Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Chalmersquoy Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Westray > Chalmersquoy Campsite Reviews

Chalmersquoy Campsite
Chalmersquoy
Pierowall
Westray
Orkney Islands   (Browse area)
KW17 2BZ
Tel: 01857 677214  or  07803 048189
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 13 Reviews
                10/10 from 13 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Johngillie 1 review from this member

Michael and Teenie are the perfect hosts, friendly and very helpful.

The site is maintained to a high standard and the facilities are excellent. Value for money, you won't get any better.

The islanders are also very friendly. Jack's Fish & Chips, available weds & Sat night are super and they also sell fresh fish Mon to Sat from the same unit. Had smoked haddock and that was tasty and so fresh.

Cannot recommend the site and island highly enough.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fyn van 1 review from this member

Small friendly and very tidy campsite run by extremely helpful owners.

Teenie gave a lovely welcome and took time to give a lot of helpful information about the area.

We loved it.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lenandlou 10 reviews from this member

What a great place.

OK so we were lucky with the weather, but this is a lovely site at a reasonable price. There is a comfortable camper's kitchen, clean facilities, and no end of conversation with other visitors and owner Michael.

We had fish and chips delivered (scallops recommended), and went on a lovely guided tour (Westraak) under new management. This was a lovely mix of nature and history, with a super lunch, and outstanding value.

Will never forget this one.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ascadding 1 review from this member

Orkney hospitality at its best. We arrived at Chalmersquoy less a Heiki rooflite which had collapsed earlier in a pile of sharp shards. We had bought some materials to make a patch, and asked if we might borrow a ladder. Instead, Michael brought a fork lift and a pallet, temporary repair accomplished.

Following morning we asked whether there was someone who might sell us some plywood to make a stronger job of it, and we were told that Michael's father John (who had been up at 4am in order to launch a boat) was coming to sort it out. And he did. Our weekend on Westray was saved, and we had the great pleasure of getting to know more about the warm Westray community than otherwise we would.

For the campsite, brilliant facilities, close to amazing fish'n'chip shop and the Pierowall Hotel whose Westray Crab is beyond praise. There is a seal colony about 400 yards from the campsite, and a wealth of bird life. Islanders wave to each other and to visitors as they drive along. So worth the journey.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Black Country Man 1 review from this member

Well here goes for being on the our first review.

We chose this site because of the positive reviews seen here and we were definitely not disappointed.

Chalmersquoy is situated in the ideal position on the island being on the way into Pierowall which is the largest town and more or less the geographic centre of Westray.

We were greeted with a guided tour and a very useful chat about wjat to do and see during our stay and nothingwas too much trouble for the owners.

At £19 a night for the camper, two adults, two dogs and a hook up it is very reasonable and although tere are only two (free) showers and two toilets they were spotless.

I could go on for ages about the joys of the site, the town and the island but I will let you discover those for yourself.

I can't really score child friendliness as ours no longer holiday with us but we gave it a score of 10 based on the welcome our dogs received.

We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mel2588 1 review from this member

What a wonderful welcome we received from both Teenie and Michael for our 3 night stay here at Chalmersquoy. The campsite is so well situated in Pierowall for touring the island. The facilities are well maintained.

The campers kitchen has been mentioned in previous review and was useful and well equipped. There is secure storage for bikes, complete with bike racks in the out buildings. Wifi is available along with a shelter and cushions so campers can access the net or emails in comfort.

As hosts Michael and Teenie could not have been more accommodating offering pick ups for some campers and offering their own laundry facility when there was a rush on the site ones.

On Tuedsdays during the summer there are concerts hosted by the Harcus family in the Graand Owld Byre and we had a superb evening of music which ranged from Scottish bagpipes and small pipes through Johny Cash songs, traditional fiddle music to contemporary music written by the younger members of the family themselves.

Westray has much to offer the visitor with well appointed shops in Pierowall, lovely galleries and the wheeling Steen cafe and gallery is well worth a visit. If you visit in the summer there is the archelogical dig to visit at the Links of Notland. Hume Sweet Hume for designer knitwear and an excellent heritage centre.

All in all a wonderful place to stay.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ridgebacksontour 11 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this delightful site. On arrival we were greeted warmly by the owners and made to feel most welcome. We were then given a choice of pitches ( seven of which are now hardstanding, a much better option for the heavier motorhome).

The facilities were, as before, absolutely spotless and the shower is still activated by the recycling pound. The washing machine is not coin operated but relies upon the honesty of the user who should pay £2 when next one sees an owner.

There is now, each Tuesday a musical event in the Old Byre, very popular with locals & visitors alike. There is not a fixed entry fee but a suggested donation, if memory serves me right, of £5. During the interval there is tea & coffee plus a generous selection of homebakes.

Jack's Chippy, a short stroll away is open on Wednesdays and Saturdays serving superb fish plus a variety of other takeaway meals. Seals were in abundance this visit, just by standing on the roadside we were within 20 feet of them. So too were the Puffins at Castle o'Burrian. Noup Head lighthouse whilst not open to visitors is worth the tortuous drive from Noltland.

A narrow winding unmade road will take you here. We managed it in 9 metre tag axle & it was woth it for the views each way. Noltland Castle is very impressive and substantial building with free entry. The two shops in the village are well stocked with plenty of local produce-Westray strong cheddar being a particularly good find.

This lovely site on a beautiful island has to be recommended most heartily.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hrosel 1 review from this member

We stayed for three nights and had a fantastic time. There is so much to see in the local area in early summer; including puffins, seals, and all the farm animals you could wish for!

We took the ferry over to Papa Westray for a day trip, as well as doing various walks around Westray itself.

The campsite is really centrally located, with buses linking to the ferry from the mainland making travel to and from the site straightforward.

The owners were really friendly and very happy to lend out maps / binoculars / lifts / helpful advice!

There was also a huge range of kitchenware in the campers' kitchen- you could literally cook a three course dinner if you wanted! Only complaint is that the kitchen and bathroom were a bit cold.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ridgebacksontour 11 reviews from this member

A little gem. The owners are so friendly and helpful. We stayed for three nights and will certainly return again. The facilities are a recent conversion from farm buildings and were spotlessly clean.

All the pitches are grass though the one we had did have some hardcore beneath the grass, we were offered this pitch due to the size of my 'van and it proved a wise choice as it made ingress & egress to the site very easy.

Pierowall is a lovely coastal village with a hotel that serves food ( no real ale unfortunately) and is dog friendly in the public bar. There are two very traditional general stores but neither are licensed. For 'drink' you need to go to the third store on the island some five or six miles away.

Head back towards the ferry terminal and watch out for the sign on the left for Peters Shop. There is also a fresh fish shop that twice a week becomes a chippy in the evening, watch out for the seals basking close by on the rocks as you take the short walk there. We had the best Cod there that we've had in a long time.

Noltland Castle is nearby (free entry)and is well worth a visit. For dog owners there are plenty of sandy bays to let them run on. Along the road to the airport is a gallery with some fantastic prints in various sizes depicting local views and landmarks.

It also sells excellent coffee and homebakes. The pace of life here is akin to the mainland forty years ago, all the locals as they drive about wave to one another and visitors alike-and in three days I don't think that I got over 35mph but for some reason it didn't seem to matter. If I seem to be waxing lyrical about Westray, the site, the people and everything about the place its because its deserved. Brilliant, just brilliant.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: McTraveller 2 reviews from this member

We received a very warm and friendly welcome from Teenie and Michael (the owners) when we stayed at this beautifully kept campsite and hostel. We camped for five days in early June in a small tent, the camping fields were protected by man made banking to help campers in windy conditions and some pitches had a lovely view of the sea.

The toilets, shower and kitchen area, including the fridge were spotless, a new campers kitchen was in the process of being built and this will be really lovely when completed.

We had a tour of the hostel and it is one of the best for space and cleanliness we've seen (the kitchen is massive!) The self catering apartments are also of a very high standard with lovely quality furnishings. Dogs are very welcome on the campsite but not in the hostel or self catering accommodation.

The campsite and accommodation are situated by the road just on the edge of Pierowall village overlooking the sea. You can walk easily into the village, Jacks Fish and Chips are a must if you are in Westray on a Wednesday or a Saturday night, the fish is so fresh and beautiful, whilst on your way to Jacks Chippy from the campsite you can see seals, plenty of them basking on the rocks by the side of the road, just seconds from the campsite, they were there regularly during our stay at low tide.

Westray has much wildlife, many seabirds, we saw lots of Puffins at Castle o' Burrian and Stanger Head, it has beautiful white sandy beaches, very friendly locals, a great little heritage centre and museum which is well worth a visit, a castle, a hotel, well stocked shops and for the best coffee and cake visit The Wheeling Steen Gallery and Tearoom and check out Edwin's amazing photography and drawings.

We loved Westray, it's a great place to visit and Chalmersquoy and its campsite is a wonderful base, we can't wait to return.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Orkney Islands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3483 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019