would I go back…. Not sure. I spent a lot of time trying to work out what it was that I didn’t like and I think it’s the fact that each part of the site is isolated from the next. I am used to going to sites where I can see the pool complex even when closed, but here there is a 6 foot wall around it. The main play area is so far away from the pitches it rarely gets used. It all feels a bit haphazard. I also don’t like the road layout as there are a lot of blind turns and when in the car we had a few near misses with children shooting past on bikes. Talking of bikes, we took ours with us as we have been to sites in the vendee before with great cycle tracks. Unfortunately the ones going down to Lake Jaunay were too steep for our 5 yr old and even at the bottom there was only a short distance she could navigate. Definitely mountain bike territory.

To Summarise, it’s a nice site, staff are brilliant, facilities are good but not sure if I would go back!

Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Saint Julien Des Landes      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6212 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019