Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cheddar Petruth Paddocks

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Cheddar Petruth Paddocks
Labourham Drove
Cheddar
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS27 3XWCheck Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 121 Reviews
                9/10 from 121 Reviews

Photos (21) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chillchazman 1 review from this member

It was a great stay the staff was extremely friendly. One of the team supplied me with a shoreline which I did not have and dry firewood with drum.

Very understanding with my reactive dog. (akita) lol

It's only 10 minute walk to Sainsbury's or Tesco's just follow the cycle route.

I will definitely be returning hopefully I have the same good experience.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vickster96 1 review from this member

Brilliant site! staff very friendly and welcoming. Nice to have the owner pop by and say hello one evening.

Good location, easy to walk into Cheddar.

We were a group of 6 adults in a mixture of tents and campervan who were pitched in a good location, loved the fact we could have a fire and even better it was delivered to our van!

Toilet blocks & showers were clean. Like the attitude to recycling and were more than happy to sort our rubbish before depositing into the bins provided.

Would fully recommend this site to anyone from families to groups to couples.

We shall certainly be back.

Thanks for a great stay

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Melissa And More 1 review from this member

Quiet and peaceful. Level field with fantastic views. Toilets clean and showers hot.

It is back to basics so don't expect 5 star accommodation, but if relaxing and chilled is what you are after then this is it.

There is a small shop for essentials and you can have your own fire.

We will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Salwayne1 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic! Everyone we came across was really helpful. It was our first time staying at Petruth, but I'm sure we'll be back. The laid back atmosphere is great. Lots of space and the freedom to have a log fire to sit round during the evening was a real treat.

Thank you for making us feel so welcome.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vggillam 1 review from this member

Four ladies and their motorcycles, we camped for two nights and absolutely loved our stay!

Camp fire kit delivered to your tent, frothy coffee lady lovely and makes a good coffee too (other hot drinks plus pastries are available) and the two guys who were serving up delicious food all weekend from their funky little van were great. I love that recycling is taken seriously on site. Site is set out into zones and despite being busy I hardly heard any noise overnight. Lovely area to explore and ride, we definitely plan to return and stay here again.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jase175 1 review from this member

Stayed for 3 nights midweek and had plenty of room, there is a big empty field for the kids to play ball games in safely and without disturbing other campers.

Excellent location for exploring the Gorge and Cheddar Village on foot, plus a good base for exploring further a field by car.

The site was clean and tidy and the toilets, shower cubicles and washing up area were clean, plus there were coffee and breakfast huts open when we needed them (not exactly sure of the opening times).

A bit over the top with the recycling

Of rubbish but apart from that it was a good experience and a nice site.

The staff were all friendly and happy to please.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ms J Elliott 1 review from this member

We only stayed one night as we were on route somewhere but were very impressed. It was lovely to be able to get a decent coffee & pastry in the pouring rain in the morning.

Our young dog had never camped before & he was in heaven. I was expecting a lot of noise as it was a big campsite & peak season. We went on the Quiet Field which was. Quiet!

We will definitely return

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zoeylm 1 review from this member

I stayed here as part of a group of women with children.

On arrival we were made to feel very welcome and there was nothing the staff and owners could not do to help us.

Throughout our stay everyone was very helpful and friendly.

The children were allowed to play and relax at their own leisure

Overall this one one of the best camping experience I have had! Thank you

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Revid 8 reviews from this member

Finding the site proved easier than I anticipate, the greeting on arrival was very welcoming by the family, who proved to be very helpful for local information. We were directed to a field on our own for two nights but were told come the weekend the whole site would fill up, which it did. The bathrooms, showers and loos were kept clean throughout our stay even though the amount of other users. We were in the quite area which it was with only a short walk to the loos. We asked about the cycling routes which are easy to find. The open area of the site proved to be welcome as we had very little breeze and hot sunny weather with very little natural shelter. Cheddar Gorge is an easy cycle ride as the village with a supermarket close by. A very enjoyable stay. Thank you.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ginty1 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 10 nights. Chose here mainly due to location, but doubt I will return. Having to pay 2 per night for a fire pit, and if you want one you need to pay for your full stay so this was 20 + they try to sell you paper and kindling separate, (glad I know how to light a fire so I did not buy this) then 5 for bag of logs which is about bog standard for campsites so not complaining about that. If it had rained for the 10 nights the fire pit would have been a waste of money.

As for toilets and Shower facilities, they are a joke. Although kept fairly clean, there are not enough for the amount of people this site takes. If you wanted a shower in the morning, forget it unless you want to queue. I know they warn you about this on web site but for the money this site takes in on a daily basis I am sure they could improve the facilities to accommodate the amount of people they have. I have been to a lot of sites which are cheaper and have much better facilities. If someone is using washing up area, the shower pressure reduces. One of the signs on the site by chemical waste asked that you only use 1 litre of water to clean out your chemical toilet to keep their charges down! I am sure the flush in toilets was more than this and much less in these than a chemical toilet that a family has been using for a day or two.

Pot holes could do with filling in with some hardcore at entrance to 2nd field as they were huge and when raining causes so much mud getting trailed into shower areas as well as tents etc.

All in all probably a good site for large parties or young families but it is not a site for chilling out and have a relaxing holiday. Staff were all pleasant. Pitch sizes with EHU were good size, but this site is just a money grabber in my view.

Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3317 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019