Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cheddar Petruth Paddocks

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Cheddar > Cheddar Petruth Paddocks Reviews

Cheddar Petruth Paddocks
Labourham Drove
Cheddar
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS27 3XW
Tel: 01934 257055
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 147 Reviews
                9/10 from 147 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (26)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  147 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Smokey-is-no-more 2 reviews from this member

 Great relaxing place to stay.

Large fields with unassigned pitches so you can camp where you like and even better - put your caravan how you like - tow bar in, sideways or on its roof if you like.

This is brilliant for allowing the sun to set into the awning instead of setting on the unused side of the caravan.

Camp fires also allowed and therefore makes a traditional camping experience.

Much better than these sites with 4m square pitches, picket fences that you cannot reverse your caravan onto and rules, rules, rules along with several hundred signs to 'stop enjoying yourself'.

I wish all sites were like this Petruth Paddocks 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fredbassett 2 reviews from this member

 A gem of a place just outside Cheddar but close enough to easily walk to town or the gorge.

We have been coming here since 2009 and still just keep coming back.

Julian is the greatest host we have ever come across on a campsite with a great team backing him up.

This site has recently had new showers and toilets installed and the showers are probably the best campsite showers in the country.

Great attractions nearby Cheddar gorge, Ebbor Gorge and the Mendips.

Great places to eat in Cheddar The White Hart and the Gardeners Arms has just changed hands and the food now is superb, beers good too.

If itís Cider you are after there is the Cider Barn just down the road, well recommended and Wilkins farm for cider and great cheese, just ask Jules for directions.

Well behaved dogs allowed off lead as long as they are supervised and any mess cleared up, camp fires and wood available. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Sazzyfletch 1 review from this member

 Such a lovely, chilled out but excellently equipped site!

Plenty of space and doesnít feel like youíre all lined up in a row.

Facilities are spotlessly clean and showers always hot.

Walkable to Cheddar and the gorge but plenty of parking in the village if you wish to drive. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Suziec1977 5 reviews from this member

 We had a great stay despite the very wet weather! We never had to queue for the toilet or a shower, even though we stayed in peak summer holiday season. The toilets and showers were excellent and were constantly being cleaned. I loved the fact that you didn't have to keep pressing a button on the shower! The field we were on got badly water logged with puddles but the weather was extreme - I wished I had taken my wellies to save wet feet.

We were accommodated at fairly short notice after being let down elsewhere.

There was a large group of us (23!), all staying on slightly different dates. I was impressed they could cater for us. Pitches without ehu weren't in set marked out positions so it was easy to camp all together in a citlrcle, with our gazebo in the middle. The site was quiet by 11 and they patrolled, insisting on this. The group behind us received a warning for being noisy later than this and would have been asked to leave if it happened again.

You were allowed fires in the pits provided, using only their wood. This was well organised and they delivered the wood daily and you could pay by card.

There was a small shop at reception - not sure what it stocked exactly but we got milk from there when we ran out. Sainsburys was only 10 mins walk away and Tesco Express was close too.

There were lovely views of the Mendips from the site and it was an easy walk up a footpath into Cheddar (about a km). Also only about 10 mins to Wookey Hole and 20 mins to Burnham on Sea. We were not short of things to do - the site was in a great location.

Staff were friendly and helpful. I came across a medical emergency situation the first morning and when I raised the alarm, staff responded well - I hope someone would shoot off for a defibrillator as quickly as they did if I ever needed one!

It was clearly stated on the website that dogs are allowed to be off lead and it was my fault I didn't see this on the website but for this reason, I probably wouldn't stay again. We weren't often bothered by them but at one point two came into our area and one came up to me at the water tap. I have a phobia and could easily have ended up pitched next to someone with large, loose dog(s) which would have been an absolute nightmare for me. I'd never really thought about it much, as all other sites I've stayed on in the last 10 years have required dogs on leads. This is completely my issue, I know. I would highly recommend the site for dog owners for this reason though.

Overall, a very well run and well organised site, with good facilities. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Graemerobertmoore 1 review from this member

 Well run. Lots of space in the quiet field and other campers respectful about keeping noise down. Very friendly staff. We took the offer of wood and a fire pit mainly to occupy my teenage son. At £13 I thought that was a bit pricey

I would have happily paid less for a smaller fire. But having the option of a campfire is great.

Very dog friendly. Good traffic free bike path or walk to the centre of Cheddar and nearby swings.

I was woken up by a lot of noise from heavy tractors at 6. I think this was from an adjoining farm although not sure. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Taafe75 10 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from staying at Petruth Paddocks in Cheddar.

We booked as a group of friends in a number of tents and were all grouped together in a corner of one of the fields.

The sites location is excellent.

You can walk into Cheddar via a footpath in ten minutes where there is a supermarket and other shops.

We went and watched Cheddar FC play, the ground is a short walk from the site.

There is also a car boot sale on next door on Sunday mornings

The staff are very helpful and the toilets and showers are kept very clean.

It's a great site and I hope to return again 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Marian 1 review from this member

 This is a great campsite which I have already recommended to friends.

Fantastic location, lovely views, relaxed, spacious, excellent facilities (the showers were particularly good).

We really couldn't fault the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jeanin 1 review from this member

 Fantastic stay, our 1st time camping and we all really enjoyed it all 7 of us! The kids had a brilliant time made loads of friends.

Facilities were really good and kept very clean, staff friendlyand helpful.

Would definitely go again.

Would be good if there was a little farm shop selling, bread, eggs etc 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Jaygee1 5 reviews from this member

 Couldn't fault it. Great for dogs too! Bathrooms nice and clean and site very tidy and nicely spaced out.

Staff are really helpful and pitches are a great size. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Campercalling 7 reviews from this member

 This is a true and accurate record of my review. I have no connection to the site and my previous review on trip advisor have been responded by the owners that I'm a previous customer with a grudge. I've never visited the campsite before and never will.

One of the worst experience I've had in 30 years of camping. The site is not well maintained and the toilet/shower facilities are like portacabins which are dirty and were constantly closed for cleaning even though they weren't being cleaned.

It is basically fields and you pitch where you want. At the time we visited it was really busy which mean I queued at 7 am on a Sunday morning for 30 minutes to have a shouwer due to the stink of the night before of everyone having camp fires.

They come around selling wood and giving you an old washing machine drum for those who haven't brought their own campfires every night. You couldn't see your hand for the smoke. The whole van, clothes everything smelt thereafter of smoke.

The site is a far distance from cheddar town and the attraction is even further to walk.

The site is overpriced for basically setting up in a field with no electric. Think the site like to go on their environment aspect but not very environment selling wood to burn.

Been once never to be repeated, couldn't wait to leave. Can't comment on the staff as I didn't see or speak to anyone. 


Previous     147 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cheddar Petruth Paddocks child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cheddar Petruth Paddocks?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cheddar Petruth Paddocks dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cheddar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4079 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement